Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Place d'Armes Hotel

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Great location, friendly and helpful staff, beautiful hotel, nice room, clean cotton sheets and hot water with decent water pressure. Very near the action but very quiet.

Price worth more than value. The building is super old, not well kept, kinda dirty. Rooms are dark and old carpet, bedding, furnishings...I stay at Marriott or Hyatt and walk few more blocks to the Quarter...

Charming hotel in the heart of the French Quarter! Be sure to request a room with a window otherwise very clean and comfortable and the staff was excellent! You can walk to anywhere in the Quarter! two blocks to the river and two blocks to Bourbon St! We will stay there next visit!

The so Cal exceeded expectations in the French quarter. The staff Are outstanding. The coffee and pastries are amazing bird I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to New Orleans. and especially the French quarter

Always a great stay here! Great old hotel. While dated, the French quarter feel and ambiance makes up for the interior decor. Rooms are clean and staff is great.

Is this the most elegant hotel- NO but to get the real feel of New Orleans you have to stay here! Close to EVERYTHING. This building was one of the first school houses in New Orleans I believe. Old world charm at reasonable rates. We had an inside room with no windows but it was beautiful. I would love to get a courtyard view.

Love that this place is in the heart of The French Quarter. Easy walking to most things. You have to realize this is an older hotel, but it's the "real feel" of New Orleans. It's clean and the pool area is very nice. We had no complaints.

I arrived early, staff was so kind. They held my Luggage for me so I could explore the city. The nice women at the deck called me as soon as my room was ready. Room was clean and comfortable, great price too!

The sheets were dirty in one of the beds. There was sand or crumbs in them as well and stains on the bedspread that looked like blood. The room was located on the first floor where you could hear everything going on in the hallway. Doors slamming, luggage up and down the hall. No rest. They really should not rent the rooms on that floor.

Within easy walking distance of everything in the French Quarter and the river.

Check-In was rough because the clerk was so rude and rushing. Other than that ALL the other employees were so nice and extremely accommodating!!! It really made for an even better trip staying at this hotel and would highly recommend it. I will definitely stay here again.

Charming historic hotel that was conveniently located in the middle of the French Quarter. Interior rooms were quiet, dark and cool all day.

For the most part, the hotel was good. The toilet would "flush" when the room above us flushed theirs. Our room was comfortable with the temperature, but my sister was in another room and their a/c did not work. The "street view" outside our room was the roof top for the covered roof, which had glass and a razor blade on it. So, the view was not nice. Did not bring a bathing suit to try the pool, but the pool are was pretty and quiet.

The staff was well beyond nice. I will stay here every time I come to New Orleans

Staff was amazing and the hotel location is central. You can walk to everything from the hotel. Enjoyed my stay!!

By mistake, we booked a room WITHOUT WINDOWS! I didn't realized that windows is a hotel "amenity" to look for... Worst were people in the front rooms with nice balconies: there is a noisy power generator across the street! Breakfast was bad only sweet unhealthy options. We had to beg for hot water for tea. Unfriendly staff in front desk.

It's a great hotel for people who plan to be out and about. It's right across from Jackson park, two short blocks south of Bourbon St. and one block north of Decatur St. The bed was probably the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on. The bathroom in our room needs a little updating - could use a full length mirror, new shower but it was always clean. Staff was amazing. Continental breakfast was a little plain but not bad. The courtyard needs to be livened up a bit but we didn't spend much time there. Overall - great pick in a perfect location!

Absolutely close to everything in the French Quarter. It was very quiet and the room was clean. The continental breakfast could use an upgrade, however, it was nice to see they had one. The staff was nice and very informative. Will definitely stay there again!

We spent 5 nights in the Place D'Armes hotel, and were quite pleased overall. Some minor quibbles, but nothing major. It was great to be right in the heart of the French Quarter, literally steps away from Jackson Square, and a block from the Cafe du Monde. We had asked for a room with a window, and technically got one--a tiny window overlooking the street on the 4th floor. the room was, however, a small suite, which proved to be terrific--we could spread out a bit, watch different TV shows if we wanted, and the bedroom was very quiet--no street noise. Minor details like a toilet with a handle you had to jiggle, but no real complaints. Breakfast was continental and ample, and the courtyard with small swimming pool was a peaceful, shady oasis. All in all, a good, if not spectacular hotel in the French Quarter.

625 Saint Ann St New Orleans LA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Jackson Square and French Market
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Outdoor pool
  • Concierge services

Located in French Quarter, Place d'Armes Hotel is adjacent to Jackson Square and within a 10-minute walk of other popular attractions like French Market. This 84-room, 3-star hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like an outdoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and concierge services. Located centrally in New Orleans, it's also close to Mercedes-Benz Superdome and National World War II Museum.


Rooms

Place d'Armes Hotel's 84 air-conditioned rooms provide coffee makers, free newspapers, and safes. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and cable TV. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Phones, ironing boards, and desks are also standard.


Property features

Guests of Place d'Armes Hotel enjoy features like an outdoor pool, free WiFi in public areas, and free newspapers. Valet parking is available for USD 34.00 per night, and there's also limo/town car service. Front-desk staff can answer questions 24/7, and assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include a porter/bellhop and an ATM.

Room options

One king or Queen bed. Street or courtyard view

King 1 | Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Two double beds with no windows

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Two double beds. Street or courtyard view

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Place d'Armes Hotel

Everyone (22) Couples (95) Business (10) Family (23) Friends (17) Other (10)
5

i really recommend this hotel

Everyone

Great location, friendly and helpful staff, beautiful hotel, nice room, clean cotton sheets and hot water with decent water pressure. Very near the action but very quiet.

By on Feb 25, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 26, 2018

Hi Amy, thank you for choosing our hotel. We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to welcoming you for your next NOLA visit.

3

not worth the price...

Everyone

Price worth more than value. The building is super old, not well kept, kinda dirty. Rooms are dark and old carpet, bedding, furnishings...I stay at Marriott or Hyatt and walk few more blocks to the Quarter...

By on Feb 19, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 21, 2018

We are glad you enjoyed our location and thank you for your recent visit. We take pride in our historic hotel and do our best to surpass the expectations of our guests. We apologize if you were not pleased with some aspects of your stay. Your comments regarding maintenance have been passed on to our management team. We hope you had an enjoyable time in the French Quarter.

5

old new orleans charm and perfect location!

Everyone

Charming hotel in the heart of the French Quarter! Be sure to request a room with a window otherwise very clean and comfortable and the staff was excellent! You can walk to anywhere in the Quarter! two blocks to the river and two blocks to Bourbon St! We will stay there next visit!

By , from Northwest! on Feb 14, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 14, 2018

Hi Marcus, thank you for choosing our historic hotel and taking the time to share your experience. We're glad you enjoyed your stay in New Orleans and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

5

good location great people

Everyone

The so Cal exceeded expectations in the French quarter. The staff Are outstanding. The coffee and pastries are amazing bird I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to New Orleans. and especially the French quarter

By on Feb 11, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 12, 2018

We appreciate your kind words and are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us in New Orleans. We're looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

5

location location location

Everyone

Always a great stay here! Great old hotel. While dated, the French quarter feel and ambiance makes up for the interior decor. Rooms are clean and staff is great.

By on Dec 24, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 26, 2017

Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to the French Quarter soon!

5

great place to get the real feel of new orleans

Everyone

Is this the most elegant hotel- NO but to get the real feel of New Orleans you have to stay here! Close to EVERYTHING. This building was one of the first school houses in New Orleans I believe. Old world charm at reasonable rates. We had an inside room with no windows but it was beautiful. I would love to get a courtyard view.

By , from New Jersey on Nov 19, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 22, 2017

Hi Joe, thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to the French Quarter soon!

4

this was my second time here.

Everyone

Love that this place is in the heart of The French Quarter. Easy walking to most things. You have to realize this is an older hotel, but it's the "real feel" of New Orleans. It's clean and the pool area is very nice. We had no complaints.

By , from Wisconsin on Nov 1, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 2, 2017

Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to the French Quarter soon!

5

nice stay

Everyone

I arrived early, staff was so kind. They held my Luggage for me so I could explore the city. The nice women at the deck called me as soon as my room was ready. Room was clean and comfortable, great price too!

By , from Randolph, MA on Oct 3, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 5, 2017

Hi Rebecca, thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to the French Quarter soon!

1

never again

Everyone

The sheets were dirty in one of the beds. There was sand or crumbs in them as well and stains on the bedspread that looked like blood. The room was located on the first floor where you could hear everything going on in the hallway. Doors slamming, luggage up and down the hall. No rest. They really should not rent the rooms on that floor.

By , from Syracuse on Sep 5, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 8, 2017

Hi Tom, we do our best to exceed the expectations of our guests, but are sorry for the difficulties you experienced. The housekeeping issues you described are not consistent with our standards. We take pride in our historic hotel and cleanliness is a top priority. Please know your feedback has been shared with management for handling. We otherwise hope you enjoyed your time in the French Quarter.

3

comfortable

Everyone

Within easy walking distance of everything in the French Quarter and the river.

By on Aug 24, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 28, 2017

Thank you for sharing your rating! We are glad that you enjoyed your French Quarter stay.