Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

The Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

The Port Inn is actually a motel which has been renovated to feel more like an inn. Although the rooms are small, the carefully selected features made our stay very pleasant. The room has quality furniture. The bed is comfortable with high quality linen and decorative pilows. The bathroom has marble & glass shelving, fluffy towels and unique touches like double doors. My favorite nicety is the upgraded coffee with real 1/2 & 1/2 rather than the powdered chemical creamer. The room comes with a microwave and refrigerator so a guest has everything he/she needs.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and very clean. This was our second visit and we will return in the future. When a snow storm threatened our travel plans we were able to cancel our second night without penalty. The latte-espresso-cappuccino machine in the lobby was an added plus.

Very nice hotel with convenient access to downtown Portsmouth. Room very spacious and clean.

Our non smoking room smelled of marijuana. The carpet was extremely dirty. So dirty tha my white socks turned brown and black from walking around in my socks. I went in early December so there was a little snow on the ground. However, they did not upkeep the sidewalks or parking lot. I almost slipped on icey area 2 times. I did end up slipping and falling on my back and left hand the third time which was extremely painful and could’ve been avoided had management done a better job at making the walkways and parking lot safe given the conditions.

Beautiful setting and an amazing staff!!! We look forward to our next opportunity to stay there! The pool is a nice touch too!

The young lady at the desk was very informative in helping find a restaurant that suited my food preference and followed up with directions to the restaurant.

I was visiting my son who is in Portsmouth. The hotel was a great location, rooms were clean, location was good.

Quiet and clean rooms, comfortable beds, nice and friendly staff and good amenities including starbucks coffee in the rooms and hot and cold complimentary breakfast. I requested a fan and one of the owners made a special trip to the storage room to find one for me. Fortunately, he found one as he would have gone to the store to buy one for me! I definitely recommend this hotel!

We needed a last minute stop at a reasonable price for 2 nights, nothing to complain about. It was basic, but clean, and roomy, quiet. All you need for a decent night.

I went here with a friend for a beach overnight. Our room was excellent. Comfortable furnishings, well supplied attractive bathroom, and a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. A heated outdoor pool was a welcome extra to relax in after a busy day. The breakfast was well above average, the staff was always accommodating. I'm looking forward to returning here.

We had a wonderful stay at The Port Inn. The staff was extremely friendly, and we loved that it was dog friendly so we could bring our dog.

overall good stay,close to many beaches,shops ,outlets ,nightlife ect, kinda central to these places,staff at hotel great,breakfast ok not great not bad though,pool nice would stay here again.

My husband and I love spending time in Portsmouth but don't always want to pay for the expensive hotels within walking distance to the shops, restaurants, etc. The Port Inn was a really quick and easy drive, and we were both pleasantly surprised with the cleanliness of the room, the warm and friendly welcome we got upon our arrival and the friendliness displayed by every employee we encountered. We just really felt welcomed and will definitely be going back!

My fiance & I came here for a long weekend getaway (Saturday-Monday). Skip was great as soon as we arrived. He helped us get a cab (only $6 to downtown Portsmouth) that Saturday night. The breakfast in the AM was much better than your average continental (which I was excited about). The room was clean and we were happy there was a mini fridge and microwave. Great experience there!

The staff here is absolutely amazing. I spoke to three separate people during our one night stay and all were beyond friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean, the beds are comfy, the water was hot, and the free wireless was fast and easy to connect to. Good continental breakfast too. And it is literally a 1 mile walk to downtown Portsmouth, so if you are so inclined you don't have to drive, and a cab ride would be extremely cheap if walking's not your thing but you still want to freely sample some of the many great bars downtown. It's located right on a rotary but it's generally pretty quiet. If you are the type of person who needs absolute silence for sleeping then you might want to ask for a room in the back since you can just hear the highway from the front rooms. They are truly pet friendly as well. You pay a simple $20 fee for your pet and otherwise there are no restrictions apart from what common sense would suggest. They have a small, designated, area in the back with dog bags and a trash can to make things easy while also making sure the general hotel grounds are safe from dog bombs. Just a great hotel and it will now be our go to choice when we stay in Portsmouth. It's obviously not quite as perfect as staying right in the heart of downtown, but it's more than worth it for the huge savings over the Sheraton and other downtown hotels.

Welcoming staff, clean rooms-a little cramped but doable. Easy cab ride to the downtown!

Just stayed a night here but it was a pleasant experience, I anticipated the proximaty to the road would be very noisy but it was very quiet. The morning breakfast offerings were plentiful and fresh, although the scrambled eggs were awful. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

505 US Highway 1 Bypass Portsmouth NH

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool

The Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member is located within a mile (2 km) of Discover Portsmouth and Jackson House Museum. This 56-room, 3-star hotel has an outdoor pool along with free in-room WiFi and free self parking. Also nearby are George Rodgers House and John Paul Jones House Museum.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is included with your stay.


Rooms

The Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member's 56 rooms are air-conditioned and provide microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can enjoy free WiFi and cable TV. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Free local calls, ironing boards, and desks are also available.


Property features

Renovated in 2014, The Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member offers an outdoor pool, free WiFi in public areas, and a business center. If you decide to drive, there's free parking. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include coffee/tea in a common area, free newspapers, and a terrace.

Guest reviews for The Port Inn

Everyone (6) Couples (8) Family (1) Friends (2)
5

nice hotel near downtown portsmouth

Couples

The Port Inn is actually a motel which has been renovated to feel more like an inn. Although the rooms are small, the carefully selected features made our stay very pleasant. The room has quality furniture. The bed is comfortable with high quality linen and decorative pilows. The bathroom has marble & glass shelving, fluffy towels and unique touches like double doors. My favorite nicety is the upgraded coffee with real 1/2 & 1/2 rather than the powdered chemical creamer. The room comes with a microwave and refrigerator so a guest has everything he/she needs.

By , from Maine on Mar 12, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 12, 2018

Thank you Christine for taking your time to write us a review! We have been at this location for about 50 years and we fully embrace our history! We love the vintage hotel feel and our boutique vibe! Your review is fully of many compliments and it is truly appreciated!

5
Everyone

The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and very clean. This was our second visit and we will return in the future. When a snow storm threatened our travel plans we were able to cancel our second night without penalty. The latte-espresso-cappuccino machine in the lobby was an added plus.

By on Feb 8, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 8, 2018

Thank you for writing us such a kind review! We love to see that our guests are happy even when snow storms get in the way of a trip! That espresso machine is one of our favorite things too!! We hope to see you again, next time we will try to make sure the snow doesn't get in the way!

5
Everyone

Very nice hotel with convenient access to downtown Portsmouth. Room very spacious and clean.

By on Jan 28, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 29, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We pride ourselves on being a clean welcoming environment.

1

looks nicer than it is. wouldn’t recommend

Everyone

Our non smoking room smelled of marijuana. The carpet was extremely dirty. So dirty tha my white socks turned brown and black from walking around in my socks. I went in early December so there was a little snow on the ground. However, they did not upkeep the sidewalks or parking lot. I almost slipped on icey area 2 times. I did end up slipping and falling on my back and left hand the third time which was extremely painful and could’ve been avoided had management done a better job at making the walkways and parking lot safe given the conditions.

By , from new york on Dec 14, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 18, 2017

Lisa, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review of our hotel during your recent stay with us. On behalf of the entire staff I would like to apologize for failing to meet or exceed your expectations in providing you as our guest with a superior experience during your stay. I take full responsibility for this and will do everything I can to make things right. I first would like to commend you in letting our staff know about the icy area around your room and parking area. A member of our staff was able to address the issue and apply ice melt to prevent any further incident. Also throughout the evening when the temperature calls for it we treat the entire front and back lot with ice melt, sometimes 2-3 times during the evening as needed. During the evening of your stay we did have plenty of options for a more comfortable room and would have happily moved you until you were satisfied had we been informed. Your review does bring up a few very good points for me to comment on and as the General Manager of this hotel I feel are critical when it comes to our guest stays and satisfaction. In the City of Portsmouth you have sixteen choices when it comes to your hotel stay. We here at The Port Inn are currently ranked number three and we take great pride in our room cleanliness, staff friendliness, attentiveness as well as maintenance and appearance of our hotel and grounds. We go to great measures to maintain our high ranking and are always open to suggestions to improve our guest experience, not only do you as our guest expect it, you deserve it. Should you find yourself in our area again please contact me directly and I will take care of your reservation details. I hope to see you again. Best Regards, Steve Grant General Manager

5

highly recommend!!

Everyone

Beautiful setting and an amazing staff!!! We look forward to our next opportunity to stay there! The pool is a nice touch too!

By , from Rotterdam, NY on Aug 23, 2017

5
Everyone

The young lady at the desk was very informative in helping find a restaurant that suited my food preference and followed up with directions to the restaurant.

By on Jun 30, 2017

4

nice rooms, clean, close to portsmouth

Everyone

I was visiting my son who is in Portsmouth. The hotel was a great location, rooms were clean, location was good.

By , from Rockville Centre, NY on Apr 20, 2016

4

nice hotel

Families

Quiet and clean rooms, comfortable beds, nice and friendly staff and good amenities including starbucks coffee in the rooms and hot and cold complimentary breakfast. I requested a fan and one of the owners made a special trip to the storage room to find one for me. Fortunately, he found one as he would have gone to the store to buy one for me! I definitely recommend this hotel!

By on Oct 31, 2015

4

quick stop for the summer

Couples

We needed a last minute stop at a reasonable price for 2 nights, nothing to complain about. It was basic, but clean, and roomy, quiet. All you need for a decent night.

By on Sep 19, 2015

5

beach get away

GetawayWithFriends

I went here with a friend for a beach overnight. Our room was excellent. Comfortable furnishings, well supplied attractive bathroom, and a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. A heated outdoor pool was a welcome extra to relax in after a busy day. The breakfast was well above average, the staff was always accommodating. I'm looking forward to returning here.

By on Jul 30, 2015