Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Good proximity to the Capitol and State Street areas

Stay on the Governor’s level. The extra perks are more than worth the money!

Check-in was horrible! Mary Kay convention attendees were checking in, line was approx. 2 HOURS long, snaking from the front desk into and through the restaurant and YES, there were people eating. Big thumbs down to the Mary Kay and the hotel organizers for not setting up a separate sign-in table for attendees. Nobody was thinking or caring about the inconvenience for everybody else trying to check in. I'm 65+ and this was the worst front desk performance I've ever encountered. Room was OK and Governor's Club was awesome; however, I DO NOT advise staying here if you want to get a good night's sleep. The heat/cooling unit in the room was ancient and very LOUD, in fact, unbelievably LOUD. Not up to current day standards and worse than what you'd get at an old Days Inn. Won't stay here again.

I did not like the food at the restaurant but the service was excellent. I did not like the service from the front desk the I had requested a receipt for my stay and was told because I booked 3 party the could not give me one Also had to call for service because the heater did not work

Great location for anything downtown Madison. Friendly check in staff. Will be staying here again in September.

Nice rooms, conveniently located with nice employees.

Beautiful hotel during Christmas time. It was tastefully decorated with holiday trimmings. Our room was on the 8th floor and a corner room so we had two windows and a view of the capitol. The room was spacious, clean and the bed was very comfortable. We will definitely stay at this hotel again. Warning: We did have to pay an additional $15 a day for overnight parking.

The Madison Concourse Hotel is centrally located and easy to access campus and other locations in the Isthmus. We were their during a renovation of the Governor's Club, so we did not get a chance to enjoy all of the amenities it has to offer.

Room was dated and bathroom was tiny. Thermostat was inaccurate so the room temp was uncomfortable. Not what was expected of a Governors Club floor room.

Considering the low price, I expected a lot less than what we got: the facility's structure and decor made sense, the location could not have been better, and they didnt miss a step with services

Very nice hotel. Fantastic location. The staff was very helpful.

I was hosting a fundraising event that night at the Concourse and it made sense to spend the night, and avoid the evening traffic jams going to the west side. The room was great, my only concern was my room 425, the door would not fully close after entering the room. I took a brief nap in the afternoon and was surprised to wake up and realize the door was open the whole time. This same thing happened the next morning..

W Dayton St Madison WI

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from Wisconsin State Capitol and Wisconsin Historical Museum
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Free airport shuttle

The Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club is adjacent to popular attractions such as Wisconsin State Capitol and Wisconsin Historical Museum. This 373-room, 3.5-star hotel has an indoor pool along with free in-room WiFi and a free airport shuttle.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at the hotel's restaurant, or relax with a drink at the bar/lounge. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service, or get a quick energy boost at the coffee shop/café. Start your day off with full breakfast, available for a fee.


Rooms

The Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club's 373 rooms are air-conditioned and provide refrigerators, coffee makers, and free weekday newspapers. Guests can expect free WiFi and TVs with satellite channels and pay movies. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and beds sport premium bedding. Other standard amenities include safes, ironing boards, and desks.


Property features

Guests staying at The Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club enjoy an indoor pool, a health club, and a spa tub. Valet and self parking are available if you're driving, or you can take a free airport shuttle (available on request). Front-desk staff can answer questions 24/7, and assist with luggage storage, securing valuables, and dry cleaning/laundry. Other amenities at this ski hotel include a sauna, free WiFi in public areas, and conference space.

Room options

Club Room, 1 King Bed, Jetted Tub

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Club Room, 2 Queen Beds

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Club Suite, 1 King Bed, Jetted Tub

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Room, 1 King Bed, Poolside

King 1 | Sleeps 5

Guest reviews for The Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club

Everyone (29) Couples (35) Business (5) Family (11) Friends (7) Other (7)
5
Everyone

By on Oct 19, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 21, 2019

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. We are so glad you had a great stay. Please come back again soon!

4
Everyone

Good proximity to the Capitol and State Street areas

By on Oct 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 7, 2019

Thank you

5
Everyone

By on Oct 4, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 7, 2019

Thank you

4
Everyone

By on Sep 9, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 10, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate your stay with us! We're so glad you enjoyed your visit. Please feel free to reach out if there is anything we can do to make the next one even better.

5
Business Business Travelers

Stay on the Governor’s level. The extra perks are more than worth the money!

By on Jun 28, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 5, 2019

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us! We're thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful time enjoying the amenities in the Governor's Club. It certainly is a relaxing and fun way to experience the city - plus, the view doesn't hurt either :) Thanks again! We hope to welcome you back soon.

5
Everyone

By on May 18, 2019

Review comment responded on May 20, 2019

Thank you for rating your stay with us! We're glad you enjoyed your time here at The Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club, and hope to see you again soon.

5
Everyone

By on May 15, 2019

Review comment responded on May 17, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate your visit with us! We're glad you enjoyed your time here at The Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club. Hope to see you again soon.

5
Everyone

By on Apr 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 9, 2019

Thank you for rating your visit with us! We hope you had a wonderful stay, and can't wait to see you again. Thanks for choosing The Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club.

2
Families

Check-in was horrible! Mary Kay convention attendees were checking in, line was approx. 2 HOURS long, snaking from the front desk into and through the restaurant and YES, there were people eating. Big thumbs down to the Mary Kay and the hotel organizers for not setting up a separate sign-in table for attendees. Nobody was thinking or caring about the inconvenience for everybody else trying to check in. I'm 65+ and this was the worst front desk performance I've ever encountered. Room was OK and Governor's Club was awesome; however, I DO NOT advise staying here if you want to get a good night's sleep. The heat/cooling unit in the room was ancient and very LOUD, in fact, unbelievably LOUD. Not up to current day standards and worse than what you'd get at an old Days Inn. Won't stay here again.

By on Mar 25, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 31, 2019

Hi There, First of all, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us feedback on your stay. Although it's never fun hearing that we gave a bad experience to a guest, we're really appreciative that you took the time to let us know. Second, we are so deeply sorry for the experience you had in your guest room, and, even more, your check-in experience. Unfortunately, there were quite a few factors with the large group checking in that we failed to anticipate and correct. That's something we definitely missed the mark on - and something we have noted for the future and are already brainstorming ways we can fix it. I want you to know, I also shared your review with our guest service team earlier today, and will be following up on this at our next weekly guest feedback meeting. Please know - we sincerely apologize for how frustrating check-in was, and we are doing all we can to make sure that does not happen again. I'd love to hear more from you, find out what room number you were in, and (hopefully) make things right. If you have time and are willing, please feel free to reach out to us directly by phone or email. We hope to hear from you soon - and, hope that some day we will get another chance to show you the great experience I know we can provide. Thank you,

3
Families Business Business Travelers

I did not like the food at the restaurant but the service was excellent. I did not like the service from the front desk the I had requested a receipt for my stay and was told because I booked 3 party the could not give me one Also had to call for service because the heater did not work

By on Mar 1, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 6, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your visit. We're so sorry to hear that there were a few aspects of your stay that were disappointing. That's not what we hope to give our guests - and we will be sure to give that feedback to our front desk and restaurant teams. No matter the manner in which you booked or how we could go about gathering your receipt, we should have still given you great service. We hope we have an opportunity to have you back, and show you the great stay I know we can provide. Thanks again for writing about your visit. Your comments help us do better - not only in our service to you, but our service to all future guests.

The Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club

1 W Dayton St, Madison, WI 53703
url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Downtown-Madison-Hotels-The-Madison-Concourse-Hotel-and-Governor's-Club.h28447-p2.Hotel-Reviews