Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

El Tovar - Inside the Park

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

The bathroom heater did not work. Location was excellent.

Lobby, dining room, the Scenicview was awesome, we caught the sunset and the cayon was beautyful !! The food & wine was increditable.

Great Location clean rooms friendly staff! Great food and service at their main dining room!

This is a VERY overpriced hotel. The lobby, bar, and dining room areas were extremely cold The staff was very nice and the room clean and comfortable, but it was at best a three star room at a five star price

This old hotel needs a little help. In general, it’s a nice place to stay but is pricey. The location is great and the historical significance is interesting and relevant to the Grand Canyon. Nice place. I was expecting more for the price. We had a room with a Grand Canyon view which was great!!

Location*Location*Location—. Although the hotel is aged, it is in very good condition. The higher than average prices are offset by the location. Staff and facilities are first class .

We had so much fun, this is one of my favorite memories ever! Thank you for making our stay lovely!

Hotel is gorgeous. Restaurant excellent, ate there for two dinners. "standard room, one double bed" Room was very small with no place for toiletries or bags. We were told this was a historic structure and the bathroom was an "add on" to the small room, which made it smaller, and that they were constrained by conforming to historic landmark criteria. That being said, the in-room AC/heat unit was too loud and too powerful for the size room. We were there Nov 29-Dec 1. The unit either blasted hot air or blasted AC and was so loud you could not hear the TV. We just turned it off altogether and it was tolerable, so we did not ask to be moved.

Location is the only redeeming quality of this property.

Odd cast of hotel staff combined with dirty and uncomfortable accommodations and public areas make this place one to avoid. We loved the idea of staying in an historic lodge but didn't realize how little we'd get for the extra cost associated with this choice. Staying on the rim is a great experience, but I'd rather stay off the rim and be more comfortable. Additionally the breakfast was lousy and also overpriced.

El Tovar is like a time capsule. Very few places like this. The staff are very diverse and professional. The restaurant is excellent with great breakfasts and a sophisticate dinner menu. The wait staff were absolutely first rate. The rooms were very clean and well maintained. Somehow they are able to keep a very high level of hospitality at a super popular tourist destination. It is very impressive. I would recommend to anyone going to see the GC.

Grand Canyon Village Grand Canyon AZ

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Hopi House and Bright Angel Lodge
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

El Tovar - Inside the Park places you next to Hopi House and within a 10-minute stroll of other popular attractions like Bright Angel Lodge. This hotel has 78 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like a restaurant, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Dining

This hotel serves as home to a bar, along with a fine-dining restaurant that specializes in American cuisine. Get a pick-me-up at the coffee shop/café. Start your day off with breakfast, available for a fee.


Rooms

Guests can expect to find free WiFi and 36-inch a TV with satellite channels. The bathroom offers hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a refrigerator, a coffee maker, and free weekday newspapers.


Property features

Dating back to 1905, El Tovar - Inside the Park features free WiFi in public areas and coffee in a common area. You can take advantage of free parking, along with a free area shuttle. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with luggage storage and tours/tickets.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 Double Bed Street Level

Full 1 | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed Street Level

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 Double Bed

Full 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for El Tovar - Inside the Park

Everyone (10) Couples (1) Family (2)
3
Everyone

By on Feb 26, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 15, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again.

4
Partner Couples

The bathroom heater did not work. Location was excellent.

By on Feb 22, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 23, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!

5
Families Families

Lobby, dining room, the Scenicview was awesome, we caught the sunset and the cayon was beautyful !! The food & wine was increditable.

By on Feb 11, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 12, 2019

Thank you for your feedback, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay.

4
Everyone

Great Location clean rooms friendly staff! Great food and service at their main dining room!

By on Jan 28, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 30, 2019

Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will come back again.

1
Everyone

This is a VERY overpriced hotel. The lobby, bar, and dining room areas were extremely cold The staff was very nice and the room clean and comfortable, but it was at best a three star room at a five star price

By on Dec 4, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 5, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your entire stay, and that you were cold in the lobby and restaurant. I hope you will come see us again.

4
Everyone

This old hotel needs a little help. In general, it’s a nice place to stay but is pricey. The location is great and the historical significance is interesting and relevant to the Grand Canyon. Nice place. I was expecting more for the price. We had a room with a Grand Canyon view which was great!!

By on Nov 28, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 28, 2018

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel, I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

5

highly recommended

Everyone

Location*Location*Location—. Although the hotel is aged, it is in very good condition. The higher than average prices are offset by the location. Staff and facilities are first class .

By , from eroe pa on Feb 17, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 19, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that you will come see us again soon.

5

wonderful winter experience

Everyone

We had so much fun, this is one of my favorite memories ever! Thank you for making our stay lovely!

By , from Chocowinity, NC on Jan 29, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 29, 2018

Dear Amy, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I so glad that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that you will come back and visit us soon!

3

beautiful historic hotel, room cramped

Everyone

Hotel is gorgeous. Restaurant excellent, ate there for two dinners. "standard room, one double bed" Room was very small with no place for toiletries or bags. We were told this was a historic structure and the bathroom was an "add on" to the small room, which made it smaller, and that they were constrained by conforming to historic landmark criteria. That being said, the in-room AC/heat unit was too loud and too powerful for the size room. We were there Nov 29-Dec 1. The unit either blasted hot air or blasted AC and was so loud you could not hear the TV. We just turned it off altogether and it was tolerable, so we did not ask to be moved.

By , from Flemington, NJ on Dec 5, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 12, 2017

Dear Kathleen, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I do apologize for the loudness of our HVAC unit, we are scheduled for a remodel in 2018 and the HVAC systems is going to be updated. I hope to see you again.

3

at the south rim

Everyone

Location is the only redeeming quality of this property.

By on Mar 12, 2017