Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Love the all suite aspect. Lots of space for families

Property is well situated. Rooms are a little dark

Gooooooorgeous hotel!! Surprisingly inexpensive, modern and centrally located. Hands down, this is where we will be staying in NOLA from now on.

Very cozy hotel close to the French Quarter and in a good part of the city. Just a short walk away to the Riverwalk. The hotel was pretty clean and it had a record player which set the mood for some jazz music right in your room.

Great place to stay, I would recommend anyone going to New Orleans to give The Mercantile a look. It's convenient to all of the cities attractions, the price isn't bad, and the room is comfortable.

Location was very good for our needs. Property was very clean and staff was accommodating.

DO NOT VALET PARK! Our vehicle was broken into while under the “supervision” of the hotel Valet. My car was destroyed inside and a handgun was stolen from a hidden area in the car. So the thief had time to look through my car... NOT MONITORED AT ALL. We were also told while doing a police report that’s it’s been happening at this hotel lately. DO NOT VALET PARK! I wish I could rate the hotel and valet separately. Our hotel stay was Great! Very nice and clean space. I just really hope they go with another Valet service.

Like room space, all-suite style, cultural decor, convenient location, walkable to French Quarter, Garden District, Frenchmen Street-Marigny District, Treme, St Charles St and Canal St streetcars and so many other historic and cultural sites, parks and more. Room 943. The one primary concern is the lack of full bathroom cleanliness. The bathroom tub tiles need scrubbing to remove the very evident dirt and scum between them. That was very displeasing. The bathroom floor was not clean under the sink counter as there were small items of debris. I did request the housekeeper to clean the area however it was not satisfactory. The housekeeper was responsive in meeting requests for additional body wash, toilet paper, tea packets and replacing towels/washcloths.

Loved the design and aesthetic of this property. The jazz records in the room is a super cool touch. The exposed brick gives it a really cool vibe. My only issues were that the shower wasn't as clean as I would have liked. There was mold growing around some of the shower hinges that needed some TLC. And the air conditioning in the room wasn't very responsive and it was on the warm side. But I would still return and stay here again.

This hotel was unexpected. The suite had a great work area with a bedroom with a view. TV in each area. The bar downstairs was hopping and drinks were great. Try the pretzel.

Arrived at the hotel around 10pm on the Wednsday before Thanksgiving, there was no valet outside and it was not obvious where to park to unload. During unloading we were approached by a homeless person looking for food and money, this is kind of expected in the area but having hotel personnel outside would definitely help. Checkin was okay neither good nor bad. After getting to our room, which looked nothing like the pictures, it was dirty, smelled musty and had damage that made it look like there was a fight in the room before. The bedroom door had been forced open at some point and the main door had been pushed through the door stop and damaged the wall. There was hair in the shower in addition to it just not being clean at all. After one night we canceled the rest of our stay, paying a $50 fee. We moved to The Cambria hotel 2 blocks away and had a much better stay.

Clean room, courteous staff. Needs to have room service menu. Also need to have better fitness room.

Cool decor, friendly staff, had sitting room and bedroom

South Peters Street New Orleans LA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Julia Street Cruise Terminal and Harrah's New Orleans Casino
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Bar/lounge

Located in Central Business District, The Mercantile Hotel New Orleans is adjacent to Julia Street Cruise Terminal and within a 10-minute walk of other popular attractions like Harrah's New Orleans Casino. This 90-room, 3-star hotel has free breakfast along with conveniences like a 24-hour fitness center and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is served each morning from 6:00 AM to 10:00 AM. At the end of the day, unwind with a drink at the bar/lounge.


Rooms

All 90 individually decorated accommodations feature kitchenettes and space to spread out with a separate bedroom and living rooms. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and beds sport premium bedding. Coffee makers, safes, and phones are other standard amenities.


Property features

At The Mercantile Hotel New Orleans, guests have access to a 24-hour fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and a meeting room. Valet parking is offered for USD 42 per day. Front-desk staff can answer questions 24/7, and assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include a business center, coffee/tea in a common area, and free newspapers.

Room options

Suite, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Executive Suite, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Suite, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Suite, 1 Queen Bed, Bathtub

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for The Mercantile Hotel New Orleans

Everyone (48) Couples (9) Family (15)
4
Partner Couples Family

Love the all suite aspect. Lots of space for families

By , from Los Angeles on Mar 10, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 10, 2020

Thank you for your great rating and review, Michele. We are so glad you enjoyed the roominess of the suite and had a great stay. We hope to see you again the next time you are visiting NOLA.

4
Family Family

Property is well situated. Rooms are a little dark

By on Mar 6, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 18, 2020

Thank you for your great review and feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here. We appreciate you letting us know that the rooms could use some more light. Hopefully that is something that we can address and fix soon.

5
Everyone

By on Feb 26, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 27, 2020

Thank you for your great rating. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at The Mercantile. We hope to see you again soon.

5
Friends Family

Gooooooorgeous hotel!! Surprisingly inexpensive, modern and centrally located. Hands down, this is where we will be staying in NOLA from now on.

By on Feb 21, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 22, 2020

Thank you for your great review. We are so glad that you love it here and that you had a great experience here, including our location and our décor and vibe. We hope to see you again soon.

5
Everyone

By on Feb 18, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 19, 2020

Thank you for your great rating. We are so glad you had a great experience here and we hope to see you again soon.

4
Partner Couples

Very cozy hotel close to the French Quarter and in a good part of the city. Just a short walk away to the Riverwalk. The hotel was pretty clean and it had a record player which set the mood for some jazz music right in your room.

By , from Melbourne, FL on Feb 4, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 5, 2020

Thank you for your great review, Monique. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, including the cleanliness, the location, and the special touches in the room and the hote. We hope to see you back again on your next trip to NOLA.

5
Everyone

Great place to stay, I would recommend anyone going to New Orleans to give The Mercantile a look. It's convenient to all of the cities attractions, the price isn't bad, and the room is comfortable.

By on Jan 27, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 28, 2020

Thank you for the great review. I am glad you had a great experience and that you would recommend us. Thank you for the kind words regarding the location, price, and room. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

4
Family

Location was very good for our needs. Property was very clean and staff was accommodating.

By on Jan 13, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 14, 2020

Thank you for your great review. I am glad you found the hotel clean and the staff helpful . We hope to see you back again next time you are visiting NOLA.

2
Partner Couples

DO NOT VALET PARK! Our vehicle was broken into while under the “supervision” of the hotel Valet. My car was destroyed inside and a handgun was stolen from a hidden area in the car. So the thief had time to look through my car... NOT MONITORED AT ALL. We were also told while doing a police report that’s it’s been happening at this hotel lately. DO NOT VALET PARK! I wish I could rate the hotel and valet separately. Our hotel stay was Great! Very nice and clean space. I just really hope they go with another Valet service.

By on Jan 7, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 10, 2020

Thank you for your review and sharing your experience. I can understand the frustration and disappointment that you experienced when you discovered that your car had been broken into. I am sad to hear that it happened while you were here at The Mercantile. It is to my understanding that extra security has been added and law enforcement are aware as well. Our management are aware of the situation, and between them and the Valet management, they have spoken to your party to help with the situation as it happened. We will work so that this will hopefully not happen to our guests again. I am glad that you had a great stay at the hotel, despite this incident. We hope to see you back again for a much better experience.

5
Business Business

Like room space, all-suite style, cultural decor, convenient location, walkable to French Quarter, Garden District, Frenchmen Street-Marigny District, Treme, St Charles St and Canal St streetcars and so many other historic and cultural sites, parks and more. Room 943. The one primary concern is the lack of full bathroom cleanliness. The bathroom tub tiles need scrubbing to remove the very evident dirt and scum between them. That was very displeasing. The bathroom floor was not clean under the sink counter as there were small items of debris. I did request the housekeeper to clean the area however it was not satisfactory. The housekeeper was responsive in meeting requests for additional body wash, toilet paper, tea packets and replacing towels/washcloths.

By on Dec 18, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 19, 2019

Thank you for your review and feedback. I am glad to hear that you had a great stay, that you enjoyed the room, the locations, and that the housekeeper was able to help you with your requests. My apologies for the uncleanliness you encountered. We appreciate you letting us know. Feedback helps us to improve. We hope to see you back again next time you are in the area.

The Mercantile Hotel New Orleans

727 South Peters Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/New-Orleans-Hotels-The-Mercantile-Hotel-New-Orleans.h20051816-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /New-Orleans-Hotels-The-Mercantile-Hotel-New-Orleans.h20051816-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/New-Orleans-Hotels-The-Mercantile-Hotel-New-Orleans.h20051816-p2.Hotel-Reviews