Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

The Stevenson Monterey

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Decent facilities and really nice staff. The hotel is within walking distance to Fishermen wharfs. Parking is limited on parking lot but they have underground parking. Our vehicle didn't fit the underground so the management was nice enough to let us park in their spot. Overall we had a pleasant stay.

This is the third time my family has stayed here. We love how we can walk to Downtown Monterey, Fisherman's Wharf, and Dennis the Menace park. We always plan our stays around a Tuesday for the Farmer's Market that is held right down the street in Dowtown Monterey. The hotel is always clean and the rooms we have had with two beds are huge. We love staying here!

Went with my mom and 3 yr old daughter. It was perfect!!!! Close to the beach and everything in Monterey. The staff was excellent, room was clean, no noise, no complaints at all.

The hotel is clean and the breakfast was very good The office staff was very friendly and helpful

We stayed here for 1 night and it fit our needs perfectly. The rooms are small but clean and looked to have been recently updated. It is close to many restaurants as we walked to dinner just a few blocks away. Breakfast was very basic with coffee, a few pastries and a waffle maker. Overall it's a clean hotel great for a night or 2.

Loved the fact that this hotel was in walking distance to downtown Monterey. The staff was great and the room was nice.

The front desk staff was very nice. In the room, the hair dryer didn't work, and they replaced it right away. The shower was nice, but it didn't have any place inside to put shampoos and soaps. The cleaning staff missed throwing out used coffee cups, though everything else was perfect. The safe wasn't operating. We didn't report it until we checked out. Good to note that nothing went missing ;) The location is right next to a gas station and busy intersection that was a bit noisy until after midnight.

The hotel looks old from the outside but the rooms have been renovated quite nicely. One thing I was a little concerned about was that our bed sheet had an orange/red spot on it and it looked fresh, it was late at night so we just hoped to God our sheets were changed before we slept in the bed. Part of the reason we booked this room was because it included continental breakfast... I was a little disappointed with the lack of selection and also their "coffee creamer" was so watered down it was clear. We ended up going to breakfast at a bagel shop around the corner. All in all, we paid about $90 for the room and it was a step up from a motel 6. I'm not mad about it and would consider staying here again.

Awesome staff and convenient check in/out times. Trouble connected wifi to my media player (firestick) didn't redirect me to password log in. Walls and windows not sound proof at all. Could hear anyone talking outside and ever car that passed. Bathroom shower needs some sort of "ledge" or supports for shampoo, soap and conditioner, razor blades etc. we had to keep everything on the floor. We have bad backs so it was a pain.

The hotel was surprisingly clean and updated for the price. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was pretty awsome since they have freshly made waffles in addition to the usual continental breakfast. The only thing I wish was better was the water pressure. It felt like I was taking a shower in the SF fog but the room was so nice and comfy. The location is great as well. It is about a 15 minute leisure stroll to the Old Fisherman's wharf. There are a lot of shops and restaurants along the way including a Walgreens and Trader Joe's incase u forgot some toiletries or want some bananas to snack on. Overall the hotel itself and the location was great so I'd definitely stay there again when I'm in Monterey.

Great value, clean and well located very near to lots of restaurants and the main public transportation hub. There is a lot of street noise and no full black-out curtains so if you're a light sleeper you may not like. Also good variety of breakfast choices every morning.

Great staff and location with nice walk to fisherman's wharf and comercial district - will stay here again.

Stayed here for 2 nites. Staff are very helpful n friendly. It was an enjoyable stay. Quiet @ nite, we were able to sleep well.

Staff was friendly and knowledgable about the city. The room was what I expected, nothing fancy, but it got the job done for the price.

Great location, just a few blocks from downtown. Coffee and tea avail 24 hours, which was perfect to warm us up on our walk downtown for a bite. Our room was right by the stairs and was adjoined, therefore it was a tad noisy, we could hear the other room members cough-thankfully they didn't keep us up all night. But we did hear others complaining to the front desk about the noise. Breakfast was great hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, muffins and toast, cereal, oatmeal. Was perfect to get us out the door.

Although the room inside was very nice, and the staff extremely friendly, the hotel itself is very old. You can hear your neighbors talking and using their bathroom. There is also a serious lack of parking. There are only about 10 spaces outside at the hotel with about 25 more in an underground garage. The underground garage is very tight to park in. If you have a mini-van or a SUV parking will definitely be an issue.

We were met with a very friendly staff, Our reservations were honored and we found a very delightful room. We were only a 12 minute walk from the Wharf. We happened to catch a visit during an annual Exotic Car show. Which was a special treat. Overall, we had a very memorable time.

An older motel with recent bathroom and carpet upgrades makes it a good value. Excellent location with Trader Joe a block away. Great place to get picnic items and can store in small frig provided. Walking distance to wharf and Monterey coastal trail. Parking is limited especially if you come in late, but not a problem due to plenty of street parking. Breakfast was OK! Waffle maker was nice but nothing outstanding. Wonderful front desk staff. Very cheerful and helpful. Nothing fancy but a nice clean comfortable room to sleep in after a long day of exploring. Free in room WiFi was a plus! Will definitely stay again.

but not much else to come for. clean rooms. almost walking distance to cheesy cannery row. quiet, but renovation during daytime

Everything was good except one BIG issue, outlets not working in bathroom! That's why the 1 star for amenities. Other then that, decent place to stay. Eric at the Front Desk was great.

Room options

Standard Double Room

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for The Stevenson Monterey

Everyone (13) Business (7) Couples (17) Family (17) Friends (2) Other (1)
5

comfortable stay

Everyone

Decent facilities and really nice staff. The hotel is within walking distance to Fishermen wharfs. Parking is limited on parking lot but they have underground parking. Our vehicle didn't fit the underground so the management was nice enough to let us park in their spot. Overall we had a pleasant stay.

By , from houston, Tx on Aug 6, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 11, 2017

Thank you for your 5 out of 5 review.

4

great location

Everyone

This is the third time my family has stayed here. We love how we can walk to Downtown Monterey, Fisherman's Wharf, and Dennis the Menace park. We always plan our stays around a Tuesday for the Farmer's Market that is held right down the street in Dowtown Monterey. The hotel is always clean and the rooms we have had with two beds are huge. We love staying here!

By , from San Jose, CA on Jul 18, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 21, 2017

You love our great location and are a repeat guest! Thank you. Simply restated..."This is the third time my family has stayed here. We love how we can walk to Downtown Monterey, Fisherman's Wharf, and Dennis the Menace park. We always plan our stays around a Tuesday for the Farmer's Market that is held right down the street in Dowtown Monterey. The hotel is always clean and the rooms we have had with two beds are huge. We love staying here!"

5

close ron beach and everything else

Everyone

Went with my mom and 3 yr old daughter. It was perfect!!!! Close to the beach and everything in Monterey. The staff was excellent, room was clean, no noise, no complaints at all.

By , from T. on Jul 3, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 21, 2017

thank yo for your 5 star review.

4

clean great breakfast

Everyone

The hotel is clean and the breakfast was very good The office staff was very friendly and helpful

By on Jun 24, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 21, 2017

Thank you for a very nice review.

4

nice hotel, easy walk to restaurants!

Everyone

We stayed here for 1 night and it fit our needs perfectly. The rooms are small but clean and looked to have been recently updated. It is close to many restaurants as we walked to dinner just a few blocks away. Breakfast was very basic with coffee, a few pastries and a waffle maker. Overall it's a clean hotel great for a night or 2.

By , from Morro Bay, CA on May 26, 2017

Review comment responded on Jun 2, 2017

Your review is appreciated. Thank you.

4

great central location!

Everyone

Loved the fact that this hotel was in walking distance to downtown Monterey. The staff was great and the room was nice.

By on Apr 24, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 29, 2017

You liked our location, staff and room. That is a perfect situation. Thank you for your review.

4

nice hotel, busy intersection

BusinessTravelers

The front desk staff was very nice. In the room, the hair dryer didn't work, and they replaced it right away. The shower was nice, but it didn't have any place inside to put shampoos and soaps. The cleaning staff missed throwing out used coffee cups, though everything else was perfect. The safe wasn't operating. We didn't report it until we checked out. Good to note that nothing went missing ;) The location is right next to a gas station and busy intersection that was a bit noisy until after midnight.

By on Mar 26, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 16, 2017

Thank you for your review. We finished installing all shower shelving. Sorry we missed your room. Please come back again soon to scenic Monterey. We do appreciate your staying with us.

3

close to the wharf & shops

Everyone

The hotel looks old from the outside but the rooms have been renovated quite nicely. One thing I was a little concerned about was that our bed sheet had an orange/red spot on it and it looked fresh, it was late at night so we just hoped to God our sheets were changed before we slept in the bed. Part of the reason we booked this room was because it included continental breakfast... I was a little disappointed with the lack of selection and also their "coffee creamer" was so watered down it was clear. We ended up going to breakfast at a bagel shop around the corner. All in all, we paid about $90 for the room and it was a step up from a motel 6. I'm not mad about it and would consider staying here again.

By on Mar 6, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 16, 2017

Thank you for your review. Sorry a few things were not correct. This is not our normal guest experience.Glad you will be staying again.

3

good location. friendly staff.

Everyone

Awesome staff and convenient check in/out times. Trouble connected wifi to my media player (firestick) didn't redirect me to password log in. Walls and windows not sound proof at all. Could hear anyone talking outside and ever car that passed. Bathroom shower needs some sort of "ledge" or supports for shampoo, soap and conditioner, razor blades etc. we had to keep everything on the floor. We have bad backs so it was a pain.

By , from san jose, ca on Feb 13, 2017

4

great hotel, great location!

Everyone

The hotel was surprisingly clean and updated for the price. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was pretty awsome since they have freshly made waffles in addition to the usual continental breakfast. The only thing I wish was better was the water pressure. It felt like I was taking a shower in the SF fog but the room was so nice and comfy. The location is great as well. It is about a 15 minute leisure stroll to the Old Fisherman's wharf. There are a lot of shops and restaurants along the way including a Walgreens and Trader Joe's incase u forgot some toiletries or want some bananas to snack on. Overall the hotel itself and the location was great so I'd definitely stay there again when I'm in Monterey.

By , from San Francisco, CA on Jan 28, 2017