Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Spacious, great view of the marina, and friendly staff.

The view is unbeatable in San Diego.

I did not like the condition of our suite when we moved in and willingness of housekeeping to do a good job. It was filthy, the kitchen floor wasn't mopped, the stove top was very dirty, the bathroom floor wasn't mopped, the suite had a dated smell.

Scenery is great. Beach park is across the building… parking is very convenient

Loved it

It’s nice clean and quiet. The shower was clean. Walking into the hallway smelled clean, not chemically.

Clean, relaxing, Location

The room we had was advertised as having internet and t.v. The T.V. did not work. We reported it as soon as we arrived. Maintenance came out and said it could not be fixed as the internet service did not extend to our unit. The unit itself was dirty and poor condition. Not anything like the photos on the advertisement for the property. I was walking outside across from street after parking my car and only 5 minutes after in the same area as my car there was a shooting. Entire area was shut down all night. Very unsafe.

View of the bay and the morning fishermen, joggers passing by, all created a wonderful casual atmosphere.

Beautiful views. Old school design nicely maintained. Excellent parking. Close to the airport.

The customer service at the front desk was never helpful. Checked into a room without a remote for the TV and when we asked for it we had to keep asking over and over.

Older property in need of upgrades and renovation. Loose toilet seat, bathroom door not functional, lighting terrible. In six nights no room service whatsoever.

Shelter Island Dr San Diego CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Marina
  • 2 outdoor pools

Located in Point Loma, Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina is next to Shelter Island and San Diego Bay. This 227-room, 3-star aparthotel welcomes business and leisure travelers with 2 outdoor pools, a marina, and a restaurant.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at Blue Wave Bar & Grill, the aparthotel's onsite restaurant. For your convenience, a cooked-to-order breakfast is served each morning for a fee.


Rooms

Each apartment has an array of amenities, including a microwave, a refrigerator, and a coffee maker. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and a 42-inch LCD TV with cable channels. The bathroom offers hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include free local calls, a safe, and an ironing board.


Property features

Guests of Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina have access to a marina, 2 outdoor pools, and a gym. Self parking is available for USD 25 per night. Multilingual staff at the front desk are standing by 24/7 to help with tours or tickets, dry cleaning/laundry, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include 2 spa tubs, outdoor tennis courts, and free WiFi in public areas.

Room options

Standard Studio, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking, Marina View (with Sofabed)

1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 3

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Everyone (30) Couples (16) Family (33)
5
Family

Spacious, great view of the marina, and friendly staff.

By on Jan 4, 2023

Review comment responded on Jan 5, 2023

Dear Melissa, Thank you for the excellent review of the Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina. We are pleased to know how much you enjoyed our spacious accommodations and courteous associates. Our breathtaking views are truly spectacular, and we love that this helped to make your stay extra memorable. It was our pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to doing so again on your next visit to the area.Barbara Thompson, General Manager

5
Family

The view is unbeatable in San Diego.

By on Jan 3, 2023

Review comment responded on Jan 5, 2023

Dear James, Thank you for the excellent review of the Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina. Our breathtaking views are truly spectacular, and we love that this helped to make your stay extra memorable. It was our pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to doing so again on your next visit to the area.Barbara Thompson, General Manager

4
Everyone

By on Oct 27, 2022

5
Everyone

By on Oct 24, 2022

4
Partner Couples

I did not like the condition of our suite when we moved in and willingness of housekeeping to do a good job. It was filthy, the kitchen floor wasn't mopped, the stove top was very dirty, the bathroom floor wasn't mopped, the suite had a dated smell.

By on Sep 29, 2022

Review comment responded on Sep 29, 2022

Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your feedback, as we apologize for not exceeding your expectations, and we'll be addressing the negative points you've mentioned, wishing you consider to come back here in the future.

5
Everyone

By on Sep 28, 2022

Review comment responded on Dec 30, 2022

Dear Anthony, We are thrilled you had an excellent experience at the Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, and we appreciate the fantastic rating. It was our pleasure having you, and we look forward to your next visit with us.Barbara Thompson, General Manager

5
Everyone

By on Sep 28, 2022

Review comment responded on Dec 30, 2022

Dear Jessica, It is wonderful to know you enjoyed everything about your time at the Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina and that we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Barbara Thompson, General Manager

4
Everyone

By on Sep 4, 2022

Review comment responded on Dec 4, 2022

Dear Christopher, Thank you for taking the time to post a nice rating of Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina. We always want our guests to have a pleasant experience, and we are glad to see we were able to accomplish this while you were here. We hope you will revisit so we can provide you with another great stay.Barbara Thompson, General Manager

5
Everyone

By on Jul 23, 2022

Review comment responded on Nov 10, 2022

Dear Alicia,Thank you for the perfect rating. We are glad you had a wonderful time at the Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another outstanding experience.Barbara Thompson, General Manager

3
Partner Couples

Scenery is great. Beach park is across the building… parking is very convenient

By on Jul 19, 2022

Review comment responded on Jul 20, 2022

Antonino, thank you for reviewing your stay. We are happy your overall experience was pleasant, and you enjoyed the beautiful view and the parking space. However, we are sorry for the issues which kept it from being perfect. We appreciate you choosing our hotel, and we hope you will allow us to improve your impression of us the next time your travels bring you to the area. Barbara Thompson, General Manager

Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina

2051 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/San-Diego-Hotels-Best-Western-Plus-Island-Palms-Hotel-&-Marina.h9660-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /San-Diego-Hotels-Best-Western-Plus-Island-Palms-Hotel-&-Marina.h9660-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/San-Diego-Hotels-Best-Western-Plus-Island-Palms-Hotel-&-Marina.h9660-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions