Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Need to let guest do Hooka in the foaya, and let us drinkin the night crowd...

I checked in and checked right out! I didn’t realize your rooming with strangers like a hostel in Amsterdam! Cray Cray! The conditions of the hotel sucked! Smelled like an old persons house on meds and feet!

The garden and pool area at Freehand Miami is beautiful, a nice little oasis compared to the rest of Miami. The lobby is quirky and nice to cool off in/meet new people/read or do some work. Unfortunately, the front desk staff (with the exception of one person) was borderline rude, with attitudes that suggested they weren't happy to be working in the service industry (I work in hospitality, so my expectations are realistic- a smile and pleasant helpfulness goes a long way in welcoming/helping guests- acting like guests are an inconvenience for basic requests like towels is ridiculous.) Housekeeping services leave a lot to be desired- my room, which was a private bunk bed quad shared with my partner, did not have hand soap upon arrival and we didn't get any after asking for some during our 3 night stay. Housekeeping removed our towels after our first night, as well as our floor mat, and failed to replace them until we requested more. I appreciated the bike rentals and beach towels available, however, requiring that the borrowers ID be left behind seems unnecessary, especially considering the ID's are all kept in a haphazard pile together. A couple dollar deposit with refund upon return seems like a much better system. Due to the pushing of cocktail sales around the pool area and garden, precedence of all seating is given to anyone who walks in and buys drinks- regardless of whether they have a room or not, so hotel guests may not be able to enjoy the garden.

I had to cancel my booking with orbitz to get a upgrade,I feel robbed! I only stayed at 1 night for $210 ,I needn’t Money back

No locker for guests. Bed sagging, not very comfortable, bathroom not clean. Guess it’s hard to have a clean bathroom when you have to share

I stayed in a private room along with my sister in Apt 1. The room was dirty, dated, and run down. The lighting was horrible supplied by a wall lamp dating back to the 1980’s. The bathroom was tiny and not functional or practical. It made getting ready to go out in Miami nearly impossible. The beds were uncomfortable and the bedding was minimal. The room remained humid despite the air conditioning constantly running. The only redeeming factor about this location is the pool and outdoor ambiance. The social scene is good and people are friendly. The staff is nice and accommodating. I’ve stayed at several “upscale” hostels throughout the US and internationally. Don’t waste your money staying here and just come over for a drink instead.

Nice patio/bar great area to relax and hang out to enjoy a drink or two.

Everything it is a beautiful place and the staff are great

I picked this hotel based off of the good reviews, but honestly, I don't know WHO is giving this place such high reviews. The room was tiny. There was absolutely NO sound barrier at all. You could hear everything that was happening in the hallway and outside the building. The shower rod containing the shower curtain fell down numerous times, even after they "fixed" it. Nobody at this hotel seemed to know what a wash cloth was. They didn't have any in the room for us, so we went to the desk to ask for some, and they sent up hand towels. The same thing happened the next day. It took us three days to finally get it through to someone what a wash cloth was, and they brought us ONE wash cloth, that's it. One of the lamps was also broken. The place was pretty clean, so I have to give them that. But quite frankly, the amount of money we paid to stay here was outrageous for the quality of our stay. I would not return.

It was clean, the rooms were nice. The hotel was cool, and it was the place to be in Miami Beach. Loved the free coffee in the lobby, the breakfast and the drink tickets. I thought it was strange that no soap was provided, but everything else was. The room was comfy but the mattresses were a little broken into. We were by the courtyard and it got a bit loud at night. But in general, we were very happy, would stay there again, and highly recommend it!

There was not enough pool chairs I like the restaurant food

Awesome bar and restaurant. Single King room is run down- bathroom has tiles falling apart, smells, and rusty fixtures. Music until 4A and lots of young people partying in the rooms next door to you- bring ear plugs.

