Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

i used to live at Wrightsville Beach and in Wilmington North Carolina. I have family and friends who still live there. I change the blockade runner for a yearly girls trip. It’s a special place.

Great location and property is beautiful. Views from the room to the sound are amazing

I was really disappointed in this hotel. They class themselves as a boutique hotel and charge accordingly. I was underwhelmed by the whole experience. There is no water pressure in the shower. The AC unit is the noisiest thing I've ever been around, every time it came on, it woke me up. The beds were OK, the view great. It would have been nice though if there were screens on the window. We wanted to turn the AC off and just listen to the ocean at night but the all night lights drew bugs. Don't get me wrong, it's not a bad hotel, it's just very average and not worth the prices.

This is an absolutely beautiful hotel. It had a resort feel. The pictures do not do it justice and don’t appear to be updated. Absolutely beautiful. Will definitely stay there again!!

The property was well kept and absolutely beautiful near the pool and towards the ocean. The food was great! We are a late dinner at the bar and the breakfast buffet the next morning. So delicious! The bed was comfy and I’m so glad we paid extra for an oceanfront room. Wow oh wow it didn’t disappoint!!! We will definitely be returning.

Gorgeous ocean view. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Décor was cute. Location is great. Need heavier blankets for bed in colder months.

Sauna was under construction. lawn and hammocks were great.

4 day stay at Blockade. Last part of our vacation before going home and husband deploying. I had contacted the concierge to plan something special before we got there. Also have 8 month old and was bringing milk with us that needed to be kept in freezer. The concierge assured me even though there were no freezers in the rooms, we could keep milk in their freezer for our stay. We also planned a boat tour. We were not able to do the boat tour on planned day because ‘not enough people’. The captain rescheduled for next day but we had plans and our trip was cut short due to my hubs being recalled. When I went to collect the milk it was all thawed. All of it has to be wasted now because milk cant be refrozen. I thoroughly enjoyed the hotel, the staff, espec Ron! But very disappointed in these 2 instances. It was beautiful grounds, perfect beach access and sand. The only non renovated part of hotel we saw were elevators and there is a sign saying it is going to be done this summer. Would I stay here again? Probably not. Even on vacation we don’t want to eat out every meal, so will look for hotel with small kitchenette area/Airbnb. Rooms only had fridge/coffee maker. But can’t beat that short walk to beach. Perfect time to go as well, not crowded at all! Main reason hotel gets low score is if they couldn’t keep milk frozen, they should've told me when I asked ahead of time. Would not have stayed there if it wasn't possib. Beautiful hotel, pleasant staff, but disappointed. Thank you!

I truly enjoyed the beach access and ease of access, we appreciated the full-size beach towels. The room was beautiful and had a nice view. However, the pool/hot tub area seemed pretty run-down in comparison with the rest of the facility. A pressure-washing and some fresh paint could go a long way.

The grounds are beautiful and easy access to the beach. Downtown Wrightsville is a short walk so you don’t need to worry about using an Uber or taxi for your nightlife.

The building itself is dated and needs upgrading but the grounds are beautiful

Hotel is severely outdated. Faucet didn’t work well in our room. Pool was okay but sauna had plastic over the entrance, looked like a crime scene. Gym was steamy and gross. No snack shop to grab coffee or snacks. Valets were rude. Overall disappointing for a “beach resort.”

Professional, friendly service. A very nice place to relax. Many things to do like kayaking and sailing.Very nice gardens. Will return again and again.

Waynick Blvd Wrightsville Beach NC

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from Wrightsville Beach
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free valet and self parking
  • Onsite dining

Blockade Runner Beach Resort places you next to Wrightsville Beach and within a mile (2 km) of Johnnie Mercer's Pier. This 3-star resort welcomes guests with 150 rooms and conveniences like a marina, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Sit down for a leisurely bite to eat at the onsite restaurant, or enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Satisfy your hunger from the comfort of your room with room service. Buffet breakfast is offered for a fee each morning from 7 AM to 9:30 AM.


Rooms

The 150 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including refrigerators, coffee makers, and laptop-compatible safes. Guests can expect free WiFi and 50-inch LCD TVs with digital channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers, free toiletries, and bathrobes. In-room massages are available, and other amenities include ironing boards and desks.


Property features

Guests of Blockade Runner Beach Resort enjoy a marina, an outdoor pool, and a fitness center. Free valet and self parking are available—or if you're not driving, take the free airport shuttle (available on request). The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with concierge services, and answer any questions about the accommodations. Other amenities at this beach resort include a spa tub, a sauna, and free WiFi in public areas.

Room options

Deluxe Room, 2 Queen Beds, Balcony

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Oceanfront

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Blockade Runner Beach Resort

Everyone (36) Couples (4) Business (1) Family (8)
5
Friends

i used to live at Wrightsville Beach and in Wilmington North Carolina. I have family and friends who still live there. I change the blockade runner for a yearly girls trip. It’s a special place.

By on Sep 15, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 17, 2020

Thank you for this feedback. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future!

5
Family

Great location and property is beautiful. Views from the room to the sound are amazing

By , from Apex,NC on Jul 23, 2020

Review comment responded on Jul 24, 2020

Good Evening! We are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Blockade Runner! Thank you so much for providing us with feedback, we pride ourselves in making sure everyone enjoys their vacation.

5
Everyone

By on Jul 14, 2020

Review comment responded on Aug 8, 2020

Thank you for staying with us at the Blockade Runner. We appreciate your review and feedback, it means a lot to us. I am glad you enjoyed staying with us and I hope we have the privilege to host you again.

2
Friends

I was really disappointed in this hotel. They class themselves as a boutique hotel and charge accordingly. I was underwhelmed by the whole experience. There is no water pressure in the shower. The AC unit is the noisiest thing I've ever been around, every time it came on, it woke me up. The beds were OK, the view great. It would have been nice though if there were screens on the window. We wanted to turn the AC off and just listen to the ocean at night but the all night lights drew bugs. Don't get me wrong, it's not a bad hotel, it's just very average and not worth the prices.

By , from Raleigh on Jun 27, 2020

5
Everyone

By on Jun 22, 2020

Review comment responded on Jul 5, 2020

Thank you for the terrific review! Best, Rachel Stanford Assistant Front Office Manager

5
Partner Couples Family

This is an absolutely beautiful hotel. It had a resort feel. The pictures do not do it justice and don’t appear to be updated. Absolutely beautiful. Will definitely stay there again!!

By on May 18, 2020

Review comment responded on May 18, 2020

Thank you so much for staying with us! We are so glad you had a great stay and plan to visit again. Have a great day and stay safe and healthy! -Hannah with Reservations

2
Everyone

By on Feb 29, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 29, 2020

Thank you for the feedback. I apologize that the experience was not what you were looking for. If you would like to reach out to the resort to discuss the elements of your stay, we would be happy to speak with you to understand the circumstances.

5
Partner Couples

The property was well kept and absolutely beautiful near the pool and towards the ocean. The food was great! We are a late dinner at the bar and the breakfast buffet the next morning. So delicious! The bed was comfy and I’m so glad we paid extra for an oceanfront room. Wow oh wow it didn’t disappoint!!! We will definitely be returning.

By on Feb 25, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 26, 2020

Thank you for the wonderful feedback! I am certainly delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Our recreations department and groundskeepers work hard to maintain the property and our gorgeous garden area. While Chef Jessica Cabo and staff do an awesome job in the restaurant. I am so glad that you enjoyed all of the elements our property has to offer! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Have a wonderful day!

5
Everyone

By on Feb 12, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 12, 2020

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback, and hope to see you soon!

5
Family

Gorgeous ocean view. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful.

By on Nov 14, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 14, 2019

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and the gorgeous view of the ocean! We hope to see you again soon. Have a great night!

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Wilmington-Hotels-Blockade-Runner-Beach-Resort.h15691-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Wilmington-Hotels-Blockade-Runner-Beach-Resort.h15691-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Wilmington-Hotels-Blockade-Runner-Beach-Resort.h15691-p2.Hotel-Reviews