Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - Select Club - All Inclusive

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Check in: wasn’t a quick one, timeshare (Royal Elite Club) sales stopped us after check in, gave us a guide about the resort and invited us to a meeting the next day but we were not interested. If you want to see what timeshare they offer, you can definitely go ahead and enjoy Pools: very nice and clean, swim up bar was nice, staffs were friendly, and they remembered my name :) Food: I don’t know what is it that made us go to the bathroom right after we finished eating. Buffet had a lot of different food but everyday was the same kind of food, wish they had different theme each night. A la carte restaurants were good; Asiana and El gaucho were amazing. Taco/burrito cafe was a good snack place. Cafe had good expressions. Brazilian restaurant was ehhh. the buffet by the beach was never opened. We stayed at the adults section so breakfast buffet by there was pretty good. Room: clean, we booked a king size bed but they gave us two full size beds, one of the bed was bad, the shower drained was slow, the sink always had a sewer smell, AC was cold enough, thumbs up to jacuzzi in the room. Beach: the first two days the water was crystal clear, then the rest of the days were swimming with seaweed Watersport: we paid for an hour jetski but they asked us to come back after 30 mins. Better to speak Spanish because they barely understand English This resort is lack of hot tubes, there’s only one at the spa. And the water wasn’t hot

Wasted too much time at front desk trying to resolve a issue with manager .my safe got broken into and they said I left it open .they said I left valuables outside (makeup bag) didn't make sense.also staff selling spa pedicure cost me $127 when she said if you used your Amex card it was going to be $40 BS .i didn't get to relax do to everyone trying to sell you something all day long .never going back

THIS WAS OUR THIRD TIME AT THE SANDOS, I WOULD LIKE TO SAY WE HAD A GREAT TIME BUT I CAN NOT. WE HAD A GOOD TIME, EVERY TIME I TURNED AROUND THE SALES PEOPLE WERE ON YOU TO BUY. WE HAD A GREAT CORNER ROOM AT THE ADULTS ONLY SECTION, THE ONLY PROBLEM WITH THE ROOM WAS THE SHEETS THEY HAD STAINS.THE DOOR ON THE MINI FRIDG WAS BROKEN CALLED BUT GOT NO HELP. VERY DAY THE POWER WEN OUT FOR ABOUT 5 MINS. THEN OUR FAN STOPPED WORKING.

this is my third stay at sandos playacar...they have the best beach of any resort weve stayed at...they have spent millions upgrading the grand buffet and building a new Italian restaurant...unfortunately, since the last time weve stayed, corners have been cut and the quality of the food was appalling...the grand buffet is the same every night; gone are the themes that used to change every night...ala carte restaurants food quality has seriously gone downhill in quality and taste

My girlfriend and I went for 5 days and although the weather was perfect which made our stay that much better, it was literally perfect. Could not have asked for more; the pool, beach, food, staff, room, etc. etc. were excellent. Lots to do!

When I checked in to this resort at 11:30 pm, after a long day of travel, it took in excess of 30 minutes to get through the process. I was NOT told about the Premium Club advantages, NOT given a map of the resort, and was generally treated very curtly. When I went to get my bag, I was told I would have to wait for help. At this point all I wanted to do was lay down, so I enquired where my room was and decided to take it myself. I was told "down the stairs". Well, the directions were much more complicated than that, made worse by poor lighting and inadequate numbering information. When I finally got to my room there was a dirty rag on the floor, nothing in the mini-fridge, and a stale smell. It was obvious that the room was not ready to be used! When I explained my dissatisfaction to the staff the next day, I was dealt with in a perfunctory manner. When I identified my concern to Sandos after the trip, I heard nothing. The rest of the stay was nice, with accommodating and pleasant staff, and the stay was nice. I just wish the introduction to the resort (and the subsequent lack of response to my complaints) were on the same calibre. With so many resorts on the Riviera Maya, I won't be staying here again.

My husband and I came here for our 15th anniversary. It was our first time doing an all inclusive and I was a little nervous about it. The grounds were amazing. The food was really good. Not AMAZING but really good. The adult only area was so nice. Quiet and no kids to keep reminding us that we left ours behind. The beach was gorgeous and so great because it was at the end of all the resorts so it felt like we had the most beach to ourselves, and not as many people came down that far to try to sell us things either. There isn't a lot for night life if you are looking for that. One club that was dead most every night. They did some shows that seemed more family friendly. They did harass us a little for not doing their "breakfast tour" aka time share thing but we just kept saying no and they eventually gave up. The town area is really cute too. Was nice you could ride bikes they provide into town. Just bring shoes, they won't let you take bikes with flip flops. Lots of walking so bring comfy shoes. From the adult pools to the beach its a good 15 min. walk, but its beautiful! Overall a really great place. We had an amazing week! Totally chill and there was a fun group of adults to play volleyball and games in the adult pool. We would definitely come back!

This property is just 'ok'. Upgraded to the Adult only section, had a private pool and section of the beach, but the area was the furthest away from the beach. The upgraded room, was nothing special, the bed was rock hard, and the air conditioning barely kept the room cooler than the outside air. Mini Bar had only beer(2 cans), no liquor and was not restocked daily. The service at the Mexican Restaurant was horrible, taking over one hr to get food. Other restaurants were fine, some dishes on the breakfast buffet were cold. The buffet at the beach was just ok. Some of the other areas where the kids were allowed we almost overtaken by them getting food - won't go back. There are too many other resorts with more comforts.

Our 3rd stay here. The beach is incredible! Drinks are top shelf and not watered down. Food is hit and miss depending on the restaurant. Rooms are also slowly being upgraded. The Select Club section is nice for adults who don't want to be around kids. Love the adult section on the beach. The staff is awesome! Will retur!

I felt like we really go our money's worth. The place is beautiful. Everything is kept immaculate by the super friendly staff. Can't say enough great things about the staff. The food was great. We stayed in the adult section and really enjoyed ourselves and want to come back once a year now.

This is a nice place, it was some little things that affected how I felt. Broken phone in room, missing light bulbs, missing tolet paper holder. Little things. When phone worked, it took forever to get thru to room service. The food was very so-so. The beach was beautiful, the pools were nice.

Didn't get the experience I had in mind from this hotel. There were some employees that were nice but I was really surprised to see how bad the other ones were. From the golf car shuttle service which wasn't every 5-10 min as they said, to rude employees in the restaurants with extremely slow service and not even with a full restaurant. Worst of all is that my wife was going downstairs from the lobby to the room and she fell next to a hotel employee who was drying them out and he didn't say a word, nor helped her to get up. Another guest was the one who helped her, and on top of that we had to pay $120 for the doctor consult!!! DO NOT GO THERE. There are so many more hotels with a much better service.

The hotel is a great place to stay in playa del Carmen.Your just ten minutes car ride or twenty minutes bike ride to famous 5th ave.There you can shop eat out or go to a nightclub. The resort itself has a wide variety of food options to eat. Also there is no mandatory reservations at the restaurants. The entertainment is good and the bars are good. The beach is beautiful and the water is clear. The adult pool is awesome with a swim up bar. The staff keeps the drinks flowing and they are not watered down. This was my tenth trip there and I will go back again.

I thought the hotel was just okay. I will not go back again. It was alot of walking and not beachfront like I thought it was. Restaurants service was poor. Took them very long to bring drinks even after I went to the buffet.

It was our first time in Playa. We really enjoyed the hotel. We stayed at the Adults section which is all the way in the back of the resort. They have carts all day driving by to take guests to the beach area. Some people think that it is a long distance from the beach but I had no problem walking to the beach instead of taking the cart. It was the only exercising we got for 8 days ! LOL! And it was worth it because after drinking and eating like pigs we didnt gain any weight! We really enjoyed the food and drinks! The restaurants didnt require reservation. Staff was really nice. The only problem is that the room smelled like mold. My husband coughed the whole night and we thought about asking to change rooms but other guests were complaining that their rooms smelled mold as well. We would go back but make sure we stay in an area that has no mold in the room.

Very relaxing and beautiful resort. Had a great time. The staff are all really nice and give great customer service.

this is my second time i stayed at Sandos. And its the best resort i have been too. The pool bar is amazing you have seats by the pool bar and drink all you want. The pool itself is georgeous bbq every day by the pool. Amazing staff and entertainment as well as the disco club on premisses. Im already planning my next trip in sandos.

Great resort for the value! The Paris restaurant is amazing as well as the Asian! Stayed in the adult only section. Will be going back!

We went to this resort as a recommendation from someone who had been there before. We were very disappointed. We were unable to make reservations for a nicer restaurant for any of the days we stayed there even though we could see that the restaurants were quite empty. And because the resort was environmentally friendly, there was no air conditioning in the buffets and it was just unbearable eating in the heat. The couple that recommended the place, who also returned with us, also said it has changed since they've been there a few years back. There were also a lot of children and most amenities there were for under 18. We were not even allowed in the arcade.

Paseo Xaman-ha Lote 1 Playa del Carmen QROO

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa

Located in Playacar within a mile (2 km) of Playacar Golf Club, Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - Select Club - All Inclusive is within a few miles (5 km) of Playa del Carmen Maritime Terminal. This 276-room, 4-star resort has 3 outdoor pools along with a full-service spa and 10 restaurants. It's on the beach and also close to Xcaret Eco Theme Park and Yucatek Divers.


Dining

This resort is home to 10 onsite restaurants, perfect for a quick bite to eat. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with 24-hour room service, or get a quick energy boost at the 3 coffee shops/cafés.


Rooms

All 276 air-conditioned rooms feature free minibar items, balconies, and iPod docks. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and plasma TVs with satellite channels. Bathrooms offer jetted tubs, hair dryers, and free toiletries. Sofa beds, coffee makers, and free bottled water are other standard amenities.


Property features

Guests of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - Select Club - All Inclusive have access to a full-service spa, 3 outdoor pools, and a nightclub. There's free parking, and an airport shuttle (available 24 hours) for MXN 2100 per person one way. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this adults-only resort include a health club, a spa tub, and a sauna.

Room options

Jr Suite Riviera Select With Jacuzzi

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 3

Room (Affiliate)

Twin 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Sandos Playacar Beach Resort - Select Club - All Inclusive

Everyone (10) Couples (31) Family (7) Friends (7)
3

huge resort, 15 mins walk to the beach

Everyone

Check in: wasn’t a quick one, timeshare (Royal Elite Club) sales stopped us after check in, gave us a guide about the resort and invited us to a meeting the next day but we were not interested. If you want to see what timeshare they offer, you can definitely go ahead and enjoy Pools: very nice and clean, swim up bar was nice, staffs were friendly, and they remembered my name :) Food: I don’t know what is it that made us go to the bathroom right after we finished eating. Buffet had a lot of different food but everyday was the same kind of food, wish they had different theme each night. A la carte restaurants were good; Asiana and El gaucho were amazing. Taco/burrito cafe was a good snack place. Cafe had good expressions. Brazilian restaurant was ehhh. the buffet by the beach was never opened. We stayed at the adults section so breakfast buffet by there was pretty good. Room: clean, we booked a king size bed but they gave us two full size beds, one of the bed was bad, the shower drained was slow, the sink always had a sewer smell, AC was cold enough, thumbs up to jacuzzi in the room. Beach: the first two days the water was crystal clear, then the rest of the days were swimming with seaweed Watersport: we paid for an hour jetski but they asked us to come back after 30 mins. Better to speak Spanish because they barely understand English This resort is lack of hot tubes, there’s only one at the spa. And the water wasn’t hot

By , from New York on Nov 5, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 7, 2017

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Sandos Playacar Beach Resort to spend your vacations and for sharing your opinion about your experience. It is good to read you enjoyed the pools, the attention of our staff and some of our a la carte restaurants. Furthermore, we appreciate the observations you made about your room; you can be sure that they will be addressed to the corresponding department. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards,

2

manager not able help

Everyone

Wasted too much time at front desk trying to resolve a issue with manager .my safe got broken into and they said I left it open .they said I left valuables outside (makeup bag) didn't make sense.also staff selling spa pedicure cost me $127 when she said if you used your Amex card it was going to be $40 BS .i didn't get to relax do to everyone trying to sell you something all day long .never going back

By on Sep 11, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 18, 2017

Dear guest, We are deeply sorry to read of the poor impression you left our hotel with regarding your recent stay with us. I hope you can share with us what exactly was the situation regarding your interaction with our front desk manager so that we can review this with him and take corrective actions where necessary. I wonder who told you to get a $127.00 pedicure for only $40.00 just because of using a particular credit card, that is not something we promote in our hotel. If anybody told you to left our valuables outside of the safety deposit box, that was a mistake and should not have been done. We apologize for such a poor response. We would really like to put in place corrective actions regarding any areas of opportunity, so we hope you can share in detail whatever contributed to the poor and wrong impression expressed regarding our hotel. We hope you and your family have a wonderful weekend. Kindest wishes,

4

great hotel, to big.

Families

THIS WAS OUR THIRD TIME AT THE SANDOS, I WOULD LIKE TO SAY WE HAD A GREAT TIME BUT I CAN NOT. WE HAD A GOOD TIME, EVERY TIME I TURNED AROUND THE SALES PEOPLE WERE ON YOU TO BUY. WE HAD A GREAT CORNER ROOM AT THE ADULTS ONLY SECTION, THE ONLY PROBLEM WITH THE ROOM WAS THE SHEETS THEY HAD STAINS.THE DOOR ON THE MINI FRIDG WAS BROKEN CALLED BUT GOT NO HELP. VERY DAY THE POWER WEN OUT FOR ABOUT 5 MINS. THEN OUR FAN STOPPED WORKING.

By , from PORTLAND OREGON on Jun 8, 2017

Review comment responded on Jun 10, 2017

Dear Dennis, Thank you so much for choosing once again Sandos Playacar Beach Resort as your vacation destination and for taking the time share your feedback. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the grounds, pools and the attention of our staff. It will be truly a pleasure to host you for the fourth time. Kind regards,

3

disappointed

Everyone

this is my third stay at sandos playacar...they have the best beach of any resort weve stayed at...they have spent millions upgrading the grand buffet and building a new Italian restaurant...unfortunately, since the last time weve stayed, corners have been cut and the quality of the food was appalling...the grand buffet is the same every night; gone are the themes that used to change every night...ala carte restaurants food quality has seriously gone downhill in quality and taste

By , from boerne, tx on May 12, 2017

Review comment responded on May 17, 2017

Dear guest, While extending you a warm regard, I would like to deeply thank you for choosing our hotel for the third time and for the time you took to write about your experience. It is great to read that once again you enjoyed our beautiful beach and our privileged location. On the other side, we are deeply sorry to know that on this occasion our food offerings were not up to your expectations. We do hope to have the honor to welcome you back to Sandos Playacar Beach Resort. Sincerely,

5

unbelievable experience, a+!!!

Everyone

My girlfriend and I went for 5 days and although the weather was perfect which made our stay that much better, it was literally perfect. Could not have asked for more; the pool, beach, food, staff, room, etc. etc. were excellent. Lots to do!

By on Apr 30, 2017

Review comment responded on May 11, 2017

Dear guest, Thank you for your preference and for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort. We are really happy to read that the pool, beach, food and all our services were excellent . It will be truly a pleasure to welcome you back soon! Warm regards,

3

horrible check-in colored stay

Everyone

When I checked in to this resort at 11:30 pm, after a long day of travel, it took in excess of 30 minutes to get through the process. I was NOT told about the Premium Club advantages, NOT given a map of the resort, and was generally treated very curtly. When I went to get my bag, I was told I would have to wait for help. At this point all I wanted to do was lay down, so I enquired where my room was and decided to take it myself. I was told "down the stairs". Well, the directions were much more complicated than that, made worse by poor lighting and inadequate numbering information. When I finally got to my room there was a dirty rag on the floor, nothing in the mini-fridge, and a stale smell. It was obvious that the room was not ready to be used! When I explained my dissatisfaction to the staff the next day, I was dealt with in a perfunctory manner. When I identified my concern to Sandos after the trip, I heard nothing. The rest of the stay was nice, with accommodating and pleasant staff, and the stay was nice. I just wish the introduction to the resort (and the subsequent lack of response to my complaints) were on the same calibre. With so many resorts on the Riviera Maya, I won't be staying here again.

By , from Chicago, IL on Apr 22, 2017

Review comment responded on May 17, 2017

Dear guest, I am sorry to read of the poor impression you seem to have taken with you regarding your recent stay at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort. We can see that you felt dissapointed with the check in process you went through at the moment of your arrival. On the other hand, I would like to stress that indeed we usually do not handle maps to our customers upon arrival as we have spread all over our property some 23 giagantic location maps which will assist our customers when moving around the public areas of the resort. Furthermore I should mention that we place in each one of our customer‘s room a locationn map which can be found within their room service directory. We are sorry to see that this may not have been explained to you. As you highlight, our bell boys should have assisted you with the direction to your room as well as assisting you with the suitcases. I will certainly review what you describe in your posting with our front desk manager for that poor impression we have given you, is in no way reflective of us or this institution. I am very sorry to see that you have left home with a poor impression as a result of some members of our staff, but also a wrong impression about management as you did not receive a response to the concerns you apparently shared with someone while at Sandos. I can tell you unequivocally that I never received any information regarding your concerns. You can rest assured that we will work hard to improve our hotel services and will do our utmost to prevent similar negative experiences to future customers. Kindest wishes,

4

great first all inclusive experience!

Everyone

My husband and I came here for our 15th anniversary. It was our first time doing an all inclusive and I was a little nervous about it. The grounds were amazing. The food was really good. Not AMAZING but really good. The adult only area was so nice. Quiet and no kids to keep reminding us that we left ours behind. The beach was gorgeous and so great because it was at the end of all the resorts so it felt like we had the most beach to ourselves, and not as many people came down that far to try to sell us things either. There isn't a lot for night life if you are looking for that. One club that was dead most every night. They did some shows that seemed more family friendly. They did harass us a little for not doing their "breakfast tour" aka time share thing but we just kept saying no and they eventually gave up. The town area is really cute too. Was nice you could ride bikes they provide into town. Just bring shoes, they won't let you take bikes with flip flops. Lots of walking so bring comfy shoes. From the adult pools to the beach its a good 15 min. walk, but its beautiful! Overall a really great place. We had an amazing week! Totally chill and there was a fun group of adults to play volleyball and games in the adult pool. We would definitely come back!

By , from Sun Prairie, WI on Apr 11, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 13, 2017

Dear guest, While extending you a warm regard, I would like to thank you deeply for choosing Sandos Playacar Beach Resort for your family vacation. We are glad to read that you enjoyed and made the best of your stay with us, particularly due to our amazing beach, which is one of our best qualities. Rest assured that we will keep up the good work and will continue to improve our hotel facilities and services. We hope to see you soon at your new home at the Mayan Riviera. Kindest wishes,

3

just ok ...

Couples

This property is just 'ok'. Upgraded to the Adult only section, had a private pool and section of the beach, but the area was the furthest away from the beach. The upgraded room, was nothing special, the bed was rock hard, and the air conditioning barely kept the room cooler than the outside air. Mini Bar had only beer(2 cans), no liquor and was not restocked daily. The service at the Mexican Restaurant was horrible, taking over one hr to get food. Other restaurants were fine, some dishes on the breakfast buffet were cold. The buffet at the beach was just ok. Some of the other areas where the kids were allowed we almost overtaken by them getting food - won't go back. There are too many other resorts with more comforts.

By , from Washington, MO on Feb 20, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 16, 2017

Dear guest, On behalf of our members, I would like to warmly greet you and take the opportunity to thank you deeply for the time you have taken to sharing your review attached. We are sorry to see that you left our hotel with such a poor impression which is no way is reflective of our hotel and its people. We take your observations and constructive criticism with the best intention to further improve our hotel services wherever we can. Kindest wishes,

4

best beach in playa del carmen

Everyone

Our 3rd stay here. The beach is incredible! Drinks are top shelf and not watered down. Food is hit and miss depending on the restaurant. Rooms are also slowly being upgraded. The Select Club section is nice for adults who don't want to be around kids. Love the adult section on the beach. The staff is awesome! Will retur!

By , from Leslie, MO on Feb 19, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 16, 2017

Dear guest, While extending you a warm regard, I would like to thank you for honoring us for a 3rd stay at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort. With respect to your constructive observations, rest assured that we will keep improving as we are a customer service oriented company and comments such as yours, are of paramount importance to us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sandos Playacar Beach Resort Kindest wishes,

5

will be back for sure!

Everyone
Adult beach section

I felt like we really go our money's worth. The place is beautiful. Everything is kept immaculate by the super friendly staff. Can't say enough great things about the staff. The food was great. We stayed in the adult section and really enjoyed ourselves and want to come back once a year now.

By , from Portland, OR on Jan 29, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 16, 2017

Dear Guest, While extending a warm regard, we would like to thank you for the beautiful posting regarding your vacation experience in our hotel. We are glad to see that you had a fabulous stay with us and enjoyed our Select Club, our food selection and many other things, particularly the attention and friendliness from our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to your new home away from home.. Best wishes.