Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The historic beauty of the hotel

Loved the beautiful architecture and history of the hotel.

Absolutely stunning historic property. However if a police officer had not stopped my husband in the parking lot and told him to bring our bikes inside the hotel or they would be stolen, we probably would have lost them.

Great nostalgic location. HVAC system was quite loud.

Beautiful and unique hotel with many hand crafted design features. Very friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely stay here anytime I am in the area.

The building was stunning and the most lovely woman called us while we were still driving to let us know that last orders were at 9:30 but they could have food ready for us and in our rooms when we arrived at 10:15. When we called about 9pm to order and incredibly rude person made it clear that whatever we ordered would be cold and that we would be unhappy. I suggest we order a steak and a salad and that they mix them together. We had booked a room with a king size bed. We arrived to a cold plate of steak and mashed potatoes and a hunk of wedge lettuce and disgusting Sysco croutons on two separate plates The two manhattans we’d ordered to go with our meal were very good. For this, we were charged $74. The bed was not a king, it was barely a full, the room was old, the carpet and things in the bathroom not well cleaned and the towels in the bathroom so threadbare, we choose not to shower. We can’t imagine the hotel was anywhere near full given the covid situation, but we were placed next to someone who had the TV blaring. The sour taste in our mouth caused us to be up and out by 6, no need to linger. I feel so bad for the delightful person who first greeted us.... this beautiful old building desperately needs a facelift and a few of the staff need to go!

Historic hotel-lovely renovation. This was on our “list”-so glad we were able to stay. Loved the grand ceiling (12’ ) in the room.

The hotel was beautiful and very comfortable. Meals were very good and staff was very accommodating

They lost our reservation. They were not helpful about it. No apologies, even though we missed our dinner reservation because of them. They just kept saying "This is not good" They did give a room at their price which was way less than Orbitz. In the morning they said they found our reservation again with no apologies for the mix up,. and so I ended up paying more and then they charged us an additional 43.00 dollars. It ended up being a total bust. The hotel was quaint. The staff was terrible except the staff in the restaurant was exceptional. The chef at breakfast and the wait staff were wonderful.

The hotel and rooms are incredible. Antiques and a huge chandelier in the room. Very well appointed. The staff needs training desperately. They were nice and trying hard but didn't know what they were supposed to do. Felt sorry for them. Food was good but late. New management would make this a must stay place.

A great way to experience the old west feel of the historical Oregon Trail period. Very authentic!

The wonderful renovation of this grand old hotel gets all of the press, but the excellent staff is what makes the place shine.

great hotel room, great overall hotel ambience, beautifully restored century-old hotel; great staff

Beautiful historic property. A delightful journey in time with modern comforts.

visiting a historic beautiful Hotel like this that is also luxurious was worth the experience.

The building is very beattiful and unique and the staff is kind to both people and dogs.

A fabulous historical hotel, unfortunately we got back to late to eat as we have found the food awesome in the past!

We stayed over 1 night just a few days before Christmas. The hotel was beautifully decorated and at 9p they brought around gingerbread cookies and a glass of milk to all of the guests. It was fantastic.

Main St Baker City OR

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • 24-hour fitness center

Geiser Grand Hotel places you next to Great Salt Lick Sculpture and Baker Tower. This 30-room, 3.5-star hotel has a restaurant, a 24-hour gym, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

This hotel serves as home to a gastropub, along with a fine-dining restaurant that specializes in local cuisine. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with 24-hour room service. For your convenience, a cooked-to-order breakfast is served for a fee each morning from 6:30 AM to 10:00 AM.


Rooms

48-inch plasma TVs come with cable channels and DVD players, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi and wired Internet. Pillowtop beds sport premium bedding and pillow menus, and bathrooms offer deep soaking tubs, rainfall showers, hair dryers, and designer toiletries. Other amenities include coffee makers, free newspapers, and free local calls.


Property features

Geiser Grand Hotel offers a 24-hour gym, free WiFi in public areas, and an outdoor tennis court. You can take advantage of free parking, along with an area shuttle for a fee. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to help with concierge services, and answer any questions about the area. If you like to take your furry friend along on your adventures, this pet-friendly property offers food and water bowls. Additional amenities include a conference center, a business center, and a library.

