Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Very good location beach front, excelent tropical beach feeling, clean room, staff friendly but not very problem solving .

Great place, very friendly staff, highly recommended.

Hotel was clean, friendly staff, great location. Bed is hard, pillows hard, but most of all, the hotel is close to a neighboring bar that plays blaring music all hours of the night and into the morning. The music is so loud that the rooms vibrate and make sleeping impossible. We were in 3 different rooms & it was still too loud. Lido Beach Club is great. The location of the hotel on the beach is fantastic. The only problem we had during our stay was the noise and the inability to sleep at night.

beach was nasty. wont come back until it is clear. Would appreciate updates.

Great place to stay in a great location. The room was comfortable, cute and clean. The only downside was there was seaweed on the beach, but that is not the hotel's fault.

Wow...as you walk down the pathway onto the grounds suddenly you feel like you’ve stepped into paradise. You don’t have to leave the property. Everything you need...restaurant, bar, beach and the best service is right there on the property. We had an awesome time. The hotel is in the heart of everything happening in PDC so no need for a rental car unless you are traveling over 30 minutes away. Taxis are very inexpensive, but everything local is in walking distance. Spent a lot of time relaxing and reflecting on my balcony with the sun peaking through the palm trees. Wonderful small boutique hotel with a GREAT VIBE, impeccable service and most important it’s CLEAN!

Can't beat the location...breakfast on the beach,and walking distance to everything.Will be back.

good value. a little noisy on the weekends due to proximity to nightclubs with throbbing music until 4am. beautiful gardens and right on the beach.

My mom, my sister, and I stayed here last weekend for a little mother/daughter trip. We were pleasantly surprised with how much we enjoyed our stay at Colibri. This is a hotel (no pool) right on the beach-next to the Lido Beach Club. Our room had 2 double beds....and the bed was big enough for my mom and I to share. We had asked for a roll - away, but they do not have those available. Wasn't a problem, because the beds worked out great. Air conditioning and ceiling fan worked awesome....in fact, we were even a little cool some nights and had to turn it off! Our little deck had a hammock on it that my sister enjoyed napping in. Nice little refrigerator for us to keep drinks in. We had more than enough storage......closet with hangers and shelving for our stuff. 2 mirrors in our room, plus the bathroom mirror = great for 3 ladies getting ready at night! Bathroom was small, but had exactly what we needed. Hair dryer, toilet that worked, shower that had hot water and drained, They took very good care of their property, and they keep it very clean! We would definitely go back and stay there again....everyone is friendly and very helpful and make you feel welcome. We loved the simplicity, relaxing atmosphere, being steps away from the water, having the Lido as our beach restaurant/bar with beach chairs and loungers and its location to all the shops, vendors, restaurants and night life on 5th Ave. Hotel Colibri Beach is a gem!

I thought the staff was very rude when I asked for extra towels. No tour or explanation of free breakfast at checkin. Keys to check into an old room with very outdated amenities. Two very nice things are close to the beach and a hammock on your porch. Still does not justify the poor qualities from this hotel.

Hotel location is great. Lido beach bar was amazing. Food , drinks and staff was great. Beautiful beach and water. Hotel is located with in walking distance to basically anything you could want or need. Hotel was very clean, staff was very helpful. Only thing is the beds are not comfortable at all. Hotel does need to update there beds. Overall great trip. Love playa. FYI do not use super shuttle for transportation to and from hotel. 80 dollars US round trip. It's $50 for a taxi. Ride to hotel took 2hrs in a bus with no ac, the day we needed to return to the airport, no shuttle was available apparently so we were forced to get a taxi. Taxi took 40 min to get to the airport. Horrible trouble with super shuttle will never book with them again.

Very nice and clean basic hotel by the beach. Lido Beach Bar is on hotel premises. Simple hotel and very clean and great value for money. If you like a clean nice basic hotel room by the beach without too much noise and just be by the beach and enjoy the sun sea sand and some drinks without breaking the bank, this is the place for you. Nice friendly staff and very good prices at the bar and restaurant. Nice breakfast on beachfront every morning.

I went with a friend of mine, and we booked this the day we arrived because Couchsurfing fell through. It was pretty easy to find, and it was right between the main strip and the beach. There was a huge wedding going on when we arrived, and the receptionist asked us if we would mind moving to a different room so that the wedding party could all be closer together. We agreed but then discovered that our new room was right above a busy street, so we asked to move back, and they accommodated us. I would definitely stay there again. It was very well-priced, especially for Playa.

The room was very small and the toilet leaked. But we loved the location. We were right on the beach and in the heart of everything.

...but would consider some other hotel for a longer stay. Staff is lovely and very helpful. Rooms very clean. Location is a plus if looking for some Fiesta, but can be a little bit too noisy if planning to relax. Lots of Bars and Clubs in the area. Will stay there again if going back to PDC.

It is a very well located hotel in Playa! A few steps from everything!

The staff was excellent with what they have to work with and the location was unbeatable we took a bungalow with no air condition because my wife hates air and just fans but it was too hot for me so multiple showers to compensate . It's right in the middle of all activity and the price was unbelievable . The rooms are a bit dated but everything functions. The real problem starts in the night when the disco starts with loud music from 10 pm till 5am in the morning every day so if you sleep during the day and come out at night it's great if you don,t thiS is not for you bring ear plugs . The beach reastaurant (lido) is separate so if you want a beach chair. You will have spend $20 per day to use them but there's lots of beach out there

1 Avenida Norte bis Entre 10 y 12 Playa del Carmen QROO

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from Quinta Avenida and Playa del Carmen Main Beach
  • Free full breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking

Located in Downtown Playa del Carmen, Hotel Colibri Beach is next to popular attractions like Quinta Avenida and Playa del Carmen Main Beach. This 33-room, 3.5-star hotel welcomes guests with free breakfast, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Dining

Free full breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning from 8:00 AM to 11:00 AM. Sit down for a leisurely bite to eat at the onsite restaurant, or enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room.


Rooms

All of Hotel Colibri Beach's 33 air-conditioned rooms provide balconies, refrigerators, and ceiling fans. Flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Safes, phones, and free toiletries are also available.


Property features

Guests of Hotel Colibri Beach enjoy free WiFi in public areas, free newspapers, and a terrace. You can take advantage of free parking, along with an airport shuttle (available 24 hours) for USD 125 per vehicle roundtrip. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with tours/tickets and luggage storage. Other amenities at this beach hotel include laundry facilities and a garden.

Room options

Bungalow, 1 Double Bed

1 Double Bed | Sleeps 2

Room, 2 Double Beds (Street view)

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Room, 2 Double Beds, Garden View

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Hotel Colibri Beach

Everyone (13) Couples (4) Friends (1) Other (1)
5
Everyone

By on Mar 9, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 12, 2020

Gracias por su evaluación saludos tropicales

4
Everyone

Very good location beach front, excelent tropical beach feeling, clean room, staff friendly but not very problem solving .

By on Nov 5, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 6, 2019

Hi ! Thank you for your review, we are glad that you liked the location and the service from our staff. Please write us to info@hotelcolibribeach.com we really would like to know how can we get better. Tropical regards

5
Everyone

Great place, very friendly staff, highly recommended.

By on Jan 2, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 4, 2019

Hello! Thank for your wonderful review, we are happy that you enjoyed all the facilities of the hotel. We hope to see you soon again!

3
Everyone

Hotel was clean, friendly staff, great location. Bed is hard, pillows hard, but most of all, the hotel is close to a neighboring bar that plays blaring music all hours of the night and into the morning. The music is so loud that the rooms vibrate and make sleeping impossible. We were in 3 different rooms & it was still too loud. Lido Beach Club is great. The location of the hotel on the beach is fantastic. The only problem we had during our stay was the noise and the inability to sleep at night.

By on Nov 30, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 7, 2018

Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent experience with us. We are very happy you enjoyed the location and gave a good review to our staff! ; We sincerely apologize for the inconvenient with the bed and pillows, usually the staff has repair immediately any problem with the rooms, and about the noise in the nights we know how disappointing this is but the hotel is in the downtown and always is people around. Again, we are sorry to hear that you weren't satisfied with your experience.

2
Everyone

By on Nov 19, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 20, 2018

We’re sorry you were unhappy at your stay in Hotel Colibri Beach, we hope to see you again in the future!, Thanks for letting us know.

4
Everyone

beach was nasty. wont come back until it is clear. Would appreciate updates.

By on Aug 12, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 3, 2018

Hello ! Thank you for the review, honestly the problem of the seaweed depends of the season, we try to keep clean the beach, cleaning every day. We hope to see you soon again!

5
Everyone

Great place to stay in a great location. The room was comfortable, cute and clean. The only downside was there was seaweed on the beach, but that is not the hotel's fault.

By on Jun 25, 2018

Review comment responded on Jul 2, 2018

Dear guest! Thank you for your perfect rate! we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, is nice to read you liked the room. We hope to see you soon again.

5

what a gem

Everyone

Wow...as you walk down the pathway onto the grounds suddenly you feel like you’ve stepped into paradise. You don’t have to leave the property. Everything you need...restaurant, bar, beach and the best service is right there on the property. We had an awesome time. The hotel is in the heart of everything happening in PDC so no need for a rental car unless you are traveling over 30 minutes away. Taxis are very inexpensive, but everything local is in walking distance. Spent a lot of time relaxing and reflecting on my balcony with the sun peaking through the palm trees. Wonderful small boutique hotel with a GREAT VIBE, impeccable service and most important it’s CLEAN!

By , from DMV on Feb 15, 2018

4

excellent staff....and location,location location.

Everyone

Can't beat the location...breakfast on the beach,and walking distance to everything.Will be back.

By , from New Jersey on Feb 11, 2018

3
Everyone

good value. a little noisy on the weekends due to proximity to nightclubs with throbbing music until 4am. beautiful gardens and right on the beach.

By on Jan 23, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 28, 2018

Hello ! Thank you to share your experience at Hotel Colibri. We’re sorry you were unhappy for the loud music, we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Playa-del-Carmen-Hotels-Hotel-Colibri-Beach.h8080690-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Playa-del-Carmen-Hotels-Hotel-Colibri-Beach.h8080690-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Playa-del-Carmen-Hotels-Hotel-Colibri-Beach.h8080690-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions