Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Best Western Plus New Englander

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Stayed the night at Best Western New Englander while seeing a show in Boston. Staff were very welcoming, service was excellent. The room was updated with very comfortable beds, and a wonderful glass enclosed walk in shower. Due to four adults being in the room, we had to ask the front desk for extra blankets, towels, and shampoo - all delivered within five minutes of my asking!! Outstanding!! The downsides were only due to renovations that were going on - the breakfast area is in a temporary location as the breakfast room is being redone, and where it is now is very cramped and crowded. Also the floor in the lobby was being replaced and was uneven in spots so you had to watch your step. Also the location of the hotel is on a very busy road, turning left out of the hotel to go to the highway was nearly impossible. All in all, the negatives were minor and positives were many - clean,comfy,good breakfast -would definitely stay here again!!

Hotel was nice, staff wasn't overly friendly. Fire alarm went off a couple times overnight due to construction

Room good/close to I-93. Breakfast: no eggs for 2 straight mornings; no bowls 1 morning; sausage paddies gray not browned; inadequate seating amt for breakfast. Forget about making left turn out of hotel entrance during morning rush-hour. Cobwebs heavy in back stairwell; no security card working to gain access in back.

The hotel is good for the price. The breakfast is good and the rooms are comfortable and is close to the highway.

The front desk weekend staf name Starts a very young girl she is very helpful

Our room was at the end of the hall and farther walk from the elevator but other than that the hotel is fine. Nice breakfast and just across the Irish bar and restaurant that serves good beer and food.

Bad location...very hard to get out of and back on main street. VERY NOISY. Rooms allow you to hear everything and guests were loud and in and out slamming doors at night and by 6am. Not worth the cost, but area tends to be pricey so that's how they get you. Oh I also didn't see name of hotel on the outside of building. Breakfast was a joke outside of the waffle machine.

We stayed for 2 nights, and both nights we got very little sleep as other guests were constantly yelling up and down the hall and slamming doors.

I'm very satisfied except hearter system. It's ok but noise. One more complain, there is hole on the bathroom wall just behind toilet paper holder. It look no good. They should fix it. Room #204 Manager should fix it.

Staff was accomodating. We have traveled to Boston several times this winter for medical appointments at Lahey. After the first visit, the clerk offered better rates by calling her directly. They offered to hold the room most recently if we were unable to leave due to rapidly changing weather. Staff was wonderful.

Excellent staff, efficient, check in was quickly done. Staff offered good recommendation for dining and other businesses. The rooms are great, spotless, clean and nicely done. The location is convenient to Winchester Hospital. For any trip to the area, this is the place to stay.

Going through renovations so some minor issues there. First room they put me in was being used so think there was some confusion among staff and the computer system. Comfy bed and continental breakfast snsetved it's purpose.

Bathroom really needs to be updated. Toilet doesn't flush.

The only problems occurring: very noisy, carpet in patches and frayed, and room cold even with the heat turned up. With those sliding glass doors, very little heat was maintained.

In need of a complete modernization. Breakfast room too small. Bathroom small with need for updating. Smallish double beds. Even our luggage trolley in need of of a cleaning and new wheels. Nicely located to mass transit. Good pool area. Staff courteous and attentive. Disappointed.

This hotel is located just off I-93. I travelled to Cambridge every day and it took no more than 20 minutes. Travel is longer during rush hour and best to travel after 9 to Boston or Cambridge. The rooms are surprisingly comfortable for the price, excellent, clean, and well maintained. Staff is very friendly and helpful and as I have been here several times they even remember my name. The attached restaurant is adequate with a lively bar and Irish specialities. Although I travel here for business, most of the customers are tourists in families or couples. There is a pool and a gym, which are very convenient to keep in shape while on the road. I travel here for business and I highly recommend it for this purpose.

Second time I have stayed here. Good consistent stay.

I think this hotel is good. clean and friendly. only the breakfast is the same all 5 days.

I came to Boston for business by car. So for me the most important was a good location near main roads. The staff was friendly enough and rooms were ok

I searched online for a short period of time and came across this motel. Was fairly close to downtown Boston, and right at my price point. I looked at the reviews, and they didn't seem very positive, but ended up booking anyway. Turns out that the place is awesome for a family from a small town in Upstate NY. Yes, there were some cosmetic issues with the facility, and the rooms were not 5 star, but the staff was very friendly, and the amenities were all there. Pool, attached restaurant (which was one of the greatest Irish pubs I have ever been to- their burgers were the best I have ever had, and I do not normally rate burgers. Ever.) Free breakfast was adequate- not awesome- but what do you expect for free? The breakfast had the basics, and if you aren't happy with that, then go somewhere else and pay more. Location was good as a home base when traveling downtown to Boston, the zoos, and Salem, as it was within 15 to 30 minutes from all. SUPER easy access to highways in and out of the area. I would go there again, for sure.

1 Rainin Road Woburn MA

Hotel highlights

  • Free full breakfast
  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Located 2.3 mi (3.6 km) from Woburn Mall, Best Western Plus New Englander is within a 15-minute drive of Faneuil Hall Marketplace. This 99-room hotel welcomes guests with free breakfast and conveniences like an indoor pool and free in-room WiFi. TD Garden and USS Constitution Museum are also within a 15-minute drive.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free full breakfast, served each morning from 6 AM to 10 AM. This hotel is home to a restaurant and a bar/lounge.


Rooms

The 99 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including refrigerators, coffee makers, and free weekday newspapers. Guests can expect 27-inch LCD TVs with cable channels, along with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other amenities include free local calls, ironing boards, and desks.


Property features

At Best Western Plus New Englander, guests enjoy an indoor pool, a fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. Free parking is included with your stay. The front desk has multilingual staff standing by 24 hours a day to assist with dry cleaning/laundry and securing valuables. Additional amenities include 4 meeting rooms, a conference center, and a 24-hour business center.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Refrigerator

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Best Western Plus New Englander

Everyone (11) Business (20) Couples (23) Family (33) Other (10) Friends (8)
4

very pleasant stay

Everyone

Stayed the night at Best Western New Englander while seeing a show in Boston. Staff were very welcoming, service was excellent. The room was updated with very comfortable beds, and a wonderful glass enclosed walk in shower. Due to four adults being in the room, we had to ask the front desk for extra blankets, towels, and shampoo - all delivered within five minutes of my asking!! Outstanding!! The downsides were only due to renovations that were going on - the breakfast area is in a temporary location as the breakfast room is being redone, and where it is now is very cramped and crowded. Also the floor in the lobby was being replaced and was uneven in spots so you had to watch your step. Also the location of the hotel is on a very busy road, turning left out of the hotel to go to the highway was nearly impossible. All in all, the negatives were minor and positives were many - clean,comfy,good breakfast -would definitely stay here again!!

By , from Chadwicks NY on Oct 20, 2017

4

nice hotel

Everyone

Hotel was nice, staff wasn't overly friendly. Fire alarm went off a couple times overnight due to construction

By , from watertown ny on Aug 19, 2017

3

breakfast experience disappointing.

Everyone

Room good/close to I-93. Breakfast: no eggs for 2 straight mornings; no bowls 1 morning; sausage paddies gray not browned; inadequate seating amt for breakfast. Forget about making left turn out of hotel entrance during morning rush-hour. Cobwebs heavy in back stairwell; no security card working to gain access in back.

By , from Hanover, PA on Jul 20, 2017

4

excellent hotel to stay

Everyone

The hotel is good for the price. The breakfast is good and the rooms are comfortable and is close to the highway.

By on Jul 19, 2017

5

very clean

Everyone

The front desk weekend staf name Starts a very young girl she is very helpful

By , from brampton on Jul 17, 2017

4

good

Everyone

Our room was at the end of the hall and farther walk from the elevator but other than that the hotel is fine. Nice breakfast and just across the Irish bar and restaurant that serves good beer and food.

By , from Seattle, WA on Jul 2, 2017

3

very average hotel

Everyone

Bad location...very hard to get out of and back on main street. VERY NOISY. Rooms allow you to hear everything and guests were loud and in and out slamming doors at night and by 6am. Not worth the cost, but area tends to be pricey so that's how they get you. Oh I also didn't see name of hotel on the outside of building. Breakfast was a joke outside of the waffle machine.

By , from chicago on May 17, 2017

2

nice hotel, very noisy guests

Everyone

We stayed for 2 nights, and both nights we got very little sleep as other guests were constantly yelling up and down the hall and slamming doors.

By on Apr 27, 2017

Review comment responded on May 4, 2017

We are sorry to hear your recent stay with us did not exceed your expectations. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope you give us another chance in the future to make it right.

4

my stay

Everyone

I'm very satisfied except hearter system. It's ok but noise. One more complain, there is hole on the bathroom wall just behind toilet paper holder. It look no good. They should fix it. Room #204 Manager should fix it.

By , from H on Mar 22, 2017

4

great staff

Visitors to Lahey Clinic

Staff was accomodating. We have traveled to Boston several times this winter for medical appointments at Lahey. After the first visit, the clerk offered better rates by calling her directly. They offered to hold the room most recently if we were unable to leave due to rapidly changing weather. Staff was wonderful.

By on Jan 24, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 27, 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review us. I hope your appointment went well. It was pretty stormy while you were and I know that you were worried about getting back home safely.