Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

For my trip, it was centrally locates and easy to walk around London downtown, shopping, eatery and market. Highly recommended.

Overall a decent hotel. The staff is relatively helpful and nice. The breakfast is NOT free, which is fine but I didn’t know. The walls of the hotel hallways and my room were extremely marked up with black/dark markings which is not pleasing to the eye. The towels feel like sandpaper, and I almost was tempted to go buy my own they were so awful. Bed was not very comfy overall. They don’t do a fitted sheet and then another sheet and then the comforter like in the US which is standard. They just have a loose sheet fitted over the mattress and the comforter, which I really disliked. Personally it is not worth the $150-$200 a night. Location was nice and quiet right next to the Lambeth North station. Overall I would give 4 stars to cleanliness, 2 stars for overall quality of hotel (towels, markings, sheets), 3.5 stars to breakfast, 5 stars to service, 4 stars for location. So a solid 3 stars

Perfect location. Close to 2 train stations, gooooodd food, and neat graffiti. London eye is .4 miles away. Right down the road is a top rated Korean and Cuban restaurant.

Very convenient to the tube station.The rooms were comfortable and spacious. Our room has a view of the railroad track that does not produce any sound when windows are shut that is. There's a PRET and convenience store next door which is excellent especially when we needed snacks. The only recommendations I have is I wish there is a laundry facility on-site. Overall, a great first time stay in London.

I checked in after a very long day & to my surprise when i pulled the bed cover away to relax were several little black hairs on the sheets. I asked to be changed out & they did do the right thing & upgrade me to a larger room with a view as the only room they had remaining. The first room although good sized for London and similar to the upgraded room with a kitchenette, had a concrete wall outside my window so a definite improvement in location. I had expected a handiphone in the room based on their website to use to call back home on my solo trip & was one of the reasons i picked this hotel but was told from the front desk that they just got rid of them a few weeks ago for whatever reason as what they said made no sense. I also asked them to contact a taxi & their response after attempting a call was that their system was not connecting properly. Overall pretty poor hotel for 4 stars. My background is hospitality & I generally find value in what i book anywhere throughout the world as i am picky about the hotels i choose but would not recommend this place. There are much better hotels for a similar price within the Waterloo area.

New and clean. Staff is very friendly. Surrounding area at night can be a little sketchy. It is near a hostel and train station, lots of homeless congregate on the block. A few blocks walk from the London eye, which is great, but again having to walk under tunnels at night to get to and from town is a little unsettling. TONS of food vendors set up on the streets down the block during the day time. Chose to Uber home at night in the dark. Staff are a little slow when needing anything brought to your room like toiletries, extra towels, coffee for coffee machine, etc.

Location is great. Nice boutique hotel. Excellent......................

We enjoyed our stay. The room was spacious and well appointed. Great location with a deli, a grocery and coffee place right next door. The kitchenette was great and the shower never ran out of hot water. Sadly, we didn’t enjoy the mattress, it was awful the painful squeaky springs. We also couldn’t get the air conditioning to stay on. We kept waking up sweating 😓. OH YA! The underground station is across the street!

Excellent location and staff. The room was really clean and had a great view.

American-sized rooms in London! (Though our room was not as big as the one I'm seeing right now.) Not the more typical broom closet with half a bed in it that seems to be London-standard. Everything about the hotel itself was excellent. The location turned out to be disappointing. Yes, it's only 2 blocks or so TO Waterloo Station, but it's another 1/2 mile to the nearest entrance INTO the station.

Centrally located and walking distance to Waterloo train station. Having a Kitchenette provided a nice cost-savings for our time there. The hotel rooms are recently renovated, spacious and modern. It is also very close to many London attractions

Be prepared to defend your reservation and fight to not be charged for each extra towel, pillow, etc. We chose this hotel because of it's flexible layout, included kitchen, and great location - and were pleased by all. However, despite our reservation paid for 6 in 2 rooms we were told we couldn't have additional towels or pillows, etc. "because the room is for 2." Ultimately the manager "overrode" us not having to pay a fee, but for what we paid having anything less than 'happy to get that for you" was frustrating and caused delays.

Very clean hotel. We enjoyed our stay. Plan on staying here again in the future.

The room was spacious and clean. Water bottles and dish can be replenished or clean consistently.

We had a hiccup when we arrived at 3:00 a.m. when they were overbooked and did not have a hotel room for us. After a long, drawn-out process they put us up in their "sister" hotel 30 minutes away and we had to wait 45 minutes for a cab driver to come to take us there. It was not exactly the image of how I was expecting my arrival for the first time in London. Fortunately the manager took care of it first thing in the morning and got us a ride back and a room right away so we were able to unpack and go about our day of touring the city. We loved the location being near several train stations and even just walked to the majority of our destinations. We chose this property for the convenience of the kitchen in the room and the king size bed. Definitely worth having the extra space. Outside of the mishap that happened on arrival, our stay was wonderful here.

111 Westminster Bridge Road London England

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to St. Thomas' Hospital and Westminster Bridge
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Business center

Located in London City Centre, Marlin Waterloo is within a 5-minute walk of St. Thomas' Hospital and within 15 minutes of other popular attractions like Westminster Bridge. The 236 rooms at this 4-star hotel include refrigerators, coffee makers, and TVs.


Rooms

All 236 air-conditioned accommodations feature a separate bedroom. Guests can expect free WiFi and 40-inch TVs with digital channels. Beds are dressed in premium bedding and bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries. Washers/dryers, refrigerators, and coffee makers are other standard amenities.


Property features

Marlin Waterloo features a 24-hour fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and a business center. The front desk has multilingual staff standing by 24 hours a day to assist with concierge services and luggage storage. Additional amenities include a computer station, laundry facilities, and a reception hall.

Room options

Superior Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Studio, 1 Queen Bed with Sofa bed

1 Queen Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Studio, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Studio, 1 Queen Bed

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Marlin Waterloo

Everyone (31) Couples (6) Family (7)
5
Friends

For my trip, it was centrally locates and easy to walk around London downtown, shopping, eatery and market. Highly recommended.

By on Feb 26, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 26, 2020

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Marlin Waterloo for your stay as well as for taking the time to give us your wonderful feedback. We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay and the your room as well as its amenities were up to your expectations. Yes, it is true, we are very lucky with our location as it is close to some of London's most famous landmarks such as the London Eye and the Big Ben, various shops and restaurants as well as train and underground stations which makes transport around London very quick and easy. It was a pleasure having you as a guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at Marlin Waterloo. Kind regards, Anca

3
Everyone

Overall a decent hotel. The staff is relatively helpful and nice. The breakfast is NOT free, which is fine but I didn’t know. The walls of the hotel hallways and my room were extremely marked up with black/dark markings which is not pleasing to the eye. The towels feel like sandpaper, and I almost was tempted to go buy my own they were so awful. Bed was not very comfy overall. They don’t do a fitted sheet and then another sheet and then the comforter like in the US which is standard. They just have a loose sheet fitted over the mattress and the comforter, which I really disliked. Personally it is not worth the $150-$200 a night. Location was nice and quiet right next to the Lambeth North station. Overall I would give 4 stars to cleanliness, 2 stars for overall quality of hotel (towels, markings, sheets), 3.5 stars to breakfast, 5 stars to service, 4 stars for location. So a solid 3 stars

By on Feb 3, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 4, 2020

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a feedback regarding your stay with Marlin Waterloo. All feedback is really appreciated as we are constantly trying to improve our services toward all our guests. Also, I understand you found the bed not up to your expectations. I am not looking for excuses, but would like to inform you that at this current moment we are in process of making the beds more comfortable. Several mattresses were already changed, and we are also looking into offering an extra comfort by putting thicker mattress toppers. I do hope that the rest of your stay was comfortable, and you will offer us another chance to prove we can do better. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Marlin Waterloo in the near future. Kind regards, Alessia Pellegrino

4
Family

Perfect location. Close to 2 train stations, gooooodd food, and neat graffiti. London eye is .4 miles away. Right down the road is a top rated Korean and Cuban restaurant.

By on Nov 9, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 10, 2019

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Marlin Waterloo for your stay as well as for sharing your wonderful feedback with us. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your room as well as its amenities were up to your expectations. It was a pleasure having you as a guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at Marlin Waterloo. Kind regards, Anca Ciocan

4
Partner Couples

Very convenient to the tube station.The rooms were comfortable and spacious. Our room has a view of the railroad track that does not produce any sound when windows are shut that is. There's a PRET and convenience store next door which is excellent especially when we needed snacks. The only recommendations I have is I wish there is a laundry facility on-site. Overall, a great first time stay in London.

By , from Seattle on Oct 28, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 29, 2019

Dear AC, Thank you for taking the time to leave a feedback in regards to your stay with Marlin Waterloo. We are happy to know you found the accommodation and the amenities provided up to your expectations. In regards to the Laundry room, there is one on site, located at the basement level. We offer it complimentary for all our guests, but we do not provide the washing powder. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at Marlin Waterloo in the near future. Kind regards, Radu Mihalcea

5
Everyone

By on Sep 21, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 22, 2019

Dear Guest Thank you for your rating I hope you enjoyed your stay and had a great time in London. Look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards

3
Everyone

I checked in after a very long day & to my surprise when i pulled the bed cover away to relax were several little black hairs on the sheets. I asked to be changed out & they did do the right thing & upgrade me to a larger room with a view as the only room they had remaining. The first room although good sized for London and similar to the upgraded room with a kitchenette, had a concrete wall outside my window so a definite improvement in location. I had expected a handiphone in the room based on their website to use to call back home on my solo trip & was one of the reasons i picked this hotel but was told from the front desk that they just got rid of them a few weeks ago for whatever reason as what they said made no sense. I also asked them to contact a taxi & their response after attempting a call was that their system was not connecting properly. Overall pretty poor hotel for 4 stars. My background is hospitality & I generally find value in what i book anywhere throughout the world as i am picky about the hotels i choose but would not recommend this place. There are much better hotels for a similar price within the Waterloo area.

By on Sep 11, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 11, 2019

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback I am really sorry to hear that our service was not up to your expectations. Yes that is true we had to remove the handy phones from our rooms as the company stopped working with us for a while. I do apologies for the issue that you have found in the room after you checked in. We have addressed this cleaning issue to our housekeeping team and I can assure you that was only a small mistake from their side. I hope you had a nice time in London Kind regards

4
Partner Couples

New and clean. Staff is very friendly. Surrounding area at night can be a little sketchy. It is near a hostel and train station, lots of homeless congregate on the block. A few blocks walk from the London eye, which is great, but again having to walk under tunnels at night to get to and from town is a little unsettling. TONS of food vendors set up on the streets down the block during the day time. Chose to Uber home at night in the dark. Staff are a little slow when needing anything brought to your room like toiletries, extra towels, coffee for coffee machine, etc.

By on Sep 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 7, 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a feedback in regards to your recent stay with Marlin Waterloo. We are happy to know you found the accommodation, as well as the amenities provided up to your expectations. Also, I would like to thank you for the kind words addressed to our staff members. I will make sure your feedback is shared with them as well. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Radu Mihalcea

4
Everyone

By on Aug 20, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 20, 2019

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback as well as for choosing Marlin Waterloo for your stay in London. We are very happy to known that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your room as well as its amenities up to your expectations. It was a pleasure having you as a guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at Marlin Waterloo. Kind regards, Anca

4
Friends

Location is great. Nice boutique hotel. Excellent......................

By , from Victoria on Jun 8, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 10, 2019

Dear Jim, Thank you for choosing Marlin Waterloo for your stay in London and for your excellent feedback. We hope you had a great stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back at marlin Waterloo in the near future. Kind regards, Anastasia Lymperi

4
Partner Couples

We enjoyed our stay. The room was spacious and well appointed. Great location with a deli, a grocery and coffee place right next door. The kitchenette was great and the shower never ran out of hot water. Sadly, we didn’t enjoy the mattress, it was awful the painful squeaky springs. We also couldn’t get the air conditioning to stay on. We kept waking up sweating 😓. OH YA! The underground station is across the street!

By on May 24, 2019

Review comment responded on May 24, 2019

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Marlin Waterloo. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Anastasia Lymperi

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/London-Hotels-Marlin-Waterloo.h18561390-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /London-Hotels-Marlin-Waterloo.h18561390-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/London-Hotels-Marlin-Waterloo.h18561390-p2.Hotel-Reviews