Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

He couldn't fill the bathtub because the stopper was broken and the shower curtain holder was about to fall off the wall. None of the equipment in the exercise room was in operation. All of it was broken. The breakfast was substandard.

The TV didn’t work and the staff was unprofessional and untimely on their response to issues. She had to do laundry instead of helping us.

Room was probably 85-90 degrees when we checked in. We had a room with a hot tub and there was gum stuck to the area around the tub and several other spots that were obviously not cleaned.

Particularly liked the room layout. Very functional and comfortable. Did not like NOT being able to get a copy of expenses from clerk at checkout. Have yet to see email copy???

Pet Friendly

Clean room. Comfortable beds.

Room was very small, no microwave. Could hear the traffic all night. Ok but for the price point I was expecting a better room.

Microtel is becoming our “go to” place for many reasons. Clean, quite, affordable and nice rooms. We have pets so finding a nice motel is hard. Microtel consistently delivers on hospitality time and time again. I was a little disappointed with the Internet speed which hovered right around .5 mbps.

Easy access to the highway and food. Staff is friendly.

Tv's in rooms are too small. Refrigerator needed defrosted. Terrible water pressure due to plumbing issues.

Was easy to find. Walkable to restaurant s pleasant staff

Stayed one night, check in was easy and staff was friendly, had a good breakfast before leaving. Overall experience was nice.

Good staff, clean and a basic motel. Location was good for what e were doing and price was good.

I have stayed at this property off and on for the last 6 years and have never failed to have a good nights rest. I would recomment this location to anyone.

The room décor and comfort was nice. The breakfast was pleasant and had a nice variety. The rate was very reasonable. The lawn outside was quite long and the hallways could have been vacuumed a little better. Otherwise, was pleased.

Plum Dr Urbandale IA

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • 24-hour fitness center

Located within a mile (2 km) of IHS-Iowa Health Systems, Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines is within 3 miles (5 km) of Pioneer Hi-Bred Headquarters. This hotel has 76 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, a 24-hour gym, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is served each morning from 6 AM to 9:30 AM.


Rooms

Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Other amenities include sofa beds, coffee makers, and free long-distance calls.


Property features

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines features a 24-hour gym, free WiFi in public areas, and a business center. If you drive, take advantage of free parking. The 24-hour front desk has staff always at the ready. Additional amenities include express check-out, laundry facilities, and a TV in a common area.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Studio Suite, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Studio Suite, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 6

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines

Everyone (23) Couples (4) Family (7)
5
Everyone

By on Sep 26, 2022

Review comment responded on Sep 30, 2022

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review

3
Family

He couldn't fill the bathtub because the stopper was broken and the shower curtain holder was about to fall off the wall. None of the equipment in the exercise room was in operation. All of it was broken. The breakfast was substandard.

By on Jul 29, 2022

Review comment responded on Jul 30, 2022

Thank you for giving us your feedback. The issue that you have described have been addressed and repairs made. Thank you for your time. We are in hopes that you will stay with us again. We apologize that your wasnt up to standards.

2
Family

The TV didn’t work and the staff was unprofessional and untimely on their response to issues. She had to do laundry instead of helping us.

By on Jul 27, 2022

2
Partner Couples

Room was probably 85-90 degrees when we checked in. We had a room with a hot tub and there was gum stuck to the area around the tub and several other spots that were obviously not cleaned.

By on Oct 4, 2021

Review comment responded on Oct 4, 2021

We thank you for your review. We are sorry for this. Please let us know what room you were in and what name the reservation was under. I can not seem to find a Kasey in our system that had a hot tub room. This way we can check it out. We hope that you have a fantastic day.

4
Everyone

Particularly liked the room layout. Very functional and comfortable. Did not like NOT being able to get a copy of expenses from clerk at checkout. Have yet to see email copy???

By on Jul 23, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 23, 2021

Thank you for your review. I would look this up but you put this in under anonymous. If you paid orbiz you will have to get your copy of expenses from them. They do not give us that information. We hope that you have a fantastic day.

4
Partner Couples

Pet Friendly

By on Jul 12, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 19, 2021

We thank you for your review and yes we like those furry friends. We hope that you have a fantastic day.

4
Partner Couples

Clean room. Comfortable beds.

By on Jun 13, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 13, 2021

We thank you for taking the time to send us a review. I will share your comments with the staff. We hope that you have a fantastic day.

5
Everyone

By on May 19, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 1, 2021

We thank you for your review and hope that you have a fantastic day.

2
Partner Couples

Room was very small, no microwave. Could hear the traffic all night. Ok but for the price point I was expecting a better room.

By on Sep 18, 2020

Review comment responded on Nov 10, 2020

We are sorry you were not happy with your stay. You booked the cheapest room we have. Build for a sleep and go. We do have rooms with a microwave and mini fridge, suites. we could have upgraded you. Not sure about hearing traffic, unless hallway window was open. Once again we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We do hope that you have a wonderful day.

5
Family

Microtel is becoming our “go to” place for many reasons. Clean, quite, affordable and nice rooms. We have pets so finding a nice motel is hard. Microtel consistently delivers on hospitality time and time again. I was a little disappointed with the Internet speed which hovered right around .5 mbps.

By , from WAUTOMA WI on Aug 21, 2020

Review comment responded on Aug 28, 2020

We thank you for your review. We are working on getting a new internet provider, however we have to wait for our contract to run out. We hope that you have a fantastic day.

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines

8711 Plum Dr, Urbandale, IA 50322
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Des-Moines-Hotels-Microtel-Inn-&-Suites-by-Wyndham-Urbandale/Des-Moines.h578493-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Des-Moines-Hotels-Microtel-Inn-&-Suites-by-Wyndham-Urbandale/Des-Moines.h578493-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Des-Moines-Hotels-Microtel-Inn-&-Suites-by-Wyndham-Urbandale/Des-Moines.h578493-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions