Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Property was nice, clean. Amenities were somewhat dated. Breakfast was only real disappointment. Good coffee, but granola bars is not breakfast. Location is perfect. Not a 5 star luxury property, but I will stay here again.

Sadly, pool was closed due to Covid restrictions. Grab-and-Go breakfast was a nice touch.

good location. Facilities are a little old and could use some updating. Ice machine didn't work. Kind of smelled. Big rooms though.

Old poor facility. Worst breakfast.

Location was great. Room smelled a bit musty, but maybe that’s standard in a humid environment. There’s no elevator so be prepared to tote luggage up stairs. Room had very little light so it was very dark. Tv was fine & room had standard plugs for charging but no usb plugs. Staff was very nice. We lost electricity & hot water due to storm Zeba, but manager came around at 730am to check on us & provide a flashlight. Pool was closed & room had nearly no amenities, but for my needs, location was key. I would stay again purely for the location.

nice and clean easy accessible to my car. We would stay again! if you can send us discount once in a while

Overpriced for what it is. Friendly staff. Breakfast was a waste of time

After staying at The University Inn at Emory for four nights I feel as though I was mislead by tailored online photographs into thinking I was staying at a luxury hotel, when I was in fact staying at a cheap motel. I left thinking I had been swindled out of a pricey room rate, plus a steep additional fee for bringing my dog, plus extra for parking a car. I also did not get a single good night’s sleep while I was there. The mattress is hard and the walls are paper thin, so not only will you hear your rowdy neighbors returning at 3am, but you will also hear all of the sirens from the hospital across the street. Also note that I was informed 4 hours after checking out of the hotel that the room I had was not one of the “updated” rooms, which I apparently could have switched to if I had magically known to ask. If this is your only option for accommodations, please learn from my mistakes: 1) Don’t feel guilty and bring your dog (you will then only be able to stay in a room with two doubles instead of one king); 2) bring earplugs to wear while you sleep; and 3) bring a pack of sanitizing wipes to give yourself piece of mind when you find some crusty gunk on the bathroom counter.

The hotel was okay but there was mold on the bathroom ceiling. There was no food In the evening except vending machines, Which did not work and the receptionist would not return my money.

My wife and I enjoyed the over-sized rooms compared to other hotels we've stayed in (great for when the grandchildren visited one afternoon), the excellent coffee, and afternoon/early evening snacks were a nice touch. Staff were very helpful in answering area questions, maintenance when/if needed (one minor issue we had was taken care of right away), and seemed friendly whether visiting in person or on the phone.

Adequate at best. Old property that needs updating. Very noisy on bottom floor due to other guest activity.

The staff is amazing, the lobby is very comfortable. The room was very comfortable and provided all amenities. My only complaint was that there was a pretty noticeable mildew type smell in the bathroom that emanated to the sink area while I was trying to get ready. Other than that, great hotel and I would stay there again.

I've never felt so at home like I did this hotel! & breakfast was great!

Nicest hotel staff I've encountered, they let me check in early in the morning b/c I had a red-eye flight. Hotel feels very homey, rooms even come with a microwave and fridge. It's not very contemporary but I was staying a night only and it was very comfortable. Convenient location right next to the university and medical center.

While the beds were clean, the bathroom was tiny, with rusted out drain hole in the tub and dings in the walls.

North Decatur Road Atlanta GA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Emory University
  • Free on-the-go breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking

Located in East Side within a short walk of Emory University, The University Inn at Emory is within 2 miles (3 km) of other popular sights such as Fernbank Museum of Natural History. This 32-room, 3-star hotel has free breakfast along with conveniences like free in-room WiFi and free self parking.


Dining

Free on-the-go breakfast is served each morning from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM.


Rooms

TVs come with cable channels, and free WiFi keeps guests connected. Beds are dressed in premium bedding and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Refrigerators, microwaves, and phones are other standard amenities. Housekeeping is available once per stay.


Property features

Guests of The University Inn at Emory enjoy access to free WiFi in public areas, a business center, and coffee in a common area. You can take advantage of free parking if you drive. Front-desk staff can assist with securing valuables and luggage storage. Additional amenities include a computer station, a library, and free newspapers.

