Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Staff was very friendly. Room was nice and comfortable.

Rude staff and such a horrible experience. Do yourself a favor and Stay somewhere else. Online they claim to be pet friendly (PF). I'm passing through town and book a reservation. I call to make sure my reservation is for a PF room and they confirm. I get there just to be told that not all rooms are PF and the room that is reserved for me Is not PF either. It's late at night and too late to cancel. Now I'm scrambling around trying to find another PF hotel that I can check into. They claim it was a mix up on their part yet days later still charge my card for the stay. I have to wait a week for a refund that should have never been charged in the first place.

Elias was the person working at 1045pm on a Monday night. He was unhelpful, unsimpathetic and had a jerk attitude of “yeah whatever, take it or leave it”. Thanks for making any future decisions easy about choosing anywhere else to stay but here. Also the property in general had trash, actual *trash* strewn around the walkways, stairs and parking lot. No thanks!!! Won’t be coming back and hope anyone reading this will consider somewhere else as well.

It was clean, nice, comfortable, affordable, very convenient!! My Wife and I had a 10 out of 10 experience! Stayed for 2 days and I would do it again!

Used ,filthy room,poor service !!!!!!!! rude staff por internet

When we opened the door, the room smelled of stinky feet. The mattress smelled bad. The linen and towels were clean, but the bed linen were chintzy. The bath tub was not cleansed priperly.

It was perfect easy to find. I asked for extended stay and they happily said yes.

Friendly staff. Very convenient location. Cable, decent wi-fi in rooms.

Good location. Friendly staff. Recommended...

Room was not very clean , stains on the carpet. Dirt under a sink , stinky fridge.

Room was cleaned very well. My stay left a good impression.

reasonable price, older building, fairly clean. Close to highway access. restaurants nearby. Quiet.

I love staying here when i visit Bakersfield. The roomz are always clean and attendants are the sweetest!

What hotel doesn't have soap for the bathroom? Door wouldn't close right. Horrible

truck was broken into while checkingyt cool had to fill out police report owner didn't have cameras security for my insurance company

we went home to discover we had lyce in our hair.

Enjoy staying here only negative experience is each time I stay here the WiFi never works which can be inconvenient. Other than that the stay is quite pleasant.

Nice hotel, just wish I would have remembered to ask for a non-smoking room. I liked having the kitchenette.

Neighborhood not very safe. Room smelled like smoke and not very clean.

overall this hotel was a excellent hotel room was clean bathroom kitchen I love it that it has all this stuff in it location is very good I am staying here by myself and I felt safe so I would say this is a good hotel

3318 California Ave. Bakersfield CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Laundry facilities
  • 24-hour front desk

Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue places you next to Camelot Park and within 2 miles (3 km) of Buck Owens Crystal Palace. This 120-room hotel has in-room conveniences like kitchens, refrigerators, and microwaves. Kern County Museum and Fox Theater are also close to this Bakersfield hotel.


Rooms

The 120 air-conditioned rooms feature kitchens with refrigerators, microwaves, and stovetops. Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Coffee makers, free local calls, and ironing boards are also standard. Weekly housekeeping is available.


Property features

Renovated in 2012, Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue offers free WiFi in public areas, coffee in a common area, and laundry facilities. Free parking is available if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help secure valuables, and answer any questions about the accommodations.

Room options

Studio, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Studio, 2 Full Beds, Non Smoking

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Studio, 2 Full Beds, Smoking

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Signature-Studio One Queen Non-Smoking

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue

Everyone (17) Couples (7) Business (11) Family (5) Other (8)
4
Everyone

Staff was very friendly. Room was nice and comfortable.

By on May 6, 2018

Review comment responded on May 6, 2018

Thank you for being our guest and for taking time to review your experience at Extended Stay America. It's so nice to know you found your suite comfortable and you were pleased with the exceptional service from our staff. Thanks for choosing our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1
Everyone

Rude staff and such a horrible experience. Do yourself a favor and Stay somewhere else. Online they claim to be pet friendly (PF). I'm passing through town and book a reservation. I call to make sure my reservation is for a PF room and they confirm. I get there just to be told that not all rooms are PF and the room that is reserved for me Is not PF either. It's late at night and too late to cancel. Now I'm scrambling around trying to find another PF hotel that I can check into. They claim it was a mix up on their part yet days later still charge my card for the stay. I have to wait a week for a refund that should have never been charged in the first place.

