Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Hyatt Regency Bethesda

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Enjoyed the DC area and the hotel Very nice and modern accommodations.

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. At the time there was construction going on in the sub basement level parking which was annoying, but the hotel is beautiful and centrally located to shops and dining. Great deal!

We stayed here due to a house emergency for a few nights. It was very clean and the staff was very helpful. The gym was state of the art and well managed. My only 2 complaints were room service.. wasn't too impressed with my room service dinner although it was a simple order. I didn't send it back because I was juggling 2 hungry little ones under 4. For the price, I was disappointed. The other complaint was the garage. The parking garage is under construction and navigating through it was challenging despite signage. Valet is available but at times there was a wait. I suspect this will improve upon completion of the project. Great location, however. Very convenient.

Inside competly remodeled. They are doing work in the parking garage area...did not affect our stay at all. I woukd definitely stay again at the price we got.

The hotel rooms and large bathtub were very clean and comfortable. The exterior of the hotel is under renovation, but the interior quality and restaurants are excellent. My MAJOR issue was that I was quoted one price on Orbitz, but when I arrived at the hotel they charged me an ADDITIONAL $150. When I asked them why the hotel fee was not what was quoted in the Orbitz reservation, the hotel desk said that I was being charged $50/day "for incidentals like water". They said that I would be refunded the $150 when I checked out. It's been 24hrs since I checked out and they still haven't refunded the "$150 incidentals" charge. This "incidentals" hidden charge is enough for me to NOT reserve a hotel there again.

I normally thoroughly enjoy Hyatt Regency Hotels but this was quite sub par. The room had paint on the carpet in numerous locations, lacked a reading light on both sides of the bed, lacked a clock, lacked any art on the bare walls, had only one hanger, had dust in the closet from the remodel that landed on the one article that we could hang, and the exterior and interior of the front entry to the hotel is under construction and torn apart. When the construction is completed I'm sure it will be lovely. It felt like they wanted full price room rates for rooms that were still in progress. The first morning we asked for a reading lamp and a clock and were told that they would bring them right up. When we returned at 7 that evening, they had not arrived.

We stayed while the lobby area was still under renovation. We hope that part of the renovation will be to update and upgrade the elevators. The elevators were slow and one of the 3 was not working during our entire stay. This hotel is incredibly convenient to the Metro. The staff was friendly and our room was very clean. Our room was upgraded upon arrival and a roll-away was provided (very, very quickly). We were pleased that the hotel rooms were well insulated and had no complaints about noise. We were disappointed that there was no real working clock in the room. There was a small battery powered clock, but it couldn't be seen in the dark. The digital clock that was built in to the mirror in the bathroom was completely incorrect and there was no visible way to change the time on that clock. We stayed as a family of 3. This is not really a family-oriented hotel, but we were not in the area to stay in the hotel. We had other plans and the lack of activities at the hotel was not an issue for us.

Lobby was a disaster! I booked a king size bed room. They wanted to give me a queen size bed. Then made me pay to upgrade to king size. You have to pay to park. Even if you are staying at the hotel still have to pay to park. They will nickle and dime you!!!!

Hotel under renovation- had i known i would not have booked it. No lobby...wood planks to walk on...the sound of workers the entire day...

Low prices during atrium renovations. Front entrance is blocked but the rooms are still nice.

The issue with our stay is we booked on Orbitz a King bed and when we checked in they said they only had 2 double beds. The lady at the desk said since we booked through a third party she could not guarantee the bed size.

Most reasonable parking fees found, good price for such a convenient location. Courteous staff, clean facilities. Would stay here again and would recommend to anyone staying in the DC area.

The cons: The design of the hotel (rooms around an exposed central area with no ceiling spanning multiple floors) made the noise from other guests on multiple floors loud and echoey. Some of the guests were pretty sketch, several drunks over the weekend that made the overall vibe pretty down-at-the-heels. Also, I called to see if they had a room available for early check-in, and the front desk person told me to come in and that they'd have one soon - but when I arrived informed me about a $30 early check-in charge. Better service would be to tell me up-front before I drove in early. Their parking rates are high - self-park was $23/day on the weekend. The pros: Room service was good, rooms were clean and modern, and internet worked fine.

Tried the Hyatt @ Bethesda Metro for Valentines Day - facility was fine despite the ongoing remodel. The people - colder than the arctic plunge outside. Apologetic with a smile by reflex that entertainment was cancelled indefinitely due to the remodel - they blamed the admittedly recurrent dissatisfaction demonstrated by other guests as well on a failure of a third party website. When I informed the concierge that I was referencing the hotel's own website I got a laugh - the only one of the evening....BEWARE the Comedy Show is CLOSED.

Great location for business and access to transportation. Decoration style is dated, not many food options (particularly for children) or amenities. The hotel has a very bizarre indoor pool schedule, it opens only few hours early morning (6AM-10AM), then closes but opens again late afternoon (5PM-9PM). My children were planning to use the pool during my meeting but that didn't work well.

Not a bad hotel for the money. Their saving grace was that they were right on the metro making it easy to get into DC.

I had a good time for staying 5 days for a conference trip. The room is very clean and comfort.

I think the Hyatt has a very fine staff .I have stayed here many times. The location is ideal to the Metro and restaurants. My only criticism is that the hotel needs updating and repair.

This was a great hotel. Extremely clean if a little outdated in design, but no musty odors at all! It is centrally located right next to the Bethesda Metro station on the red line, so if you don't need a car, don't bring one! Parking is a bit pricey and a little inconvenient, but do not let it make you avoid this hotel. We brought my friends 3 y ear old to the hotel pool and she loved it. Cannot emphasize how clean the hotel felt enough. The staff was also very nice.

We stayed there this past weekend for a family event in DC..location by car and metro was excellent. Room furnishing were a little worn but overall the room was comfortable and very roomy.

1 Bethesda Metro Ctr Bethesda MD

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • 24-hour health club
  • Concierge services

Hyatt Regency Bethesda is a short stroll from Consumer Product Safety Commission and American University. This 390 -room, 4-star hotel welcomes guests with 2 restaurants, a 24-hour health club, and free in-room WiFi. Rock Creek Park is also nearby.


Dining

Enjoy dining at Morton Steakhouse, one of 2 onsite restaurants. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service, or get a quick energy boost at the coffee shop/café. Start each morning off right with cooked-to-order breakfast served for a fee.


Rooms

Hyatt Regency Bethesda's 390 rooms are air-conditioned and provide iPod docks, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and 55-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels and pay movies. Beds are dressed in premium bedding and down comforters, and bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries. Free newspapers, free local calls, and laptop-compatible safes are also available.


Property features

Guests of Hyatt Regency Bethesda enjoy a 24-hour health club, free WiFi in public areas, and 20 meeting rooms. Self parking is offered for USD 22.50 per night. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this family-friendly hotel include conference space, free newspapers, and an ATM.

Room options

Respire, Standard Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Business Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed (High Floor)

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Everyone (13) Business (38) Couples (49) Family (21) Other (20) Friends (7)
5

very nice hotel!!

Everyone

Enjoyed the DC area and the hotel Very nice and modern accommodations.

By on May 5, 2017

Review comment responded on May 8, 2017

Thank you for your review and for choosing us! We hope to see you again in the near future.

5

great location

Everyone

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. At the time there was construction going on in the sub basement level parking which was annoying, but the hotel is beautiful and centrally located to shops and dining. Great deal!

By on Apr 18, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 20, 2017

Thank you for visiting us. We hope to see you again soon!

4

great location but under construction

Everyone

We stayed here due to a house emergency for a few nights. It was very clean and the staff was very helpful. The gym was state of the art and well managed. My only 2 complaints were room service.. wasn't too impressed with my room service dinner although it was a simple order. I didn't send it back because I was juggling 2 hungry little ones under 4. For the price, I was disappointed. The other complaint was the garage. The parking garage is under construction and navigating through it was challenging despite signage. Valet is available but at times there was a wait. I suspect this will improve upon completion of the project. Great location, however. Very convenient.

By , from Bethesda on Mar 4, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 6, 2017

Dear KenK, Thank you for your review and for staying with us. I hope your house emergency has been rectified and everything is OK. Thank you for your feedback, our management team has reviewed to ensure follow up. Thank you again.

5

great place at the right price

Everyone

Inside competly remodeled. They are doing work in the parking garage area...did not affect our stay at all. I woukd definitely stay again at the price we got.

By on Jan 21, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 26, 2017

Thank you for staying with us! We hope to see you again in the future.

3

extra charges for "incidentals"

Everyone

The hotel rooms and large bathtub were very clean and comfortable. The exterior of the hotel is under renovation, but the interior quality and restaurants are excellent. My MAJOR issue was that I was quoted one price on Orbitz, but when I arrived at the hotel they charged me an ADDITIONAL $150. When I asked them why the hotel fee was not what was quoted in the Orbitz reservation, the hotel desk said that I was being charged $50/day "for incidentals like water". They said that I would be refunded the $150 when I checked out. It's been 24hrs since I checked out and they still haven't refunded the "$150 incidentals" charge. This "incidentals" hidden charge is enough for me to NOT reserve a hotel there again.

By , from Bethesda on Dec 31, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 3, 2017

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. I apologize for the confusion regarding the incidental deposit. This is standard at every hotel, and can range from $25-$250 per night depending on location. Our property does hold $50 to guarantee any charges such as room service. Best Regards, Matt Karow Hotel Manager

1

renovated rooms not ready yet.

Everyone

I normally thoroughly enjoy Hyatt Regency Hotels but this was quite sub par. The room had paint on the carpet in numerous locations, lacked a reading light on both sides of the bed, lacked a clock, lacked any art on the bare walls, had only one hanger, had dust in the closet from the remodel that landed on the one article that we could hang, and the exterior and interior of the front entry to the hotel is under construction and torn apart. When the construction is completed I'm sure it will be lovely. It felt like they wanted full price room rates for rooms that were still in progress. The first morning we asked for a reading lamp and a clock and were told that they would bring them right up. When we returned at 7 that evening, they had not arrived.

By , from Bethesda Maryland on Nov 20, 2016

Review comment responded on Nov 22, 2016

Dear Molly, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear about the concerns you experienced. We are working hard to finish up everything 100% and are making great progress. I hope you can some see our finished look in the near future. Thank you again.

4

quiet, clean rooms

Everyone

We stayed while the lobby area was still under renovation. We hope that part of the renovation will be to update and upgrade the elevators. The elevators were slow and one of the 3 was not working during our entire stay. This hotel is incredibly convenient to the Metro. The staff was friendly and our room was very clean. Our room was upgraded upon arrival and a roll-away was provided (very, very quickly). We were pleased that the hotel rooms were well insulated and had no complaints about noise. We were disappointed that there was no real working clock in the room. There was a small battery powered clock, but it couldn't be seen in the dark. The digital clock that was built in to the mirror in the bathroom was completely incorrect and there was no visible way to change the time on that clock. We stayed as a family of 3. This is not really a family-oriented hotel, but we were not in the area to stay in the hotel. We had other plans and the lack of activities at the hotel was not an issue for us.

By , from Madison, WI on Nov 4, 2016

Review comment responded on Nov 6, 2016

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to report that we are completing full modernization of all of our elevators and have begun this process. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the future.

1

under remodeling do not book

Everyone

Lobby was a disaster! I booked a king size bed room. They wanted to give me a queen size bed. Then made me pay to upgrade to king size. You have to pay to park. Even if you are staying at the hotel still have to pay to park. They will nickle and dime you!!!!

By , from virginia on Oct 4, 2016

Review comment responded on Oct 5, 2016

Thank you for your review. I apologize regarding the concern with parking. We do not own or operate our own parking facility, however; we have arranged for a hotel rate at the adjacent garage that includes in/out privileges. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

2
Everyone

Hotel under renovation- had i known i would not have booked it. No lobby...wood planks to walk on...the sound of workers the entire day...

By on Sep 29, 2016

Review comment responded on Oct 3, 2016

Thank you for your review. I apologize you were not notified of our renovation. We are excited to open our new lobby in early October and hope you can come back and see us again.

5

great price

Everyone

Low prices during atrium renovations. Front entrance is blocked but the rooms are still nice.

By , from NC on Aug 3, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 1, 1970

Thank you for your review! We hope you are able to come back and visit again in the future.