Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The most important thing I want to call out is that you should be aware they have a covid testing site at the hotel but it is only open from 10 am - 4 pm and the results take 24 hours. When we checked in they didn’t give us any information about the hours of their clinic or the turnaround time so we ended up not being able to get a test at the hotel because we asked about it at 4:01 PM the day before our 3:30 PM flight (missed the clinic hours and wouldn’t have had results in time.) We asked where else around the area we could get a test and the concierge was very unhelpful. She did not have suggestions so we ended up walking to a pharmacy that gave us info about a nearby clinic (I recommend going to MedAssist to get your test. $35, a short walk from the hotel, and the turn around time was less than 4 hours). Our room was tiny! Not typically a big deal because we don’t spend our time in there, but the king size bed took up almost the entire room to the point where we truly didn’t have enough room to fully open our suitcase anywhere but on the bed. I’m only 5’3” and although I could fit in the shower, I honestly don’t recommend these rooms for anyone who considers themselves on the larger size - height or weight. The hotel was quaint and had lots of character. I also liked that we were able to use the facilities and beach chairs belonging to the sister hotel, Los Arcos. Overall, not bad for the price. But make sure you plan your covid test accordingly!

Cute hotel. My wife and I took a romantic week in PV. The hotel was a hidden gem. Loved it.

Stay was ok. We usually stay in a different hotel in PV but wanted to try the Playa Los Arcos bc the pool looks nice. PLA was booked so we tried CDS. You can use the beach chairs and restaurant at PLA but not the pool. The hotel looks nice. Has an authentic Mexican feel. Open air courtyard with room doors going to the courtyard. Room was clean and comfy. Street noise was minimal. No real noise from other guests. The WiFi code we were given didn’t work. There was no filtered water in the room or in the lobby. No where to get snacks in this hotel. The other hotel is just a block away but definitely stock up on bottled water if you will be staying here. The staff was ok. Not super friendly like some of the other hotels. So over all our stay was very ok. I think our rate was around $95 for the night. For the same price or less, I’d probably stay at the Posada de Roger. For $20-$30 more, we prefer the Garlands Del Rio. Both are a little further from the beach, but they have a pool and food service, nice ambiance and very friendly staff.

This was last minute decision great time overall

Hotel has been closed since Late January & we were not informed. They offered us a poor hotel.

Very nice and clean hotel, excellent location and friendly staff

In the Romantic neighborhood old town close to all favorite taquerias, stores and clubs.

adults only very quiet all staff very polite and nice we went all inclusive very good food at sister property we were a large group of 9 no problems all enjoyed the trip

Have stayed here several times. Thank you. This is just filler. I have nothing more to say.

You can enjoy the roof a relaxing swimming pool, and also the partners properties ones. The buffet is excellent.

The entire staff is very welcoming and friendly. Loved the plants all over and the decorations are lovely. Mi Pueblito restaurant food is delicious and for our reserved dinner waitress Ary was awesome.

This was a lovely boutique in a prime location. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Love the location Very good for the price Staff was less friendly than usual Always enjoy my stays here

It was really close to all the fun . You are able to go to many different nice place from this hotel. Everything is really close.

Very well maintained property, seems like staff putting extra effort to make sure everything is super clean, they even wash side walk outside the hotel with soap! Very authentic!

The property was located in a area that was close to everything that we wanted to see or do. It was a very quiet hotel.

Manuel M Dieguez No 171 Puerto Vallarta JAL

Hotel highlights

  • Close to Malecon
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Outdoor pool
  • Rooftop terrace

Located in Romantic Zone, Casa Dona Susana is next to Olas Altas Street and Los Muertos Pier. This 3.5-star hotel welcomes guests with 42 rooms and conveniences like an outdoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and a rooftop terrace.


Dining

Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service.


Rooms

Guests can expect free WiFi and LED TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and beds sport premium bedding. Minibars, safes, and ironing boards are other standard amenities.


Property features

Casa Dona Susana offers an outdoor pool, a rooftop terrace, and free WiFi in public areas. Self parking is available for MXN 50 per night. The front desk has multilingual staff standing by 24 hours a day to assist with dry cleaning/laundry and tours/tickets. Other amenities at this adults-only hotel include a terrace, barbecue grills, and a gift shop.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Casa Dona Susana

Everyone (34) Couples (16) Family (3) Friends (1) Other (1)
3
Partner Couples

The most important thing I want to call out is that you should be aware they have a covid testing site at the hotel but it is only open from 10 am - 4 pm and the results take 24 hours. When we checked in they didn’t give us any information about the hours of their clinic or the turnaround time so we ended up not being able to get a test at the hotel because we asked about it at 4:01 PM the day before our 3:30 PM flight (missed the clinic hours and wouldn’t have had results in time.) We asked where else around the area we could get a test and the concierge was very unhelpful. She did not have suggestions so we ended up walking to a pharmacy that gave us info about a nearby clinic (I recommend going to MedAssist to get your test. $35, a short walk from the hotel, and the turn around time was less than 4 hours). Our room was tiny! Not typically a big deal because we don’t spend our time in there, but the king size bed took up almost the entire room to the point where we truly didn’t have enough room to fully open our suitcase anywhere but on the bed. I’m only 5’3” and although I could fit in the shower, I honestly don’t recommend these rooms for anyone who considers themselves on the larger size - height or weight. The hotel was quaint and had lots of character. I also liked that we were able to use the facilities and beach chairs belonging to the sister hotel, Los Arcos. Overall, not bad for the price. But make sure you plan your covid test accordingly!

By on Mar 16, 2022

Review comment responded on Apr 16, 2022

Dear Chelsea Thank you for sharing your comments, we deeply regret the situation regarding the covid test, we have a visible code at the reception and at the concierge desk since what it says represents a very minimal percentage since all the other guests have had no problem acquiring your antigen test. We will offer you our sincere apologies and we will reinforce the part of communication with our guests to avoid situations like yours. We hope to have a new opportunity and improve your experience. Thanks for your visit. Sincerely

5
Partner Couples Business Business

Cute hotel. My wife and I took a romantic week in PV. The hotel was a hidden gem. Loved it.

By on Jan 20, 2022

Review comment responded on Feb 4, 2022

Dear Jason Thank you for taking the time to share your comment, it’s pleasant to hear that you loved our resort and that enjoyed of a romantic week in this beautiful paradise. We really appreciate your visit Sincerely

4
Partner Couples

Stay was ok. We usually stay in a different hotel in PV but wanted to try the Playa Los Arcos bc the pool looks nice. PLA was booked so we tried CDS. You can use the beach chairs and restaurant at PLA but not the pool. The hotel looks nice. Has an authentic Mexican feel. Open air courtyard with room doors going to the courtyard. Room was clean and comfy. Street noise was minimal. No real noise from other guests. The WiFi code we were given didn’t work. There was no filtered water in the room or in the lobby. No where to get snacks in this hotel. The other hotel is just a block away but definitely stock up on bottled water if you will be staying here. The staff was ok. Not super friendly like some of the other hotels. So over all our stay was very ok. I think our rate was around $95 for the night. For the same price or less, I’d probably stay at the Posada de Roger. For $20-$30 more, we prefer the Garlands Del Rio. Both are a little further from the beach, but they have a pool and food service, nice ambiance and very friendly staff.

By on Dec 25, 2021

Review comment responded on Feb 4, 2022

Dear tiffany Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Playa los Arcos Hotel. We know you have many choices and we are thankful that you have chosen us to enjoy your holiday in PV. We are happy that we met your expectations and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, making mention to the rooms, amenities, food, and the friendly hospitality of our staff. We certainly look forward to having you return to stay with us in the near future. Cordially

5
Everyone

This was last minute decision great time overall

By on Jun 13, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 23, 2021

Dear Anonymous Great Comment and great decision at the same time, we will see alla of you soon again. Cordially

1
Partner Couples

Hotel has been closed since Late January & we were not informed. They offered us a poor hotel.

By on May 11, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 4, 2021

Dear Guest Thank you for your time in sharing your experience, we value your comments, we want you to allow us to offer you added values, we really apologize and we want to see you again and serve you at Casa Doña Susana to share new and unbeatable experiences, we are waiting for all of you. Cordially.

4
Partner Couples

Very nice and clean hotel, excellent location and friendly staff

By , from Atlanta on Dec 30, 2020

Review comment responded on Dec 30, 2020

We are very happy to know that we have achieved our goal and that your experience has been pleasant. Thank you very much for your preference.We look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home. Without a doubt we will be attentive to assist you at all times.

4
Everyone

In the Romantic neighborhood old town close to all favorite taquerias, stores and clubs.

By on Mar 31, 2020

Review comment responded on Apr 7, 2020

Dear Anonymous Casa Doña Susana Hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the magic Zona Romantica, the picturesque home of prestigious restaurants, art galleries and beautiful landscape. It’s a little corner of Puerto Vallarta with infinite pleasures and diversions. We can't wait to have you back home once again. We are pretty sure that we will be able to fulfill your needs one more time. Cordially

5
Everyone

By on Jan 8, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 9, 2020

Thanks for your rating

5
Family Partner Couples Friends

adults only very quiet all staff very polite and nice we went all inclusive very good food at sister property we were a large group of 9 no problems all enjoyed the trip

By on Nov 14, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 11, 2019

Dear guest Thank you for staying with us us and for sharing your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed our facilities and services, and the beauty of our great location. I hope to be able to welcome you back again soon. Sunny Regards Antonio Robles General Manager

5
Friends

Have stayed here several times. Thank you. This is just filler. I have nothing more to say.

By on Nov 13, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 11, 2019

Thanks for your rating

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Puerto-Vallarta-Hotels-Casa-Dona-Susana.h14920-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Puerto-Vallarta-Hotels-Casa-Dona-Susana.h14920-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Puerto-Vallarta-Hotels-Casa-Dona-Susana.h14920-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions