Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Clean, friendly staff

We stay at this hotel a couple times a year. Nice and price is right!

Very clean, great staff. They had to quit the breakfast buffet due to the pandemic, but still had a nice grab and go available.

not enough blankets or towels there were 4 of us and 3 towels the beds had a blanket and a sheet that is it

Wanted to use the pool and hottub. Both were overloaded with kids. Clearly the ratio of kids to adults was way off. It appeared that someone was using the hotel as a water park.

The property was quiet and clean. The mattress was extremely thin and uncomfortable.

Overall clean except mold in ice machine tray on 2 of three floors checked. Musty odor throughout hallways and room. First day staff was completely rude and unfriendly. House keeping staff was very nice. Aaliyah was awesome and very helpful! Pool closed for renovations but was told it was open when making the reservations the week before. When I asked for a discount due to not being able to cancel after given false pool information, the staff member was rude and refused to get a manager. Building is oddly shaped so for rooms in the back there is limited parking. Dining and shopping options nearby. Intersection the hotel is at makes it difficult to get out if going against traffic. Main rear door doesn't lock during daylight hours even though it says "need key for re-entry". Firm bed, thin blanket, with flat pillows. Overall quiet stay and decent staff. Even offered bagged breakfast (muffins & fruit) due to covid.

The pool access. Amenities available. My room had a arm band left on side of bed. Made me think floor was not vacuumed. Top cover i did not like the unfreshness of its smell.

Staff at the front desk were very friendly and personable. Room was very clean.

Friendly helpful staff. Nice comfortable large room.

Everything was in great shape. Exceeded all expectations. Nice property.

Sometimes the temperature in some of the areas felt a little to cool for my taste

The rooms are clean and comfortable. Excellent staff. Had an issue with excessive noise in room above ours and the staff took care of the problem immediately. Complimentary breakfast and adjoining restaurant a big plus.

Our room was filthy and smelled horrible, it was hard to sleep. Smelled like someone urinated on the carpet. We were told this was the room we paid for and was specific to Expedia bookings. I explained we booked with Orbitz and was told it was all the same and we couldnt change rooms. The hotel 2nd floor was completely empty as you could see in the open curtain rooms lining the pool. We arrived very late with our kids and were able to put them back to sleep after carrying them in a great distance. The receptionist could have explained our room was as far away as possible so we could of parked elsewhere so we didn't have to carry sleeping kids that far. Like using a different entrance. Also the alarm clock went off at 5am, set by a previous guest im assuming. It woke us up and scared the kids, so we checked out and left the properly very disappointed and angry. Nothing was done to address any of our issues. I basically paid for a hotel for 6 hours just to be worse off leaving.

Nice accommodations but disappointed that two rooms I had reserved were on different floors. Would have been nice to have them in close proximity to each other.

Dodge St Dubuque IA

Hotel highlights

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Kennedy Mall is a short stroll from Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center, and other popular attractions like University of Dubuque are within a few miles (5 km). This hotel has 150 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, an indoor pool, and a 24-hour health club. It's connected to the convention center in central Dubuque and also close to Loras College and Five Flags Center.


Dining

Free buffet breakfast is served on weekdays from 6 AM to 9:30 AM and on weekends from 7 AM to 10 AM. Sit down for a leisurely bite to eat at the onsite restaurant, or enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge.


Rooms

All 150 rooms provide microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can expect WiFi and 40-inch flat-screen TVs with digital channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and pillowtop beds with premium bedding ensure a restful night. Free newspapers, free local calls, and safes are other standard amenities.


Property features

At Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center, guests enjoy features like an indoor pool, a 24-hour health club, and a spa tub. There's free parking, as well as a free airport shuttle (available on request). The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help with concierge services, securing valuables, and dry cleaning/laundry. Other amenities at this family-friendly hotel include free WiFi in public areas, a conference center, and a 24-hour business center.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Bathtub

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Suite, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Jetted Tub

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave (with Sofabed)

1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center

Everyone (20) Couples (9) Family (14)
5
Family

Clean, friendly staff

By on Jun 22, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 24, 2021

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay at our property. We are happy to hear you found your room clean and our staff friendly. We hope to see you again in the future!

5
Friends

We stay at this hotel a couple times a year. Nice and price is right!

By on Mar 21, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 21, 2021

Thank you for completing a review regarding your recent stay at our property. The feedback that we receive from the reviews is greatly appreciated and continues to help us to strive in providing the best experience possible at our hotel. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future!

5
Family Family

Very clean, great staff. They had to quit the breakfast buffet due to the pandemic, but still had a nice grab and go available.

By , from Muskegon MI on Nov 21, 2020

Review comment responded on Nov 23, 2020

I would like to thank you for completing a review regarding your recent stay at our property. The feedback that we receive from these reviews is greatly appreciated and continues to help us to strive in providing the best experience possible at our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and our staff! We look forward to providing you with your future lodging needs.

3
Family

not enough blankets or towels there were 4 of us and 3 towels the beds had a blanket and a sheet that is it

By on Oct 18, 2020

Review comment responded on Oct 22, 2020

Thank you for completing a review regarding your recent stay at our property. The feedback that we receive from these reviews is greatly appreciated and continues to help us to strive in providing the best experience possible at our hotel. We apologize you didn't have enough towels or blankets, you can always call the front desk if you ever require anything extra in your room. They are always more than happy to get whatever you need to your room! We hope to see you again.

3
Partner Couples

Wanted to use the pool and hottub. Both were overloaded with kids. Clearly the ratio of kids to adults was way off. It appeared that someone was using the hotel as a water park.

By on Sep 19, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 21, 2020

Thank you for completing a review regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We do apologize you were not able to use the pool and hot tub as you were planning, it is a very popular area especially on weekends with lots of families staying with us. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

4
Partner Couples

The property was quiet and clean. The mattress was extremely thin and uncomfortable.

By on Sep 8, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 9, 2020

Thank you for the 4-star review!

3
Family with small children

Overall clean except mold in ice machine tray on 2 of three floors checked. Musty odor throughout hallways and room. First day staff was completely rude and unfriendly. House keeping staff was very nice. Aaliyah was awesome and very helpful! Pool closed for renovations but was told it was open when making the reservations the week before. When I asked for a discount due to not being able to cancel after given false pool information, the staff member was rude and refused to get a manager. Building is oddly shaped so for rooms in the back there is limited parking. Dining and shopping options nearby. Intersection the hotel is at makes it difficult to get out if going against traffic. Main rear door doesn't lock during daylight hours even though it says "need key for re-entry". Firm bed, thin blanket, with flat pillows. Overall quiet stay and decent staff. Even offered bagged breakfast (muffins & fruit) due to covid.

By on Jun 19, 2020

Review comment responded on Jun 23, 2020

Thank you for completing a review regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center. We are sorry to hear you had some issues during your stay but pleased to hear you did enjoy your overall stay.Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

4
Everyone

By on Jan 5, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 5, 2020

Thank you again for taking the time to complete a survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand!

5
Everyone

By on Oct 1, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 1, 2019

Thank you, we greatly appreciate the 5-star review!

5
Family

The pool access. Amenities available. My room had a arm band left on side of bed. Made me think floor was not vacuumed. Top cover i did not like the unfreshness of its smell.

By , from Oak Forest,IL on Aug 21, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 21, 2019

Thank you for completing your review regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center

3100 Dodge St, Dubuque, IA 52003
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Dubuque-Hotels-Best-Western-Plus-Dubuque-Hotel-&-Conference-Center.h2385-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Dubuque-Hotels-Best-Western-Plus-Dubuque-Hotel-&-Conference-Center.h2385-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Dubuque-Hotels-Best-Western-Plus-Dubuque-Hotel-&-Conference-Center.h2385-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions