Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Smelly room with no air conditioning and no vent for air. Must leave window open. Very noisy outside because ground floor of building leased to bar open until 4 am and McDonalds open until 5 am on weekends and 2 am most other days. Result: noisy and hot room, three nights with very little sleep. Almost no lobby because space leased to Starbucks. Photos are deceptive: either old, distant, or no ground floor. Cannot control water temperature in shower; either extremely hot or extremely cold. Resort fee without gym or pool. Complaints by multiple guests ignored by management. Worst 4 star hotel in our experience ever.

Very nice hotel near by all . The room is amazing.

The staff were excellent. Hotel location right by the train station extremely convenient. Very comfortable and clean rooms. A great value!

For the price we paid for the hotel, I would have thought it would have been 4 star quality. It was way over priced for what we got. The location is superb, however, the hotel needs updating badly. The staff was very friendly.

Pros: 1) Location, location, location. It's downtown, right across the street from the train station. 2) The TV channel selection was great. 3) The included breakfast was great. 4) The rooftop bar is very nice. Lots of nice scenery and the view of the city was great. 5) The room was huge with great views. 6) There's a Starbucks and McDonalds in the lobby. Beware of the price shock though. 7.50 Fr for a tall at Starbucks. That price appears to be about normal in Switzerland. Cons: 1) Only one elevator to the room floors caused a serious queue several times. 2) No working WiFi. The starbucks in the lobby has free wifi you can mooch for a little while, but it doesn't reach the rooms. Swisscom wifi was supposedly available but I couldn't purchase it through my iPad. 3) The rooms are a bit chilly if its cold outside. 4) The beds are no kidding swiss beds. Not very comfortable. 5) For Americans... there are no irons in any Swiss hotels I've stayed.

The worst experience ever had traveling. Spiders in room,flies and Mosquitos. Spider webs all over the room. One floor above me was a bar with noise till 2am so could not sleep. Web site said parking and wi- fi was there. No parking and wifi in lobby for 15 min. I have beena member. For ten years. I will never use again The hotel and web site is a joke!!

Pilatusstrasse 1 Lucerne LU

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from KKL Lucerne and Chapel Bridge
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Nightclub

Hotel Monopol is adjacent to popular attractions such as KKL Lucerne and Chapel Bridge. This 4-star hotel has 77 rooms and welcomes guests with a restaurant, free in-room WiFi, and a nightclub.


Dining

For your convenience, a buffet breakfast is served each morning for a fee. Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room, or explore the hotel and get a bite to eat at the onsite restaurant or coffee shop/café.


Rooms

The 77 rooms are soundproofed and have an array of amenities, including minibars, safes, and phones. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with satellite channels. Bathrooms offer deep soaking tubs, hair dryers, and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include desks and wardrobes or closets.


Property features

Guests of Hotel Monopol enjoy a nightclub, free WiFi in public areas, and conference space. Self parking is available for CHF 30.00 per night. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with luggage storage, tours or tickets, and dry cleaning/laundry. Additional amenities include a 24-hour business center, a computer station, and free newspapers.

Room options

Quadruple Room

1 Twin Bed, 1 Twin Sofa Bed and 1 Double Bed | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Design Zimmer

2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 2

Superior Single Room

1 Twin Bed | Sleeps 1

Superior Double Room

2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Hotel Monopol

Everyone (2) Couples (3) Business (1) Family (1)
5
Everyone

By on Jan 19, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 23, 2020

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon here at our Hotel **** MONOPOL Lucerne. Warmest regards, Brigitte Heller, General Manager and the whole MONOPOL-Team

1
Family

Smelly room with no air conditioning and no vent for air. Must leave window open. Very noisy outside because ground floor of building leased to bar open until 4 am and McDonalds open until 5 am on weekends and 2 am most other days. Result: noisy and hot room, three nights with very little sleep. Almost no lobby because space leased to Starbucks. Photos are deceptive: either old, distant, or no ground floor. Cannot control water temperature in shower; either extremely hot or extremely cold. Resort fee without gym or pool. Complaints by multiple guests ignored by management. Worst 4 star hotel in our experience ever.

By on Aug 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 7, 2019

Dear guest, First of all we would like to thank you for your stay at the Hotel MONOPOL Lucerne and for sharing your experience with us. Every comment is important for us that we can make improvements as well. We are very sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow us to express our sincere apologies. Our Hotel MONOPOL Lucerne was built in 1899 and it is a historical building under monumental protection. We are therefore not allowed to provide air conditioning in all the rooms. If you would like to stay in a room with air conditioning, we would recommend you to book one of our new renovated Deluxe-Design Junior Suites. We have a very nice location directly next to the train station (no taxi), in the middle of the center of Lucerne and close to all the tourist attractions. Due to this location we unfortunately cannot avoid that there is some noise coming from the street or from the bars around the hotel. We are proud that we can offer our guests such a big variety of restaurants, bars and coffee shops in close proximity of the hotel. We are sorry that you did have some problems with the water temperature in the room. We would like to thank you for your feedback. Only this gives us the chance to improve our service constantly. There was already a technician in our hotel and fortunately he could solve the problem now. It is sad that you did not inform us earlier that you were not happy with the room. As we also do have more quiet rooms facing the courtyard or other rooms with lakeview, we are sure we could have found a solution. Once again, we are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations and therefore offer our sincere apologies. Nevertheless, we hope to have another chance in the future in order to convince you of our improvements. Warmest regards from Lucerne, Brigitte Heller, General Manager

5
Everyone

Very nice hotel near by all . The room is amazing.

By on Jan 2, 2019

5

two day visit

Couples

The staff were excellent. Hotel location right by the train station extremely convenient. Very comfortable and clean rooms. A great value!

By on Nov 21, 2015

4

first time to switzerland

Couples

For the price we paid for the hotel, I would have thought it would have been 4 star quality. It was way over priced for what we got. The location is superb, however, the hotel needs updating badly. The staff was very friendly.

By on Sep 9, 2015

3

good stay

Business

Pros: 1) Location, location, location. It's downtown, right across the street from the train station. 2) The TV channel selection was great. 3) The included breakfast was great. 4) The rooftop bar is very nice. Lots of nice scenery and the view of the city was great. 5) The room was huge with great views. 6) There's a Starbucks and McDonalds in the lobby. Beware of the price shock though. 7.50 Fr for a tall at Starbucks. That price appears to be about normal in Switzerland. Cons: 1) Only one elevator to the room floors caused a serious queue several times. 2) No working WiFi. The starbucks in the lobby has free wifi you can mooch for a little while, but it doesn't reach the rooms. Swisscom wifi was supposedly available but I couldn't purchase it through my iPad. 3) The rooms are a bit chilly if its cold outside. 4) The beds are no kidding swiss beds. Not very comfortable. 5) For Americans... there are no irons in any Swiss hotels I've stayed.

By on Dec 2, 2013

1

terrible hotel

Couples

The worst experience ever had traveling. Spiders in room,flies and Mosquitos. Spider webs all over the room. One floor above me was a bar with noise till 2am so could not sleep. Web site said parking and wi- fi was there. No parking and wifi in lobby for 15 min. I have beena member. For ten years. I will never use again The hotel and web site is a joke!!

By on Sep 2, 2013

url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Lucerne-Hotels-Hotel-Monopol.h5051-p2.Hotel-Reviews