Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Avalon Hotel

3.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Hotel is in a great location! Can't really get any better. The room and hotel itself is just ok, really old. The room didn't have a dresser really, limited closet space, limited space to put anything other than the floor. The bathroom was difficult to get ready because the outlet was on a wall with no counter space to put curling iron etc. Everything except the bed sort of seemed old and dirty. Bed linens were clean and bright white which I think was the only piece keeping me there. I'm glad I only had to stay one night.

Lo Bueno=Personal amable, limpieza impeccable, lugar comodo, acceso a todooo!!!! Lo malo= Esta en construction, el elevador no sirve, no hay habitaciones con vista al mar, y muy caro para estar en esas condiciones de contruccion. si es mucha decepcion!!!

The front desk services was great ,excppeting the old guy who works at the shifty night! He’s not a kind cool! Always with and ugry face and barely talk to u! And my complain is mostly about my room key! 5 nights in there and the key issue everytime we went inland out ( and yeah I kept the key away from the phone and after the 3th time I used to leave the key with them beg I go out) even that , it still had a problem! Besides that’s ! The hotel is awesome !

The construction is horrible there’s no view from your room and noise level from construction is high . For the price u should shop around

El hotel está cerca de todo en Ocean Drive y en frente de la playa. Además el personal es muy amable.

It´s a nice and comfy hotel, staff is very friendly and polite.

Location of the hotel makes the difference. Also the hotel staff is very friendly. Noise in the hotel is very loud. You will hear every neighbor. Top bottom and sides. We are used to noisey rooms and never complain. This is the first hotel we had to call the front desk multiple times for partying rooms causing noise past 3 in the morning.

I wish we were informed ahead of time of the cundtirction undergoing at the main entrance of the hotel. I wish we were informed ahead of time of the cundtirction undergoing at the main entrance of the hotel.

Always have a great stay here! Professional staff, clean rooms, great location. Older hotel, like all of the Art Deco hotels, but that's part of the beauty. Hotel is decorated in pictures from decades ago.

Walked to beach, clubs, dinner and shopping. Kids rode bicycles to local park for tennis and basketball. One of our best vacations. I highly recommend The Avalon for location.

The Avalon staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. The continental breakfast was great, the lounge and restaurant were perfect for our needs, and everything was just right.

I asked for one extra towel and was asked "what I needed an extra towel for". Note I never received the extra towel.

I liked the ambiance and the service at this hotel. The room was very clean and nicely appointed. Only complaints are the continental breakfast included in the room rate was disappointing- coffee or espresso and a croissant or cereal. Most hotels offering continental breakfast at least have a variety of pastries and usually fruit or yogurt. Also, the elevator was dirty and unattractive. As nicely as the rest of the hotel was appointed, they could certainly use some cosmetic work on the elevator. I know that sounds petty, but it was off-putting.

Location is the best attribute of the hotel. Friendly staff. Horrible food in the cafe (not in restaurant). Had lunch in the cafe, the chicken salad was bad, was served without chicken first but when I asked, they brought an old dry and greasy ckecken breast. The salad greens were not fresh, however, plenty of the Caesar Dressing

What we loved about the Avalon was the old Miami charm, the friendliness of staff, and the oasis of calm. Walking down Oceam Drive the hotels are loud and raucous, with staff aggressively promoting their breakfast, lunch or dinner. When we got to the end of the street we found a quiet lovely old hotel waiting for us. That's what impressed me.

Nice quaint Art Deco hotel, great staff and location. Room and bathroom are on the small size but comfortable. Loved the outside patio, great place to people watch.

I had an amazing time celebrating my birthday and ringing in the New Year at this location. The New Year's festivities were outstanding the fireworks the food the amazing staff I loved it all. And I am looking forward to my return trip to this location. (Alex, George, Jackie & Janet you guys made me feel at home from the moment I checked in and I want to say THANK YOU!)

Our stay at the Avalon Hotel was wonderful. Traveling with children (a 1 yr old and a 4 yr old) can be very challenging, but the staff was very accommodating to our needs the entire time. Oh yeah and the Paella at the restaurant downstairs was AWESOME!! We will definitely visit again.

It's a bit older of a hotel but staff is super freindly and helpful. The location was great and it wasn't too pricey, valet is a bit pricey but then again it's Miami beach. We walked everywhere so it was nice and they had a decent complimentary breakfast. I would recommend the hotel and definitely return

Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. There are lots of restaurants/bars nearby. Short walk to the ocean as well!

700 Ocean Dr Miami Beach FL

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Lummus Park Beach and Art Deco Welcome Center
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Business center

Located in South Beach, Avalon Hotel is within a 5-minute walk of popular attractions such as Lummus Park Beach and Art Deco Welcome Center. This 58-room, 3.5-star hotel has conveniences like a restaurant, a bar/lounge, and free in-room WiFi. In the historical district, it's also near PortMiami and Lincoln Road Mall.


Dining

Explore the hotel and meet new friends over drinks at the bar/lounge, or enjoy a bite to eat at the onsite restaurant. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service, or get a quick energy boost at the coffee shop/café. Start each morning with cooked-to-order breakfast, available for a fee from 7 AM to 1:00 PM.


Rooms

The 58 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including refrigerators, free local calls, and free bottled water. Flat-screen TVs come with pay movies, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Beds sport premium bedding and bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries. Other standard amenities include laptop-compatible safes, ironing boards, and desks.


Property features

Avalon Hotel features free WiFi in public areas, a business center, and a terrace. Valet parking is available for USD 29.00 per day. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this beach hotel include a porter/bellhop and an ATM.

Guest reviews for Avalon Hotel

Everyone (17) Couples (26) Business (6) Family (8) Friends (27) Other (4)
3
Everyone

Hotel is in a great location! Can't really get any better. The room and hotel itself is just ok, really old. The room didn't have a dresser really, limited closet space, limited space to put anything other than the floor. The bathroom was difficult to get ready because the outlet was on a wall with no counter space to put curling iron etc. Everything except the bed sort of seemed old and dirty. Bed linens were clean and bright white which I think was the only piece keeping me there. I'm glad I only had to stay one night.

By on Mar 28, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 30, 2018

Dear Guest, thanks for your recent stay with us and your feedback. We're glad you found our central location to be ideal in our classic Art Deco hotel. We do have some enhancements in the works for our hotel which would take care of some of the items you provided feedback on. Many thanks for your stay again. Best,

3

good location

Everyone

The front desk services was great ,excppeting the old guy who works at the shifty night! He’s not a kind cool! Always with and ugry face and barely talk to u! And my complain is mostly about my room key! 5 nights in there and the key issue everytime we went inland out ( and yeah I kept the key away from the phone and after the 3th time I used to leave the key with them beg I go out) even that , it still had a problem! Besides that’s ! The hotel is awesome !

By , from boston ma on Mar 13, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 16, 2018

Dear Anthony, Many thanks for the shout out to say we're awesome. We're terribly sorry for the issues you encountered during your stay with the keys and the staff. However, we understand you did make friends with the rest of the staffs and we're happy about that. Thanks you again, we appreciate it. Best regards,

2

wait until after construction

Everyone

The construction is horrible there’s no view from your room and noise level from construction is high . For the price u should shop around

By , from atlanta on Feb 25, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 1, 2018

Dear John, We appreciate you staying with us recently and for taking the time to leave your feedback. As you have mentioned, we are indeed working with the city of Miami to beautify and restore our iconic Art Deco exterior. During this time, we are making all efforts to provide a wonderful experience to our guests by having renovations done only during certain hours of the day. Thank you for you understanding and valued feedback. Best regards,

4

nice hotel in ocean drive never found the pool

Everyone

It´s a nice and comfy hotel, staff is very friendly and polite.

By , from Mexico City on Nov 8, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 11, 2017

Ximena, we're so happy you found the Avalon Hotel to be exactly what you were looking for on your recent trip to Miami's South Beach! Our location is perfect for enjoying all the attractions this glamorous playground has to offer; we are just steps from the beach and in the heart of all the action on Ocean Drive. Thanks for sharing your wonderful experience at the Avalon Hotel, and we hope you will visit us again. Warmest Regards, General Manager

3

location only.

Everyone

Location of the hotel makes the difference. Also the hotel staff is very friendly. Noise in the hotel is very loud. You will hear every neighbor. Top bottom and sides. We are used to noisey rooms and never complain. This is the first hotel we had to call the front desk multiple times for partying rooms causing noise past 3 in the morning.

By , from CA on Aug 20, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 22, 2017

Thank you for sharing your evaluation. It’s nice to know you liked our convenient location and helpful associates, but we are sorry your sleep was disturbed by noise from nearby guests. We regret the inconvenience this caused and hope you will come back to visit us again as we would love to provide you with a peaceful night's rest! Warmest Regards, General Manager

3
Everyone

I wish we were informed ahead of time of the cundtirction undergoing at the main entrance of the hotel. I wish we were informed ahead of time of the cundtirction undergoing at the main entrance of the hotel.

By on Aug 1, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 3, 2017

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We regret the inconvenience you experienced during your visit due to our ongoing renovations. We will take this opportunity to ensure our third party website is clear about our hotel details. We hope you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are in the area. Warmest Regards, General Manager

5

great location on ocean drive

Everyone

Always have a great stay here! Professional staff, clean rooms, great location. Older hotel, like all of the Art Deco hotels, but that's part of the beauty. Hotel is decorated in pictures from decades ago.

By , from Arkansas on Jul 2, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 4, 2017

Cecil, thank you for the wonderful review of the Avalon Hotel. We are thrilled to know how much you enjoyed our ideal location and outstanding hospitality. We appreciate your continued business and look forward to your next stay. Warmest Regards, General Manager

4

right on ocean drive in south beach great spot

Everyone

Walked to beach, clubs, dinner and shopping. Kids rode bicycles to local park for tennis and basketball. One of our best vacations. I highly recommend The Avalon for location.

By , from Bucks County PA on May 24, 2017

Review comment responded on May 26, 2017

David, thank you for being our guest at our wonderful art deco Avalon Hotel on Miami's South Beach. We are pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and that our location was ideal for your plans. Your feedback is much appreciated, and we hope you will visit us again in the future. Warmest Regards, General Manager

5

the avalon is a classic hotel in a great location.

Everyone

The Avalon staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. The continental breakfast was great, the lounge and restaurant were perfect for our needs, and everything was just right.

By , from Arlington, VA on Apr 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 25, 2017

Mark, your satisfaction means the world to us, and we are thrilled to know you loved every aspect of your stay at our beautiful art deco Avalon Hotel. Our main goal is to ensure every guest has an exceptional visit so they will want to come back to us every time their travels bring them to South Beach! We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed our hotel and its staff. Please come back soon! Warmest Regards, General Manager

1

horrible hotel to stay at.

Everyone

I asked for one extra towel and was asked "what I needed an extra towel for". Note I never received the extra towel.

By on Apr 2, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 4, 2017

Thank you for being our guest and for taking time to review your stay. I am sorry that you were less than thrilled with the size of your room. We have different room types and sizes available and we are always glad to recommend a room that will best meet your needs. Our team prides itself on delivering wonderful hospitality, so I am sorry this was not your experience with us. Rest assured that we take these reviews seriously and then fine-tune procedures to help ensure we do not repeat mistakes. I hope you will consider giving us another chance so we can make this up to you the next time you are in the area. Warmest Regards, General Manager