Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

High Desert Inn

2.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

The rooms were comfortable. The gym was open early in the morning, as was the pool. The staff was great. Very friendly and helpful.

The elevator was broke and our room was on the 4th floor so that was a bummer. The room could use a rehab especially the bathroom. Overall it was a nice place but could use some attention

Staff was nice and quick. Indoor Pool was more chlorine than water. Carpet in room was nasty dirty. Beds were ok, but the blankets felt like cardboard. For a cheap stay it was ok. Don't have high hopes!

The room was clean. Comfortable bed. But needs vending machine on each floor

It's a good place to stay for business trip staff very friendly. Help me transition into room quickly an efficiently.

it was a quick deal i found online going to california. i was just looking for someplace to lay my head down after driving 9 hours. friendly staff and nice rooms

just a place to get off the highway and sleep. No finishes improved since 1960. Bed was comfortable. The photos must have been taken right after the building was built. It is much more run down than the photos show. Would not stay there again.

Overall a good value parking was a little difficult but that was because i got in late. I will definitely return.

Room was big and comfortable and clean. Would stay there again

We were on a long cross-country trip and my husband has a bad back. It was so nice to use the hot tub in the hotel after arriving. Our room was clean and the amenities I like, such as wifi, a side table, and a coffee pot were present. The hall carpets and wallpaper are showing wear and there was the faintest hint of cigarette smoke in the halls. The biggest improvement I would suggest is in-house dining, but the Red Lion across the street does have very nice meals.

Large room, comfortable bed. Pet-friendly!

Just came off long day riding motorcycle in from Lake Tahoe and looking for a good value. Think we found it as the rooms where very clean, always a my priority! No casino, which was fine by us as we just wanted to get some rest. (There where two casinos across the street.) No restaurant in hotel, but found JR's just up the road.

I atrended the Cowboy annual poetry gathering. Some electrical lights were not operating and never fixed.

The fire alarm went off three times in the middle of the night for no reason. I believe it was caused by some remodeling they were doing. The alarm went off for approximately 15 minutes each time. My wife and children were not able to get a good night's rest. When my wife checked out at the front desk and asked if they got their problem fixed, they did not apologize or try to make it up to her in anyway. I know this situation with the alarm might not have been able to be controlled, but their response to it is what turned me off. I will never stay there again.

The hotel is a bit shabby, but clean enough. The location is very good. Restaurants and shopping are walking distance. Unfortunaely,the hotel restaurant and bar were closed. That would have made things more convenient. The rooms had some of the best coffee we've ever had in any hotel.

Decent place, no restaurant or gambling

We were very close to a casino and restaurants. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. The internet was not available in our room but they told me the specific chair in the lobby to sit in to get on line. I thought that was funny, but not a problem. Our room had a small refrigerator and freezer and a microwave.

Although this hotel wouldn't be considered "fancy", it was a nice place to stay. It has a pool, spa, and fitness room. I have stayed in a lot worse for a lot more. Restaurants and grocery store located across the street.

3015 E Idaho St Elko NV

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Fitness center

High Desert Inn places you within a mile (2 km) of Elko Convention Center and Northeastern Nevada Museum. This 171-room motel has an indoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking. It's in central Elko and also close to Western Folklife Center and Great Basin College.


Rooms

The 171 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including coffee makers, phones, and ironing boards. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and cable TV.


Property features

At High Desert Inn, guests enjoy an indoor pool, a fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. You can take advantage of free parking if you drive. Front-desk staff are standing by 24/7 to assist with any requests. Additional amenities include a 24-hour business center and wedding services.

Room options

Executive Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Executive Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for High Desert Inn

Everyone (3) Business (6) Couples (4) Family (2) Other (2) Friends (1)
4

gym and pool

Everyone

The rooms were comfortable. The gym was open early in the morning, as was the pool. The staff was great. Very friendly and helpful.

By , from new Zealand on Jan 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 26, 2017

Thank you for choosing the High Desert Inn. We are glad to hear that you had a good stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

3

decent place for the price

Everyone

The elevator was broke and our room was on the 4th floor so that was a bummer. The room could use a rehab especially the bathroom. Overall it was a nice place but could use some attention

By , from sacramento, ca on Oct 10, 2016

Review comment responded on Oct 12, 2016

Greetings, Jason! Thank you for your valuable feedback. You have our apologies for the elevator outage during your stay. We were waiting for a technician to become available; it is now back up and running! I'm glad to hear that you felt your room was a good deal for the price. We are working hard to make improvements, and it will continue to be a work in progress. Should you find yourself in Elko again, we would love to have you back for the perfect, 5-star experience you deserve. Thank you for choosing the High Desert Inn! Griffeth B., Hotel Supervisor

3

cheap stay

Everyone

Staff was nice and quick. Indoor Pool was more chlorine than water. Carpet in room was nasty dirty. Beds were ok, but the blankets felt like cardboard. For a cheap stay it was ok. Don't have high hopes!

By , from logan ut on Aug 8, 2016

4

business

BusinessTravelers

The room was clean. Comfortable bed. But needs vending machine on each floor

By on Jun 5, 2015

4

business trip

BusinessTravelers

It's a good place to stay for business trip staff very friendly. Help me transition into room quickly an efficiently.

By on May 22, 2015

3

cheap deal

Singles

it was a quick deal i found online going to california. i was just looking for someplace to lay my head down after driving 9 hours. friendly staff and nice rooms

By on Dec 30, 2013

2

this is more like a motel than a hotel

BusinessTravelers

just a place to get off the highway and sleep. No finishes improved since 1960. Bed was comfortable. The photos must have been taken right after the building was built. It is much more run down than the photos show. Would not stay there again.

By on Nov 12, 2013

3

good value

BusinessTravelers

Overall a good value parking was a little difficult but that was because i got in late. I will definitely return.

By on Jul 30, 2013

4

bike rally

Families

Room was big and comfortable and clean. Would stay there again

By on Jun 18, 2013

3

a nice break on a long trip

Couples

We were on a long cross-country trip and my husband has a bad back. It was so nice to use the hot tub in the hotel after arriving. Our room was clean and the amenities I like, such as wifi, a side table, and a coffee pot were present. The hall carpets and wallpaper are showing wear and there was the faintest hint of cigarette smoke in the halls. The biggest improvement I would suggest is in-house dining, but the Red Lion across the street does have very nice meals.

By on May 25, 2013