Room options

Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed

1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Double Room, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Romantic Suite

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Jacuzzi Suite

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Geiser Grand Hotel

Everyone (14) Couples (4) Family (4)
5
Partner Couples

The historic beauty of the hotel

By on Jun 20, 2022

Review comment responded on Jun 20, 2022

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your kind review!

5
Family

Loved the beautiful architecture and history of the hotel.

By on May 30, 2022

Review comment responded on Jun 13, 2022

Thank you for your kind review, we appreciate your feedback!

5
Family

Absolutely stunning historic property. However if a police officer had not stopped my husband in the parking lot and told him to bring our bikes inside the hotel or they would be stolen, we probably would have lost them.

By on Jun 16, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 19, 2021

Thank you for your kind words! Yes, if we see or hear you are traveling with bikes we ask you to bring them into your room. We will always help, and our spacious rooms are very accommodating!

4
Everyone

By on Jun 7, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 19, 2021

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback!

5
Family Business Business

Great nostalgic location. HVAC system was quite loud.

By on Mar 24, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 1, 2021

Thank you for your kind review! We are currently updating our HVAC system with brand new units as we speak! This should take care of any future noise issues as soon as the project is completed.

5
Everyone

Beautiful and unique hotel with many hand crafted design features. Very friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely stay here anytime I am in the area.

By on Dec 7, 2020

Review comment responded on Dec 9, 2020

Thank you for your kind words! We appreciate your feedback!

1
Partner Couples Business Business

The building was stunning and the most lovely woman called us while we were still driving to let us know that last orders were at 9:30 but they could have food ready for us and in our rooms when we arrived at 10:15. When we called about 9pm to order and incredibly rude person made it clear that whatever we ordered would be cold and that we would be unhappy. I suggest we order a steak and a salad and that they mix them together. We had booked a room with a king size bed. We arrived to a cold plate of steak and mashed potatoes and a hunk of wedge lettuce and disgusting Sysco croutons on two separate plates The two manhattans we’d ordered to go with our meal were very good. For this, we were charged $74. The bed was not a king, it was barely a full, the room was old, the carpet and things in the bathroom not well cleaned and the towels in the bathroom so threadbare, we choose not to shower. We can’t imagine the hotel was anywhere near full given the covid situation, but we were placed next to someone who had the TV blaring. The sour taste in our mouth caused us to be up and out by 6, no need to linger. I feel so bad for the delightful person who first greeted us.... this beautiful old building desperately needs a facelift and a few of the staff need to go!

By , from Oregon on Nov 20, 2020

Review comment responded on Nov 20, 2020

We are sorry you found so much at fault! The Govenor's orders require no food or beverage service allowed after 10pm, however we are striving for ways to take care of our guests so they do not go hungry! We strive to find the balance between the historic integrity of the hotel and modern amenities our guests desire. A multi-million dollar investment into new furnishings and a new wing is under construction.We hope you will give us the opportunity in the future to give the perfect service and excellent food we are known for. Thank you for your patience as we navigate the constant changes affecting us during this pandemic.

4
Partner Couples

Historic hotel-lovely renovation. This was on our “list”-so glad we were able to stay. Loved the grand ceiling (12’ ) in the room.

By , from Portland, OR on Oct 23, 2020

Review comment responded on Nov 4, 2020

Thank you for your kind review, we appreciate your feedback!

4
Partner Couples

The hotel was beautiful and very comfortable. Meals were very good and staff was very accommodating

By on Nov 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 11, 2020

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate it.

2
Family

They lost our reservation. They were not helpful about it. No apologies, even though we missed our dinner reservation because of them. They just kept saying "This is not good" They did give a room at their price which was way less than Orbitz. In the morning they said they found our reservation again with no apologies for the mix up,. and so I ended up paying more and then they charged us an additional 43.00 dollars. It ended up being a total bust. The hotel was quaint. The staff was terrible except the staff in the restaurant was exceptional. The chef at breakfast and the wait staff were wonderful.

By on Sep 3, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 5, 2019

We are sorry you were so disappointed with your reservation that you booked online with Orbitz. These reservations populate directly into our booking system without any notification to our front desk staff. Our staff worked hard to take care of you the best they could, however we have to honor your pre-paid reservation booked online with Orbitz.

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Baker-City-Hotels-Geiser-Grand-Hotel.h460399-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Baker-City-Hotels-Geiser-Grand-Hotel.h460399-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Baker-City-Hotels-Geiser-Grand-Hotel.h460399-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions