Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

5.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Was a nice place to stay. Would consider staying here again. Highly recommended.

The staff was so friendly, kind and helpful. the room was spectacular. Only complaint is the cost of WiFi.

This hotel has an excellent location just minutes to the train, boats and walking to the life and museums of the city. No aquatic amenities like pool or hot tub but the fire is nice and the hotel staff and facilities are top notch.

I have been staying at this hotel for more than 10 years and it never disappoints. Perfect central location, close to train station and within walking distance to all attractions.

The location was ideal. I found the room very comfortable and I slept well. I would stay here again.

Clean rooms and friendly staff. We had a family room for four and found it extremely comfortable.

very pleased with the stay and i will repeat it again

Expensive hotel lacking amenities! Close to train station and center of town. Slept in a broken bed. Not impressed for the money it cost to stay there!

Staff was great, concierge was exceptional!! Had to change next leg of our trip . Bar prices were expensive front desk clerk would not look up my marriott number

Overall very good there was a problem with the heat going off and never fixed. You should have fixed it or moved is I think

Needed a nice room with a comfy bed.....Enjoyed the location as close to everything

Easy access to Transportation, can walk to many locations, hotel is nice and peaceful, restaurant is very good. Staff was very helpful

hotel was fine but road works surrounding the facility was very bad -- noise, dust in the air, and limited access to the hotel made movements unpleasant

Karem was the best guest services woman I have ever dealt with.... friendly, knowledgable, etc..

This was my second stay at this hotel in the last seven-week period, arriving early morning both times. The first time, they let me check in early, but this time, they did not - an inconvenience i did not expect. However, they did call my cell phone when a room was ready. Although the staff at the concierge desk was friendly, when answering questions or giving directions, some of them assumed too much about the "dumb tourist's" ability to follow their quick directions.

I was happy with my stay at the hotel. It was walking distance from the train station and nearby all the attraction locations. The staff was very polite and nice. The room was clean, the balcony had a great view and it was in a nice venue. Overall i couldn't have asked for anything else.

Staff was incompetent - "complimentary" breakfast may cost you 25 euro per person. We were told by three employees including one at official hotel information desk, where to go for complimentary breakfast, than we were charged 25 euro per person. Charges were finally dropped at the checkout after we dispute them. It was not easy we were told there was no manager and that nothing could be done. Staff at the hospitality lounge were almost hostile making you feel guilty if you take one peanut to many. Fitness room was equipped rather poorly and view from it was at the back ally behind the hotel, where people were smoking crack and doing other things - all in proximity of (25 yards ) from main entrance with attendants on duty.

Enjoyed my stay at this hotel, nice rooms (a bit small but that's par for the course in Europe). Staff were professional and very helpful. Hotel is expensive though with no free wifi or breakfast, that I had at a different hotel of equal standard. But the location is great and there are plenty of food options outside the hotel

The hotel was in an excellent location. Just a few minutes walk from the Amsterdam Central Station, which you will need to get around Amsterdam. The single bed room is nice and modern. A tad bit small but very comfortable. The only issue I had with the hotel was the fact that they didn't have a real computer lab. They only had 2 computers for public use and they charged for internet service.

Really nice. Easy to get to from central station in Amsterdam. The bed was so comfortable.

Kattengat 1 Amsterdam

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Nes and New Church
  • Free WiFi in public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • 24-hour fitness center

Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel places you within a 10-minute stroll of popular attractions such as New Church and Dam Square. This 402-room, 5-star hotel welcomes guests with 2 restaurants, a 24-hour fitness center, and a conference center. It's in central Amsterdam and also a short walk from Nes and Royal Palace.


Dining

Enjoy dining at one of 2 onsite restaurants including SCOSSA restaurant, which specializes in Italian cuisine. Order from 24-hour room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room, or explore the hotel and get a beverage at the bar/lounge or 2 coffee shops/cafés. For your convenience, a full breakfast is served each morning for a fee.


Rooms

All of Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel's 402 air-conditioned rooms provide refrigerators, coffee makers, and free bottled water. Guests can expect WiFi, wired Internet, and LCD TVs with cable channels and pay movies. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Safes, ironing boards, and desks are also standard.


Property features

At Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel, guests have access to a 24-hour fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and 12 meeting rooms. Valet parking is offered for EUR 58 per day. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this luxury hotel include a conference center, a business center, and coffee/tea in a common area.

Guest reviews for Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel

Everyone (7) Business (6) Couples (9) Family (12) Other (8) Friends (3)
5

great location - nice place.... bed a bit too soft

Everyone

Was a nice place to stay. Would consider staying here again. Highly recommended.

By , from NYC on Apr 6, 2018

5
Everyone

The staff was so friendly, kind and helpful. the room was spectacular. Only complaint is the cost of WiFi.

By on Mar 11, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 12, 2018

Dear Madame or Sir, Thank you for leaving a review about your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. Concerning the WiFi, if you are a member of Marriott Rewards, you will have it included with your stay. I hope that you got a chance to explore Amsterdam, and that you found some nice spots. Kind Regards, Evald, Front Office Supervisor

4

very nice hotel in excellent location

Everyone

This hotel has an excellent location just minutes to the train, boats and walking to the life and museums of the city. No aquatic amenities like pool or hot tub but the fire is nice and the hotel staff and facilities are top notch.

By , from Philadelphia, PA on Feb 20, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 20, 2018

Dear Devlin, Thank you for leaving a review about your stay. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you had some time to explore Amsterdam as well. Kind Regards, Evald, Front Office Supervisor

5

never disappoints

Everyone

I have been staying at this hotel for more than 10 years and it never disappoints. Perfect central location, close to train station and within walking distance to all attractions.

By , from Charleston WV on Jan 16, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 3, 2018

Dear Rick, Thank you for leaving a review about your stay, and for your loyalty. I hope that this time, you had time you discovered something new about Amsterdam. Hopefully, we will see you soon again. Kind Regards, Evald, Front Office Supevisor

5
Everyone

The location was ideal. I found the room very comfortable and I slept well. I would stay here again.

By , from California on Aug 18, 2017

4

great hotel in historic portion of amsterdam!

Families

Clean rooms and friendly staff. We had a family room for four and found it extremely comfortable.

By on Mar 6, 2017

5

extremely well located and friendly staff

Everyone

very pleased with the stay and i will repeat it again

By on Jan 25, 2017

3

expensive hotel next to train station

Everyone

Expensive hotel lacking amenities! Close to train station and center of town. Slept in a broken bed. Not impressed for the money it cost to stay there!

By , from usa on Aug 7, 2016

4

great time in amsterdam

Families

Staff was great, concierge was exceptional!! Had to change next leg of our trip . Bar prices were expensive front desk clerk would not look up my marriott number

By on Dec 15, 2015

4

amsterdam business trip

BusinessTravelers

Overall very good there was a problem with the heat going off and never fixed. You should have fixed it or moved is I think

By on Dec 7, 2015