Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Great location and value for the money. Breakfast is the best. Very quiet and nice neighborhood.

Good location and quiet,,,but nothing special. Continental breakfast only. Wi-fi didn't work in room. Refrigerator in room didn't work. Bathroom sink would hardly drain. Reported these issues to management but nothing done to remedy them. I stayed there four nights.

Tucked into the trees, near the beach, this is a step back from a frantic life into a peaceful calm. Breakfast is standard fare for hotels of this size, go to a few of the wonderful little restaurants in Pacific Grove only one mile away.

Very pleasant. Good breakfast. Staff very nice. Very quiet neighborhood.very clean rooms. Great location.

We loved the quiet, "neighborhood" feel of this place, and access to the beach was perfect. We were more interested in quiet, more-leisurely beach time that "Monterey" time, but this hotel did have easy access to that component of life too. We walked the coastline into Monterey, exploring the entire way, and it made for a nice walk -- about 3.5-4 miles I'd say. The walk back through streets was much quicker. Nice place!

Staff was friendly, but we were on the 2nd floor and had to lug two 50+ pounds of luggage up the stairs due to no elevator. Room was very noisy, there were kids on the floor below us and they were running and shaking the building at night and started up again at 7:00am.

Just simply love this place, even when it's rainy at times there are beautiful trails, streets, Monarch Butterfly Sanctuary... Rooms are specious with pleasant views from balcony, comfortable beds, healthy breakfast, and Fishwife in walking distance to enjoy lunch and dinner specials.

Why am I required to write about my experience?

Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are modern on the inside, very niche. Made for a quiet and peaceful stay.

I think this is the best place we've stayed in Pacific Grove/Monterey that has a reasonable price! The rooms were nice and spaced out from each other and the beds are super comfortable. Smaller complex that was clean and well maintained in a nice quiet location. Staff was very friendly. The only disappointment was no pool and hot tub, but we got over that. I would definitely stay there again!

Hotel is spectacular, great location, very zen like garden quality, close to everything yet quiet relaxing spot. Great free parking, wifi, staff is spectacular, we will definitely be going back.

This hotel more than met my expectations. The condo style made for generous space. The staff was friendly and welcoming. Free parking and free wifi are much appreciated. The breakfast was adequate. The location in proximity to the cities of Pacific Grove, Monterey and to the Seventeen Mile Drive was great, especially with all each has to offer.

Nice option to the usual big hotels. Quiet too. If you have trouble with stairs, this isn't your place. Room was nice but the shower drain full of hair that wasn't cleaned out and water couldn't drain. Check in ladies bickered about paperwork instead of checking me in and welcoming us to their hotel and telling us about the area. I'll chalk it up to a bad day and come back and try them again. Wish the were pet friendly like some of their neighboring smaller hotels.

Hotel was nice but no microwave in the room....we had a studio but surprisingly no elevators to take your heavy luggages..though very nice bed and spacious rooms

I guess, I want to stay longer next time. Pleasant walk to the beach, explore tide pools, watch beautiful sunset into the ocean, walk or bike to the Monarch Grove Butterflies park. The same quiet pass we used to ride to Monterey. The south direction leads to the entrance to 17 Mile Drive, so you can enjoy the most attractive beaches on the ocean view for free (no fee from bicyclists). Full breakfast, large room with kitchen and utensils, balcony...

Both the check in and check out were very fast. The room was very clean and comfortable. There was a working microwave, fridge, and a coffee maker. Couple plates and some silverware. The only negative side is the heater. It was super loud and when turned on it felt super hot, but once turned off, became instantly cold. The property is very beautiful and very close to all the points of interest: 17-mile drive, ocean, beaches, stores, and restaurants. Breakfast was provided, but very simple: bages, cream cheese, and cereal. Overall, great value, nice comfort.

The suites are so roomy! My husband, adult daughter and I stayed together and never felt crowded. My brother as his wife and 2 small kids stayed comfortably in another room. Full kitchen is amazing and clean.

The hotel is in a quiet nieghborhood. Peaceful, quiet, could not ask for better. Excellant value.

HJ should pay closer attention to this motel. Poor layout for 2 rooms with a family of 4. Location was OK.

This hotel is set in a tree-lined family neighborhood so it was very quiet during our stay. We saw deer walking up the road in the evening but I don't think it's probably that rare in this woodsy setting. The location is a bit tricky if you're unfamiliar with that area, but the friendly and knowledgeable receptionist was glad to mark -up an area map for us. The lobby is very well stocked with maps and pamphlets and the complex layout is nice. The shower was consistently hot w/ adequate pressure. The fridge, microwave and TV all worked, however the desk lamp was inoperable. The quiet ceiling fan is a nice touch and added to my perfect Room Comfort rating. If you can put up with a few odd stains on the floor then this is the place. Thanks to Orbitz I was able to get what I think was a very fair value, all things considered. I will add this to my list of places to stay in the future.

Room options

Standard Room, Multiple Beds, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Bathtub

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking, Kitchenette (with Sofabed)

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove

Everyone (10) Business (3) Couples (16) Family (11) Friends (2) Other (2)
5

excellent value

Everyone

Great location and value for the money. Breakfast is the best. Very quiet and nice neighborhood.

By on Oct 26, 2017

3

there are better options around pacific grove

Everyone

Good location and quiet,,,but nothing special. Continental breakfast only. Wi-fi didn't work in room. Refrigerator in room didn't work. Bathroom sink would hardly drain. Reported these issues to management but nothing done to remedy them. I stayed there four nights.

By , from DFW on Sep 9, 2017

4

calm among the trees

Everyone

Tucked into the trees, near the beach, this is a step back from a frantic life into a peaceful calm. Breakfast is standard fare for hotels of this size, go to a few of the wonderful little restaurants in Pacific Grove only one mile away.

By , from Redondo Beach on Jun 6, 2017

Review comment responded on Jun 20, 2017

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are delighted you enjoyed the location and room! We hope that you stay at the hotel again soon! Thank you!

4
Everyone

Very pleasant. Good breakfast. Staff very nice. Very quiet neighborhood.very clean rooms. Great location.

By on Apr 28, 2017

Review comment responded on May 14, 2017

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we hope you had a wonderful stay! We hope you will visit the property again, soon!

5

loved this place.

Everyone

We loved the quiet, "neighborhood" feel of this place, and access to the beach was perfect. We were more interested in quiet, more-leisurely beach time that "Monterey" time, but this hotel did have easy access to that component of life too. We walked the coastline into Monterey, exploring the entire way, and it made for a nice walk -- about 3.5-4 miles I'd say. The walk back through streets was much quicker. Nice place!

By on Apr 24, 2017

3

noisy

Everyone

Staff was friendly, but we were on the 2nd floor and had to lug two 50+ pounds of luggage up the stairs due to no elevator. Room was very noisy, there were kids on the floor below us and they were running and shaking the building at night and started up again at 7:00am.

By , from Melbourne, FL on Mar 12, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 16, 2017

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

4

great location near asilomar state beach

Everyone

Just simply love this place, even when it's rainy at times there are beautiful trails, streets, Monarch Butterfly Sanctuary... Rooms are specious with pleasant views from balcony, comfortable beds, healthy breakfast, and Fishwife in walking distance to enjoy lunch and dinner specials.

By , from Califirnia on Feb 13, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 20, 2017

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the location! We hope that you visit the hotel again, soon.

5
Everyone

Why am I required to write about my experience?

By on Aug 15, 2016

Review comment responded on Aug 25, 2016

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to rate this hotel. You are not required to write about your experience, but we do appreciate your rating. We hope you had a great stay and hope to see you again, soon! Thank you

4

quiet and close to the beach.

Everyone

Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are modern on the inside, very niche. Made for a quiet and peaceful stay.

By on Aug 1, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 1, 1970

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for staying with us. We hope you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again, soon!

4

great place to stay in pacific grove

Everyone

I think this is the best place we've stayed in Pacific Grove/Monterey that has a reasonable price! The rooms were nice and spaced out from each other and the beds are super comfortable. Smaller complex that was clean and well maintained in a nice quiet location. Staff was very friendly. The only disappointment was no pool and hot tub, but we got over that. I would definitely stay there again!

By , from Central Coast, CA on Jul 20, 2016

Review comment responded on Jul 23, 2016

Hi Nicki, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for staying with us! We hope you had a wonderful time and hope to see you again, soon! Thank you!