Freehand Miami is a hostel that has more going for it in the actual location than anything else. The patio area is nice as is the lobby, but the rooms and plumbing are in dire need of an update/renovation. I have stayed here a few times now and in every room I have been in the water (either the sink or the toilet or both) leak/run and the drains in both of my showers have taken forever to drain, so when showering you will be standing in ankle-deep water in a matter of mins. Also, my lamps in the bunks have never worked during my stay. I reported this the last time to the front desk and nothing was done about it, so I had to resort to using the flashlight feature on my phone at night for the remainder of my 3-night stay. The front desk staff do not answer the phone, it just goes to a recording about "high call volume" which I found hard to believe at 1am when I wanted to confirm my reservation after a late arrival and was unable to. The beds are comfortable, but I wish they had a privacy curtain. Also, the comp breakfast is not really a "breakfast" so much as a couple of cereals, tiny muffins, and toast. They do offer cold brew from 10am-5pm in the lobby, but it was only available one time during my most recent stay. All in all, if you can get a cheap price here, it can be worth it for a couple of nights due to the location as it is close to a free trolley & bus stop and a couple blocks from the beach. But, if you are sensitive to noise, I would look elsewhere.

Staff was very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay again.

Beds were super uncomfortable, noise all night, drunk people on the hallways was not a pleasent experience

Very very close to the beach which was amazing and they served cold brew coffee in the lobby which was convenient.

Indian Creek Dr Miami Beach FL

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Miami Beach Boardwalk and Collins Avenue Shopping Area
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Outdoor pool

Located in South Beach, Freehand Miami is within a 5-minute walk of Miami Beach Boardwalk and within 15 minutes of other popular attractions like Collins Avenue Shopping Area. This 80-room, 3-star hotel welcomes guests with a restaurant, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Entertain your taste buds with bite to eat at the onsite restaurant, or chat with other guests at the free daily manager's reception.


Rooms

The 80 rooms are air-conditioned and have desks. Guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Beds sport premium bedding.


Property features

Guests of Freehand Miami enjoy an outdoor pool, free WiFi in public areas, and a meeting room. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with tours or tickets, luggage storage, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include coffee/tea in a common area, free use of bicycles, and a terrace.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 King Bed (Private)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Shared Dormitory, 1 Single Bed (Female Dorm with 4 Beds)

1 Twin Bed | Sleeps 1

Shared Dormitory, 1 Single Bed (Female Dorm with 8 Beds)

1 Twin Bed | Sleeps 1

Shared Dormitory, 1 Single Bed (Co-Ed Dorm with 4 Beds)

1 Twin Bed | Sleeps 1

Guest reviews for Freehand Miami

Everyone (33) Couples (2) Students (1) Family (3) Other (3)
5
Business Business

Need to let guest do Hooka in the foaya, and let us drinkin the night crowd...

By on Feb 26, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 28, 2020

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback we're glad you enjoy our hotel areas. While we do have to respect other guests, we will keep this in consideration.

1
Everyone

I checked in and checked right out! I didn’t realize your rooming with strangers like a hostel in Amsterdam! Cray Cray! The conditions of the hotel sucked! Smelled like an old persons house on meds and feet!

By on Feb 24, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 25, 2020

Dear Anonymous on Orbitz, Thank you for your honest feedback, we are sorry to hear this is not the place for you. We value your feedback. Rest assure we have taken action to become better now with our new management team. Should your future travels bring you back we hope to restore your confidence at The Freehand Miami.

3
Family

The garden and pool area at Freehand Miami is beautiful, a nice little oasis compared to the rest of Miami. The lobby is quirky and nice to cool off in/meet new people/read or do some work. Unfortunately, the front desk staff (with the exception of one person) was borderline rude, with attitudes that suggested they weren't happy to be working in the service industry (I work in hospitality, so my expectations are realistic- a smile and pleasant helpfulness goes a long way in welcoming/helping guests- acting like guests are an inconvenience for basic requests like towels is ridiculous.) Housekeeping services leave a lot to be desired- my room, which was a private bunk bed quad shared with my partner, did not have hand soap upon arrival and we didn't get any after asking for some during our 3 night stay. Housekeeping removed our towels after our first night, as well as our floor mat, and failed to replace them until we requested more. I appreciated the bike rentals and beach towels available, however, requiring that the borrowers ID be left behind seems unnecessary, especially considering the ID's are all kept in a haphazard pile together. A couple dollar deposit with refund upon return seems like a much better system. Due to the pushing of cocktail sales around the pool area and garden, precedence of all seating is given to anyone who walks in and buys drinks- regardless of whether they have a room or not, so hotel guests may not be able to enjoy the garden.

By , from New York on Feb 20, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 28, 2020

Dear Abigail, Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed our beautiful property. We do focus on being exactly like nothing else here in Miami where you can really kick back and enjoy nature and good company. I am very surprised to hear the service at the front desk was not welcoming, rest assured we have taken the necessary measures to improve on this. We do have one of the best bars here on the beach called Broken Shaker and invite both our guests as well as visitors so I suggest to reserve a spot. We llok forward to welcome you back to the Freehand Miami should your future travels bring you back to Miami.

1
Everyone

I had to cancel my booking with orbitz to get a upgrade,I feel robbed! I only stayed at 1 night for $210 ,I needn’t Money back

By , from The Islands on Feb 18, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 28, 2020

Dear Natalee, We are sorry to hear you feel this way we do have very affordable prices compare to other places here on the beach. We hope that next time around we can offer you a price you feel its suitable to you.

3
Everyone

No locker for guests. Bed sagging, not very comfortable, bathroom not clean. Guess it’s hard to have a clean bathroom when you have to share

By on Feb 2, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 18, 2020

Hello, Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that you were able enjoy it. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. Sincerely, Rachel Guerra | Rooms Director

2
Family

I stayed in a private room along with my sister in Apt 1. The room was dirty, dated, and run down. The lighting was horrible supplied by a wall lamp dating back to the 1980’s. The bathroom was tiny and not functional or practical. It made getting ready to go out in Miami nearly impossible. The beds were uncomfortable and the bedding was minimal. The room remained humid despite the air conditioning constantly running. The only redeeming factor about this location is the pool and outdoor ambiance. The social scene is good and people are friendly. The staff is nice and accommodating. I’ve stayed at several “upscale” hostels throughout the US and internationally. Don’t waste your money staying here and just come over for a drink instead.

By , from Brick, NJ on Jan 31, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 18, 2020

Hello, First, I want to thank you for your feedback. While I wish, you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it’s apparent in this case, we fell short. If you ever return to Miami Beach, please feel free to contact me. Sincerely, Rachel Guerra | Rooms Director

2
Everyone

By on Oct 29, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 18, 2019

Hello, First, I want to thank you for your feedback. While I wish, you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it’s apparent in this case, we fell short.

3
Family

Nice patio/bar great area to relax and hang out to enjoy a drink or two.

By on Oct 16, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 24, 2019

Hello, Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that you were able enjoy it. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

5
Business Business

Everything it is a beautiful place and the staff are great

By on Sep 4, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 5, 2019

Hello, Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that you were able enjoy it. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

3
Partner Couples

I picked this hotel based off of the good reviews, but honestly, I don't know WHO is giving this place such high reviews. The room was tiny. There was absolutely NO sound barrier at all. You could hear everything that was happening in the hallway and outside the building. The shower rod containing the shower curtain fell down numerous times, even after they "fixed" it. Nobody at this hotel seemed to know what a wash cloth was. They didn't have any in the room for us, so we went to the desk to ask for some, and they sent up hand towels. The same thing happened the next day. It took us three days to finally get it through to someone what a wash cloth was, and they brought us ONE wash cloth, that's it. One of the lamps was also broken. The place was pretty clean, so I have to give them that. But quite frankly, the amount of money we paid to stay here was outrageous for the quality of our stay. I would not return.

By on Jun 17, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 1, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am so sorry that you did not have a better experience while you were staying with us. We are working to address these issues.

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Miami-Hotels-Freehand-Miami.h6768-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Miami-Hotels-Freehand-Miami.h6768-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Miami-Hotels-Freehand-Miami.h6768-p2.Hotel-Reviews