Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Our room was above a Karaoke bar that goes until sometime past midnight, we finally fell asleep to the sound of bad singing not sure when it finally stopped but it was after midnight. Also we found out when we checked in that they were going to start checking their fire alarm system the following morning. It would have been nice to sleep in since we were forced to stay up late because of karaoke. They told us the fire alarms would start around 9 in the morning....so we just got up before then and left. The price was good, I guess this is why.

Well let’s start with not having an elevator, and than wrap that up with the horrible horrible horrible underground I’m guess it’s called Canadian hip hop blasted until the literal fixtures shook until 3am! And the front desk didn’t and wouldn’t do anything.. they didn’t even mention anywhere on the website nor during check in that there was going to be a CONCERT! I would not recommend this place to anyone unless you like horrible music or if you plan on going to one of these venues!!! Waldorf not a good look! No one in there right mind would stay here knowing there was going to be music playing the entire night! I would have stayed on the 3mile stretch of homeless buffoons that litter the streets of this place. Sorry for the run on paragraph, but dear lord this has been a nightmare that You can’t wake from. From a hotel traveler to the next.... if the cost looks cheap and too good to be true than it’s TO GOOD TO BE TRUE!

It's got character, but the parking situation was poor, that was just because it was a busy weekend, but I still feel like if they are going to lease out their parking lot, they should let people know. That bothered me at the time, now I'm mad because I got eaten alive by bugs while I was there, I didn't realize how bad it was until I got back from my trip. they clearly have a problem

The hotel was everything we needed for our stay in Vancouver. Good location (not far from downtonw), spacious rooms, free parking and friendly staff.

Friendly staff close to downtown Starbucks and supermarket across the street

Hotel is in a seedy part of Vancouver and made me realize it's worth the extra money to stay closer to the west end of Vancouver. Was not told it was BC Day and that the hotel would be hosting an extremely loud block party right next to and under our room. We were given NO warning and I will never book with Orbitz or this hotel again.

Stayed here recently and the staff were great. Good food at the attached restaurant. Not a new building, but a fun vibe matching the attached Tiki bar. Could hear the music in the background during evening but not enough to bother sleep.

Great water pressure, sketchy location. Homeless & liquor store patrons a little scary

Honestly, we didn’t even get the opportunity to stay at this place. Canadian borders did not allow my wife and I to pass through due to my wife’s lack of paperwork. We reserved a room for 2 nights and would have made it to Vancouver by 12:30p, well ahead of check-in time. We called to request a cancellation, the manager refused the request and charged us for both nights. That is terrible customer service. That being said, I will not be considering this place the next time we Are able to visit Vancouver. Not sure if my review helps, give this a try if you prefer. It did not work out for us, and the lack of service from management was enough for me. Stay or no stay, good service is part of business.

The hotel met our expectations and was good enough for 2 nights. Room was clean and spacious. The only real downside was the noisy boulevard nearby.

I came to this hotel at 11:20 pm. When i was arrive, the door is lock, the paper write down they will stop to chick in at 11 pm. They didn't call me r give this message to me , so that night i need ro rent to other hotel. So bad hotel which I went.

Nothing to brag about, bed was comfortable, room was clean, quite reasonable for downtown Vancouver.

1489 Hastings St E Vancouver BC

Hotel highlights

  • Close to Port of Vancouver
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Located in East Side within a mile (2 km) of Port of Vancouver, Hotel at the Waldorf is within 2 miles (3 km) of other popular sights such as Rogers Arena. This 30-room hotel has a restaurant along with conveniences like free in-room WiFi and free self parking.


Dining

This hotel serves as home to a bar, along with a restaurant that specializes in Italian cuisine.


Rooms

Hotel at the Waldorf's 30 rooms provide coffee makers, free local calls, and safes. Guests can expect free WiFi and LCD TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries.


Property features

Hotel at the Waldorf features free WiFi in public areas and an ATM. There's free parking if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with tours/tickets and luggage storage.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Standard Double Room, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

King Bed with Murphy Bed

1 King Bed and 1 Twin Murphy Bed | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Hotel at the Waldorf

Everyone (10) Couples (1) Family (1)
3
Family

Our room was above a Karaoke bar that goes until sometime past midnight, we finally fell asleep to the sound of bad singing not sure when it finally stopped but it was after midnight. Also we found out when we checked in that they were going to start checking their fire alarm system the following morning. It would have been nice to sleep in since we were forced to stay up late because of karaoke. They told us the fire alarms would start around 9 in the morning....so we just got up before then and left. The price was good, I guess this is why.

By on Oct 17, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 17, 2019

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are sorry that the Karaoke kept you awake. It is supposed to finish at midnight. As per our conversation the next morning; I did speak to the Manager. As for the fire alarm - we are sorry about that - we were given less than 24 hours notice as well. Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay. We are priced extremely competitive in the market place as we are a 1940's boutique hotel with a rating of a 2 star. We have many guests that are actually pleasantly surprised at what we have to offer. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations.

1
Partner Couples

Well let’s start with not having an elevator, and than wrap that up with the horrible horrible horrible underground I’m guess it’s called Canadian hip hop blasted until the literal fixtures shook until 3am! And the front desk didn’t and wouldn’t do anything.. they didn’t even mention anywhere on the website nor during check in that there was going to be a CONCERT! I would not recommend this place to anyone unless you like horrible music or if you plan on going to one of these venues!!! Waldorf not a good look! No one in there right mind would stay here knowing there was going to be music playing the entire night! I would have stayed on the 3mile stretch of homeless buffoons that litter the streets of this place. Sorry for the run on paragraph, but dear lord this has been a nightmare that You can’t wake from. From a hotel traveler to the next.... if the cost looks cheap and too good to be true than it’s TO GOOD TO BE TRUE!

By on Sep 21, 2019

2
Everyone

It's got character, but the parking situation was poor, that was just because it was a busy weekend, but I still feel like if they are going to lease out their parking lot, they should let people know. That bothered me at the time, now I'm mad because I got eaten alive by bugs while I was there, I didn't realize how bad it was until I got back from my trip. they clearly have a problem

By on Jul 31, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 2, 2019

Thank you for sharing your review with regards to your stay with us. I believe we spoke about the parking situation when you were here; and we apologized. As for the bugs;this was not an issue while you were here. We do not have a problem as we have a regular service ( weekly) like other hotels to ensure this doesn't happen. It would be better if you could identify your self so we could take this claim seriously and confirm which room you were in - so we could ensure that there is no issue. Please feel free to contact me directly

4
Everyone

The hotel was everything we needed for our stay in Vancouver. Good location (not far from downtonw), spacious rooms, free parking and friendly staff.

By , from Sofia, BG on Nov 18, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 13, 2019

Thank you for taking the time review Hotel at the Waldorf. Yes our location is great - only 10 minutes to the heart of the City with many attractions and 2 blocks from famous Commercial Drive. Free Parking is a added value for sure - not many if any Metro Vancouver Hotels offer this. Love to hear great things about our staff - they work hard to make the experience of the guest great. Thanks again for sharing

4
Everyone

Friendly staff close to downtown Starbucks and supermarket across the street

By , from Menifee Ca on Sep 11, 2018

Review comment responded on Oct 31, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel at the Waldorf. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is great - a bus stop right out side the lobby and in 10 minutes you are in the heart of Vancouver or walking distance to famous Commercial Drive . Always nice to have a Starbucks near by. Thanks again for taking the time

2
Everyone

Hotel is in a seedy part of Vancouver and made me realize it's worth the extra money to stay closer to the west end of Vancouver. Was not told it was BC Day and that the hotel would be hosting an extremely loud block party right next to and under our room. We were given NO warning and I will never book with Orbitz or this hotel again.

By on Aug 7, 2018

4

near enough to downtown vancouver at a fair rate

Everyone

Stayed here recently and the staff were great. Good food at the attached restaurant. Not a new building, but a fun vibe matching the attached Tiki bar. Could hear the music in the background during evening but not enough to bother sleep.

By , from Minnesota on Jul 6, 2018

3

great water pressure, sketchy location

Everyone

Great water pressure, sketchy location. Homeless & liquor store patrons a little scary

By on Jul 3, 2018

1

will never consider this place again

Everyone

Honestly, we didn’t even get the opportunity to stay at this place. Canadian borders did not allow my wife and I to pass through due to my wife’s lack of paperwork. We reserved a room for 2 nights and would have made it to Vancouver by 12:30p, well ahead of check-in time. We called to request a cancellation, the manager refused the request and charged us for both nights. That is terrible customer service. That being said, I will not be considering this place the next time we Are able to visit Vancouver. Not sure if my review helps, give this a try if you prefer. It did not work out for us, and the lack of service from management was enough for me. Stay or no stay, good service is part of business.

By on Jun 13, 2018

4
Everyone

The hotel met our expectations and was good enough for 2 nights. Room was clean and spacious. The only real downside was the noisy boulevard nearby.

By , from Sofia, Bulgaria on May 23, 2018

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Vancouver-Hotels-Hotel-at-the-Waldorf.h4700983-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Vancouver-Hotels-Hotel-at-the-Waldorf.h4700983-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Vancouver-Hotels-Hotel-at-the-Waldorf.h4700983-p2.Hotel-Reviews