Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Lobby seating and bar, downstairs cafe all very nice and comfortable. Rooftop pool and bar fun and accessible. Tasty tacos. King bed rooms were smallish in size, yet nice. Features include shower and tiled bathroom, mini fridge, iron and table, but no TV. Cleanliness was generally good, but bed frame had some dings and needed a paint job. Staff was friendly and helpful. Recommend higher floors if you are not street side as lower floor rooms are a little dark. I would definitely come again when I need to stay in DTLA.

I only stayed for one hour but when I find out there are people will Share the room with me I decide to leave but the hotel stuff was very professional and they understand they situation I just want room for myself

It’s a nice property, but things got weird right by the Valet service; the two guys working that night were almost harassing me to take their Valer service. Both very rude and unprofessional. They tried to make me pay the full overnight amount even just staying 2 hours in the hotel. Micro shared room during Covid? Awful!! At least if you’re doing, give people some space. I couldn’t sleep at all and checked out 5:30AM Sylvio

Excellent experience Services Clean Design etc etc!

Great location. Excellent staff. Wonderful decor.

Great ambience and decor!

Like I said I would like a refund I have called them and you guys and I’m just being blown off bad customers service everywhere

Great place

I did not like anything about this place ! It was horrible &’ the roof top looked nothing like the picture. My room was small like a closet . Floor felt like fr I was walking on rocks ! Worst place I’ve ever been !

hot water was sometimes worked sometimes it didnt but other than that it was a great hotel

The decor

Never check in from one question I was ask from a person sittin outside made me feel uncomfortable and not safe for me to go back and forward from location

I love how the room so clean and the pool bar was amazing

It looks good on pictures thats it. No parking or Valet parking either. Room smelled funky.

Dangerous didn’t feel safe at all the people just hanging around the hotel homless

W 8th St Los Angeles CA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Crypto.com Arena
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Outdoor pool

Located in Downtown Los Angeles within a short walk of Crypto.com Arena, Freehand Los Angeles is within a mile (2 km) of other popular sights such as Los Angeles Convention Center. This 4-star hotel welcomes guests with 226 rooms and conveniences like an outdoor pool, a 24-hour gym, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Relish the local and international cuisine at The Exchange Restaurant , one of 3 onsite restaurants. Get a pick-me-up at the coffee shop/cafe.


Rooms

Smart TVs come with cable channels, and free WiFi keeps guests connected. Bathrooms offer rainfall showers, hair dryers, and designer toiletries, and pillowtop beds with Egyptian cotton sheets ensure a restful night.


Property features

At Freehand Los Angeles, guests enjoy features like an outdoor pool, a 24-hour gym, and a rooftop terrace. Valet parking is available for USD 49.50 per night. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with dry cleaning/laundry, tours or tickets, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include free WiFi in public areas, a meeting room, and express check-out.

Room options

Premium King - Skyline View

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Bed in 6 bed room

1 Twin Bed | Sleeps 1

Bed in Quad

1 Twin Bed | Sleeps 1

Bed in 8 bed room

1 Twin Bed | Sleeps 1

Guest reviews for Freehand Los Angeles

Everyone (29) Couples (4) Family (10)
4
Everyone

Lobby seating and bar, downstairs cafe all very nice and comfortable. Rooftop pool and bar fun and accessible. Tasty tacos. King bed rooms were smallish in size, yet nice. Features include shower and tiled bathroom, mini fridge, iron and table, but no TV. Cleanliness was generally good, but bed frame had some dings and needed a paint job. Staff was friendly and helpful. Recommend higher floors if you are not street side as lower floor rooms are a little dark. I would definitely come again when I need to stay in DTLA.

By on Aug 4, 2022

Review comment responded on Aug 4, 2022

Hello Roland, We are very happy you had a nice stay with us recently. We appreciate your kind feedback. We are a bit confused in regard to the remark about "no TV". We have TV's in all of our Private King rooms. So, this is odd. Appreciate you staying with us. Thanks again.

5
Everyone

By on Apr 1, 2022

5
Everyone

I only stayed for one hour but when I find out there are people will Share the room with me I decide to leave but the hotel stuff was very professional and they understand they situation I just want room for myself

By on Mar 9, 2022

Review comment responded on Mar 9, 2022

Thank you Samuel!

2
Everyone

It’s a nice property, but things got weird right by the Valet service; the two guys working that night were almost harassing me to take their Valer service. Both very rude and unprofessional. They tried to make me pay the full overnight amount even just staying 2 hours in the hotel. Micro shared room during Covid? Awful!! At least if you’re doing, give people some space. I couldn’t sleep at all and checked out 5:30AM Sylvio

By on Jan 31, 2022

Review comment responded on Feb 2, 2022

Sorry for any issue Sylvio. We do show you were booked for 1 night so the Valet charge would apply. Apologies for any inconvenience.

5
Partner Couples

Excellent experience Services Clean Design etc etc!

By on Jan 13, 2022

Review comment responded on Jan 13, 2022

We are so happy you enjoyed Illya! Come back soon!

5
Everyone

Great location. Excellent staff. Wonderful decor.

By on Jan 4, 2022

Review comment responded on Jan 4, 2022

Thank you Eddie!

5
Everyone

Great ambience and decor!

By on Dec 27, 2021

Review comment responded on Dec 27, 2021

Thank you Eddie. Glad you enjoyed!

1
Partner Couples

Like I said I would like a refund I have called them and you guys and I’m just being blown off bad customers service everywhere

By on Aug 10, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 16, 2021

Sorry for any inconveience.

5
Everyone

Great place

By on Apr 21, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 21, 2021

Thank you very much. We are so happy you enjoyed your recent visit. Come back soon.

1
Family

I did not like anything about this place ! It was horrible &’ the roof top looked nothing like the picture. My room was small like a closet . Floor felt like fr I was walking on rocks ! Worst place I’ve ever been !

By on Apr 21, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 21, 2021

Hello Anonymous, We are very sorry you did not enjoy. We have many different room types to choose from and are sure we could have accommodated you in a larger room had you mentioned this to us. Our rooftop has definitely grown more lush with foliage overtime. We feel this gives it a much more tranquil feel and our guests seem to really enjoy it. So we agree, not exactly like when the pictures were taken but even more beautiful. Again, our sincere apologies you did not have a good visit.

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Los-Angeles-Hotels-Freehand-Los-Angeles.h16317325-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Los-Angeles-Hotels-Freehand-Los-Angeles.h16317325-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Los-Angeles-Hotels-Freehand-Los-Angeles.h16317325-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions