Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Hotel was okay but way too far from the beach. The woman in the lobby who checked us in had no idea what she was doing which is probably why I’m still waiting on a refund for one transaction since I was incorrectly charged twice.

We 4 women booked online and called the hotel in the afternoon we would arrive after midnight because we were coming from far away. When we arrived, the front desk staff would not let us go inside. Instead, he asked us for driver license and credit card through hole under the window, handed us registration form. It very was cold and windy and we were very tired. We asked for several times can we check in inside. He completely ignored us and took his time inside. It felt like forever waiting in the windy cold. We felt like we were being treated like we were beggars. So, we asked for my credit card and lic back and went to Hampton Inn.

Met bare minimum it needed to. Worked out because I was by myself and needed to keep cost down to give extra money to my son. Liked location as it was easy to get to airport, Virginia Beach, and son's college.

Based on the cost and the look from the outside, I was expecting a small cramped room with outdated furniture. The bathroom was smallish, but the rest of the room was more comfortable than I expected for the money.

Pleasant Stay for a business trip. Staff was courteous and room was sufficient for what was needed during the stay.

Excellent service, good people and safe location. Clean surrounding and close to convince

This hotel has everything we needed, convenient location, ample parking, breakfast. The room was clean and comfortable.

Price was higher per night verses Orbitz price. Room wasn't ready when we arrived even though we arrived at 4:30 and they post check in time as 4:00.Room stunk like mold, had to have it sprayed and found out later at checkout that it was a smoking room and I asked for NON SMOKING ROOM. Housekeeping was never done in a timely matter,and they asked us if we wanted the room serviced, it should be automatically done each day before noon, not after 3:00.Not enough hangers, especially for two people,only had 5 hangers an done was broken and they wouldn't provide any more, they if needed more to go down the street and buy more.When you first go into the lobby, the breakfast hours is posted as 6:00-10:00 am. But we came in about 9:30 and they had most of the stuff put away, I mentioned where was the food, they said the hours were from 6:00-9:30 am, but I pointed out the sign that we seen when we came in and they said it was not correct.They did provide us milk & juice after I pointed out the sign. The food that was provided was only cereal & bagels, most hotels that I've stayed in that the Continental Breakfast provides fruit and yogurt as well. Also, we seen some roaches coming out from under the refrigerator too. Orbitz said it was a 2 1/2 star but its not even a 1 star.

At least only for the night breakfast not much of anything

Across the street from the Naval Base, nothing special, just to spend a night.Economical hotel.

First off my husband and I reserved the room for two nights we arrived at 6:30pm to check-in and it was horrible. Upon entering the room a dead cockroach met me at the door the smwel of mildew and so I walked in the sink and bathroom area and there was dead roaches on the floor with trash, I told my husband I would not allow my dog to stay there and to make it worst we didn't cancel our reservation we saw the conditions and refused to stay. The man at the desk said we have to charge you for one day and orbitiz said we are not entitled to any refund. I'm confused we didn't chance our reservation we just could not stay in those conditions never again we want all of our money back.

Where to start...I booked this hotel because it was only for a night and I was getting in late and leaving early. I wasn't expecting much but somehow I still managed to be disappointed. The hotel is located in a residential area with nothing in the area in the way of entertainment. The hotel staff and owner were awful! First, I had immense trouble on the phone trying to allow someone else to check in on my behalf. Then they could not find the reservation information upon arrival and refused to give keys to each guest. They were very rude off the bat and don't try asking for additional towels, lest you be accused of having too many people in your room and threatened to be charged if you have more than 2 guests even when your reservation is made for 3 guests. There were roaches outside walking up to the room...didn't see any in the room but the room was dirty and outdated. Beds were like sleeping on a board and I was afraid to put my things on the floor or take my shoes off. Even for the price I would not recommend this hotel to anyone for any reason. Stay away!

Staff wasn't that friendly. Hotel room was ok but needed a good cleaning. The bath tub had hair in it. The toilet was nasty. The ceiling had water spots and needed fixed. And the corners of the floor had dirt in them. They need to update. It is a motel not a hotel. Motel is 10 miles from the beach. Paid WAY TO MUCH for what the room was worth.

The staff was friendly.

Shore Dr Virginia Beach VA

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Laundry facilities

Located in Northwest, Howard Johnson by Wyndham Virginia Beach is within a 10-minute drive of popular attractions such as Norfolk Premium Outlets and Virginia Beach Town Center. This hotel has 52 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free continental breakfast, served each morning from 6:30 AM to 9:30 AM.


Rooms

A TV comes with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi and wired Internet. The bathroom offers hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a refrigerator, a microwave, and a coffee maker.


Property features

Guests of Howard Johnson by Wyndham Virginia Beach enjoy free WiFi in public areas, coffee in a common area, and free newspapers. Free parking is included with your stay. The front desk has multilingual staff standing by 24 hours a day to assist with luggage storage and securing valuables. This hotel also has laundry facilities.

Room options

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds, Smoking

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Howard Johnson by Wyndham Virginia Beach

Everyone (11) Business (2) Couples (2) Family (1)
3
Everyone

By on Jun 27, 2019

4
Everyone

Hotel was okay but way too far from the beach. The woman in the lobby who checked us in had no idea what she was doing which is probably why I’m still waiting on a refund for one transaction since I was incorrectly charged twice.

By on May 25, 2018

1

disappointed!

Everyone

We 4 women booked online and called the hotel in the afternoon we would arrive after midnight because we were coming from far away. When we arrived, the front desk staff would not let us go inside. Instead, he asked us for driver license and credit card through hole under the window, handed us registration form. It very was cold and windy and we were very tired. We asked for several times can we check in inside. He completely ignored us and took his time inside. It felt like forever waiting in the windy cold. We felt like we were being treated like we were beggars. So, we asked for my credit card and lic back and went to Hampton Inn.

By on Mar 27, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 17, 2018

Thank you

2

served its purpose

Everyone

Met bare minimum it needed to. Worked out because I was by myself and needed to keep cost down to give extra money to my son. Liked location as it was easy to get to airport, Virginia Beach, and son's college.

By , from Dayton, OH on Jun 29, 2017

4

great value

Everyone

Based on the cost and the look from the outside, I was expecting a small cramped room with outdated furniture. The bathroom was smallish, but the rest of the room was more comfortable than I expected for the money.

By on May 23, 2017

4

perfect for a business trip.

Everyone

Pleasant Stay for a business trip. Staff was courteous and room was sufficient for what was needed during the stay.

By , from Baltimore, MD on May 1, 2017

Review comment responded on May 24, 2017

appreciate for your valued feedback.

5
Everyone

Excellent service, good people and safe location. Clean surrounding and close to convince

By on Dec 12, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 17, 2016

thanks for your valued feedback.we work hard to see that our guests are kept happy and feel comfortable during their stay.

3

nice hotel

Everyone

This hotel has everything we needed, convenient location, ample parking, breakfast. The room was clean and comfortable.

By , from Tennessee on Nov 24, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 17, 2016

thanks for your valued feedback.we work hard to keep our guests happy and feel comfortable during their stay.

1

very poor hotel

Everyone

By , from Virginia beach, Virginia on Nov 13, 2016

Review comment responded on Nov 16, 2016

Thanks for your feedback. we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. we will hard on the issues you had. we are renovating the rooms as well as hotel.

1

worse hotel i have ever stayed in.

Everyone

Price was higher per night verses Orbitz price. Room wasn't ready when we arrived even though we arrived at 4:30 and they post check in time as 4:00.Room stunk like mold, had to have it sprayed and found out later at checkout that it was a smoking room and I asked for NON SMOKING ROOM. Housekeeping was never done in a timely matter,and they asked us if we wanted the room serviced, it should be automatically done each day before noon, not after 3:00.Not enough hangers, especially for two people,only had 5 hangers an done was broken and they wouldn't provide any more, they if needed more to go down the street and buy more.When you first go into the lobby, the breakfast hours is posted as 6:00-10:00 am. But we came in about 9:30 and they had most of the stuff put away, I mentioned where was the food, they said the hours were from 6:00-9:30 am, but I pointed out the sign that we seen when we came in and they said it was not correct.They did provide us milk & juice after I pointed out the sign. The food that was provided was only cereal & bagels, most hotels that I've stayed in that the Continental Breakfast provides fruit and yogurt as well. Also, we seen some roaches coming out from under the refrigerator too. Orbitz said it was a 2 1/2 star but its not even a 1 star.

By on Aug 8, 2016

Howard Johnson by Wyndham Virginia Beach

5173 Shore Dr, Virginia Beach, VA 23455
url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Norfolk---Virginia-Beach-Hotels-Howard-Johnson-by-Wyndham-Virginia-Beach.h18451-p2.Hotel-Reviews