Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The parking here was hell they told us they have parking, it cost $35 and every time you needed to get your car you had to pay the valet $10 and it would take up to two hours. People were screaming in the hall at five in the morning and it turned out they weren’t there this was the worst hotel I’ve ever stayed out would not recommend

It is a good value. The room is small but clean. Staff members are friendly. Big and tall people will find difficult to fit into the staircase or the elevator. Typical old European building. The smallest room ever, but good for the budget, and just across the Rijksmuseum.

Great staff and location to all the famous museums. Great happy hour on Friday night.

Theree is a lift and on some levels 2 strps between connecting building. The challenge is 11 steps to first level lobby front front door and that is true of all the museum mansions etc. And tiny steps to -1 basement breakfast room. Except for big Modern museums like van goh and rijks.amsterdam and Europe are full of steps. Room is modern trendy like ,w and malmaison. Cute stuio step up in double and narrow twins. It is super location to tram , rijks and van Gogh. Caught 5:35a. Bus to Amsterdam airport and it was early. Got to airport in 33 min for 1 hr security lines. . So carry less luggage and you will be ok.for 9;15a or 8:15a flts. It was easy walk to dam square. And flower pot. Everyone friendly and helpful. Be more careful of cute step up if senior. Great for young couple's and under 70.

Clean and friendly - includes a good breakfast - very convenient to museums and bus to airport.

Nice ambiance. Old hotel in nice location but the tiniest room I ever stayed in! Claustrophobic!!!!

Let me start off by saying all the good: great location (easy access to Museumplein, public transit at Rijksmuseum tram stop), great breakfast, pristine room. The room is, of course, Amsterdam-sized. What drove me to rate this hotel as something between "OK" & "Pleasing" was the customer service. Just minutes before checking out, as I was reorganizing my purse, I accidentally dropped my credit card into a little crack between two boards in a built-in wooden bench in my room. It was a freak accident, & entirely my fault because I lost my grip on the card. I went down to the lobby, apologizing for my own accident-proneness, & asked for the lobby staff's help. One of them accompanied me to my room & took one look at where I'd dropped the card &offered an unhelpful "oh sh**" & said there was nothing she could do to help me because it was a Sunday. It was pretty clear to me that anyone with a screwdriver could remove just one of the bolts in the bench & I could retrieve my card from within. I told the lobby staff member this &she said that their maintenance staff is not in on Sundays and that they are the only ones with screwdrivers...really? I asked if she could call one of the many hotels on our street and see if they had someone who could help &she said I could "ask one of them if I wanted." I checked out without my credit card &, of course, cancelled my card. As I said initially, dropping the card was my fault, but I believe the staff could & should have done more to help.

Located within short walk to Museums and 1/2 block from tram to downtown or bus to airport. Room was small but functional and seemed like a good value. Staff was great. Very safe neighborhood with lots of high end shops.

We have stayed in this hotel for all three of our visits to Amsterdam, first as the Poet and now as the Max Brown Museum Square. Walking distance to museums, good restaurants, large super market (under the park). Wonderful home base and at a reasonable price.

Lovely experience. The staff was fantastic. Breakfast excellent and room, though not the largest, was very cozy and comfortable. Perfect place

Perfect location, amazing staff, cozy modern rooms, tasty breakfast.

Jan Luykenstraat, 44 Amsterdam

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • 24-hour front desk

Located in Museum Quarter, Max Brown Hotel Museum Square is next to popular attractions like Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum. This 64-room, 3-star hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like a restaurant, a bar/lounge, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Explore the hotel and meet new friends over drinks at the bar/lounge, or enjoy a bite to eat at the onsite restaurant. You can sip a beverage at the coffee shop/café. For your convenience, a buffet breakfast is served for a fee each morning from 7:00 AM to 11:00 AM.


Rooms

All 64 rooms provide electric kettles and phones. TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi.


Property features

Max Brown Hotel Museum Square offers free WiFi in public areas and coffee in a common area. The front desk has multilingual staff standing by 24 hours a day to assist with securing valuables and tours/tickets.

Room options

Loft

1 Double Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | 2 Double Beds and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Medium Double Room (Max 2 Persons)

1 Double Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Twin Room, 2 Twin Beds

2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 2

Medium Triple Room

1 Double Bed | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Max Brown Hotel Museum Square

Everyone (9) Family (1)
1
Friends

The parking here was hell they told us they have parking, it cost $35 and every time you needed to get your car you had to pay the valet $10 and it would take up to two hours. People were screaming in the hall at five in the morning and it turned out they weren’t there this was the worst hotel I’ve ever stayed out would not recommend

By on Oct 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 24, 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is dissapointing to read you did not enjoy your stay with us due to the parking facilities. Unfortunately, we do not offer parking, as the hotel is located in the city centre of Amsterdam. Parking in the street in front of the hotel would cost you €6 per hour. Therefore, we offer the possibility to make us of a parking valet service. This service indeed takes your car and drops it off for you when you check-out. This is also the reason why this company charges you if you want to take something from the car, as they need to drive it to and from the hotel again. We are sorry to read that your experience with the valet company spoiled your experience here in the hotel. Furthermore, it saddens us to read that you experienced noice disturbances during your stay. Our reception staff is present 24 hours a day to minimize any noice disturbances. It is unfortunate to read that you did not experience it this way. We hope you did enjoy Amsterdam to the fullest. With kind regards, Telka Knapen - Hotel Manager

4
Family

It is a good value. The room is small but clean. Staff members are friendly. Big and tall people will find difficult to fit into the staircase or the elevator. Typical old European building. The smallest room ever, but good for the budget, and just across the Rijksmuseum.

By on Sep 27, 2019

4
Everyone

Great staff and location to all the famous museums. Great happy hour on Friday night.

By , from New york on Nov 26, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 7, 2018

Dear Bob, Thank you for the feedback! We hope you have enjoyed the live music playing on Friday evening! Have a lovely day, Telka Knapen - Hotel Manager

5
Everyone

Theree is a lift and on some levels 2 strps between connecting building. The challenge is 11 steps to first level lobby front front door and that is true of all the museum mansions etc. And tiny steps to -1 basement breakfast room. Except for big Modern museums like van goh and rijks.amsterdam and Europe are full of steps. Room is modern trendy like ,w and malmaison. Cute stuio step up in double and narrow twins. It is super location to tram , rijks and van Gogh. Caught 5:35a. Bus to Amsterdam airport and it was early. Got to airport in 33 min for 1 hr security lines. . So carry less luggage and you will be ok.for 9;15a or 8:15a flts. It was easy walk to dam square. And flower pot. Everyone friendly and helpful. Be more careful of cute step up if senior. Great for young couple's and under 70.

By on Nov 19, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 4, 2018

Dear Lily, It is nice to read that you explored Amsterdam to the fullest by visiting our museums. The Netherlands is not only famous for their windmills. I am glad that you liked the atmosphere of the room and the rest of your hotel. We hope to welcome you again in the future. With kind regards,

5
Everyone

Clean and friendly - includes a good breakfast - very convenient to museums and bus to airport.

By on May 23, 2018

Review comment responded on May 23, 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write us your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip to Amsterdam and the location was excellent for your sightseeing and the way back to the airport. Hopefully we can receive you again within Max Brown. Sincerely,

2

tiny room!

Everyone

Nice ambiance. Old hotel in nice location but the tiniest room I ever stayed in! Claustrophobic!!!!

By on May 3, 2018

Review comment responded on May 6, 2018

Dear guest, How unfortunate to read that the room did not meet up to your expectations. However, the sizes of the rooms are presented when you are making the reservation. Furthermore, we do have more rooms to our disposal. Also of bigger sizes. Please check our website if you are considering booking with us again. With kind regards,

4

nice hotel, good location, staff not very helpful

Everyone

Let me start off by saying all the good: great location (easy access to Museumplein, public transit at Rijksmuseum tram stop), great breakfast, pristine room. The room is, of course, Amsterdam-sized. What drove me to rate this hotel as something between "OK" & "Pleasing" was the customer service. Just minutes before checking out, as I was reorganizing my purse, I accidentally dropped my credit card into a little crack between two boards in a built-in wooden bench in my room. It was a freak accident, & entirely my fault because I lost my grip on the card. I went down to the lobby, apologizing for my own accident-proneness, & asked for the lobby staff's help. One of them accompanied me to my room & took one look at where I'd dropped the card &offered an unhelpful "oh sh**" & said there was nothing she could do to help me because it was a Sunday. It was pretty clear to me that anyone with a screwdriver could remove just one of the bolts in the bench & I could retrieve my card from within. I told the lobby staff member this &she said that their maintenance staff is not in on Sundays and that they are the only ones with screwdrivers...really? I asked if she could call one of the many hotels on our street and see if they had someone who could help &she said I could "ask one of them if I wanted." I checked out without my credit card &, of course, cancelled my card. As I said initially, dropping the card was my fault, but I believe the staff could & should have done more to help.

By on Oct 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 28, 2017

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for making this detailed review about the hotel. I am very sorry to read that this has been your experience with the staff. There might been a miscommunication in the way she interpreted and anticipated on. Hopefully everything is now being resolved with your credit card. Hopefully the rest of your stay was more convenient. With kind regards,

4

great location. cozy hotel.

Everyone

Located within short walk to Museums and 1/2 block from tram to downtown or bus to airport. Room was small but functional and seemed like a good value. Staff was great. Very safe neighborhood with lots of high end shops.

By , from Seattle, wa USA on Sep 18, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 21, 2017

Dear Jim and Leek, Thank you for nice review! It's nice to read that you enjoyed your stay and liked our neighbourhood. It's a very nice location and suitable if you would like to travel around. Hopefully we can welcome you again when you are visiting Amsterdam. With kind regards,

5

our home in amsterdam

Everyone

We have stayed in this hotel for all three of our visits to Amsterdam, first as the Poet and now as the Max Brown Museum Square. Walking distance to museums, good restaurants, large super market (under the park). Wonderful home base and at a reasonable price.

By , from The Villages on May 17, 2017

Review comment responded on May 23, 2017

Dear Bing & Bev, Thank you for sharing your experience. Happy to see you enjoyed our Max Brown hotel and its decoration. We truly appreciate having you as our guest. I hope you enjoyed you time in Amsterdam and till next time! Best regards, Telka Knapen Hotel Manager

5

beautiful location. favorite hotel.

Everyone

Lovely experience. The staff was fantastic. Breakfast excellent and room, though not the largest, was very cozy and comfortable. Perfect place

By , from milwaukee, wi usa on Jan 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 31, 2017

Dear Derek, Thank you for your review. I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you had a great time in Amsterdam and hopefully till next time! Best regards, Telka Knapen Hotel Manager

Max Brown Hotel Museum Square

Jan Luykenstraat, 44, Amsterdam, 1071
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Amsterdam-Hotels-Max-Brown-Hotel-Museum-Square.h1524945-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Amsterdam-Hotels-Max-Brown-Hotel-Museum-Square.h1524945-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Amsterdam-Hotels-Max-Brown-Hotel-Museum-Square.h1524945-p2.Hotel-Reviews