Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Red Agave Resort

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

AC not working. Very little response from management. We were told "we've done everything we can" and "hot is relative". The temp in the chalet is 90 degrees and it's 9p. Greatly disappointing! It's the end of June in FREAKING ARIZONA, really?!?! We expect hot but also expect AIR!!!

"Hot is relative, don't you think? Some people are very comfortable in 90 degrees". This was the answer we were given when we complained that the a/c was not working. They clearly do not care about their patrons comfort or experience. Do not stay here unless you are comfortable in 90+ degrees.

Temp inside above 90 degrees during the day. At 8:18 pm we were given a fan and told the AC is working well although the place is 89 degrees. Very disappointing. Also, bring your own towel if you want a real pool towel. Beautiful view but not enjoyable if you can't be comfortable even inside. They should NOT be marketing their establishment as having AC if it is not capable of managing the space.

Our son's wedding took over the entire resort for two nights. It was the PERFECT setting with the ample outdoor spaces like the pool, spas and fire pit for people to gather and circulate or just sit and enjoy the incredible views. No one had to drive to the rehearsal dinner, ceremony or reception as they were all done on site with a couple tents set up for the food and beverage service, along with the dance floor. It was a lovely scene after sunset with the lights strung around the whole area. The chalets are obviously of older construction and could use some renovation, but they served very well for a family of 5, several couples or some other combination of guests. The beds were very comfortable and the kitchens were well supplied. It's more DIY for trash and recycling. There are large bins in the back parking area to deposit excess amounts of trash and recycling that won't fit into the normal bins in the common areas. The Sedona area has strict noise regulations so music must be turned off at 9 pm and the fire pit at 10 pm. That wasn't a problem for the younger adults who gathered after hours in one of the chalets to continue the celebration. The staff was hard working and helpful with information and supplies when needed and reminders to have at least one adult in the pool enclosure with the kids. One unusual requirement if you are having a wedding there is that you need to designate one of the studios or chalets as the 'Public restroom" for vendors and guests staying offsite to use. You can use one that's occupied because it's likely not too many visitors will actually use it, but our group reserved the unoccupied one next to the office and it proved to be really helpful for storing cases of beverages, table settings and for last minute preps for the bridal party close to the ceremony and reception. We are already dreaming of a reunion here in the future!

We sleep very well during our stay here. Spacious room and has everything like an apartment style.Very clean and a touch of classic style. Very nice staff. Calm area just right Bell Rock. Offer such a lovely view with surroundings red rocks. A tiny pool to cool down. Guest can grill also here which we thought was very good.

Had a wedding there. It is rustic and the 2 star hotel experience is true. The staff was wonderful espiically Gean the grounds guy and the cleaning service lady. The rooms are a bit shabby and the pool and spa need refinishing. But the views are magnificent. If you want a 4 or 5 star experience you can find it next door. The only reason for my 4 star rating was s few rude moments by the office staff and the high price for a low quality room

We stayed at this resort for two nights in the second week of May. We loved the pictures of the place when booked it and we were not disappointed. The views are so good that they will make your morning as soos as you open your eyes. We stayed in the studio, it was clean, comfortable, roomy, with equipped kitchen. It's modest, don't expect it to be a 5-star hotel, but it worked well for us. It was only 15 min drive to Sedona and for sure non of the other hotels in the area had as good views as ours. You can buy food at the near by grocery store, grill your dinner and enjoy it outside. Or go to the "Sound Bites Grill" in Sedona for good food, music and watching the sunset.

We booked the 2 Chalets for one night and we all loved it! The staff was very accommodating and very nice - Great customer service! The Chalets were clean and ready for us when we checked in. They were everything we were looking for. The property was in a great location and between the pool/spa/hiking trail we were all extremely happy. I recommend these to anyone who is traveling in a large group.

My wife and I stayed here for one night on April 24, 2017 as we were spending a day in Sedona before continuing on to the Grand Canyon. The hotel grounds were well-maintained and clean. Rooms were generously sized and clean. Our mattress was pretty worn out on one side (Hummingbird Suite) and rather uncomfortable. The interior was a bit dated also but what you are really paying for here is the gorgeous view when you wake up every morning. The room was equipped with a full-sized refrigerator, a small oven, and dishes including plates and cups. This would be ideal for someone that was going to stay a few days and wanted to cook which was not us. The proximity of the resort to trail heads was very convenient and it seemed as though many of the other guests were there to take advantage of the bike trails. The resort is within a few blocks of an excellent little bakery called The Desert Flour if you don’t want to cook. They claim to have bonfires in a fire pit located in the middle of the hotel property but the night that we were there the fire wasn’t lit. Overall this is a nice little place and it is conveniently located fairly close to everything you’ll need. It isn’t anything fancy but what you will love about it is the great views!

Traveled as a group of 3 couples (all the in-laws for my wife and I). I would echo other reviews in that I hope not too many people discover it. Split up our group between one chalet (A-frame cottage) and one studio unit. Interiors are functional and comfortable, but not super modern - so if that's the main criteria look elsewhere. The main joy here is the view, and hiking/biking from your door, then coming back for the pool/hot tub/BBQ/fire pit. Park the car and you may not need it again. A wonderful place - hope to return.

120 Canyon Circle Dr Sedona AZ

Hotel highlights

  • Close to Bell Rock
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool

Located in Oak Creek, Red Agave Resort is within a mile (2 km) of sights such as Bell Rock and Devil's Bridge Trail. This 14-room hotel has an outdoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking. Also close to this Sedona hotel are Chapel of the Holy Cross and Oakcreek Country Club.


Rooms

The 14 air-conditioned rooms feature kitchens with refrigerators, microwaves, and stovetops. Guests can expect free WiFi and TVs with cable channels and DVD players.


Property features

Guests staying at Red Agave Resort enjoy an outdoor pool, 2 spa tubs, and free WiFi in public areas. Free parking is included with your stay. Front-desk staff can help with concierge services, and provide local restaurant recommendations. Additional amenities include laundry facilities and barbecue grills.

Room options

Chalet Nankoweap Butte

Queen 2 | Sleeps 5

Studio Jerome

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Downstairs Bed Room Living Room Loft

Queen 1 | Sleeps 5

Chalet Apache Leap

Queen 2 | Sleeps 5

Reviews from Trip Advisor

Trip Advisor aggregated rating

93% of guests recommend this hotel

Total of 309 reviews