Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Carson City Plaza Hotel and Event Center

2.0 out of 5.0

Carson City Plaza Hotel and Event Center

2.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

sucked. Dirty, cockroaches, rude staff and patrons

Very nice and friendly staff A clean hotel for an overnight stay with a good rate and very quiet as well. I would recommend it.

As expected for the price, I would gladly return .

cheap and decent accommodations. Constantly had trouble with card key. Other than this the staff were friendly and the room was spacious.

Excellent place, close to everything in town friendly people at the hotel

Convenient location. Facilities dated, dried food found under the table, otherwise clean. The time was incorrect on the clock. Breakfast adequate.

Quite nice staff good breakfast. Private close to shops and restaurants.

There are Ants all over room They do have sofa beds but when asked they said they can't change Break fast is OK and not so great Staff is not so friendly, but having kitchen helped us since we have kids.

Fine bang for the buck,comfortable ,accommodating,close to lots of action

The staff was so nice and helpful in every possible way. Unfortunately the room itself is old and sad. The beds are uncomfortable and loud (squeaky). The bedding is gross (not dirty, just so old that it can't be really clean). Breakfast was inedible except the prepackaged cereal. The OJ was literally unrecognizable (maybe Tang). There few working outlets in the room. The TV cable didn't work.

It was a great rate if you need to just spend the night

The staff are very nice and helpful. Not far to the Lake Tahoe with cheaper price.

As usual, good bang for the buck. Don't expect chocolates on the pillow, but a workingmans hotel, quiet, located to all that you might need in Carson city and a short drive to Tahoe in which you would never get a place this reasonable. Clean functional rooms with free wifi.

The room was very clean. We girls stayed here because we went to the Genoa Candy Dance in Genoa. The beds were real hard to sleep on. The pillows were not real good. The breakfast was good but it ended at 9:00 and on Sunday, we didn't get up real early so we missed it. The staff was very nice we enjoyed talking with them and they help us fine Genoa. Because this was the first year we have gone to it but it will not be the last, we are going to make it an annual event for girls weekend away from husband. Even thou it is the same weekend as Street Vibrations in Reno. The hotel has several rooms over 3 buildings. I like that I asked for no smoking and that is what I got. I think that one of the other buildings is for the smokers which was great because I did not smell any smoke in our room. I didn't use any of the amenities. The wireless was a little slow I think because there were so many people on the internet. The hotel was book full they didn't have any rooms to rent out on Sat night. The room did not have a coffee pot but we brought our own. It did have a microwave and a small refrigerator which was nice. We girls will stay here again next year for our annual trip while our husbands go hunting.

Great breakfast I loved break fasr here in this hotel. I loved overall.

I'm not sure if the person at the front desk was on drugs or just not very bright but the experience took about 30 minutes to check us in. Clearly, she was confused about how things were done.

The hotel is older, but clean and comfortable. Good value. Good continental breakfast.

I stay here often. if in the new building, its very nice at a low price. the older buildings in the back are a little run down.. so request the main building.

Things I like about this place based on the experiences of wife and self from staying 2 times for a total of 4 nights: Had a large college dorm type refrigerator pre-chilled. Felt relieved that if I tried and touch anything in the fridge I'd be charged. Nope. Nothing in the Fridge, but now my rather large ice tea bottle.. Minimal staff but maximal surveillance of guests. Always felt that the people in the hotel had you back. Security cameras outside. Carson is safer than most cities. Easy access and parking. Not so good, but not so bad: The rooms are clean and well maintained. The olfactory cues give one a feeling of tiredness and nostalgic air. Just a steady hotel, with predictable good service and average old time amenities. Would recommend if you need easy access to the city and surroundings this is it. It is not a hotel that you go to to impress, but to sleep soundly. With it's quaint feeling outlying buildings housing guests, seems like there is always room. And the price is right. '

We purposely booked this hotel since we stayed there last year and was extremely impressed. It should not be listed as a 1 star as it is far better than that!

801 S Carson St Carson City NV

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Nevada State Capitol and Nevada State Museum
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking

Carson City Plaza Hotel and Event Center places you within a 15-minute stroll of popular sights such as Nevada State Capitol and Nevada State Museum. This hotel has 166 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free continental breakfast, served each morning from 6:30 AM to 9:30 AM.


Rooms

Guests can enjoy a flat-screen TV and stay connected with free WiFi. The pillowtop bed provides a full night's sleep, and the bathroom offers a soaking tub, hair dryers, and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a refrigerator, a microwave, and free local calls.


Property features

Carson City Plaza Hotel and Event Center features a fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and a conference center. You can take advantage of free parking, along with an airport shuttle (available 24 hours) for USD $60.00 per vehicle one way. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with dry cleaning/laundry and securing valuables. Additional amenities include coffee/tea in a common area, laundry facilities, and wedding services.

Room options

Deluxe Room

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Suite, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Carson City Plaza Hotel and Event Center

Everyone (10) Couples (11) Business (4) Family (10) Friends (5) Other (4)
1
Families Business Business Travelers

sucked. Dirty, cockroaches, rude staff and patrons

By on Mar 11, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 30, 2019

I am so very sorry for your experience at our facility. We will use your review to help us make our hotel more accommodating. Thank you and have a wonderful day.

5
Everyone

Very nice and friendly staff A clean hotel for an overnight stay with a good rate and very quiet as well. I would recommend it.

By on Nov 18, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 18, 2018

Thank you so much for the awesome review! We appreciate your visit with us and hope to see you again.

4
Everyone

As expected for the price, I would gladly return .

By on Sep 19, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 24, 2018

We look forward to your return.

3

cheap with decent accommodation

Everyone

cheap and decent accommodations. Constantly had trouble with card key. Other than this the staff were friendly and the room was spacious.

By on Aug 25, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 24, 2018

Sorry about the troubles with the key card. Thank you for the feedback.

4
Everyone

Excellent place, close to everything in town friendly people at the hotel

By on Aug 5, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 24, 2018

Thank you for the positive review.

3
Everyone

Convenient location. Facilities dated, dried food found under the table, otherwise clean. The time was incorrect on the clock. Breakfast adequate.

By on Jun 26, 2018

Review comment responded on Jul 1, 2018

Thank you very much for your review and feedback. I am sorry for the crumbs on the floor. We appreciate you very much and hope you have a wonderful day.

4
Everyone

Quite nice staff good breakfast. Private close to shops and restaurants.

By , from montana on Dec 21, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 9, 2018

Good to hear you were pleased with our accommodations and staff. As well as the convenient location to our downtown venues.

1

avoid if you can ....

Everyone

There are Ants all over room They do have sofa beds but when asked they said they can't change Break fast is OK and not so great Staff is not so friendly, but having kitchen helped us since we have kids.

By , from bay area on Aug 23, 2017

4

overnight only

Everyone

Fine bang for the buck,comfortable ,accommodating,close to lots of action

By , from san fran on Aug 18, 2017

2

we paid for two nights but left after one.

Families

The staff was so nice and helpful in every possible way. Unfortunately the room itself is old and sad. The beds are uncomfortable and loud (squeaky). The bedding is gross (not dirty, just so old that it can't be really clean). Breakfast was inedible except the prepackaged cereal. The OJ was literally unrecognizable (maybe Tang). There few working outlets in the room. The TV cable didn't work.

By , from Santa Rosa, CA on Mar 14, 2017

Carson City Plaza Hotel and Event Center

801 S Carson St, Carson City, NV 89701