Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Room was very small, no microwave. Could hear the traffic all night. Ok but for the price point I was expecting a better room.

Microtel is becoming our “go to” place for many reasons. Clean, quite, affordable and nice rooms. We have pets so finding a nice motel is hard. Microtel consistently delivers on hospitality time and time again. I was a little disappointed with the Internet speed which hovered right around .5 mbps.

Easy access to the highway and food. Staff is friendly.

Tv's in rooms are too small. Refrigerator needed defrosted. Terrible water pressure due to plumbing issues.

Was easy to find. Walkable to restaurant s pleasant staff

Stayed one night, check in was easy and staff was friendly, had a good breakfast before leaving. Overall experience was nice.

Good staff, clean and a basic motel. Location was good for what e were doing and price was good.

I have stayed at this property off and on for the last 6 years and have never failed to have a good nights rest. I would recomment this location to anyone.

The room décor and comfort was nice. The breakfast was pleasant and had a nice variety. The rate was very reasonable. The lawn outside was quite long and the hallways could have been vacuumed a little better. Otherwise, was pleased.

Staff was friendly..funitures could use an upgrade.

Clean and simple. Staff very friendly. Great location near numerous places to eat and shop.

Great hotel.. hotel staff is really nice and helpful..

Nice staff.. rooms could be a little more inspected.. they made my stay good after an incident so not bad at all..

This is my first experience staying in a Microtel and I was very pleasantly surprised. Just what I needed for a good nights sleep while on the road.

Perfect place for a quick stay. Clean, good complimentary breakfast. We just wanted a basic, clean place and that is what we got.

Plum Dr Urbandale IA

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • 24-hour fitness center

Located within a mile (2 km) of IHS-Iowa Health Systems, Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines is within 3 miles (5 km) of Pioneer Hi-Bred Headquarters. This hotel has 76 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, a 24-hour fitness center, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is served each morning from 6 AM to 9:30 AM.


Rooms

All of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines's 76 air-conditioned rooms provide coffee makers, free long-distance calls, and free local calls. Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Ironing boards and desks are also standard.


Property features

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines features a 24-hour fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and a business center. If you drive, take advantage of free parking. The 24-hour front desk has staff always at the ready. Additional amenities include express check-out, laundry facilities, and a TV in a common area.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Studio Suite, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Studio Suite, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 6

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines

Everyone (21) Couples (1) Business (1) Family (6) Other (2)
2
Partner Couples

Room was very small, no microwave. Could hear the traffic all night. Ok but for the price point I was expecting a better room.

By on Sep 18, 2020

Review comment responded on Nov 10, 2020

We are sorry you were not happy with your stay. You booked the cheapest room we have. Build for a sleep and go. We do have rooms with a microwave and mini fridge, suites. we could have upgraded you. Not sure about hearing traffic, unless hallway window was open. Once again we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We do hope that you have a wonderful day.

5
Family

Microtel is becoming our “go to” place for many reasons. Clean, quite, affordable and nice rooms. We have pets so finding a nice motel is hard. Microtel consistently delivers on hospitality time and time again. I was a little disappointed with the Internet speed which hovered right around .5 mbps.

By , from WAUTOMA WI on Aug 21, 2020

Review comment responded on Aug 28, 2020

We thank you for your review. We are working on getting a new internet provider, however we have to wait for our contract to run out. We hope that you have a fantastic day.

3
Everyone

Easy access to the highway and food. Staff is friendly.

By on Jun 2, 2020

Review comment responded on Jun 2, 2020

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review.

3
Family

Tv's in rooms are too small. Refrigerator needed defrosted. Terrible water pressure due to plumbing issues.

By on Feb 29, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 1, 2020

thank you for your review

4
Everyone

By on Nov 15, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 16, 2019

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review.

5
Everyone

By on Nov 11, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 12, 2019

Thank you for staying with us

4
Everyone

Was easy to find. Walkable to restaurant s pleasant staff

By on Sep 3, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 3, 2019

thanks for staying with us

5
Family

Stayed one night, check in was easy and staff was friendly, had a good breakfast before leaving. Overall experience was nice.

By on Aug 19, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 19, 2019

Thank you for staying with us

4
Family

Good staff, clean and a basic motel. Location was good for what e were doing and price was good.

By on Aug 2, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 3, 2019

thanks you very much for staying with us

5
Business Business

I have stayed at this property off and on for the last 6 years and have never failed to have a good nights rest. I would recomment this location to anyone.

By on Jul 25, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 25, 2019

thanks you very much for staying with us from long time

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines

8711 Plum Dr, Urbandale, IA 50322
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Des-Moines-Hotels-Microtel-Inn-&-Suites-by-Wyndham-Urbandale/Des-Moines.h578493-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Des-Moines-Hotels-Microtel-Inn-&-Suites-by-Wyndham-Urbandale/Des-Moines.h578493-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Des-Moines-Hotels-Microtel-Inn-&-Suites-by-Wyndham-Urbandale/Des-Moines.h578493-p2.Hotel-Reviews