Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Very nice customer service Representatives. Room very nice and clean. Spacious and comfy bed. Close to stores and China Town. Overall a great stay and would definitely recommend the Balmoral Hotel in San Jose to everyone! 👍

the customer service is great! the rooms suck. AC broke found roaches

Good location, and great staff

Great location. Staff members are very nice and helpful, especially the front desk's. Breakfast selections were plenty.

This is a strange hotel that does not have a front entrance - you enter through the parking garage. The front desk workers don't have great English, btw, so we had some small miscommunications but nothing serious. There was a massive (baseball-sized) spider in our bathroom and the place also smells kind of funky. We weren't there long enough to use or see any amenities, but it didn't feel like a very comfortable place where I'd like to hang out longer anyway.

Great facilities everything in the hotel and walking distance to downtown in case needed.

The outside of the hotel looks absolutely nothing like the promotional/Stock photo.That was a bit of a disappointment but inside was clean an d pretty well maintained.

Everyone welcomed us with open arms and a smile. We knew no spanish, most of them knew no english. They helped us anyway they could.

As always my stay in Balmoral was very nice. After an incident with my reservation that was solved by the associates Jacobo and Ander very quickly, everything was very good.

Nice people ! Any question or problem I had was handled promptly .

Had an a.c. problem but they sent a man up and he repaired it fast . No other problems . All the personel were very nice .

Perfect location in Downtown to feel a little bit of San Jose

Our stay at Balmoral Hotel didn't meet our expectations. The staff at check-in appeared uninterested & not very welcoming. Basic information (such as breakfast) was provided only after questions. We discovered one of our 2 rooms was occupied after walking in on an undressed person. The bathroom in the other room had a persistent foul odor. We won't stay there again.

This place is very disappointing. The online description and pictures do not convey the soul-less reality of the hotel and the room. The tagline for this hotel is "A Place Full of Life." I should have realized that if you have to state what should be obvious, the statement is aspirational, and not true. I was just one person, but for some reason was given a room with two small twin beds that slid around on the floor. The window looked out on an airshaft, so forget about light and views. Even though the hotel touts that is was recently remodeled, there were no easily available electric outlets to recharge phones, etc. All of the outlets were behind furniture—which was easy to move because it was so cheaply made—but who designs something like this in modern times. Additionally the only seating in the room was a tired office chair—no table or desk—that looked like an afterthought. Service in the restaurant was extremely slow. The only this this place has going for it is the location near the city's sights. This is not a place you want to hang out it.

The hotel was a good location for pedestrian visitors and was in a busy commercial zone. The staff were helpful and friendly. The facility was well maintained and clean.

I Went for a short, the location is center off San Jose.

Very nice hotel right downtown which was perfect for a one day walking tour of San Jose

staff has absolutely no hospitalit knowledge, no leaders around

Central Ave, between 7th and 9th St San José San Jose

Room options

Superior Room

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Room, City View

2 Double Beds | 1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Family Room

1 Queen Bed and 2 Double Beds | Sleeps 6

Deluxe Plus

2 Double Beds | 1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Balmoral Hotel

Everyone (21) Couples (8) Business (3) Family (5) Friends (4) Other (5)
4
Family

Very nice customer service Representatives. Room very nice and clean. Spacious and comfy bed. Close to stores and China Town. Overall a great stay and would definitely recommend the Balmoral Hotel in San Jose to everyone! 👍

By on Oct 30, 2022

Review comment responded on Oct 31, 2022

Hello Olga,We appreciate your feedback and we are glad to hear that your experience at the Balmoral Hotel was pleasant. We are always working to improve our service and offer you the best. Regards.

2
Partner Couples

the customer service is great! the rooms suck. AC broke found roaches

By on Jul 18, 2022

Review comment responded on Jul 18, 2022

Good morning dear, thank you for your opinion about the Hotel, we regret the situation, I would like to comment that the reception is always available so that any situation of this kind can be communicated and solved as soon as possible. In the same way we are already following up to solve it and that this situation does not happen again. Best regards.

5
Business Business

Good location, and great staff

By on May 19, 2022

Review comment responded on Jun 11, 2022

Good afternoon Dear Giovanni Thank you for your kind comment, it motivates us to continue providing an excellent service. Best regards

5
Family

Great location. Staff members are very nice and helpful, especially the front desk's. Breakfast selections were plenty.

By on Nov 17, 2021

3
Friends

This is a strange hotel that does not have a front entrance - you enter through the parking garage. The front desk workers don't have great English, btw, so we had some small miscommunications but nothing serious. There was a massive (baseball-sized) spider in our bathroom and the place also smells kind of funky. We weren't there long enough to use or see any amenities, but it didn't feel like a very comfortable place where I'd like to hang out longer anyway.

By on Aug 3, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 3, 2021

Dear guest, We appreciate your comments, given that they help us improve the services we offer, we hope to see you soon. Warm regards,

5
Everyone

Great facilities everything in the hotel and walking distance to downtown in case needed.

By on Apr 19, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 19, 2021

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind comments given that they help us a lot to improve our services and their experience with us, we hope to see you in a next occasion. Warm regards,

3
Family Business Business

The outside of the hotel looks absolutely nothing like the promotional/Stock photo.That was a bit of a disappointment but inside was clean an d pretty well maintained.

By on Apr 18, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 20, 2021

Dear Guest, We are so sorry for the situation on our outside, and we appreciate your kind comments and observation, we hope to be able to assist you in the next occasion. Warm regards,

5
Everyone

Everyone welcomed us with open arms and a smile. We knew no spanish, most of them knew no english. They helped us anyway they could.

By on Oct 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 20, 2019

Good afternoon, I hope you are doing great Thank you so much for your comment we appreciate it. It's good to know you felt so welcomed during your stay. I hope you can visit us soon one more time. Regards.

5
Everyone

By on Apr 20, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 23, 2019

Good afternoon, Thank you so much for staying with us. Hope you had a wonderful stay. Regards.

5
Everyone

By on Jan 22, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 6, 2019

Good morning, Thank you for staying with us, i hope you had a pleasent stay. Regards

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/San-José-Hotels-Balmoral-Hotel.h19255-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /San-José-Hotels-Balmoral-Hotel.h19255-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/San-José-Hotels-Balmoral-Hotel.h19255-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions