Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Hallways and room smelled bad Dark bathroom Room's A/C unit uncleaned Overall Hotel did not seem well cared-for

Great property located very close and walking distance to UF and shopping. They are now pet friendly which makes it the perfect hotel for us for when we are coming up for an event or to visit our daughter.

The location is ideal, next to UF’s campus and not far from downtown. A very good pizza restaurant is conveniently located on the first floor and Target is just across the street. However, the building is old, the room furniture is in disrepair and the cleaning standards are very poor for a rate of $350/night. There was hair on the walls of the shower and behind the bathroom door, an old contact lense stuck to the countertop, an A/C unit you can’t turn off, an office chair ripped on the arm rests and seat, and a toilet that wouldn’t stop running. Overall, I’ve stayed in much better Holiday Inns. This one is at the bottom of the corporate care list.

Everything was convenient and properly handled if there were any issues.

Great n friendly staff. Very helpful. Inhouse dining great

Didn’t like the construction. The pool was nice but wasn’t the cleanest. The rooms were clean and spacious. Our bathroom had a hole in the wall of the shower, but it was clean. Right in the middle of town and very walkable. Overall, it was nice.

Honestly friendly staff from front desk, to maids, to van driver. An on-demand free shuttle to and from Gainesville Airport. Keurig coffee. Oranges, apples. A small super-quiet frig. Packaged muffins and pastries available. Location.

Location is the ONLY THING this hotel offers. Moldy and damp smell in rooms. Found another hotel for seasonal use. Will not return, not worth the location to have sinus issues.

Nice size room, adjacent to campus and excellent mattresses and pillows.

The best thing about this hotel is the location - directly across the street from the campus. Everything else looks pretty much like it did when I graduated - which was in 1980! This place needs a major refresh, although I guess the location is enough to keep them in business. The pizzeria next door is pretty good. And, the beds are fairly comfortable. Otherwise, unless being right across the street from UF is important to you, stay somewhere newer and less tired.

Not the nicest Holiday Inn I have stayed at and there is no breakfast included in the rate, however, it is very close to campus and the beds are really comfortable. It really needs an update, but serves the purpose and the staff makes up for the outdated decor. I would stay here again.

The hotel is located very close to campus - that's great. But the facilities (including rooms) are rather sub-standard (like in a 3-star hotel). Noise from a very busy intersection.

Easy parking, and convenient online parking and quick registration. Also, the hotel staff is very friendly, trying very hard to solve customers' problems. We feel at home. In addition, the coffee is very good.

W University Ave Gainesville FL

Hotel highlights

  • Close to University of Florida
  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Located in University Heights within a short walk of Ben Hill Griffin Stadium, Holiday Inn Gainesville - University Center, an IHG Hotel is within a mile (2 km) of University of Florida. This 167-room, 3-star hotel has an outdoor pool along with a 24-hour gym and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

This hotel is home to a restaurant and a bar/lounge. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service, or get a quick energy boost at the coffee shop/cafe. For your convenience, a cooked-to-order breakfast is served for a fee on weekdays from 6:00 AM to 10:00 AM and on weekends from 7:00 AM to 11:00 AM.


Rooms

Flat-screen TVs come with cable channels and pay movies, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi and wired Internet. Beds are dressed in pillow menus and bathrooms offer rainfall showers and hair dryers. Other standard amenities include refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee makers.


Property features

Guests staying at Holiday Inn Gainesville - University Center, an IHG Hotel enjoy an outdoor pool, a 24-hour gym, and a rooftop terrace. If you plan to drive, free parking is available. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with dry cleaning/laundry, securing valuables, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this golf hotel include free WiFi in public areas, conference space, and a 24-hour business center.

Room options

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Premium Room, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room

1 Twin Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Holiday Inn Gainesville - University Center, an IHG Hotel

Everyone (17) Couples (10) Business (14) Family (15) Other (3)
2
Partner Couples

Hallways and room smelled bad Dark bathroom Room's A/C unit uncleaned Overall Hotel did not seem well cared-for

By on Dec 6, 2021

Review comment responded on Dec 13, 2021

Hello German, While we appreciate the feedback you have provided, we are sorry to hear that you did not have a satisfactory stay with us. Please know that we have shared your comments with our staff and have addressed your concerns.

3
Everyone

By on Dec 5, 2021

5
Family

Great property located very close and walking distance to UF and shopping. They are now pet friendly which makes it the perfect hotel for us for when we are coming up for an event or to visit our daughter.

By , from Cape Coral on Nov 14, 2021

Review comment responded on Nov 18, 2021

Hello Jennifer, We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and that you're planning on returning with your pet! Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide some feedback, we appreciate it.

2
Family

The location is ideal, next to UF’s campus and not far from downtown. A very good pizza restaurant is conveniently located on the first floor and Target is just across the street. However, the building is old, the room furniture is in disrepair and the cleaning standards are very poor for a rate of $350/night. There was hair on the walls of the shower and behind the bathroom door, an old contact lense stuck to the countertop, an A/C unit you can’t turn off, an office chair ripped on the arm rests and seat, and a toilet that wouldn’t stop running. Overall, I’ve stayed in much better Holiday Inns. This one is at the bottom of the corporate care list.

By on May 6, 2021

Review comment responded on May 7, 2021

Hello Recent Guest, Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time our of your day to provide some very valuable feedback about your stay. With that said, we are sorry about the condition of your room and that you were not satisfied with the overall condition of the property. Please know that we truly appreciate the insight you have provided and we will take the necessary steps to make things right.

5
Family with small children Business Business

Everything was convenient and properly handled if there were any issues.

By on Mar 3, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 4, 2021

Hello Recent Guest, Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn University Center for for taking the time out of your day to provide some feedback about your stay.

4
Everyone

By on Dec 14, 2020

Review comment responded on Dec 15, 2020

Hello Recent Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Holiday Inn University Center, we appreciate your feedback.

5
Family

Great n friendly staff. Very helpful. Inhouse dining great

By on Dec 8, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 9, 2019

Thank you so much for your great rating and very kind review off our hotel, staff and amenities! We truly appreciate your sharing this with us and so appreciate you staying with us at the Holiday Inn University Center. We wish you and yours a very Happy Holiday Season!

4
Family with small children

Didn’t like the construction. The pool was nice but wasn’t the cleanest. The rooms were clean and spacious. Our bathroom had a hole in the wall of the shower, but it was clean. Right in the middle of town and very walkable. Overall, it was nice.

By on Sep 24, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 27, 2019

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us! We apologize about the construction and our ongoing renovation, as we are working very diligently to improve our property and overall experience for you and future guests! We will address the concerns in your room and if possible, would welcome the chance to learn more about your stay so we may make the need updates. Please feel free to contact me personally at the hotel! We would welcome the chance to invite you back once we are complete to see the exciting changes we are making and have made. Again, thank you so much for choosing to stay with us! Sincerely- Tony S. Director of Sales

4
Everyone

By on Jun 12, 2019

4
Everyone

By on Apr 26, 2019

Holiday Inn Gainesville - University Center, an IHG Hotel

1250 W University Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Gainesville-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Gainesville---University-Center,-an-IHG-Hotel.h13903-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Gainesville-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Gainesville---University-Center,-an-IHG-Hotel.h13903-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Gainesville-Hotels-Holiday-Inn-Gainesville---University-Center,-an-IHG-Hotel.h13903-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions