Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Travelodge Central,Hollywood Road

3.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Great location easy to walk soho area. Ok good to see ....................................

Great location. . Good to walk.

This place is accessible to everything. The hotel looks exactly just like in the picture. Bed was comfortable even though the room was small.

Small but efficiently designed and quiet. Colorful and conveniently located on Hollywood and queens road

However the room was disappointing regarding the toilet. Behind a curtain. Which was impersonal and offered no privacy . The facilities the wash basin very cramped The room can do with a fresh coat of paint and new carpet. The marketing images did not offer a true representation. I have travelled worldwide for over 35 years, sad to say I won't stay here again. Though, the staff were excellent , they were very professional.

Room was tiny but clean and comfortable. No restaurant, but many coffee shops in the area for breakfast. Best feature is central location, great!

My overall stay at the hotel was pleasant. However upon my arrival I was told that "city view room" was just a name. Subsequently, I was placed in a room without a window. I was told if i wanted a window I'd have to pay extra. I think this is misleading and it made my stay a little disheartening.

Good location small room Some noise in the mornings from doors Easy

A very hip and affordable hotel right in the middle of everything. Highly recommended.

Pros: Clean property Friendly staff Cons: Elevators: Long wait Amenities: Towels need to be replaced Good Location in Sheung Wan

The hotel is an affordable boutique property in Central. It's a bit of a haul from the closest MTE station (8-10 minute walk), but a little exercise after a good portion of Chinese egg tarts or dumplings isn't a bad idea.

Hotel was good. Bed just ok and staff was friendly.

This hotel is well located. Walking distance to bars and restaurants and near a metro station. Overall it was good value. The theme is Hollywood and everything is decorated that way.

We stayed at a family suite with two connected rooms and it must had been near the sewer drain pipes. The regurgitation of odor from the accumulation 20+ floors of sewer filled our rooms. We closed the bathroom doors over night and the first thing smelled when opening the bathroom doors was overwhelming sewer odor. Locals told me that the property used to be residential housing and it was converted into the existing hotel recently. It became evident as to why the odor. It seemed that the developer didn't do any major clean ups of the sewer draining pipes or didn't do a good job with a major overhaul clean up. During my first night I heard loud noises through the pipes as something was rattling through for a good 20+ minutes. The air conditioner was leaking causing water to drop on the carpet causing mildew to build up. The design of the shower and the short shower curtains constantly allowed overflowing of water out of the shower to the bathroom floor then onto the carpet even with a towel placed right outside of the shower wasn't enough to absorb the water. Hong Kong is a humid city and the wet carpet doesn't dry up quickly. We courteously discussed the leaking and odor issues with the housekeeping staff on duty who claimed that the carpet in the rooms were shampooed and the walls painted every week and the odor might have come from the paint and the shampoo. The smell obviously wasn't paint or chemical from shampooing the carpet. It was very apparent that the marks and stains on the carpet and on the walls that the purported cleaning or maintenance didn't take place at least in the suite. Having stayed at hotels for extended business travel months at a time at a more reputable international hotel chain than Butterfly, I know it is not a norm that hotels shampoo or paint the walls WEEKLY. After switching two of us out of one of the connected rooms, housekeeping immediately started cleaning the vacated room during the late night after 10 p.m. while I tried to be understanding of keeping the hotel room ready (or clean), it was hard to comprehend the staff was not cognizant that the action of vacuuming and blow drying the wet carpet may generate disturbing noise during resting hours. Since the walls were thin, I heard every bit of the noise from vacuuming, and cleaning, etc. We expressed the odor issue to the receptionists who were courteous and offered to switch the rooms for us. We are receptive to their generosity. Unfortunately the odor was an accumulation of poor ventilation, mildew, and the built up of sewer in the pipes (probably from household grease while the property was used as residential property), switching rooms didn't and wouldn't resolve the fundamental issues. The bad odor was overwhelming despite the air conditioner was kept on during the day to keep air circulation. The lack of powerful exhaust fan in the unit (it was centrally controlled) kept the odor in the room. As mentioned above, the hotel was converted from a residential property. Thus, it lacked a service elevator for the housekeeping staff. Each day, hotel guests had to squeeze in the tiny elevators with laundry carts, while housekeeping staff tried to transport their materials. There were steps from the lobby to the elevators without ramps. As most hotel guests travel with luggage, lugging the heavy baggages without a ramp really wasn't traveler friendly. There is a lot of structural improvements that need to be done make it a comfortable hotel enticing repeating guests!

Friendly staff clean hotel would recommend to people at 3.5 - 4 star hotel. I would go back

Staff is always helpful and friendly, new coffee shop near makes bkfst easier.

Staff remembered my name from previous trips. great location, quiet and clean

The hotel was nice, the room a little small, but that's how it is in Hong Kong. Staff was friendly and the location was really good, close to nightlife, perfect to walk back from clubs

We stayed at a family "suite" with two connected rooms and it must had been near the sewer draining pipes. The regurgitation of odor from the accumulation 20+ floors of sewer filled our rooms. We closed the bathroom doors over night and the first thing smelled when opening the bathroom doors was overwhelming sewer odor. Locals told me that the property used to be residential housing and it was converted into the existing hotel recently. It became evident as to why the odor. It seemed that the developer didn't do any major clean ups of the sewer draining pipes or didn't do a good job with a major overhaul clean up. During my first night I heard loud noises through the pipes as something was rattling through for a good 20+ minutes. The air conditioner was leaking causing water to drop on the carpet causing mildew to build up. The design of the shower and the short shower curtains constantly allowed overflowing of water out of the shower to the bathroom floor then onto the carpet even with a towel placed right outside of the shower wasn't enough to absorb the water. Hong Kong is a humid city and the wet carpet doesn't dry up quickly. We courteously discussed the leaking and odor issues with the housekeeping staff on duty who claimed that the carpet in the rooms were shampooed and the walls painted every week and the "odor" might have come from the paint and the shampoo. The smell obviously wasn't paint or chemical from shampooing the carpet. It was very apparent that the marks and stains on the carpet and on the walls that the purported cleaning or maintenance didn't take place at least in the suite. Having stayed at hotels for extended business travel months at a time at a more reputable international hotel chain than Butterfly, I know it is not a norm that hotels shampoo or paint the walls WEEKLY. After switching two of us out of one of the connected rooms, housekeeping immediately started cleaning the vacated room during the late night after 10 p.m. while I tried to be understanding of keeping the hotel room ready (or clean), it was hard to comprehend the staff was not cognizant that the action of vacuuming and blow drying the wet carpet may generate disturbing noise during resting hours. Since the walls were thin, I heard every bit of the noise from vacuuming, and cleaning, etc. We expressed the odor issue to the receptionists who were courteous and offered to switch the rooms for us. We are receptive to their generosity. Unfortunately the odor was an accumulation of poor ventilation, mildew, and the built up of sewer in the pipes (probably from household grease while the property was used as residential property), switching rooms didn't and wouldn't resolve the fundamental issues. The bad odor was overwhelming despite the air conditioner was kept on during the day to keep air circulation. The lack of powerful exhaust fan in the unit (it was centrally controlled) kept the odor in the room. As mentioned above, the hotel was converted from a residential property. Thus, it lacked a service elevator for the housekeeping staff. Each day, hotel guests had to squeeze in the tiny elevators with laundry carts, while housekeeping staff tried to transport their materials. There were steps from the lobby to the elevators without ramps. As most hotel guests travel with luggage, lugging the heavy baggages without a ramp really wasn't traveler friendly. There is a lot of structural improvements that need to be done make it a comfortable hotel enticing repeating guests!

While staying at the Butterfly hotel, everything was just average in my opinion. The hotel staff wasn't the nicest.

263 HOLLYWOOD ROAD, CENTRAL, HONG KONG, HONG KONG HKG

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Man Mo Temple and Soho
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Concierge services
  • 24-hour front desk

Located in Central, Travelodge Central,Hollywood Road is next to popular attractions like Para Site Art Space and Asia Art Archive. Each of the 148 rooms at this 3.5-star hotel includes a sitting area, a refrigerator, and a coffee maker. Centrally located in Hong Kong, the hotel is also a short walk from Pak Sing Ancestral Hall and Tung Wah Hospital.


Rooms

All 148 recently renovated accommodations feature sitting areas. 40-inch LED TVs are available for entertainment, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and beds are dressed in premium bedding. Refrigerators, coffee makers, and free local calls are also standard.


Property features

At Travelodge Central,Hollywood Road, guests have access to free WiFi in public areas and a computer station. The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day to help with concierge services and securing valuables.

Room options

Premier Room

Queen 1 | Sleeps 3

Superior Room

Queen 1 | Sleeps 3

Deluxe Room

Queen 1 | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Travelodge Central

Everyone (9) Business (12) Couples (9) Family (3) Other (10) Friends (3)
4
Everyone

Great location easy to walk soho area. Ok good to see ....................................

By on Mar 22, 2017

4
Everyone

Great location. . Good to walk.

By on Mar 22, 2017

5

close to train station, bus stops, etc.

Everyone

This place is accessible to everything. The hotel looks exactly just like in the picture. Bed was comfortable even though the room was small.

By , from Philippines on Dec 17, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 15, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are very glad to have met your traveling needs and that you enjoyed spending your time at Butterfly on Hollywood. We hope you had a great time and we loved to welcome you back soon.

4

shueng wan priced right

Everyone

Small but efficiently designed and quiet. Colorful and conveniently located on Hollywood and queens road

By , from miami on Oct 12, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 15, 2017

Thank you for choosing Butterfly on Hollywood. It is always great to hear our guests enjoyed our hotel and exploring the neighborhood as there are much to see and do around. Please do come back and stay with us again soon, we hope to bring yet another wonderful time the next time you visit!

3

central..

Everyone

However the room was disappointing regarding the toilet. Behind a curtain. Which was impersonal and offered no privacy . The facilities the wash basin very cramped The room can do with a fresh coat of paint and new carpet. The marketing images did not offer a true representation. I have travelled worldwide for over 35 years, sad to say I won't stay here again. Though, the staff were excellent , they were very professional.

By , from scotland on Jun 5, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 15, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our services so much. We will definitely take note about your comment regarding bathroom and seek for necessary improvement to ensure our guests can enjoy a relaxing stay. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to our improved hotel!

4

great location

Everyone

Room was tiny but clean and comfortable. No restaurant, but many coffee shops in the area for breakfast. Best feature is central location, great!

By , from RI on May 22, 2016

Review comment responded on May 25, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Your support is our great motivation and we are pleased that you are satisfied with the good location.As we do not have a restaurant in hotel, we hope you had a great time exploring the nearby restaurants as they offer some of Hong Kong’s most signature dishes. Thank you for your time and we would love to see you again soon.

3

misleading room description

Everyone

My overall stay at the hotel was pleasant. However upon my arrival I was told that "city view room" was just a name. Subsequently, I was placed in a room without a window. I was told if i wanted a window I'd have to pay extra. I think this is misleading and it made my stay a little disheartening.

By on Apr 4, 2016

5

good location

Everyone

Good location small room Some noise in the mornings from doors Easy

By , from puerto rico on Mar 22, 2016

Review comment responded on May 23, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Your support is our great motivation and we are pleased that you are satisfied with the good location. We will definitely take note about your comment regarding our sound proofing quality and seek for necessary improvement to ensure our guests can enjoy a relaxing stay. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to our improved hotel!

5

lovely place

Everyone

A very hip and affordable hotel right in the middle of everything. Highly recommended.

By on Feb 22, 2016

Review comment responded on May 23, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

3

good value

Singles

Pros: Clean property Friendly staff Cons: Elevators: Long wait Amenities: Towels need to be replaced Good Location in Sheung Wan

By on Aug 6, 2015