Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Older facility but great peaceful location to escape can walk to nice beach Honestly a great buy if you’re not a perfectionist

The unit was great for the price. It fit our family of 5 comfortably and had all the amenities needed for a short stay. We loved the location near the beach and staff was very friendly and helpful. Items such as additional towels, basic toiletries and kitchen items were available upon request but for a unit that accommodates up to 6, it would have been nice to have at least enough to get us started.

The manager was super great. She handled all our needs with a pleasent smile and additiude. The room however was not worth what I paid. Two rooms, one TV and one AC.

Exactly what we needed for a last-minute trip! Place was clean and smelled nice.

Neat set up, but floors were dirty. Very limited parking. Don't bring a boat. No one ever in the office. Had to call a number and get someone to come if you needed anything.

The kid staff stood out the most. We had napping children when we arrived early and they slowed us to check in early, which entirely changed our trip from difficult to magical.

the room was ok. the couch was run down and worn. I think there was a blanket under the cushions to give them some lift. there was a broom and dustpan behind the door that was laying on the floor. The air conditioner vent has not been cleaned for a long time. the front door staff was not around. There was a phone number to contact them. There was a sign on the front door that they sold bags of ice but with no front desk staff, it was unavailable. we had a 2 night reservation and left after one night

Proximity to public beach and local shopping and restaurants. Felt welcomed by staff and enjoyed chatting with them. They gave me great suggestions for this area🌞

Close to the beach and small enough that it did not feel crowded.

I liked that the property was close to the canal and the beach. I liked that the property had an apartment room at a reasonable price. I liked that there are 3 beds in the apartment room because that was plenty of room for my family. I did not like that there was central air vents and the central air did not work. We had to use a window unit that did not keep the entire apartment warm on the days we were there. The room that the window unit was in got too hot and the other rooms of the apartment were too cold. I did not like that if we used the dishes we had to wash them or be charged $50. That's what housekeepers are hired to do or they need to install dishwashers. I never stayed at a hotel/motel that requested this. The staff was nice and my check-in was quick. My room was clean and did not smell of smoke. Parking is limited.

We travel every year to Atlantic Beach for the Thanksgiving Holiday and spend at least 6 to 7 days so we always look for a budget no frills close to the beach place to stay and this was just right since most of our stay is visiting family and friends we just needed a quite place to rest our heads. Don't expect daily Housekeeping but upon request and you may not have clothes hangers in your room but that's not a deal breaker because down the road you can go to dollar tree and buy 8 hangers for a dollar and leave them behind for the next guest.

Tiny room no room service unless requested including towels! For the price would not recommend again

It was a very pleasant weekend. Nice family oriented motel. The staff was very accommodating. The only thing I would have to complain about is the Wi-Fi in the room

Henderson Blvd Atlantic Beach NC

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking

Sand Dollar Motel places you next to Triple S Marina and within a 15-minute walk of Fort Macon State Park. This 11-room motel welcomes guests with conveniences like free in-room WiFi and free self parking.


Rooms

Sand Dollar Motel's 11 rooms provide coffee makers. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and TVs with cable channels. Limited housekeeping is available.


Property features

Guests of Sand Dollar Motel enjoy features like free WiFi in public areas. There's free parking if you drive. Staff members can answer questions about accommodations, and also provide front-desk service during limited hours.

Room options

Apartment, 2 Double Beds, Kitchenette

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Apartment, 1 King Bed, Kitchenette

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Double Room, 2 Double Beds

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Apartment, Multiple Beds, Kitchenette

3 Double Beds | Sleeps 6

Guest reviews for Sand Dollar Motel

Everyone (8) Couples (1) Family (5)
5
Everyone

Older facility but great peaceful location to escape can walk to nice beach Honestly a great buy if you’re not a perfectionist

By on Sep 29, 2021

4
Family with small children

The unit was great for the price. It fit our family of 5 comfortably and had all the amenities needed for a short stay. We loved the location near the beach and staff was very friendly and helpful. Items such as additional towels, basic toiletries and kitchen items were available upon request but for a unit that accommodates up to 6, it would have been nice to have at least enough to get us started.

By on Sep 13, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 22, 2021

Thank you for the review, glad you enjoyed your stay with us!!

3
Family Family with small children

The manager was super great. She handled all our needs with a pleasent smile and additiude. The room however was not worth what I paid. Two rooms, one TV and one AC.

By on Sep 11, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 22, 2021

Thank you for the review, we are working to upgrade all rooms!!

5
Friends

Exactly what we needed for a last-minute trip! Place was clean and smelled nice.

By on Jul 20, 2021

4
Everyone

By on Jun 16, 2021

4
Everyone

By on May 18, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 18, 2021

Thank you so much for your review!!

3
Friends Family

Neat set up, but floors were dirty. Very limited parking. Don't bring a boat. No one ever in the office. Had to call a number and get someone to come if you needed anything.

By , from New London, NC on Nov 23, 2020

Review comment responded on Dec 7, 2020

We apologize for the issues that you had. The date that you was here, there was a death in the family, so no one was available while you were here. Although, calling as instructed we did have someone available to assist any guest with their needs. We do have limited parking, one parking space per vehicle/ room. We do try and accomadate for any boats, if we can. With limited space it can be difficult. However ,we do have another property, that guest can park their boat. Always call prior to your stay so that we can assist with making arrangement.

4
Everyone

By on Oct 12, 2020

Review comment responded on Oct 13, 2020

We appreciate you taking the time to do a review on your recent stay. We look forward to your next visit.

5
Family with small children Family

The kid staff stood out the most. We had napping children when we arrived early and they slowed us to check in early, which entirely changed our trip from difficult to magical.

By on Sep 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 23, 2019

Thank you for you review of your recent stay. We are glad we could get you in early. Hope all had a good time at the beach. We look forward to seeing you again with your next visit.

3
Friends

the room was ok. the couch was run down and worn. I think there was a blanket under the cushions to give them some lift. there was a broom and dustpan behind the door that was laying on the floor. The air conditioner vent has not been cleaned for a long time. the front door staff was not around. There was a phone number to contact them. There was a sign on the front door that they sold bags of ice but with no front desk staff, it was unavailable. we had a 2 night reservation and left after one night

By on Jul 5, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 5, 2019

Thank you for your review of your recent stay, We apologize for any issues you may of had

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Atlantic-Beach-Hotels-Sand-Dollar-Motel.h15835512-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Atlantic-Beach-Hotels-Sand-Dollar-Motel.h15835512-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Atlantic-Beach-Hotels-Sand-Dollar-Motel.h15835512-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions