Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Great location. Staff members are very nice and helpful, especially the front desk's. Breakfast selections were plenty.

This is a strange hotel that does not have a front entrance - you enter through the parking garage. The front desk workers don't have great English, btw, so we had some small miscommunications but nothing serious. There was a massive (baseball-sized) spider in our bathroom and the place also smells kind of funky. We weren't there long enough to use or see any amenities, but it didn't feel like a very comfortable place where I'd like to hang out longer anyway.

Great facilities everything in the hotel and walking distance to downtown in case needed.

The outside of the hotel looks absolutely nothing like the promotional/Stock photo.That was a bit of a disappointment but inside was clean an d pretty well maintained.

Everyone welcomed us with open arms and a smile. We knew no spanish, most of them knew no english. They helped us anyway they could.

As always my stay in Balmoral was very nice. After an incident with my reservation that was solved by the associates Jacobo and Ander very quickly, everything was very good.

Nice people ! Any question or problem I had was handled promptly .

Had an a.c. problem but they sent a man up and he repaired it fast . No other problems . All the personel were very nice .

Perfect location in Downtown to feel a little bit of San Jose

Our stay at Balmoral Hotel didn't meet our expectations. The staff at check-in appeared uninterested & not very welcoming. Basic information (such as breakfast) was provided only after questions. We discovered one of our 2 rooms was occupied after walking in on an undressed person. The bathroom in the other room had a persistent foul odor. We won't stay there again.

This place is very disappointing. The online description and pictures do not convey the soul-less reality of the hotel and the room. The tagline for this hotel is "A Place Full of Life." I should have realized that if you have to state what should be obvious, the statement is aspirational, and not true. I was just one person, but for some reason was given a room with two small twin beds that slid around on the floor. The window looked out on an airshaft, so forget about light and views. Even though the hotel touts that is was recently remodeled, there were no easily available electric outlets to recharge phones, etc. All of the outlets were behind furniture—which was easy to move because it was so cheaply made—but who designs something like this in modern times. Additionally the only seating in the room was a tired office chair—no table or desk—that looked like an afterthought. Service in the restaurant was extremely slow. The only this this place has going for it is the location near the city's sights. This is not a place you want to hang out it.

The hotel was a good location for pedestrian visitors and was in a busy commercial zone. The staff were helpful and friendly. The facility was well maintained and clean.

I Went for a short, the location is center off San Jose.

Very nice hotel right downtown which was perfect for a one day walking tour of San Jose

staff has absolutely no hospitalit knowledge, no leaders around

Very comfortable stay in the center of San Jose. Close to main Teatro National, Cathedrals, and Museums. clearly newly renovated. "Family room" was perfect for us, with two separate bedrooms (queen bed in one, two doubles in other) & sitting room in between.

This is one of best hotels in the area, but when you leave the building after dark we did not feel comfortable or completely safe. If you plan on visiting Costa Rica, don't stay in San Jose for very long & good luck getting out of city easily, we were met with many road construction projects & traffic jams... not fun! Nice hotel though & staff was helpful & there was security on site.

From the pictures, this place looks phenomenal. However, the overall experience was just ok. The bathrooms had a musty smell and there was construction going on through out our entire visit.We usually stayed for breakfast downstair and that was okay as well. If you are single or on a budget this place would be great for you. But we had kids with us so iwas really hoping it would be more of a relaxing experience and unfortunatley this hotel did not meet my needs. The location of the hotel wasnt that great either, our first night here the taxi driver turns to my husband and oints out a brothel and says good price for them sir. the remainder of our trip we stayed in a resort in Arenal which was a much better experince for us.

Central Ave, between 7th and 9th St San Jose San Jose

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Morazan Park and Central Park
  • Free local cuisine breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free covered valet parking

Balmoral Hotel places you within a 5-minute walk of popular attractions such as Morazan Park and National Theater. This 3.5-star hotel welcomes guests with 119 rooms and conveniences like a 24-hour gym, free in-room WiFi, and free valet parking. Centrally located in San Jose, the hotel is connected to a shopping center and also a short walk from Jade Museum and National Museum of Costa Rica.


Dining

Free local cuisine breakfast is served each morning from 6:30 AM to 10:00 AM. Sit down for a leisurely bite to eat at the onsite restaurant, or enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Savor a meal from the privacy of your room with room service, or get a pick-me-up at the 2 coffee shops/cafés.


Rooms

All 119 soundproofed rooms provide safes, phones, and desks. Guests can expect to find flat-screen TVs and stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and beds sport premium bedding. Wardrobes or closets are also standard. Private bathrooms are not ensuite.


Property features

Guests of Balmoral Hotel enjoy a 24-hour gym, free WiFi in public areas, and a conference center. You can take advantage of free valet parking, along with an airport shuttle (available 24 hours) for USD 34.00 per vehicle one-way. The front desk has multilingual staff standing by 24 hours a day to assist with concierge services and luggage storage. Additional amenities include a 24-hour business center, a computer station, and express check-out.

Room options

Superior Room

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Room, City View

2 Double Beds | 1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Standard Room (Plus)

2 Double Beds | 1 Double Bed | Sleeps 3

Family Room

1 Queen Bed and 2 Double Beds | Sleeps 6

Guest reviews for Balmoral Hotel

Everyone (21) Couples (9) Business (3) Family (6) Other (10) Friends (6)
5
Family

Great location. Staff members are very nice and helpful, especially the front desk's. Breakfast selections were plenty.

By on Nov 17, 2021

3
Friends

This is a strange hotel that does not have a front entrance - you enter through the parking garage. The front desk workers don't have great English, btw, so we had some small miscommunications but nothing serious. There was a massive (baseball-sized) spider in our bathroom and the place also smells kind of funky. We weren't there long enough to use or see any amenities, but it didn't feel like a very comfortable place where I'd like to hang out longer anyway.

By on Aug 3, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 3, 2021

Dear guest, We appreciate your comments, given that they help us improve the services we offer, we hope to see you soon. Warm regards,

5
Everyone

Great facilities everything in the hotel and walking distance to downtown in case needed.

By on Apr 19, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 19, 2021

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind comments given that they help us a lot to improve our services and their experience with us, we hope to see you in a next occasion. Warm regards,

3
Family Business Business

The outside of the hotel looks absolutely nothing like the promotional/Stock photo.That was a bit of a disappointment but inside was clean an d pretty well maintained.

By on Apr 18, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 20, 2021

Dear Guest, We are so sorry for the situation on our outside, and we appreciate your kind comments and observation, we hope to be able to assist you in the next occasion. Warm regards,

5
Everyone

Everyone welcomed us with open arms and a smile. We knew no spanish, most of them knew no english. They helped us anyway they could.

By on Oct 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 20, 2019

Good afternoon, I hope you are doing great Thank you so much for your comment we appreciate it. It's good to know you felt so welcomed during your stay. I hope you can visit us soon one more time. Regards.

5
Everyone

By on Apr 20, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 23, 2019

Good afternoon, Thank you so much for staying with us. Hope you had a wonderful stay. Regards.

5
Everyone

By on Jan 22, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 6, 2019

Good morning, Thank you for staying with us, i hope you had a pleasent stay. Regards

5
Everyone

As always my stay in Balmoral was very nice. After an incident with my reservation that was solved by the associates Jacobo and Ander very quickly, everything was very good.

By on Dec 30, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 14, 2019

Good morning, Thank you so much for your comment its good to hear you had a great experience during your stay. Regards.

5
Everyone

Nice people ! Any question or problem I had was handled promptly .

By on Nov 18, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 27, 2018

Good morning! Its good to hear that you had a great experience during your stay at our Hotel, we hope you isit us again. Regards.

4
Everyone

Had an a.c. problem but they sent a man up and he repaired it fast . No other problems . All the personel were very nice .

By , from Mobile al on Nov 16, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 27, 2018

Good morning Thank you for your comment, its good to hear that you had a graet experience in our Hotel and that the problem presented in your room was solved in no time. Regards

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/San-Jose-Hotels-Balmoral-Hotel.h19255-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /San-Jose-Hotels-Balmoral-Hotel.h19255-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/San-Jose-Hotels-Balmoral-Hotel.h19255-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions