Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

The room was ok, it was clean but too small. The closet to hang your clothes in was really small. The hotel staff did not clean our room on the second day. I would not stay in this hotel room again.

Upon entry into the room there was a very pungent smell. Had to send the husband out for Lysol spray and candles to try to eliminate the smell. This place is very historic indeed - old carpets and a bathroom that leave much to be desired. When we returned from site seeing the next day we came back to the room to find that room service did not do their job - beds were not made, trash not taken out, no fresh towels, toiletries - nothing. I had to call the front desk to hear that housekeeping doesn't work after hours, so front desk staff had to come bring us fresh towels. After more Lysol spraying in a failed attempt to get rid of the lingering historic smell, we find the next day that luckily housekeeping came to the room - HOWEVER, all they did was pull the blankets over and prop the pillows. The sheets underneath with not made. Let's just say avoid this place at all costs and spend the few dollars more and go to the Double Tree or Holiday Inn is probably way better. Unless you enjoy really really really historic service and smells. Oh and by the way - when I checked out I did complain to management. All they could offer was an apology, and nothing more.

terrible. it was a very bad experience. that is all i can say about it

This hotel had very friendly staff and were atttetive to the needs of the guest. The room was good size but it needs many cosmetic updates and the AC unit leaked water over the carpet The first night I was there I needed ice to just watch tv and relax coming off the road and there are no ice machines to be found. I go the front desk and was told they have no ic machines and had to get me some ice out of the kitchen in a trash bag, not a good impression for a 3 star hotel. The room had 2 wing back chairs to sit in but both had huge stains on them so I sat on my bed to watch tv. These issues may seem trival to some but it is not a impression that a hotel should make.

I booked 2 Villas for a bachelorette party. They accommodated about 8 girls. Rooms were very nice and clean; however, when I booked the rooms and went back and looked at my confirmation I noticed they had me down for "colonial rooms" which are basic rooms in the "cottages" the cottages are not attached to the actual resort and look terrible! Fortunately I caught it early and was able to plead my case with Orbitz (which took about 4 hours). Be careful, read the fine print!'

This hotel is old and musty. For the price, I had expected a hotel that had been remodeled. Instead, I was staying at a 2-star hotel for a 4-star price.

We thought we were getting a hotel as pictured but ended up in one of their off site cottages. It had apparently been recently renovated, but the shower curtain was not clean, there was rust stains or "other" on the floor behind toilet, the towel rack was falling apart and the mirror looked like it had just been slapped on the bathroom door that was recently painted. The refrigerator went out during the night and all of our food was wasted. The housekeeper, although pleasant, was not thorough, ie. left dirty washcloth on shower rod, trash on table. The neighbors slammed their door alot. We had to walk about a block to get to the pool and hot tub. All that being said the king size bed was comfortable. We were close to shops. After discussing our concerns with the staff we were given a refund on our room.

Bad odor walking in to the room. Very damp carpet near the air conditioning. Lots of bugs outside of the door. Had to close the door quickly. Bathroom was old looking but functional. Location is good for Busch Gardens and restaurants. Did not complain to office because we had a short stay.

Very very comfy bed and amazing bathtub. Location was outstanding! Can't wait to go back this summer

The staff there were great from front desk to check out. Location was great also, will be back.

staff very helpful. short drive to college of william and mary

Two parents one teenager visiting older brother at WM parents weekend. Nice hotel not a Ritz but less than $100 a night. Not a single complaint.

This is a beautiful hotel. The suite was fabulous...one of the best we have ever rented. The PROBLEM was noise. Noise from the next room. Noise from the room above. We had to call security twice--once at one a.m. This may have been a one time occurrence. We don't know. The only other irritation--when we checked in we were immediately given a sales pitch offering some free tickets if we took part in some kind of "session." Considering the quality of the hotel, that was a surprise. The "pitcher" trying to sell us was going to help with our substantial luggage to the room when he was told there were "VIP's" waiting to see him...so he left us at the first floor elevator.

Hotel is good.It has a kitchen to.Overall it was a good experience.Only thing missing was wifi,giving that much money and not getting a free wifi was a negative for me,otherwise i had a pleasant stay.

Hotel is nice and clean.Staff are nice.Located near the heart of the place and you can find many restaurants near the place.

The suite rooms were clean. The king bed and surprisingly the couch rollout bed were both very comfortable. Space was a bit tight, the bathroom small. But suited our purposes.

We weren't prepared for the "timeshare speel". The room they thought would impress us was small, could not stand in front of the bathroom sink with the bathroom door open and could only climb out of one side of the bed, housekeeping only done every 3 days.I refused to walk on the carpet in my socks or barefeet. Location to historical area was very good.

For the price, I think you get what you pay for. It's a time share that you can also rent by the night. There isn't a continental breakfast; however, the 2-bedroom villa that we got was quite spacious. It included a washer and dryer, and a full kitchen, which we were able to use quite effectively. Sadly, the maid service wasn't up to our standards. One of the days our coffee making supplies weren't refilled and a bed wasn't made, but it wasn't a huge deal to us. I'm not sure that I'd return, given the other options in the area.

We came to visit relatives temporarily living in Williamsburg. We left ready to return when we can having explored Williamsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown and Monticello during beautiful weather and not-so-many-tourists time! We needed more than the 6 days we had! As a side note, we really enjoyed/appreciated the washer/dryer in our room as we are runners and were able to wash our running clothes! We would definitely return to this hotel - great value!

It was different this time. The front desk did not program our key, so we could not enter the side of the resort. Once we walked around to the front he re-programmed our key for the wrong room. We walked in on another guest... not good. The bathroom was dirty. "I was shocked". I had stayed there before and had better experience. Like I said it was better in the past.

1324 Richmond Road Williamsburg VA

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in public areas
  • Free parking
  • Fitness center
  • Laundry facilities

Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort places you within a mile (2 km) of Walter J. Zable Stadium at Cary Field and Ripley's Believe It or Not!. This 89-room, 3-star resort welcomes guests with conveniences like free self parking, a fitness center, and a spa tub. It's near the airport and also near Governor's Palace and College of William and Mary.


Rooms

All of Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort's 89 air-conditioned rooms provide microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can enjoy WiFi and satellite TV. Other standard amenities include phones, ironing boards, and desks.


Property features

Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort offers a fitness center, a spa tub, and free WiFi in public areas. If you plan to drive, free parking is available. The 24-hour front desk has staff always at the ready. Other amenities at this family-friendly resort include a meeting room, a kids' club, and a seasonal outdoor pool.

Room options

Villa, 1 Bedroom

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Villa, 2 Bedrooms

Twin 3 | Sleeps 6

Studio (Villa)

Full 1 | Sleeps 3

Room (Colonial Guestroom)

Full 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort

Everyone (7) Couples (17) Business (1) Family (10)
2

westgate historic williamsburg resort

Everyone

The room was ok, it was clean but too small. The closet to hang your clothes in was really small. The hotel staff did not clean our room on the second day. I would not stay in this hotel room again.

By on Jun 5, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 5, 2017

Thank you for your review of Westgate Historic Williamsburg. We are sorry to read that your stay was not as satisfactory as you expected. We are always looking to improve and your feedback is of great help, we hope that you give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future. Nicole

2

very very disappointing.

Everyone

Upon entry into the room there was a very pungent smell. Had to send the husband out for Lysol spray and candles to try to eliminate the smell. This place is very historic indeed - old carpets and a bathroom that leave much to be desired. When we returned from site seeing the next day we came back to the room to find that room service did not do their job - beds were not made, trash not taken out, no fresh towels, toiletries - nothing. I had to call the front desk to hear that housekeeping doesn't work after hours, so front desk staff had to come bring us fresh towels. After more Lysol spraying in a failed attempt to get rid of the lingering historic smell, we find the next day that luckily housekeeping came to the room - HOWEVER, all they did was pull the blankets over and prop the pillows. The sheets underneath with not made. Let's just say avoid this place at all costs and spend the few dollars more and go to the Double Tree or Holiday Inn is probably way better. Unless you enjoy really really really historic service and smells. Oh and by the way - when I checked out I did complain to management. All they could offer was an apology, and nothing more.

By , from Washington, D.C. on Aug 24, 2016

Review comment responded on Sep 20, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize that we failed to meet your expectations. We know how many choices you have when staying in this city and we are glad you chose our facility. We always try to provide our guests with a valuable stay and we will share your comments with our team to ensure our quality is consistent. We look forward in welcoming you again the next time you may be in town.

1

everything terrible

Everyone

terrible. it was a very bad experience. that is all i can say about it

By , from here on Aug 23, 2016

Review comment responded on Sep 7, 2016

Your opinion and comments are really important to us. We strive in providing outstanding experiences to all our owners and guests; for this, we regret to hear that you felt pressured by our sales team since this is not our standard of service. Allow us a future opportunity to host you! >M.B

2

hotel needs work

Everyone

This hotel had very friendly staff and were atttetive to the needs of the guest. The room was good size but it needs many cosmetic updates and the AC unit leaked water over the carpet The first night I was there I needed ice to just watch tv and relax coming off the road and there are no ice machines to be found. I go the front desk and was told they have no ic machines and had to get me some ice out of the kitchen in a trash bag, not a good impression for a 3 star hotel. The room had 2 wing back chairs to sit in but both had huge stains on them so I sat on my bed to watch tv. These issues may seem trival to some but it is not a impression that a hotel should make.

By on Aug 17, 2016

Review comment responded on Sep 7, 2016

We appreciate your comments about your stay with us at the Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort. It is lovely to hear that you noticed the attention provided by our staff. We thank you for letting us know about your unit concerns, considering we are in the process of renovating the areas that need attention. We hope you communicated the staff and got assisted appropriately. >M.B

4

hotel is nice but be careful with booking!!

Everyone

I booked 2 Villas for a bachelorette party. They accommodated about 8 girls. Rooms were very nice and clean; however, when I booked the rooms and went back and looked at my confirmation I noticed they had me down for "colonial rooms" which are basic rooms in the "cottages" the cottages are not attached to the actual resort and look terrible! Fortunately I caught it early and was able to plead my case with Orbitz (which took about 4 hours). Be careful, read the fine print!'

By on Jul 29, 2016

Review comment responded on Sep 20, 2016

Thank you for posting a rating of our resort. We look forward to hosting your vacation again soon. Ray

2

old and musty

Everyone

This hotel is old and musty. For the price, I had expected a hotel that had been remodeled. Instead, I was staying at a 2-star hotel for a 4-star price.

By , from Washington, DC on Jul 24, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 1, 1970

We truly appreciate your honest comments in regards to your recent stay at the Westgate Historic Williamsburg. It brings us a lot of joy to know that you noticed our courteous staff. Our resort is under renovation so we apologize if this may have caused you any inconvenience. We hope you visit us at any of our Westgate Resorts locations. >M.B

3

adequate hotel close to shops.

Couples

We thought we were getting a hotel as pictured but ended up in one of their off site cottages. It had apparently been recently renovated, but the shower curtain was not clean, there was rust stains or "other" on the floor behind toilet, the towel rack was falling apart and the mirror looked like it had just been slapped on the bathroom door that was recently painted. The refrigerator went out during the night and all of our food was wasted. The housekeeper, although pleasant, was not thorough, ie. left dirty washcloth on shower rod, trash on table. The neighbors slammed their door alot. We had to walk about a block to get to the pool and hot tub. All that being said the king size bed was comfortable. We were close to shops. After discussing our concerns with the staff we were given a refund on our room.

By , from Virginia on Jul 23, 2016

Review comment responded on Sep 20, 2016

will give us a future opportunity to serve you. Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments as we are always looking for areas to progress. Guest satisfaction is our top priority and the issues you experienced are not our usual standard of service. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to go beyond your anticipations.

2

bad smell, damp

Everyone

Bad odor walking in to the room. Very damp carpet near the air conditioning. Lots of bugs outside of the door. Had to close the door quickly. Bathroom was old looking but functional. Location is good for Busch Gardens and restaurants. Did not complain to office because we had a short stay.

By on Jul 16, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 1, 1970

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay and for any inconveniences they may have caused. We have taken note of each matter you have had and will pass them on to the appropriate members of our staff. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. Guest satisfaction is out top priority and we regret that we fell short during your stay. The issues you experienced are very rare and we do hope that you will allow us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

4

awesome location

Families

Very very comfy bed and amazing bathtub. Location was outstanding! Can't wait to go back this summer

By on Feb 25, 2015

4

me and hubbie time

Families

The staff there were great from front desk to check out. Location was great also, will be back.

By on Sep 30, 2014