Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

It's a great location and the heated pools are nice. The on site restaurant is very convenient to have lunch during a brief rain at the beach. The restaurant staff is very nice, and the food was good. The room was clean and nice, and the air conditioning worked great. The bathroom was somewhat old and the bath not modern but for the price I wouldn't expect something fresh, but it was clean. There was a large walk-in closet with a fridge. The staff at the beach was really nice, setting up chairs and umbrellas. Parking was close to the room. I would definitely stay here again.

Beach View is breath taking this is my second stay and I feel at home

If you are looking for a beachside resort that has no glitz and glamour, perfect for kids, the Sandcastle is your best choice. Rooms are clean but worn as is the lobby and other public areas. Restaurant is good, food tasty(the breakfast buffet is the way to go if you want two or three separate choices). They serve lunch and dinner as well, also tasty but expensive. Location is excellent if you don't want to travel distances to attractions. The hotel provides free transport to St Armands Circle, a fantastic shopping experience with everything you could want, from restaurants, ice cream and candy stores to high end clothing and jewelry shops. All in all, a perfect choice to rest, relax and enjoy the Florida sunshine.

I had friends from out of town and when we went to the room the beds had some type of bugs in it and the room smelled moldy so we packed up and left this hotel which I was embarrassed and very disappointed.

Perfect place on the beach Nice staff Room were perfect as well

Awesome staff was very accommodating. Place is on beach with two beautiful pools coming back next year

Very upset with this hotel.Waited 2 hours to check in.Room not ready, staff not apologetic..What if I decided to check out when I felt like it? Bet I would be charged.Besides this,not kidding it was one thing after another. 2x our keys did not work at all.(waiting).TV didnt work and needed to be repaired(waiting) Refrigerator wasn't working ,half of our food went bad.They had to bring a new one to our room(.more waiting)After 3rd day the safe no longer worked.They had to try and fix it, bypass it with the keys then had to find another one to mount in our room.(more waiting)Found that they were replacing our toiletries with used half filled ones as well. Every day had to wait for clean towels for the beach.All this time of waiting for things to be made right, we could not fully enjoy ourselves.Had a beautiful view with a beachfront room. Was not aware that our balcony would be shared with our neighbors.One balcony there were young men yelling with loud music,flashing a light on the balconies.Things we put outside were stolen.We did not feel safe.Woman at the desk was sympathetic and promised compensation/action and would leave a note for the manager.No one ever got back to us.Had to track the manager down.He did make sure we received some compensation that the previous woman had stated.Customer service is not their priority. Facilities,old and dated. Beautiful beach and pool.Could be great. Not work the expensive money per night. Stay elsewhere.They don't care about you.

Very pleasant, staff very accommodating, beautiful white sand beaches, schuttle on demand to st Armand's circle , 1 1/2 mile , for lovely shops and restaurants. Had a car, don’t really need one. Will go back again.

This hotel is a bit stuck in time, but I liked that! I prefer hotels that aren’t overcrowded, fancy high rises. This place has lots of space, beautiful beach, everything you might need. I would stay here again and hope it hasn’t changed!

I would say our stay was great. We could not beat the location of the hotel on Lido Beach or the room, 104, we had, with a door that literally opened up right to the beach. We had no probablems parking and got a spot steps away from room door. We feel it was one of the best rooms in the hotel. The ENTIRE staff was GREAT and very responsive to us. The room was clean and had everything we needed but there was no real privacy for dressing unless we went into bathroom. The beds were a little small, as there were two full size mattresses instead of queens, but were comfortable enough. The water pressure and water temperature in the shower was nearly perfect but the size of the tub and stall area was snug. The pools were great and grounds very clean and well maintained. There were lots of amenities and fun things to do right on sight if we wanted, even a restaurant. The restaurant was good and the dinner and alcohol menus were impressive and reasonably priced for the most part were but we were not thrilled with the quality of the food we ordered, which was fine but not great in taste. We did not try the breakfast buffet or lunch, so we can’t comment on that. While there was complimentary coffee in the lobby, it only lasted from 6-7am, and we were disappointed. A coffee in a paper cup was $3.00 after that. We could return to the restaurant for refills with no extra charge fill up with the paper cup, but it was inconvenient to walk back and forth. Definitely we will return.

Staff was wonderful and accommodating... beautiful pools, chair and umbrella service at the beach was a great plus... rooms were a little dated and shabby, but clean...

Had a great time. It's close to everything, activities and good restaurants. The beach is the best on the entire strip and has beautiful sunsets. The resort is dated, but it has everything you could want and they keep it immaculately clean. We will be back. Very relaxing. Love the fact that it's a low rise resort also. It has an elevator which works fine, but it's so easy to use the very convenient stairs. The whole place is user friendly.

Except for the long waits and expensive prices at the pool bar (gratuity included and not deserved due to rude attitudes from most of the pool bar staff day after day) this hotel was wonderful!

Enjoyed every moment. Hotel experience was top notch. Perfect location on the beach. Would definitely stay again

The beds were hard as rock but being able to walk out on the patio and watch the sunset every night made the horrible beds worth it. Besides the uncomfortable beds I have ZERO complaints. And I can't wait to stay there again!

The older section of the Sandcastle is in dire need of renovation. We have never stayed in the "Courtyard View" building. It is obviously part of the original hotel/motel and looks it. The restaurant, the pool and the staff have consistently been excellent, every time we have visited. The beach too is delightful.

Our room was outdated and had a funny smell. The outside of the facilities was beautiful and clean with a bar, restaurant and two pools; the beach was so close you only had to walk a few steps to get there. Beach service for chairs and umbrellas was excellent. We were there for five nights and by the fifth night the condition of the room was getting to us. It's a shame because the outside was wonderful!

We had a wonderful time here. Two wonderful pools, walk out right onto the beach. Loved having the bar right there. The restaurant there was great. Had a fabulous breakfast buffet. Provided bikes to ride. Went downtown and had a fabulous Cuban dinner. What a gorgeous area. Met many wonderful people and families from different countries. I hated to leave. Their staff is wonderful!! Lots of shopping, eating and fun!!

Loved the Sandcastle!! Yes it is a little outdated. The rooms were clean, staff was great, and the beach is amazing! Had lots of fun at the pool bar. Jason, Chad, and Missy were great. The beach is beautiful! The best part of the trip! Only downfall the mattress was a little hard but didn't even matter to me, everything else was amazing!

Beach was absolutely amazing! Staff were professional and accommodating. We had a great time! Even the restaurant was great. The rooms and buildings (we were in 202) are a little dated. this is the most beautiful spot possible but there's a significant amount of upkeep required on building. Still, one of the best spots we've ever enjoyed!

1540 Ben Franklin Dr Sarasota FL

Hotel highlights

  • Close to St. Armands Circle
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Located in Lido Key within a mile (2 km) of St. Armands Circle, Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach is within a few miles (5 km) of other popular sights such as Mote Marine Aquarium. This 176-room, 3-star hotel welcomes guests with 2 outdoor pools, a restaurant, and free in-room WiFi. On the beach, it's also near Marie Selby Botanical Gardens and Siesta Key Public Beach.


Dining

You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge or visit the onsite restaurant for a bite to eat. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service, or get a quick energy boost at the coffee shop/café. Start each morning with full breakfast, available for a fee from 7 AM to 10:30 AM.


Rooms

All of Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach's 176 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including balconies or patios, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can expect free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Free bottled water, safes, and ironing boards are also available.


Property features

Guests staying at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach enjoy access to 2 outdoor pools, a fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. If you drive, put free parking to good use. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with dry cleaning/laundry and concierge services. Other amenities at this beach hotel include 3 meeting rooms, conference space, and an arcade/game room.

Room options

Double Room, Courtyard View

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Double Room (Gulf Front)

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Double Room, Pool View

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Everyone (17) Couples (74) Business (5) Family (73) Friends (15) Other (10)
5
Families

It's a great location and the heated pools are nice. The on site restaurant is very convenient to have lunch during a brief rain at the beach. The restaurant staff is very nice, and the food was good. The room was clean and nice, and the air conditioning worked great. The bathroom was somewhat old and the bath not modern but for the price I wouldn't expect something fresh, but it was clean. There was a large walk-in closet with a fridge. The staff at the beach was really nice, setting up chairs and umbrellas. Parking was close to the room. I would definitely stay here again.

By on May 23, 2018

4
Everyone

Beach View is breath taking this is my second stay and I feel at home

By on Apr 18, 2018

4

no frills resort on the beach

Everyone

If you are looking for a beachside resort that has no glitz and glamour, perfect for kids, the Sandcastle is your best choice. Rooms are clean but worn as is the lobby and other public areas. Restaurant is good, food tasty(the breakfast buffet is the way to go if you want two or three separate choices). They serve lunch and dinner as well, also tasty but expensive. Location is excellent if you don't want to travel distances to attractions. The hotel provides free transport to St Armands Circle, a fantastic shopping experience with everything you could want, from restaurants, ice cream and candy stores to high end clothing and jewelry shops. All in all, a perfect choice to rest, relax and enjoy the Florida sunshine.

By , from Boston on Apr 1, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 2, 2018

Thank you for your review. We're happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

2
Everyone

I had friends from out of town and when we went to the room the beds had some type of bugs in it and the room smelled moldy so we packed up and left this hotel which I was embarrassed and very disappointed.

By on Mar 29, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 2, 2018

We're sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We will address the issues and will work on improving the issues you mention. Thank you for your business.

4

very nice cute hotel right in front of the beach !

Everyone

Perfect place on the beach Nice staff Room were perfect as well

By , from miami on Mar 24, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 2, 2018

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again. Thank you for your stay.

5

right on the beach

Everyone

Awesome staff was very accommodating. Place is on beach with two beautiful pools coming back next year

By on Mar 4, 2018

2

could be a wonderful place if they tried harder

Everyone

Very upset with this hotel.Waited 2 hours to check in.Room not ready, staff not apologetic..What if I decided to check out when I felt like it? Bet I would be charged.Besides this,not kidding it was one thing after another. 2x our keys did not work at all.(waiting).TV didnt work and needed to be repaired(waiting) Refrigerator wasn't working ,half of our food went bad.They had to bring a new one to our room(.more waiting)After 3rd day the safe no longer worked.They had to try and fix it, bypass it with the keys then had to find another one to mount in our room.(more waiting)Found that they were replacing our toiletries with used half filled ones as well. Every day had to wait for clean towels for the beach.All this time of waiting for things to be made right, we could not fully enjoy ourselves.Had a beautiful view with a beachfront room. Was not aware that our balcony would be shared with our neighbors.One balcony there were young men yelling with loud music,flashing a light on the balconies.Things we put outside were stolen.We did not feel safe.Woman at the desk was sympathetic and promised compensation/action and would leave a note for the manager.No one ever got back to us.Had to track the manager down.He did make sure we received some compensation that the previous woman had stated.Customer service is not their priority. Facilities,old and dated. Beautiful beach and pool.Could be great. Not work the expensive money per night. Stay elsewhere.They don't care about you.

By , from NJ on Feb 19, 2018

4

ocean view room, 1st floor, walk out to beach.

Everyone

Very pleasant, staff very accommodating, beautiful white sand beaches, schuttle on demand to st Armand's circle , 1 1/2 mile , for lovely shops and restaurants. Had a car, don’t really need one. Will go back again.

By on Feb 7, 2018

5

woukd stay again

Everyone

This hotel is a bit stuck in time, but I liked that! I prefer hotels that aren’t overcrowded, fancy high rises. This place has lots of space, beautiful beach, everything you might need. I would stay here again and hope it hasn’t changed!

By on Dec 15, 2017

4

good hotel right on beach

Everyone

I would say our stay was great. We could not beat the location of the hotel on Lido Beach or the room, 104, we had, with a door that literally opened up right to the beach. We had no probablems parking and got a spot steps away from room door. We feel it was one of the best rooms in the hotel. The ENTIRE staff was GREAT and very responsive to us. The room was clean and had everything we needed but there was no real privacy for dressing unless we went into bathroom. The beds were a little small, as there were two full size mattresses instead of queens, but were comfortable enough. The water pressure and water temperature in the shower was nearly perfect but the size of the tub and stall area was snug. The pools were great and grounds very clean and well maintained. There were lots of amenities and fun things to do right on sight if we wanted, even a restaurant. The restaurant was good and the dinner and alcohol menus were impressive and reasonably priced for the most part were but we were not thrilled with the quality of the food we ordered, which was fine but not great in taste. We did not try the breakfast buffet or lunch, so we can’t comment on that. While there was complimentary coffee in the lobby, it only lasted from 6-7am, and we were disappointed. A coffee in a paper cup was $3.00 after that. We could return to the restaurant for refills with no extra charge fill up with the paper cup, but it was inconvenient to walk back and forth. Definitely we will return.

By , from Florida on Oct 22, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 14, 2017

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!