Room options

Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds, Accessible

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Double Room, 2 Double Beds

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Room, 2 Double Beds, Kitchen

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for The University Inn at Emory

Everyone (11) Couples (1) Family (7)
4
Family

Property was nice, clean. Amenities were somewhat dated. Breakfast was only real disappointment. Good coffee, but granola bars is not breakfast. Location is perfect. Not a 5 star luxury property, but I will stay here again.

By on Feb 21, 2022

Review comment responded on Mar 2, 2022

Thank you for your review and feedback. There are pastries, yogurt, fruit cup and juice also, but we understand wanting a hot breakfast.

4
Family

Sadly, pool was closed due to Covid restrictions. Grab-and-Go breakfast was a nice touch.

By on Jul 27, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 2, 2021

Thank you for your review. It truly was our honor and privilege to serve you. Should you return to the area we invite you to stay with us again.

3
Family Partner Couples Business Business

good location. Facilities are a little old and could use some updating. Ice machine didn't work. Kind of smelled. Big rooms though.

By on Jun 5, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 7, 2021

Thank you for staying with us. It truly was our honor and privilege to serve you. As to the smell, because you posted this anonymously we can't identify what room you are speaking about and we want to address this issue, so if you want to provide us what room you stayed in we will be glad to see what we can do.

1
Family Business Business

Old poor facility. Worst breakfast.

By on May 8, 2021

Review comment responded on May 11, 2021

Thank you for you review. Our breakfast is a grab and go breakfast because of COVID-19. While most hotels are not serving any breakfast we understand the need for breakfast so we have provided items that are free from germs or most importantly the possibility of COVID-19 transmission. Since your comment is anonymous we unfortunately can't identify which room you were in to evaluate the space you occupied for issue which we would do had we had that information. Wishing you all the best.

3
Family

Location was great. Room smelled a bit musty, but maybe that’s standard in a humid environment. There’s no elevator so be prepared to tote luggage up stairs. Room had very little light so it was very dark. Tv was fine & room had standard plugs for charging but no usb plugs. Staff was very nice. We lost electricity & hot water due to storm Zeba, but manager came around at 730am to check on us & provide a flashlight. Pool was closed & room had nearly no amenities, but for my needs, location was key. I would stay again purely for the location.

By , from San Jose, CA on Oct 30, 2020

Review comment responded on Nov 1, 2020

Thank you for your review It was our privilege and honor to serve you. We sure had some challenges with hurricane Zeta. We appreciate that you chose to stay with us and hope you will stay again.

5
Everyone

By on Mar 28, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 30, 2020

Thank you for your excellent rating. It certainly was our pleasure to serve you. Should you return to the area we invite you to stay with us again.

3
Everyone

By on Mar 16, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 16, 2020

Thank you for your review. We hope you will stay with us again should you return to the area.

5
Family Family

nice and clean easy accessible to my car. We would stay again! if you can send us discount once in a while

By on Dec 2, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 2, 2019

Thank you so much for your very excellent review. It certainly was our pleasure to serve you. Our staff can advise you of any discounts.

3
Family with small children

Overpriced for what it is. Friendly staff. Breakfast was a waste of time

By , from Denver on May 20, 2019

Review comment responded on May 20, 2019

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that you didn't like our breakfast offering of waffles, french toast, danish, variety of bagels, raisin bread, yogurt, boiled eggs, fruit, a variety of cereals, grits and oatmeal with coffees, teas and juices. We did move you to a room with a kitchen which is not as up to date as most of our other rooms and much smaller. We certainly hope you had a great experience in Atlanta otherwise.

4
Everyone

By on Apr 4, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 5, 2019

Thank you for your 4 star review. It certainly was our pleasure to serve you. We invite you to stay with us again should you return to the area.

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Atlanta-Hotels-The-University-Inn-at-Emory.h57806-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Atlanta-Hotels-The-University-Inn-at-Emory.h57806-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Atlanta-Hotels-The-University-Inn-at-Emory.h57806-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions