Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Manager was very rude and unprofessional and unfriendly no access point with out assistance or someone to let you in as well as false advertisement so bad I didn’t even stay I had to make another reservation for somewhere else

Bed bugs Several bites on me this morning. Everything was filthy and dirty. This place is awful.

This property isn't safe at all. Shared bathroom and the rooms are extremely small. The advertisement isn't accurate at all. It's very disconcerting for seekers. I was very disappointed in my one night stay. I can guarantee I will never stay here again.

Sweden House is an excellent combination of many different types of accommodation - Hostel, New Reno, Historic. The staff and especially Owner are very kind. It's a peaceful place to stay. Do be aware of the surrounding neighborhood, keep that in mind if you're coming to stay with kids.

Nothing like the picture. Wait outside for 10 minutes just to get inside. No info outside lock door

Super was the house keeping, kindly staff, reception helpful. 😊

Bed bugs!!!!!!!!!!! I have bites all over my legs, room also had smoke detectors pulled

the rooms were cool, but hardly any staff around and one of the bathrooms had no hand soap and both bathrooms had no paper towels or hand dryers which sucked but overall wasnt bad at all I would stay again

Roaches. I was fine with the tiny room size, was fine with the public bathroom, was fine with the foot trafdic in the hlway at all hours of the day. I was even fine with the leaking radiator and the fact that I had to figure out the television input for cable. But once yhe roaches started to seize my jackets, I was done. Ended up leaving in the middle of the night to another hotel.

This was a totally crappy hotel. Not at all what we expected. Dirty, filthy, no service, Cockroaches in the rooms, fleas in the bathroom. Shared bathroom between 18 room is completely unacceptable, the only other bathroom had plastic covering the shower head. Unreal. Did not expect that. There was a crack head in the bathroom at one point and I had to call the manager to get her out of there, she was in there for 2 hours. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. Gross

O'farrell St San Francisco CA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Orpheum Theater and San Francisco City Hall
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Concierge services

Located in Downtown San Francisco, Sweden House Hotel is within a 10-minute walk of popular sights such as SHN Curran Theatre and Van Ness Avenue. The 40 rooms at this hotel include refrigerators, microwaves, and TVs.


Dining

Enjoy a leisurely bite to eat at Golden Era Restaurant, the hotel's onsite restaurant.


Rooms

All 40 rooms feature microwaves, refrigerators, and desks. 40-inch TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms are shared.


Property features

Guests of Sweden House Hotel have access to free WiFi in public areas. The front desk has multilingual staff that can help with concierge services, and offer advice about sights and eateries nearby.

Room options

Standard Room, Shared Bathroom

1 Double Bed | Sleeps 2

Petite Single Shared Bath

1 Twin Bed | Sleeps 1

2 Bunk Beds, Shared Bath - Upgraded Large

2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Sweden House Hotel

Everyone (14) Couples (2) Family (6)
1
Family Family

Manager was very rude and unprofessional and unfriendly no access point with out assistance or someone to let you in as well as false advertisement so bad I didn’t even stay I had to make another reservation for somewhere else

By on May 4, 2020

Review comment responded on Jul 25, 2020

Dear Guest, we're sorry to hear you were unhappy with your experience.

1
Everyone

Bed bugs Several bites on me this morning. Everything was filthy and dirty. This place is awful.

By on Dec 12, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 13, 2019

Dear guest, we're sorry you were unhappy with your experience, we;ll make sure to address the issues reported. Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback!

1
Everyone

By on Nov 12, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 12, 2019

Dear Guest, we're sorry you were unhappy with your experience, we'll make sure to address the issues reported!

2
Everyone

By on Aug 30, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 4, 2019

Dear guest, we're sorry you were unhappy with your experience, we'll make sure to address this issue properly. Thank you for your feedback!

3
Everyone

By on Aug 21, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 21, 2019

Dear guest, thank you for staying with us and for your feedback!

3
Everyone

By on Aug 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 7, 2019

Dear guest, thank you for staying with us and for your feedback!

1
Family

This property isn't safe at all. Shared bathroom and the rooms are extremely small. The advertisement isn't accurate at all. It's very disconcerting for seekers. I was very disappointed in my one night stay. I can guarantee I will never stay here again.

By on Aug 4, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 4, 2019

Dear guest, thank you for staying with us and for your feedback! We're sorry you were unhappy with your experience!

5
Family with small children

Sweden House is an excellent combination of many different types of accommodation - Hostel, New Reno, Historic. The staff and especially Owner are very kind. It's a peaceful place to stay. Do be aware of the surrounding neighborhood, keep that in mind if you're coming to stay with kids.

By on Aug 1, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 1, 2019

Dear guest, thank you for staying with us and for your feedback!

1
Everyone

By on Jul 2, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 3, 2019

Dear guest, thank you for staying with us and for your feedback!

1
Partner Couples Family

Nothing like the picture. Wait outside for 10 minutes just to get inside. No info outside lock door

By on Jun 18, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 18, 2019

Dear guest, we're sorry to hear you were unhappy with your experience! Thank you for staying with us!

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/San-Francisco-Hotels-Sweden-House-Hotel.h2098968-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /San-Francisco-Hotels-Sweden-House-Hotel.h2098968-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/San-Francisco-Hotels-Sweden-House-Hotel.h2098968-p2.Hotel-Reviews