Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

terrible smell of smoke Blanket had burned spots in it

Lacks cleanliness, very old facility, apples provided in breakfast are rotten.

Our room was clean and comfortable and the young man at the front desk was very friendly and accommodating. He helped my husband print out some forms we needed. The motel is within 500 feet of a Pizza Ranch restaurant so that was a plus. The complimentary breakfast is the only complaint I have. I was down to the lobby shortly after 6 am to get some fresh fruit before we left and all that was available was the same apple I had seen the night before. There were only a handful of other guests there so I'm assuming staff had not stocked the breakfast offerings before 6 am. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

I am very upset with the Super 8 in Madison, SD. I have stayed at many hotels and have never had an experience like this. I had booked online for 2 nights, April 22 and 23. The website indicated this was a pet friendly hotel. After driving 8 hours, I was greeted by the unhappy desk clerk. Me: "Hi, I'd like to check in with my 2 cats" Clerk: "There will be a fee per pet" Me: "Okay sure" Clerk: "I don't know if your room is ready." (He picks up the phone, waits for a minute, then hangs it up.) "Are they big cats?" Me: "No, they are just regular size cats. If you want to see them, they are here in the car in carriers." Clerk: " No. We cannot have 2 pets." Me: "But you just said there is a fee per pet?" Clerk: "I'm sorry but we can't." Me: "Okay so I have to find somewhere else to stay. I can't leave my cats in the car for 2 days." Clerk: (shrugs shoulders) Me: "Well can you cancel my reservation so I can find somewhere else to stay?" Clerk:"No you will have to cancel it online because you made it online." At this point I sat in my car next to the door and called Orbitz. Luckily the AmericInn down the road worked very hard and got me a room for 2 nights. I am currently working with my credit card company to dispute the cancellation fee. Orbitz employees have tried multiple times to talk to this clerk, and I have also, but he acts like he doesn't understand us.

The hotel clerk was nice just fresh of the boat couldn't tell me anything about the town where food was etc. There is no entrance visible on building and front desk dressed in boxers and white t-shirt to assist me

It's not the Westin or Holiday Inn category. But it was clean and comfortable place to sleep over. The bath room needs an exhaust fan after a shower. There is a refrigerator and microwave in the room. Very filling, down home continental breakfast. The clerk was very friendly and got us more towels with a smile. Good people!

Clean hotel, polite staff.

N Highland Ave Madison SD

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Bar/lounge

Located within a mile (2 km) of Lake County Courthouse, Super 8 by Wyndham Madison is within 2 miles (3 km) of Dakota State University. This 34-room hotel has conveniences like free breakfast, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning. Quench your thirst with a drink at the bar/lounge.


Rooms

Super 8 by Wyndham Madison's 34 rooms are air-conditioned and provide microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include free local calls and desks.


Property features

Super 8 by Wyndham Madison features free WiFi in public areas and laundry facilities. You can put free parking to good use if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with dry cleaning or laundry, and answer any questions about the accommodations.

Room options

Room, Accessible

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Super 8 by Wyndham Madison

Everyone (6) Couples (1) Family (2)
2
Family

terrible smell of smoke Blanket had burned spots in it

By on Jul 31, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 27, 2019

Dear Gust, We could do batter and of course we can resolve at the time if you have informed us. Sorry about inconvenience if you think that you had. We will make sure it will never happen again with anybody else.

4
Everyone

By on Jul 14, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 27, 2019

Dear Gust, We are happy to know that you gave us 4 points out of 5, Which means you did enjoy your stay batter.

3
Everyone

By on Jan 26, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 10, 2019

Dear Guest, As we have no name we are not able to track your record of any kind of inconvenience you had during your stay. Our goal is to provide best service to keep all of our guest happy. Thank you for your business and next time if you have any problem, Please talk to the property at time of your stay before you leave. There are more possibility of resolution while you are at the location. If you think that you had inconvenience, Sorry for that

3
Everyone

Lacks cleanliness, very old facility, apples provided in breakfast are rotten.

By on Mar 24, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 15, 2018

Dear Gust, Thank you very much for your business. It is out goal to keep all of out guests happy. Sorry about inconvenience. We will make sure for not let happen same issue again.

4

clean and comfortable with helpful staff

Everyone

Our room was clean and comfortable and the young man at the front desk was very friendly and accommodating. He helped my husband print out some forms we needed. The motel is within 500 feet of a Pizza Ranch restaurant so that was a plus. The complimentary breakfast is the only complaint I have. I was down to the lobby shortly after 6 am to get some fresh fruit before we left and all that was available was the same apple I had seen the night before. There were only a handful of other guests there so I'm assuming staff had not stocked the breakfast offerings before 6 am. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

By , from Pacific Northwest on Nov 27, 2017

1

horrible service, would not recommend this hotel

Everyone

I am very upset with the Super 8 in Madison, SD. I have stayed at many hotels and have never had an experience like this. I had booked online for 2 nights, April 22 and 23. The website indicated this was a pet friendly hotel. After driving 8 hours, I was greeted by the unhappy desk clerk. Me: "Hi, I'd like to check in with my 2 cats" Clerk: "There will be a fee per pet" Me: "Okay sure" Clerk: "I don't know if your room is ready." (He picks up the phone, waits for a minute, then hangs it up.) "Are they big cats?" Me: "No, they are just regular size cats. If you want to see them, they are here in the car in carriers." Clerk: " No. We cannot have 2 pets." Me: "But you just said there is a fee per pet?" Clerk: "I'm sorry but we can't." Me: "Okay so I have to find somewhere else to stay. I can't leave my cats in the car for 2 days." Clerk: (shrugs shoulders) Me: "Well can you cancel my reservation so I can find somewhere else to stay?" Clerk:"No you will have to cancel it online because you made it online." At this point I sat in my car next to the door and called Orbitz. Luckily the AmericInn down the road worked very hard and got me a room for 2 nights. I am currently working with my credit card company to dispute the cancellation fee. Orbitz employees have tried multiple times to talk to this clerk, and I have also, but he acts like he doesn't understand us.

By , from Salem, OR on May 9, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 1, 2017

Dear Guest, Your bottom line was cancel the reservation from morning with no charge. All reservations are always with 24 hours before 4pm CXL policy. All reservations made by any third party agents must canceled by them, not by property. Your false info about property is only because you got charged regard less for first night. Still if you are thinking that it was inconvenience, We are sorry for the inconvenience.

3

smelled funny but it was a place to lay my head

Everyone

The hotel clerk was nice just fresh of the boat couldn't tell me anything about the town where food was etc. There is no entrance visible on building and front desk dressed in boxers and white t-shirt to assist me

By , from Sioux City Iowa on Sep 10, 2016

3

madison super 8 is nice stay

Couples

It's not the Westin or Holiday Inn category. But it was clean and comfortable place to sleep over. The bath room needs an exhaust fan after a shower. There is a refrigerator and microwave in the room. Very filling, down home continental breakfast. The clerk was very friendly and got us more towels with a smile. Good people!

By on May 22, 2011

2

super 8 madison

Family

Clean hotel, polite staff.

By on Apr 2, 2010

Super 8 by Wyndham Madison

219 N Highland Ave, Madison, SD 57042
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Madison-Hotels-Super-8-by-Wyndham-Madison.h908526-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Madison-Hotels-Super-8-by-Wyndham-Madison.h908526-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Madison-Hotels-Super-8-by-Wyndham-Madison.h908526-p2.Hotel-Reviews