Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Meliá Century Hotel Ponce

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

El elevador estaba dañado, tuvimos que subir las escaleras hasta el cuarto piso. El cuarto estaba en condiciones pobres. El hotel en sí estaba precioso, el lobby muy bonito decorado.

Me and my friends loved it , we would definitely stay here again the inside it’s really cute the employees were so helpful and friendly thanks for having us Melli

Hotel was in renovation which was not mentioned when I booked it. Had to change rooms three times. First room got locked in and couldn’t get out. Had to call in twice the front desk to someone come and open the door. The second room the A/C was not working. Third room the tv was forming but no sound. Each room didn’t had the AC on when you first enter so it has a strange smell at the beginning. Bathrooms were extremely small. Oh and the Elevator not working so I had to drag my suitcase to my second floor (lots of steps) and no offer of help. Also had to pay additional for parking. I’m glad I only stayed one day. Not worth it.

The room itself was a little dated but the overall property was very nice.

Very nice central location. My room key was the old style key and lock. It was not yet updated to a card key like the rest of the hotel, which offers higher security. Nice hotel and pool. White, black and mustard colored PVC furniture in restaurant was very tacky. Otherwise we really enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

The outside of the property was clean and well decorated, the staff were friendly. However the unit was a disappointment. The bathroom was poorly cleaned, Lacked the basic necessities for a bath. Initially advertised as breakfast included, however upon breakfast we were told we had to pay for breakfast.

No phones in the rooms. I used my cell phone to call front desk...never answer the phone.

Old hotel, no elevator, dirty room, 4th floor looked like a scene of walking dead, this is a terrible hotel stay away!

Close to everything. Very friendly and helpful employees.

Awesome customer service and very helpful. Will return again

Nice hotel in Ponce Historic Downtown excellent facilities, clean & romantic. Only the parking facilities are very limited and valet parking is Kaotic and disorganized. Other than that is a very nice hotel with good price.

15 minutes drive to la Guancha, you have to go there for sure, don't forget Castillo Seralles also.

No space in the bathroom. The toilet was underbottom of the sink. You open the door of the bathroom and the shower it's 6 inches of the door. No clean towels available. The iron don't work when you ask for a better one they go room by room to get a replacement.

Upon arrival sheets and pillows had hair, they were not clean. The price was ok when compared with hotel.

While some staff were courteous, others were incredibly rude and made the check in and out process extremely unpleasant. Even now, several weeks later, there is still a hold on my credit card that I am trying to have removed. The accommodations were ok, nothing fancy and a little rundown but nice for the convenience of being walking distance to everything in the city for a reasonable price. (When we turned the light off to sleep, it flickered on and off throughout the whole night.) Don't expect anything special from the coffee bar/room service. "Waffles" were toaster eggo waffles and potatoes came out of a frozen bag. Overall, avoid the staff if you can and spend your time exploring the city, not in your room.

Beautiful hotel, art deco design. Historical elevator from 1940. Very comfortable and clean. Super friendly and professional staff. If you love history you will love this hotel.

Stunning hotel, book it. Now. Small pool in a beautiful setting next to "Mocha" which is a cafe. Beautiful marble, wood, massive mirrors in the staircases, gigantically tall ceilings, skylight in the bathroom.

Well i can say none of fam.and friends will be staying there.It was nothing like advertise.rooms looked old run down,was so small my closet in my is bigger. They said that they had remodle rooms, but it would be and up grade,of corse $$$. Well lets put it this it is not worth the saving buying on line,becuse u pay up fornt and can't get ur money back .

#75 Calle Cristina Ponce

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from Parque de Bombas
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Outdoor pool

Located in Segundo, Meliá Century Hotel Ponce is adjacent to Parque de Bombas and within a mile (2 km) of other popular sights like El Museo Castillo Serralles. This 70-room, 3-star hotel has an outdoor pool along with free in-room WiFi and a conference center.


Dining

This hotel is home to a fine-dining restaurant and a bar/lounge. Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room, get a quick pick-me-up at the coffee shop/café, and mingle with other guests at the free daily manager's reception.


Rooms

Guests can expect to find free WiFi. The bathroom offers hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a refrigerator, a phone, and an ironing board.


Property features

At Meliá Century Hotel Ponce, guests have access to an outdoor pool, free WiFi in public areas, and a conference center. Self parking is available for USD $6 per night. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with dry cleaning/laundry and tours/tickets. Other amenities at this hot springs hotel include coffee/tea in a common area, free newspapers, and a terrace.

Room options

Standard Two Full Beds

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Standard King

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Two Queens

Queen 2 | Sleeps 2

Historic Zone Queen

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Meliá Century Hotel Ponce

Everyone (16) Couples (17) Family (17) Friends (4) Other (2)
4
Partner Couples

El elevador estaba dañado, tuvimos que subir las escaleras hasta el cuarto piso. El cuarto estaba en condiciones pobres. El hotel en sí estaba precioso, el lobby muy bonito decorado.

By on Jun 4, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 12, 2019

Muchas gracias por compartir con nosotros su experiencia. Lamentamos que sienta su estadía no estuviera al nivel de sus expectativas, considerando que el resto de nuestros huéspedes se encuentran complacidos, sin embargo, hemos compartido su comentario con nuestra gerencia general y departamentos involucrados para tomar las medidas pertinentes. Esperamos nos visite nuevamente y nos dé la oportunidad de cambiar su percepción.

5
Friends Families

Me and my friends loved it , we would definitely stay here again the inside it’s really cute the employees were so helpful and friendly thanks for having us Melli

By on May 18, 2019

Review comment responded on May 28, 2019

We appreciate and thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.Meliá Century Hotel staff and management are happy to know your stay at our property was a pleasant one. We hope to receive you again.

2
Families

Hotel was in renovation which was not mentioned when I booked it. Had to change rooms three times. First room got locked in and couldn’t get out. Had to call in twice the front desk to someone come and open the door. The second room the A/C was not working. Third room the tv was forming but no sound. Each room didn’t had the AC on when you first enter so it has a strange smell at the beginning. Bathrooms were extremely small. Oh and the Elevator not working so I had to drag my suitcase to my second floor (lots of steps) and no offer of help. Also had to pay additional for parking. I’m glad I only stayed one day. Not worth it.

By on May 9, 2019

Review comment responded on May 9, 2019

Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We regret that your stay was not of your expectations, considering that the rest of our guests are pleased. Our property has 124 yeas of continuous operation, been the oldest hotel in Puerto Rico, in our effort to continue that legacy, we've been renovating our hotel gradually, however we emphasize that we are part of the historic zone of Ponce and for that matter we will keep the essence and history that represents the physical plant giving a touch of contemporary twist. We apologize for the inconvenience that the malfunction of the elevator could of cause. Meeting our client’s expectations is our priority, wich is why we have shared your comment with our general management and involved departments to take the appropriate measures. We hope you visit us again and you can give us the opportunity to change your perception.

4
Everyone

The room itself was a little dated but the overall property was very nice.

By on Apr 8, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 8, 2019

We appreciate and thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are happy to know your stay at our property was a pleasant one. We hope to receive you again.

4
Everyone

Very nice central location. My room key was the old style key and lock. It was not yet updated to a card key like the rest of the hotel, which offers higher security. Nice hotel and pool. White, black and mustard colored PVC furniture in restaurant was very tacky. Otherwise we really enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

By on Mar 9, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 10, 2019

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy you enjoyed the history of our property and that we meet your expectations. We hope to see you again soon!

2
Families Friends Families

The outside of the property was clean and well decorated, the staff were friendly. However the unit was a disappointment. The bathroom was poorly cleaned, Lacked the basic necessities for a bath. Initially advertised as breakfast included, however upon breakfast we were told we had to pay for breakfast.

By on Mar 9, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 14, 2019

We’re glad you found our staff to be helpful and friendly but sorry to hear you feel unsatisfied with your stay due to lack of breakfast. We hope you can visit us again and choose the breakfast option on the site as an extra which is clearly stated after choosing your room. We have options as low as $7 p/p. If you have any trouble doing so, once you book your room, you can contact the property through the platform requesting to add this option. we hope to welcome you again soon and change your perspective.

1
Everyone

By on Feb 17, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 2, 2019

We're sorry you were unhappy - we'll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know

3
Everyone

No phones in the rooms. I used my cell phone to call front desk...never answer the phone.

By on Feb 13, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 16, 2019

We're sorry you were unhappy - we'll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

1
Everyone

Old hotel, no elevator, dirty room, 4th floor looked like a scene of walking dead, this is a terrible hotel stay away!

By on Jan 14, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 14, 2019

We're sorry you were unhappy - we'll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

3
Everyone

By on Dec 21, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 24, 2018

Gracias!

Meliá Century Hotel Ponce

#75 Calle Cristina, Ponce, 00733