By on May 4, 2018

Review comment responded on May 6, 2018

First of all, we apologize you encountered so many difficulties during your stay. We can understand your disappointment, and we're sorry for the inconvenience you experienced. This is not the impression that we like our guests to leave with, and we will redouble our efforts to ensure this does not happen again. We truly hope you will give us another chance to prove we are committed to providing outstanding accommodations and service. Sincerely, Hotel Management

3

elias, you know nothing of customer service

Everyone

Elias was the person working at 1045pm on a Monday night. He was unhelpful, unsimpathetic and had a jerk attitude of “yeah whatever, take it or leave it”. Thanks for making any future decisions easy about choosing anywhere else to stay but here. Also the property in general had trash, actual *trash* strewn around the walkways, stairs and parking lot. No thanks!!! Won’t be coming back and hope anyone reading this will consider somewhere else as well.

By , from san jose california on Mar 7, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 9, 2018

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the service and cleanliness issues you encountered during your visit. We have room inspection processes in place, and we are working with our housekeeping to see where we dropped the ball. It's our goal to provide an excellent customer experience and we hope you will give us another opportunity to prove this to you on your next visit. Sincerely, Hotel Management

5
Everyone

It was clean, nice, comfortable, affordable, very convenient!! My Wife and I had a 10 out of 10 experience! Stayed for 2 days and I would do it again!

By on Jan 11, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 17, 2018

Nehemiah, thank you for your wonderful review of Extended Stay America. We are delighted to read you loved our convenient location and well-kept property. Thanks again for being our guest, and we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Hotel Management

2

dirty room

Everyone

Used ,filthy room,poor service !!!!!!!! rude staff por internet

By , from CA on Dec 20, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 22, 2017

Sara, we cannot apologize enough for the poor service you received during your stay with us. The incidents you highlight in your review concerns me very much. This is certainly not the type of service our hotel is known for, so we truly regret the inconvenience caused. We take comments like yours very seriously, so we are looking into where we went wrong and making changes to our processes to better serve our guests. We would welcome an opportunity to accommodate you once more and earn your highest marks. Sincerely, Hotel Management

2

disappointing

Everyone

When we opened the door, the room smelled of stinky feet. The mattress smelled bad. The linen and towels were clean, but the bed linen were chintzy. The bath tub was not cleansed priperly.

By on Nov 25, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 28, 2017

We are disheartened to read your feedback about your stay at our hotel. We apologize for the cleanliness issues you had in your room and regret the inconvenience this caused. We have shared your concerns with the housekeeping staff and have asked them to revisit our deep cleaning program. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again when in our area. Sincerely, Hotel Management

3
Everyone

It was perfect easy to find. I asked for extended stay and they happily said yes.

By , from California on Nov 17, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 19, 2017

Roger, thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad to know you had a good time here and were satisfied with all the aspects we offer. Thanks once more for your business, and we look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future. Sincerely, Hotel Management

5

good

Everyone

Friendly staff. Very convenient location. Cable, decent wi-fi in rooms.

By , from Los Angeles on Aug 25, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 27, 2017

Thank you for including Extended Stay America in your travel plans. We are delighted to read you enjoyed our convenient location and were impressed with our helpful associates. Your feedback is much appreciated, and we hope to be your hotel of choice every time you visit this area. Sincerely, General Manager

5
Everyone

Good location. Friendly staff. Recommended...

By on Aug 20, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 21, 2017

Many thanks for your review of Extended Stay America. It was great to know your experience, especially about our prime location and the courteous staff. It is our pleasure to be recommended by you, and we welcome you back on all your future visits to our area. Sincerely, General Manager

3
Everyone

Room was not very clean , stains on the carpet. Dirt under a sink , stinky fridge.

By on May 28, 2017

Review comment responded on May 30, 2017

Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for the less than a spotless condition of your guest suite and for the cleanliness issues you experienced. I have shared your concerns with my housekeeping team to ensure these mistakes does not happen again. We hope you will choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back our way. Sincerely, General Manager