Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

First off, shout-out to Julie for being absolutely hilarious. I hope now you all will reconsider on getting a couple children's bicycles for the short people, like me, to rent out. I loved the location, but hated the fact it was a 30 minute walk to the tram. I thoroughly enjoyed the little market inside the hotel for when I was hungry or thirsty. I loved the yogurt, lol. I did not sleep well here at all, & I regretted choosing it for the two weeks I was there. I had a big room all to myself, but I don't understand having two twin beds to look like a queen. The blackout curtains had areas that were not blacked out, so light would be coming through (there was only about five hours of darkness, so I was screwed). The pillows were horrible; they flattened out & left me with a kink in my neck every morning. If the light didn't wake me up, the opening/shutting of the room door next to me woke me up, or the dragging of the furniture next door of whatever room house keeping was cleaning. If you like to sleep in, I really don't recommend this place. Or, at least bring an eye mask & earplugs. There is a windmill that is a 15 minute walk away. I enjoyed a couple of restaurants in the area, too. An Uber ride to the center is about 20 minuted, & all my drivers were friendly & helpful. I would come back & try this place again, but maybe try a smaller room so I get less light, lol.

The location of the hotel is not convenient. It is relatively close to Schiphol but in reality it is located 20 minutes of small, winding roads away from the airport. The facility itself is modern and beautiful but it is not build with customer service in mind. You can get food from the self serve store and also check in on their automated system but if you want a human to help you it may be frustrating. We were told that our room would be cleaned every three days (never heard that as an acceptable standard before) but in reality we stayed 7 nights and only received service on the room after the 6th night. The room was new and spacious. The lobby area was also very warm and comfortable with great future, nice TV's and good wi-fi. We come to Amsterdam regularly and will not stay here again, but if the concerns I mentioned do not bother you I would definitely recommend this property.

Meidoornweg 2 Badhoevedorp

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Bar/lounge
  • Fitness center
  • Concierge services

Located 2.4 mi (3.8 km) from De Meervaart Theater, Amrâth Apart-Hotel Schiphol-Badhoevedorp is within a 10-minute drive of Vondelpark. This 98-room, 3-star aparthotel has a bar/lounge, free in-room WiFi, and a fitness center.


Dining

Start each morning with self-serve breakfast, available for a fee from 6:00 AM to 11:00 AM. Quench your thirst with a drink at the bar/lounge.


Rooms

Each apartment is heated and features a kitchenette with a refrigerator and a microwave. A flat-screen TV comes with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. The bathroom offers hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a coffee maker, a laptop-compatible safe, and a desk. Limited housekeeping is available.


Property features

Guests of Amrâth Apart-Hotel Schiphol-Badhoevedorp enjoy features like a fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and laundry facilities. Self parking is available for EUR 2.50 per day. The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help with concierge services, luggage storage, and dry cleaning/laundry.

Room options

Apartment (50 m2 Two Room Apartment)

4 Twin Beds | Sleeps 4

Studio (25m2 Studio)

2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 2

Apartment (60m2 Apartment)

2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 2

Studio, Connecting Rooms (25m2 Studio Connecting )

2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Amrâth Apart-Hotel Schiphol-Badhoevedorp

Everyone (3)
5
Everyone

By on May 17, 2019

Review comment responded on May 20, 2019

Dear Anonymous, thank you for your 5 star feedback! We really appreciate it! Kind regards

4

beautiful, but far & i slept horribly.. .

Everyone

First off, shout-out to Julie for being absolutely hilarious. I hope now you all will reconsider on getting a couple children's bicycles for the short people, like me, to rent out. I loved the location, but hated the fact it was a 30 minute walk to the tram. I thoroughly enjoyed the little market inside the hotel for when I was hungry or thirsty. I loved the yogurt, lol. I did not sleep well here at all, & I regretted choosing it for the two weeks I was there. I had a big room all to myself, but I don't understand having two twin beds to look like a queen. The blackout curtains had areas that were not blacked out, so light would be coming through (there was only about five hours of darkness, so I was screwed). The pillows were horrible; they flattened out & left me with a kink in my neck every morning. If the light didn't wake me up, the opening/shutting of the room door next to me woke me up, or the dragging of the furniture next door of whatever room house keeping was cleaning. If you like to sleep in, I really don't recommend this place. Or, at least bring an eye mask & earplugs. There is a windmill that is a 15 minute walk away. I enjoyed a couple of restaurants in the area, too. An Uber ride to the center is about 20 minuted, & all my drivers were friendly & helpful. I would come back & try this place again, but maybe try a smaller room so I get less light, lol.

By , from Orlando, Fl on Jul 1, 2018

Review comment responded on Jul 5, 2018

Dear Mary, Thank you so much for your feedback.. We really appreciate it! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, our staff, food market and surrounding area. We are sorry that you were not happy with the bed, curtain and noise situation. We make it a priority to respect the privacy of our guests and if you had notified us of your concerns we would have done our utmost to rectify the situation, although the summer lightness would have been difficult! We are pleased to inform you that we have introduced a “pillow menu” which now means you are able to choose the kind of pillow you prefer. We appreciate that public transport is 20 minute walk from the hotel, that is why we recommend our bike rental as a great alternative to getting around. We hope that on your next visit you choose the Amrath Apart-Hotel Schiphol and we can make your stay even better. Kind regards

3

modern and spacious but low on service

Everyone

The location of the hotel is not convenient. It is relatively close to Schiphol but in reality it is located 20 minutes of small, winding roads away from the airport. The facility itself is modern and beautiful but it is not build with customer service in mind. You can get food from the self serve store and also check in on their automated system but if you want a human to help you it may be frustrating. We were told that our room would be cleaned every three days (never heard that as an acceptable standard before) but in reality we stayed 7 nights and only received service on the room after the 6th night. The room was new and spacious. The lobby area was also very warm and comfortable with great future, nice TV's and good wi-fi. We come to Amsterdam regularly and will not stay here again, but if the concerns I mentioned do not bother you I would definitely recommend this property.

By on May 2, 2018

Review comment responded on May 10, 2018

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your detailed feedback. We have received more feedback about the offered cleaning services and that is why we have chosen to offer a thoroughly cleaning on the third day of stay and a smaller cleaning on the sixth day, instead of the other way around. This system has been implemented recently and we are still observing to see if this is more in line with the wishes of our guests. Furthermore, we understand out of your feedback that you would have liked it to receive more personal attention. For this reason the Hosts are always available and present to help our guests with all their questions and needs. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our facilities and hope to welcome you once more to experience the new updated services that our hotel offers now, to improve guest satisfaction. This way you can tell us if this new cleaning service is more in line with your expectations. Kind regards, Your Host

Amrâth Apart-Hotel Schiphol-Badhoevedorp

Meidoornweg 2, Badhoevedorp, 1171JW
url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Amsterdam-Hotels-Amrâth-Apart-Hotel-Schiphol-Badhoevedorp.h19628693-p2.Hotel-Reviews