Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Absolutely beautiful hotel located 5 minutes walking from the train station. It is in the heart of the city, and a short walk to pretty much anything you want to do in Amsterdam. The view from the rooms is breath taking. The only minor gripe that I have is that the bathrooms are a little cramped and my light was burnt out in bathroom, making it a little hard to get ready. Beautiful hotel 5/5.

Dirty carpets throughout hotel. Room Heater not adjustable. Froze at night. Horrible beds. Great gym, bar and hotel staff! Great location though.

Very close to the central railway station, so ideal for day trips to explore Holland. The staff are wonderful. Each time I have stayed they have gone out of their way to help.

My room wasn't cleaned the greatest prior to my arrival: * The cleaning crew had visited the room: the bed was made, the bathroom was set up for a new tenant (shower was cleaned, towels were stocked, little tubes of shampoo/conditioner were lined up). * After walking into the room, I went to wash my hands in the bathroom. The soap had already been taken out of the container and used. * Later, I noticed one of the towels had been crumpled a bit. I surmised this was from when the person who washed their hands. * Later, I looked into the refrigerator and mini bar only to discover there was half eaten food in there! I brought these concerns to the front desk. They offered to have my room cleaned properly. They also offered a meal voucher for my trouble. Other strange things: to get to my room, I had to walk up 2 mini flights of stairs, then down a full, narrow flight. I checked in at 9am and was offered this room (with the warning that it was down a flight of stairs or I could wait for the regular check in time. My room looked nothing like the pictures on the website. It was much more run-down.

Great location and the international tv channels. Clean and neat but the bed is not that comfort. Good value of money.

about a 2 min walk from the main train station. nice hotel. a tad pricey for the quality but the proximity makes ups for it i guess. if you want a true 4.5 or 5 star keep looking

The hotel is perfectly located right across from the train station and on the main strip of Damrak. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The check-in took a little longer than I would have liked. The room was nice but very dimly lit, and the air conditioner would either be completely on or completely off, but the temperature wouldn't adjust automatically. Bed was moderately comfortable. There was a huge line to check out at noon, and I really appreciated that someone was proactively asking people if they wanted to store their luggage, so that was done before checking out. Even though there was a long line, it went quickly.

Hotel in a great place doesn't get any better than that want to ride the train it is just right across the street absolutely easy to get on any change you want everything is right next to you you want to shop you can walk you want to go to the restaurant you have plenty of restaurants around liquor stores I mean this place is right in the center I love the location I mean the location is perfect I stay in executive room in this room was so small half of the trip after 7 days in this little room which was okay because I was never there the bathroom was very small air condition was very noisy in about two o'clock in the morning the room starts to smell like a dead fish I called the front desk they send someone to see what was going on and they offer me to put me in a upgrade room and we packed everything at two in the morning the new room was a lot bigger but no view at all. noise you can hear all the conversations out side of the room the door shakes every time somebody close at the door nearby but overall I like there hotel location the stuff was very friendly

I've stayed at this hotel a few times primarily for its location. It is steps from Central Station making it easy to get anywhere. It's also a nice hotel with many amenities. The concierge and bar personnel were great however the front desk personnel overall are not too friendly or helpful. They even ignore you at times making your wait longer than necessary. There are 2 individuals at the front desk who are exceptions to the "cold shoulder" treatment I've come to expect. I was returning to the hotel a following week-end and asked one gentleman to hold the room I had for my return and he told me that couldn't be done. Funny thing is I asked the friendly younger worker the same question on check out and he said he would be happy to hold the room for me on my return. Hmmmmm? Still though a bit pricey I would return....more pro's than con's.

We chose the Park Plaza because it was close to the Station Centraal. This would after all facilitate our return to Shiphol Airport. The Park Plaza met and exceeded all of those expectations. The hotel is in the center of all the cities activities. We found places to dine, to visit and we had the transportation to meet our plane on time. It was a great stay and I would work it out that way again in the future.

Property is at the heart of the city but closeness to train station makes for some less than desireable elements. Staff was superb. lighting the rooms was so dim, you could hardly find your way around. Very dark. Good front desk staff and extremely hepful for all your needs. Very hustle/bustle however. If that is your thing, then stay there for sure.

I felt the photos of the rooms were misleading. My room was tiny and dingy (window looked onto an internal rooftop), and had a very dated interior. Nothing at all like the large, bright, modern rooms shown. The bed was just OK - cheap mattress and lumpy/uneven comforter. The room was clean and quiet though. Overall, this was more like a 3-star than 4-star hotel, and I'd have been happier if it cost around $100-$150 a night instead of more than $200. Hotels in Amsterdam are not cheap, but I felt like this place was a rip-off and am not likely to stay here again.

This hotel is right across from Centraal Station. No need to take a taxi to get to your hotel. Also, the location is within walking distance of many attractions. The staff was polite and helpful. Room was basic but clean. However, it took a couple of days for them to change the lightbulb in the desk lamp. However, I'd stay there again.

It was my 2nd stay at Park Plaza. The concierge and bartenders along with reception desk personnel were great. So friendly and so helpful! First room I was checked into was older didn't smell so good and a real disappointment. The hotel moved me to another side and that room was much nicer. Not amazing but nicer. The location is perfect. Only downfall is the price. Way, way too much money for the room. Unless the rate was lower, I think on my next day I would try another hotel. If money doesn't matter… Then try Park Plaza!!!!

This hotel was very close to all. The sauna was hot!

Got lost for over 5 minutes looking for our room because we took wrong elevator. (2 separate sections not connected above 1st floor). Came in after 10pm and had to park car ourselves and pay high fee at public lot. Not much of a personal feel anywhere in hotel. The general area is quite crowded with Red Light district tour gatherings out front and loud parties outside our window at night. Room was comfortable and clean and staff for the most part were very helpful. Would have preferred something more personable.

Convienant location, directly across from Central Station. Staff was friendly and helpful and more than willing to help with any questiond

The sheets get changed every other day, so we were told, after finding our sheets just tucked back in on the 2nd day of our stay. If you want more than 1 roll of toilet paper, which any normal couple would need, you need to ask for it every time which is annoying and sort of embarrassing at the same time. It doesn't get changed every day, even if the cleaning staff clearly sees that the roll is almost done. We also found a used maxi-pad in the top of the extra pillow that was in the closet. I am not kidding, a used one. It was so disgusting that we couldn't bring ourselves to go and tell the front desk about it. The mini bar doesn't get checked or re-stocked daily (maybe once a week) & ours had a half-eaten Mars bar in it. The best part of this hotel is its location. It's right smack in the middle of everything and across the street from the Central Station which has the trains, trams & buses. The food in the hotel restaurant was really good. The concierges were all knowledgeable and super nice & helpful. So, if they would just get their cleaning situation straightened out, they would become a perfect hotel in Amsterdam.

I've stayed at this hotel many times in the past 10 years. The reasons are many, but the first thing on the list is the staff. The concierge service is phenominal. Polite, cheerful and helpful. I've always felt that I was treated like one of the family and actually hated to leave.

Stayed 2 days in September after the cruise, the locations is great as right opposite the Centraal station, room is updated and modern in the 'new' wing facing the station. Surprisingly quiet, bed is very comfortable. wi-fi did not work in the room. Overall nice stay.

Damrak 1-5 Amsterdam

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to The Old Church and Dam Square
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Indoor pool

Located in Amsterdam City Centre, Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam is within a 10-minute walk of popular sights such as The Old Church and Dam Square. This 4-star hotel has 306 guestrooms and offers conveniences like 2 restaurants, an indoor pool, and free in-room WiFi. It's in central Amsterdam and also a short walk from New Church and Royal Palace.


Dining

Enjoy dining at one of 2 onsite restaurants including Park Plaza Brasserie, which specializes in international cuisine. Savor a meal from the privacy of your room with 24-hour room service, or get a pick-me-up at the coffee shop/café. Start each morning with buffet breakfast, available for a fee from 6:30 AM to 10:30 AM.


Rooms

All of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam's 306 rooms are soundproofed and have an array of amenities, including minibars, coffee makers, and laptop-compatible safes. Flat-screen TVs come with cable channels and pay movies, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Beds are dressed in premium bedding and down comforters, and bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries. Phones and desks are also standard.


Property features

At Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, guests enjoy an indoor pool, a fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. Valet parking is available for EUR 30.00 per day. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with dry cleaning/laundry, tours or tickets, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include 10 meeting rooms, conference space, and a business center.

Room options

Executive King Room

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Superior King Iconic View

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Superior Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Everyone (3) Business (10) Couples (14) Family (4) Other (10) Friends (6)
5

beautiful hotel 5 minutes from the train

Everyone
View from the room View from the room

Absolutely beautiful hotel located 5 minutes walking from the train station. It is in the heart of the city, and a short walk to pretty much anything you want to do in Amsterdam. The view from the rooms is breath taking. The only minor gripe that I have is that the bathrooms are a little cramped and my light was burnt out in bathroom, making it a little hard to get ready. Beautiful hotel 5/5.

By , from chicago on Apr 4, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 10, 2017

Dear doug, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your most recent stay with us. It is an honor to read that you had a wonderful stay and you describe us as a beautiful hotel, thank you. I am happy that you have enjoyed the beautiful view from your room as well as our perfect location. Hopefully we may welcome you again during a future visit to Amsterdam. Hospitably Yours, Marieke

2

great location but old dirty run down rooms.

Everyone

Dirty carpets throughout hotel. Room Heater not adjustable. Froze at night. Horrible beds. Great gym, bar and hotel staff! Great location though.

By , from Amsterdam on Feb 12, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 6, 2017

Dear Mr. G, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to read that you did enjoy our location, our Active Club, our Lobby Lounge bar and our staff. I do regret that your room was not according your expectations. For any future references, I kindly advise you to always contact us in this case so we can take direct actions and move you to a different room, if available. I do hope we may welcome you again so we can show you the level of services and standards you may expect from us. Sincerely, Marieke

5

convenient, friendly

Everyone

Very close to the central railway station, so ideal for day trips to explore Holland. The staff are wonderful. Each time I have stayed they have gone out of their way to help.

By , from australia on Jan 12, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 7, 2017

Dear andrew, Thank you for your kind words regarding your most recent stay in our hotel. It's a delight to read your feedback and especially your compliments towards our staff, thank you very much! We are looking forward to welcome you again soon! Hospitably Yours, Marieke

2

not the greatest stay

Singles

My room wasn't cleaned the greatest prior to my arrival: * The cleaning crew had visited the room: the bed was made, the bathroom was set up for a new tenant (shower was cleaned, towels were stocked, little tubes of shampoo/conditioner were lined up). * After walking into the room, I went to wash my hands in the bathroom. The soap had already been taken out of the container and used. * Later, I noticed one of the towels had been crumpled a bit. I surmised this was from when the person who washed their hands. * Later, I looked into the refrigerator and mini bar only to discover there was half eaten food in there! I brought these concerns to the front desk. They offered to have my room cleaned properly. They also offered a meal voucher for my trouble. Other strange things: to get to my room, I had to walk up 2 mini flights of stairs, then down a full, narrow flight. I checked in at 9am and was offered this room (with the warning that it was down a flight of stairs or I could wait for the regular check in time. My room looked nothing like the pictures on the website. It was much more run-down.

By on Dec 15, 2015

4

great location

GetawayWithFriends

Great location and the international tv channels. Clean and neat but the bed is not that comfort. Good value of money.

By on Dec 7, 2015

4

great for walking around amsterdam

BusinessTravelers

about a 2 min walk from the main train station. nice hotel. a tad pricey for the quality but the proximity makes ups for it i guess. if you want a true 4.5 or 5 star keep looking

By on Nov 13, 2015

5

good location, friendly service

Singles

The hotel is perfectly located right across from the train station and on the main strip of Damrak. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The check-in took a little longer than I would have liked. The room was nice but very dimly lit, and the air conditioner would either be completely on or completely off, but the temperature wouldn't adjust automatically. Bed was moderately comfortable. There was a huge line to check out at noon, and I really appreciated that someone was proactively asking people if they wanted to store their luggage, so that was done before checking out. Even though there was a long line, it went quickly.

By on Nov 10, 2015

4

great place to visit

Couples

Hotel in a great place doesn't get any better than that want to ride the train it is just right across the street absolutely easy to get on any change you want everything is right next to you you want to shop you can walk you want to go to the restaurant you have plenty of restaurants around liquor stores I mean this place is right in the center I love the location I mean the location is perfect I stay in executive room in this room was so small half of the trip after 7 days in this little room which was okay because I was never there the bathroom was very small air condition was very noisy in about two o'clock in the morning the room starts to smell like a dead fish I called the front desk they send someone to see what was going on and they offer me to put me in a upgrade room and we packed everything at two in the morning the new room was a lot bigger but no view at all. noise you can hear all the conversations out side of the room the door shakes every time somebody close at the door nearby but overall I like there hotel location the stuff was very friendly

By on Aug 10, 2015

4

park plaza

BusinessTravelers

I've stayed at this hotel a few times primarily for its location. It is steps from Central Station making it easy to get anywhere. It's also a nice hotel with many amenities. The concierge and bar personnel were great however the front desk personnel overall are not too friendly or helpful. They even ignore you at times making your wait longer than necessary. There are 2 individuals at the front desk who are exceptions to the "cold shoulder" treatment I've come to expect. I was returning to the hotel a following week-end and asked one gentleman to hold the room I had for my return and he told me that couldn't be done. Funny thing is I asked the friendly younger worker the same question on check out and he said he would be happy to hold the room for me on my return. Hmmmmm? Still though a bit pricey I would return....more pro's than con's.

By on Jan 19, 2015

4

close to the station centraal

Families

We chose the Park Plaza because it was close to the Station Centraal. This would after all facilitate our return to Shiphol Airport. The Park Plaza met and exceeded all of those expectations. The hotel is in the center of all the cities activities. We found places to dine, to visit and we had the transportation to meet our plane on time. It was a great stay and I would work it out that way again in the future.

By on Jan 9, 2015