Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

This property is under construction, but despite that, the newly renovated rooms are very nice. The location is in a quiet area. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Only stayed one night but I will be booking here again next time I am in the area.

It was close to the mall they were in the middle of renovation hard to judge it

It was nasty. The breakfast was old food. The room was nasty. I had white socks on and walked across the room and then they were black. Overall just a dirty place.

Average Seemed to be understaffed. Orbitz was very disappointing I was in the middle of a snow storm driving 220 on I -70

The pool was closed which was kind of a bummer. But for a one night stay after a long day in the snow at the game it was very nice stay.

Outdoor temps in the twenties and the heat was OFF in our room. OFF. Took a couple hours of heat on high to be comfortable. Seal around the door was pitiful with light, sound and air infiltration very noticeable. We stuffed a towel under the door to help. Breakfast staff was very nice, but there was no meat cooked at 8:45 a.m., and several of the condiments, yogurt etc. were empty. Room was clean and price fair otherwise.

Nice hotel, convenient location, close to interstate.

The entire first floor of the hotel is under construction and no-one alerted us to this prior to or during making the reservation. To get breakfast you have to walk next door to the hotel. The air conditioner in the room was not working. We told the staff and they told us to opt the window. The room is basic. Plain walls. Would not recommend this hotel.

Came to KC for Game 7 of the 2014 World Series...enjoyed everything until the final out.

We just stayed for one night and practically just slept in the hotel! The staff was really nice! Breakfast was ok. I read in a review they had waffles, no waffles on our visit. Overall had no problems, it was a good stay!

Good overall. we would stay here again. no complaints

Very nice hotel for the value. Friendly staff, nice complimentary breakfast and very clean rooms. One of the nicer value hotels I stayed at. The pool was small, but clean and the kids has fun. I give this a thumbs up.

Hotel was clean, friendly staff, late check out, & extra large bath towels. Overall, it was a good place to stay.

Had a nice one night stay at the Fairfield Inn. Nothing fancy but clean and comfortable.

My dad and I took my two sons and a nephew (ages 9, 9, and 5) on a baseball trip. This room was one of the nicest I've stayed in. You can tell that this place is well managed because it comes across that the staff really cared. After driving from San Antonio Tx to KC, we were ready to relax and watch a game, and the Fairfield made it easy to relax. One of the boys thought it would be fun to "camp out" on the floor in a sleeping bag. The room was so well cleaned and maintained that I wasn't nervous and bothered by that. The pool was a little small, but that's ok. Everything else was great.

Hotel very clean and fresh. Located near freeway but you could not here any traffic. Shopping area within walking distance. Did not use pool or fitness facilities so no comment was given.

Graet room, only one i could find with two queen sized beds.

What a business traveler wants is comfortable surroundings, a working internet, a good bed with good pillows and a working candy machine. Fairfiled had all of that so it passed the test and will have a return visit.

We were in the area to shop and found this location to be perfect in that the mall was within walking distance as well as the movie complex. Lots of shopping and dining options are just minutes away. The check-in was quick and easy plus the staff was very courteous. Our room had 2 queen beds for the four of us and was very comfortable. There was in iron with a board in the closet which was a plus. Pool towels are available in the pool area so you don't have to bring any extra with you. There is a Continental breakfast but there was a large group of soccer kids staying the same weekend and they pretty much consumed all the food before we got downstairs! Check out was just as easy with no hassles. Highly recommend and would stay there again! :-)

E 37th Ter S Independence MO

Hotel highlights

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • 24-hour business center

Wingate by Wyndham Independence places you within a few miles (5 km) of Silverstein Eye Centers Arena and Centerpoint Community Ice. This 63-room hotel has free breakfast along with conveniences like free in-room WiFi and free self parking.


Dining

Free buffet breakfast is served on weekdays from 6 AM to 9 AM and on weekends from 7 AM to 10 AM.


Rooms

All 63 air-conditioned rooms provide coffee makers, free local calls, and safes. Flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and free WiFi keeps guests connected. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Rooms also include ironing boards.


Property features

Wingate by Wyndham Independence features free WiFi in public areas, a 24-hour business center, and coffee in a common area. You can take advantage of free parking if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help secure valuables, and answer any questions about the accommodations. This hotel also has express check-in.

Room options

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Deluxe Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Independence

Everyone (7) Couples (2) Business (1) Family (9) Friends (2)
5
Everyone

By on Oct 14, 2019

4
Family

This property is under construction, but despite that, the newly renovated rooms are very nice. The location is in a quiet area. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Only stayed one night but I will be booking here again next time I am in the area.

By on Oct 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 10, 2019

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

4
Family

It was close to the mall they were in the middle of renovation hard to judge it

By on Oct 7, 2019

2
Business Business

It was nasty. The breakfast was old food. The room was nasty. I had white socks on and walked across the room and then they were black. Overall just a dirty place.

By on Jun 30, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 1, 2019

I am sorry that you did not have a good experience with us. Please be assured that we are working constantly to make it better.

2
Everyone

Average Seemed to be understaffed. Orbitz was very disappointing I was in the middle of a snow storm driving 220 on I -70

By on Feb 16, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 9, 2019

I apologize you had to drive through such rough conditions. We would love for you to come back and give us another chance!

4
Everyone

The pool was closed which was kind of a bummer. But for a one night stay after a long day in the snow at the game it was very nice stay.

By , from Independence, Ks on Jan 14, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 14, 2019

Thank you for choosing the Wingate, we appreciate it, we are working on the pool and hopefully it will be back up and running the next time you stay.

3
Everyone

Outdoor temps in the twenties and the heat was OFF in our room. OFF. Took a couple hours of heat on high to be comfortable. Seal around the door was pitiful with light, sound and air infiltration very noticeable. We stuffed a towel under the door to help. Breakfast staff was very nice, but there was no meat cooked at 8:45 a.m., and several of the condiments, yogurt etc. were empty. Room was clean and price fair otherwise.

By on Dec 10, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 11, 2018

We are sorry for the inconvenience, and please be assured that your concerns are being addressed.

5
Everyone

Nice hotel, convenient location, close to interstate.

By on Aug 8, 2018

1

horrible stay. hotel under construction.

Everyone

The entire first floor of the hotel is under construction and no-one alerted us to this prior to or during making the reservation. To get breakfast you have to walk next door to the hotel. The air conditioner in the room was not working. We told the staff and they told us to opt the window. The room is basic. Plain walls. Would not recommend this hotel.

By , from Orlando, FL on May 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Jun 3, 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. I am sorry to hear we were not able to provide a better experience due to our renovations. We are working with our online booking agencies to ensure all of our guests are informed.

5

great trip with family...

Family

Came to KC for Game 7 of the 2014 World Series...enjoyed everything until the final out.

By on Oct 16, 2015

Wingate by Wyndham Independence

18700 E 37th Ter S, Independence, MO 64057
url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Kansas-City-Hotels-Wingate-by-Wyndham-Independence.h281053-p2.Hotel-Reviews