Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

El Cid La Ceiba Beach

3.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Been on El Cid for the 3rd time and I have to thank all the Amazing staff for their Excellent service and attention to detail. We are looking forward for a 4th time on El Cid next year. I would highly recommend El Cid to our friends, family and anyone else. Thank you once again every year our vacations keep getting more amazing.

Even I was under the understanding that I booked a ALL INCLUSIVE trip, and I confirmed it with ORBITZ twice, the ALL INCLUSIVE was not booked, I had to pay the ALL INCÑLUSIVE at the time I arrived.

We like this hotel for it's location and quiet atmosphere. Close to ships at pier so that may bother some. Food at restaurant is good, love the calamari, husband loves the omelettes!

We've stayed at many 5 star hotels and paid a 5 star price. In my opinion, we paid a three star rate for a 4+ star hotel during spring break and were very happy with the room, comfy bed, great ocean view. Service was very good, breakfast buffet with omelet bar also good food and value.

The staff was very professional and always willing to help.

El Cid was as nice as it showed online (not always the case with many hotels). Understand that, while nice, it isn't luxury. The elevators malfunctioned about 1/4 of the time. IF you could manually get the doors to close, sometimes it would just sit there and not go anywhere. And we didn't like that they tried to push Excursion tours on us as soon as we walked in the door. Aside from that, it is quite a nice facility with the snorkeling right out front, nice beach chair opportunities, friendly and helpful staff. Our room was amazingly tidy every day. It is a reasonable taxi fare from downtown. We were glad we didn't opt for the all-inclusive package. We ate a couple of meals there and they were just okay compared to some of the finer restaurants in town that we enjoyed. Finally, we had seen other reviewers complain that the ships (which come in RIGHT in front of the hotel) were "blocking the view." We LOVED watching the ships come and go every day. They were beautiful! All-in-all, we would definitely stay there again.

Love the small size of the resort. You never have to wait for a drink. The food is amazing from there Mexican to Seafood. Snorkeling is great right in front of the property as well.

My wife and I booked a quick five day trip and didn't want to spend a lot on this trip. We had never stayed at El Cid and it was such a great value that we booked it. Upon arrival, the staff was very friendly and catered to all our questions. When we walked into our room and it was very clean and the view was fantastic. We stay in Cozumel quite often and these were the most comfortable beds we have ever had. (might even be more so than our bed at home.) We were fortunate to meet Vickie, the waitress at the beach, she is the most professional amazing customer service lady we have ever experienced in Cozumel. She was so friendly and catered to anything we needed. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, you will enjoy your experience.

The hotel smells horribly like mold. The beds are like rocks. The food is disgusting. The cruise ships dock directly in front of the hotel so the view is awful. The best thing about the hotel was the snorkeling

We had a great time in our Wedding Aniversary trip and I want to thank you to the Front Desk/Reception Lady's for the great attention to detail for sending as a present in our Aniversary day and making sure we get what we request in a very professional manner . These was our second time at the resort and looking forward for the 3rd next year .⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

My wife and I had stayed at this hotel about 10 years ago, but the experience wasn't too good due to noise levels (at the time, mostly from nearby Senor Frogs and time-share harassers). I decided to give it another try because of its closeness to our great dive shop (Dive with Martin) and a good deal we got on an 839 sq. ft. suite. Well, they were quick to give us the time-share sell as we were checking in, but gratefully, they backed off and stayed away when we told them we weren't interested. The time-share hawkers outside the hotel, but close by are another story. We got a suite on the 3rd floor, but were quickly disappointed in it as the ocean view was mostly blocked by palm trees and we were close to the pool, and the pool revelers made quite a bit of noise even after 9 pm. The pool is open until 10 pm, by the way. The room, although, large seemed dated and put together as if it used to be two separate hotel rooms. We asked to move to the tower, and were told we could after 3 nights where we were. We decided to stick it out, and thankfully, things weren't as noisy as our first night there. We finally moved to the 9th floor of the tower for our last 6 days of our 9-day birthday holiday - both my wife and I have the same birthday. This suite was beautiful - looked more recently renovated - had a great ocean view - if you didn't look left towards the cruise ships - and the layout was better - plus, two bathrooms! The staff overall was good - friendly and accommodating. It was easy to get fresh towels at any time. They were very good about changing large peso bills to smaller ones. And, the maids were friendly and did a great job - and made exquisite towel animals. We still had some issues with noise - and not from nearby Senor Frogs this time. The biggest noise issue came on Saturday when the hotel was hosting a wedding and reception. They held the reception party at the restaurant - blocking off the middle section for the guests to dance and party - leaving the diners around the edges. Well, their dj had the music blasting starting sometime around late afternoon or early evening - and while the music was good, the noise was so loud I'm sure no hotel guests could enjoy anything else that they wanted to do on the hotel premises. After 10 pm, we complained, of course, and were told the party would be going until midnight and there's nothing that can be done. We decided to walk around and thought about going downtown, but it was raining a little and we typically go to bed early due to having early morning (7:30 am) dives. We came back around 11 pm and were surprised the noise-level was down - slightly - but not nearly low enough to sleep or even watch tv. We tried anyway, and drowsing in and out of sleep, noticed the party was still going strong at 1 am. I think it did wind down after that, but then some partiers took to the rooms to continue the festivities and waking up at 5 am, I still heard some of them going. Well, I ranted quite a bit about the noise from that wedding party, but we did get several relatively quiet days in that beautiful suite. However, even the day-to-day normal levels of noise (from Karaoke, the pool, bingo, etc.) easily reached up to the 9th floor. We only ate at the hotel restaurant once for breakfast (very good) and once for lunch (the pizza was way too cheesy for our tastes). We had several good meals at the Sunset Bar & Grill - just a few blocks towards town from the hotel. Try the Mahi Mahi there. We also ate at nearby Ernesto's for breakfast a few times and lunch once. All that food was excellent and Ernesto's was quiet and right near the water. We also like to go downtown and eat. The taxi fare is a bargain (still only 80 pesos) from El Cid to downtown.

Just ok would not stay there again. Not a very good all-inclusive experience. Not like any other all-inclusive I have been to and it was difficult, I did not like it.

The room was good enough. The hotel was a little aged, and the bathroom can use more scrubbings. My room was on the 3rd floor with ocean view, but partially blocked by a tree in the courtyard - The staffs were helpful and very nice (same for the whole trip throughout Mayan Riviera) - The hotel restaurant was on the water. We only had a breakfast, and did not try dinner - Snorkeling at the hotel was good. In fact it was better than our session in Tulum and another in Cancun - We picked up a car from Thiffty office in front of the hotel booked via Autoeurope - 186+tax for 2 nights with acceptable results, this hotel is in our GOTO list. So we would come back.

Could not have been more pleased with the staff, cleanliness, and amenities. Spent a week there in April for my birthday. Great snorkeling right in front of the resort. Could not beat the value.

Loved this small resort. I would def return. Very low key and relaxing, great snorkeling.

Great place to stay and returning in July 2016 for hour wedding Anniversary!

Nice rooms, good food, excellent staff! I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

El Cid's staff is very friendly, and are very busy when the cruise ships are in. Not a lot of variety for dinning, but you can't beat lunch on the beach. Room was great, as well as room service. I will definitely go back.

The room was damp, the bed was hard and the room was expensive!

First time to Cozumel. Enjoyed it. The hotel is small which we like. We did the AI as we had kids with us. It worked great for us. Disappointed that the bar closed at 10pm every night.

Carratera A Chankanaab Km 4 5 Cozumel QROO

Hotel highlights

  • Free valet and self parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa
  • Outdoor pool

El Cid La Ceiba Beach places you within a mile (2 km) of Discover Mexico Cozumel Park and Stingray Beach. This 60-room, 3.5-star resort has a full-service spa along with an outdoor pool and free valet parking. It's on the beach and also close to Dolphinaris and Palacio Municipal.


Dining

Enjoy dining at La Chopa Loca Restaurant, one of 2 onsite restaurants. Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room, or make new friends over drinks at the bar/lounge.


Rooms

All 60 air-conditioned rooms feature balconies, coffee makers, and ceiling fans. Guests can expect WiFi and 32-inch TVs with cable channels. Beds are dressed in premium bedding and pillow menus, and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Safes, phones, and ironing boards are other standard amenities.


Property features

Guests of El Cid La Ceiba Beach enjoy a full-service spa, an outdoor pool, and a children's pool. Free valet and self parking are available, and there's also a ferry terminal shuttle. The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help with concierge services, luggage storage, and securing valuables. Other amenities at this beach resort include a fitness center, a sauna, and an outdoor tennis court.

Room options

Suite, 1 Bedroom, Garden View

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Elite Suite, 1 Bedroom

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Room Ocean Front Elite

Queen 2 | Queen 1 | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Room, Ocean View

Queen 2 | Queen 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for El Cid La Ceiba Beach

Everyone (7) Couples (48) Business (1) Family (19) Friends (11) Other (6)
5

excellent hotel with a amazing staff!

Everyone

Been on El Cid for the 3rd time and I have to thank all the Amazing staff for their Excellent service and attention to detail. We are looking forward for a 4th time on El Cid next year. I would highly recommend El Cid to our friends, family and anyone else. Thank you once again every year our vacations keep getting more amazing.

By , from Florida on Sep 22, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 26, 2017

Dear Mrs. Martha, We are very pleased to hear that all our staff attended to all of your needs and made of your vacation at El Cid la Ceiba something special. Be assured they will receive a recognition for their good efforts. Thank you very much for the time you took sharing your review which is very important for us. We look forward to see you the next time your travel brings you to Cozumel. Regards,

4

nice and clean hotel and friendly staff.

Everyone

Even I was under the understanding that I booked a ALL INCLUSIVE trip, and I confirmed it with ORBITZ twice, the ALL INCLUSIVE was not booked, I had to pay the ALL INCÑLUSIVE at the time I arrived.

By , from San Antonio on Apr 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 25, 2017

Dear Guest, First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your comments by Expedia. Your comments are very important for us in order to make the improvements necessaries. We are very sorry to hear that you had some issues with the agency but all the staff was helpful in order to attend the situation. We would love to continue being your choice the next time you come back to Mazatlan. Kind regards

4

like the location, quiet and older

Couples

We like this hotel for it's location and quiet atmosphere. Close to ships at pier so that may bother some. Food at restaurant is good, love the calamari, husband loves the omelettes!

By , from st paul, mn on Apr 4, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 10, 2017

Dear Cindy, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with us through Expedia. All our guests comments are very important to us in order to make the improvements necessaries. I am happy to hear that you liked our resort's location and enjoyed our food. We hope to see you coming back sonn to la Ceiba. Regards,

5

very comfortable ocean view room

Everyone

We've stayed at many 5 star hotels and paid a 5 star price. In my opinion, we paid a three star rate for a 4+ star hotel during spring break and were very happy with the room, comfy bed, great ocean view. Service was very good, breakfast buffet with omelet bar also good food and value.

By , from Minneapolis on Mar 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 27, 2017

Dear Lori, It was an honor for us being your choice as your Hotel on your last visit to Cozumel, thank you for choosing El Cid La Ceiba Beach, We really appreciate your valuation and your comments about your vacations in our Resort, we are really happy to hear that your stay in here was great and that you enjoyed your room and our Restaurant Service. Thank you for sharing your experience trough Expedia. We look forward to seeing you next time your travel brings you to Cozumel. Warm Regards,

5

awesome view of the beach & cruise ships.

Everyone
Breakfast with a view

The staff was very professional and always willing to help.

By , from Houston, Tx on Mar 18, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 23, 2017

Dear Melinda, Thank you for your review about your experience on your vacations in El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel and for the photo you uploaded, it is a great one, thank you so much! We are really happy to hear that you liked the attention of our staff and we hope you visit us again in a near future and continue to be your favorite destination. Sincerely,

4

very good value

Everyone

El Cid was as nice as it showed online (not always the case with many hotels). Understand that, while nice, it isn't luxury. The elevators malfunctioned about 1/4 of the time. IF you could manually get the doors to close, sometimes it would just sit there and not go anywhere. And we didn't like that they tried to push Excursion tours on us as soon as we walked in the door. Aside from that, it is quite a nice facility with the snorkeling right out front, nice beach chair opportunities, friendly and helpful staff. Our room was amazingly tidy every day. It is a reasonable taxi fare from downtown. We were glad we didn't opt for the all-inclusive package. We ate a couple of meals there and they were just okay compared to some of the finer restaurants in town that we enjoyed. Finally, we had seen other reviewers complain that the ships (which come in RIGHT in front of the hotel) were "blocking the view." We LOVED watching the ships come and go every day. They were beautiful! All-in-all, we would definitely stay there again.

By , from Minnesota on Feb 21, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 24, 2017

Dear Guest, First of all I will like to thank you for taking the time to answer our survey online. It is through guest reviews such as yours that we can assess the standards of our service, and therefore make changes, so as to meet and exceed your expectations. We are thankful for the opportunity to continue to improve every day. I hope we can continue being your choice the next time you return to Cozumel. Regards,

5

great authentic mexican food

Everyone

Love the small size of the resort. You never have to wait for a drink. The food is amazing from there Mexican to Seafood. Snorkeling is great right in front of the property as well.

By , from Houston, TX on Jan 31, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 28, 2017

Dear Jason, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our Resort, thank you for your review and for choosing us as your place to spend your vacations on Cozumel, It is a pleasure for me to hear that during your stay, our staff could met your standards and that you had a really good time in here, Our aim is to always provide the best quality service, so your comments are very important for us. Thanks for sharing your experience! We will be awaiting your return the next time you visit Cozumel. Kind Regards,

4

great stay....unbelievable value

Couples

My wife and I booked a quick five day trip and didn't want to spend a lot on this trip. We had never stayed at El Cid and it was such a great value that we booked it. Upon arrival, the staff was very friendly and catered to all our questions. When we walked into our room and it was very clean and the view was fantastic. We stay in Cozumel quite often and these were the most comfortable beds we have ever had. (might even be more so than our bed at home.) We were fortunate to meet Vickie, the waitress at the beach, she is the most professional amazing customer service lady we have ever experienced in Cozumel. She was so friendly and catered to anything we needed. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, you will enjoy your experience.

By on Dec 17, 2016

2

it's an old run down hotel

Everyone

The hotel smells horribly like mold. The beds are like rocks. The food is disgusting. The cruise ships dock directly in front of the hotel so the view is awful. The best thing about the hotel was the snorkeling

By , from arlington texas on Aug 14, 2016

5

great aniversary trip!

Couples

We had a great time in our Wedding Aniversary trip and I want to thank you to the Front Desk/Reception Lady's for the great attention to detail for sending as a present in our Aniversary day and making sure we get what we request in a very professional manner . These was our second time at the resort and looking forward for the 3rd next year .⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

By on Nov 25, 2015