Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The hotel pool and pool area was freezing cold. My son cried the whole time while at the pool. I told the lady at front desk and she wasn’t sure why it was so cold and tried calling someone but the issue was never fixed. Also the floor we stayed on was freezing cold like we were outside. Apparently the heat didn’t work and the hotel was waiting on a part. No one should have to deal with being cold while staying at a hotel. The staff even was wearing coats while working due to the cold temperatures throughout the hotel.

We had to change room 3 times First room leaky toilet Second room AC and light did not work Breakfast - lousy, poorly cooked eggs, and sausages Only thing that worked was the coffee in lobby and in rooms They classify the Reims as suite but it is far away from suite with really bad sofa Not staying again Ever in this place

Bed had horrible wear and tear. It was dipped in the middle. I couldn’t sleep comfortably at all. I paid $160 for a room that was horrible. The staff was excellent!

Clean and very friendly staff

It's located near shopping and restaurants. For the price I couldn't ask for more

Close to stores/restaurants and back from road for noise reduction. Listed hot tub, but didn´t have, which was a bummer for our girl´s retreat. Awesome breakfast bar with lots to choose from, including berries and cashews for yogurt. We had a plug that did not work, a wheel missing from the footstool, and a popcorn kernel on the floor. Otherwise, good. Desk clerk was super friendly.

The staff was very Nice and helpful the rooms were very beautiful and comfortable and we had a great time !

The noise was unbearable. Both windows in our room had some bright beam lights shining in them. Even with the room darkened shades pulled we had a 2x3 foot bright light coming under each window for the whole night! Breakfast was terrible. Very disappointed and wouldn’t stay there again.

The night stand between the beds collapsed and we had no heat...they sent a repair man to drill while we were in the room...the front desk was very confused and not very friendly or helpful! We checked out and went to the Hampton Inn on Stephenson and it was a much better experience!!

I've never been to a Hampton Inn that was run down with poor service to match, until now.

Very clean hotel. Nicely decorated and well kept. Would definitely stay at this Hotel again. Front desk staff needs more training with hospitality. Breakfast was excellent and overall it was well worth the stay.

safe area, parking lite, people all very friendly, clean rooms, next to large shopping department store, great to get supplies that we needed

I stayed at this hotel for a wedding and it was everything I expect from a Hampton. Clean appearance, comfortable. I also got a really good rate.

The room wasn't even available. This was a horrible situation. We'll never book at Hampton Inn again.

The room was absolutely amazing. My boyfriend and I had a jacuzzi suite. It was very clean, the hotel offers a very nice continental breakfast I would definitely stay here again.

Excellent hotel, good service, nice area we just stayed for one night we we for sure will be back again

Very friendly and nice services. I left my iPhone in room and get it back quickly.

Love the beds! Great mattress, fluffy comforter and squishy pillows. always sleep great here!

Stayed for 1 night, a Friday. Was greeted by the nicest employee after a 5+ hour drive. She checked me in very quickly and also filled me in on the local restaurants at the same time. My room was quite large and my bed very comfortable. The cleanliness if my room was excellent! I had a perfect night and got the rest I needed. I will stay here again.

Van Dyke Ave Sterling Heights MI

Hotel highlights

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Fitness center

Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit/Sterling Heights places you within a 10-minute drive of Mapleview Medical and Freedom Hill Amphitheatre. This hotel has 76 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Dining

Free buffet breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning from 6:00 AM to 10:00 AM.


Rooms

Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit/Sterling Heights's 76 rooms provide sofa beds, microwaves, and refrigerators. Guests can enjoy cable TV and stay connected with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Coffee makers, free local calls, and safes are also standard.


Property features

Renovated in 2018, Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit/Sterling Heights offers a gym, free WiFi in public areas, and a 24-hour business center. If you plan to drive, free parking is available. The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help with securing valuables, dry cleaning/laundry, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include coffee/tea in a common area, express check-in, and laundry facilities.

Room options

Studio, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

One king non smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Studio, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible, Non Smoking

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Two queen beds non smoking

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit/Sterling Heights

Everyone (10) Couples (5) Business (1) Family (5) Friends (1)
2
Family with small children

The hotel pool and pool area was freezing cold. My son cried the whole time while at the pool. I told the lady at front desk and she wasn’t sure why it was so cold and tried calling someone but the issue was never fixed. Also the floor we stayed on was freezing cold like we were outside. Apparently the heat didn’t work and the hotel was waiting on a part. No one should have to deal with being cold while staying at a hotel. The staff even was wearing coats while working due to the cold temperatures throughout the hotel.

By on Jan 20, 2022

Review comment responded on Jan 20, 2022

I apologize for the inconvince you had with your stay. We have fixed the heat in the hallways and everything is back to normal. We hope you stay with us in the near future. Hopefully next time we can make your stay more comforatble

1
Family

We had to change room 3 times First room leaky toilet Second room AC and light did not work Breakfast - lousy, poorly cooked eggs, and sausages Only thing that worked was the coffee in lobby and in rooms They classify the Reims as suite but it is far away from suite with really bad sofa Not staying again Ever in this place

By on Oct 18, 2021

1
Partner Couples

Bed had horrible wear and tear. It was dipped in the middle. I couldn’t sleep comfortably at all. I paid $160 for a room that was horrible. The staff was excellent!

By on Jul 17, 2021

4
Partner Couples

Clean and very friendly staff

By on Jun 7, 2021

4
Family with small children

It's located near shopping and restaurants. For the price I couldn't ask for more

By , from Sterling heights mi on Jan 4, 2021

4
Friends

Close to stores/restaurants and back from road for noise reduction. Listed hot tub, but didn´t have, which was a bummer for our girl´s retreat. Awesome breakfast bar with lots to choose from, including berries and cashews for yogurt. We had a plug that did not work, a wheel missing from the footstool, and a popcorn kernel on the floor. Otherwise, good. Desk clerk was super friendly.

By on Sep 12, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 13, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey! We hope to see you at the hotel again soon.

5
Everyone

The staff was very Nice and helpful the rooms were very beautiful and comfortable and we had a great time !

By on Aug 5, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 21, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey! We hope to see you with us again soon.

4
Everyone

By on Apr 8, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 30, 2019

Thank you for your feedback!

1
Partner Couples Family

The noise was unbearable. Both windows in our room had some bright beam lights shining in them. Even with the room darkened shades pulled we had a 2x3 foot bright light coming under each window for the whole night! Breakfast was terrible. Very disappointed and wouldn’t stay there again.

By on Mar 4, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 7, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. We are sorry that you were disappointed in your stay. We appreciate the feedback so that we can ensure that the problems you had in your guest room can be corrected right away. I have shared this feedback with our maintenance staff. If you would be willing to give us another chance I would like to offer you a discount on a future stay.

2
Everyone

The night stand between the beds collapsed and we had no heat...they sent a repair man to drill while we were in the room...the front desk was very confused and not very friendly or helpful! We checked out and went to the Hampton Inn on Stephenson and it was a much better experience!!

By on Nov 25, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 25, 2018

Thank you for the review,

Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit/Sterling Heights

36400 Van Dyke Ave, Sterling Heights, MI 48312
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Detroit-Hotels-Hampton-Inn-&-Suites-Detroit/Sterling-Heights.h968168-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Detroit-Hotels-Hampton-Inn-&-Suites-Detroit/Sterling-Heights.h968168-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Detroit-Hotels-Hampton-Inn-&-Suites-Detroit/Sterling-Heights.h968168-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions