Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Troy, MI

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Good hotel to stay with family. Nice quality breakfast served every morning

Detroit doesn't get high marks often. This place is run down. Won't be back. Iron had some drug matter on it, which subsequently ruined my shirt.

Excellent suite experience. Close to dining and shopping. Major roads, freeway access too.

With this hotel being an old apartment complex converted to a hotel, it gave many advantages. Quieter than a regular hotel room, more spacious, full kitchen, multiple rooms and bathrooms. It was a great stay and experience. We did not go to the lobby for breakfast so I can not comment or rate it.

Terrible experience - the staff told us our room wasn't ready at 8:00 pm - when the earliest checkin was noon.

The only complaint I have is that the television is so far from the bed, other than that I loved my stay. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean.

Disappointed in the service we received. We were there 5 nights and had to call every day to have room made up & linens replaced. Some days we had service & some days no service.

Internet can be better. Was very slow and kept getting disconnected

Great in the sense that traveling for hockey tournaments with 2 boys, it was nice to have a full kitchen, 2 king beds and multiple tv's. Downside...Downstairs toilet wouldn't flush, tiles in upstairs bathroom were loose, vanity lights in both bathrooms were burnt out, floors were a bit dirty and fitted sheet didn't fit the bed and would come off the corners. This hotel clearly needs a little TLC! But for the cost and location it worked fine for 3 nights.

Great experience for a great price. Stayed here New Years and the room was very spacious and clean. Would definitely recommend

I don't think it was dirty, but it was so outdated it felt dirty. The heater was loud and I barely slept. Staff was super friendly, but not worth it.

Stayed over night while in the area for a concert. Room was clean enough, although we did find a few remnants of someones party here and there. The fire place uses real wood so we didn't mess with that. There was no wood in the room might have done a fire if there was a little wood by the fireplace. Three flat screens in room with all the hook ups you need for any video entertainment. Full kitchen with dishes even paper towel.

A great stay. The hotel had everything I needed for a work trip.

I wasn't expecting much (having read several mediocre reviews), but I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. It's a friendly little place in the middle of heavy-traffic suburbia. My studio room was very clean, the bed was high-end comfortable, and the price was definitely right. Even the breakfast was above average. The basketball court, horse-shoe pits and pool would make it a place where families or short-term workers would find comfortable.

For the price, the suite was incredible! The staff was helpful and friend and everything was clean.

Hotel is older and it shows, one step above being a motel. Was clean and comfortable but everything showed signs of age. If you are accustomed to "average" being someplace like Holiday Inn Express or Courtyard Marriott, then this is pretty far below average. On the other hand, I don't really have anything bad to say about it. It was okay. Nice sports bar across the street that we enjoyed.

The hotel put me in a room that they knew was scheduled to have construction done in front of the door and stairs some time during the week I was there. I was unable to leave my room in the morning for 3 hours because they were removing concrete in front of my door thru the walk way and laid fresh cement while I was in my room and never gave me notice or asked it I needed to get out before. When I called the front desk for the manager to discuss and get some resolution, the manager would not come to the phone.

Just needed a clean room close to my daughters small apartment. Did not realize these were stand alone studios (I think eight to a building), but was pleasantly surprised. Very clean, very cute, and the bed was very comfortable. Great find for a nominal fee. Would certainly stay there again and recommend it to friends. A large variety of breakfast foods was also included. The only drawback was walking outside to the main building for breakfast.

Easy access to the highway and somerset shopping mall. The room has a good size with kitchen. Excellent breakfast. Quiet environment

I stayed for one night. The room was large and clean but the bathroom and kitchen appeared a little outdated. The staff was friendly and I had no problems getting the rate that I booked online. My only real complaint is that the building was loud and the room doors open to the outside.

2600 Livernois Rd Troy MI

Hotel highlights

  • Free hot/cold buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool

Located within 2 miles (3 km) of Troy Historic Village, Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Troy, MI is within 3 miles (5 km) of Somerset Collection. This 152-room, 3-star aparthotel welcomes guests with conveniences like an outdoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking. Detroit Zoo is also within a 15-minute drive of this Troy aparthotel.


Dining

Free hot/cold buffet breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning from 6 AM to 9 AM. For a nice break, mingle with other guests at the free manager's reception.


Rooms

All 152 individually furnished apartments feature kitchens with refrigerators, microwaves, stovetops, and dishwashers. Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and pillowtop beds with premium bedding and down comforters ensure a restful night. Other standard amenities include sofa beds, coffee makers, and free weekday newspapers.


Property features

At Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Troy, MI, guests enjoy an outdoor pool, a fitness center, and a spa tub. Free parking is included with your stay. A multilingual staff is on hand to assist with dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include free WiFi in public areas, a conference center, and a 24-hour business center.

Room options

Executive Penthouse, Multiple Beds, Non Smoking

King 2 | Sleeps 6

Room, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Penthouse, Multiple Beds, Non Smoking

King 2 | Sleeps 6

Guest reviews for Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Troy

Everyone (8) Couples (22) Business (17) Family (22) Other (3) Friends (2)
4

nice hotel close to all companies

Everyone

Good hotel to stay with family. Nice quality breakfast served every morning

By on Jul 15, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 11, 2017

It was a pleasure having you and your family as our guests. We appreciate you taking the time to share a review about your stay at the Hawthorn Suites Troy. I will pass along the good breakfast feedback to the staff!

3

good for families on a budget, not business travel

Everyone

Detroit doesn't get high marks often. This place is run down. Won't be back. Iron had some drug matter on it, which subsequently ruined my shirt.

By , from boulder CO on Jul 13, 2017

5
Everyone

Excellent suite experience. Close to dining and shopping. Major roads, freeway access too.

By on May 20, 2017

Review comment responded on Jun 27, 2017

We value your feedback and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hawthorn Suites Troy! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

5

great stay

Everyone

With this hotel being an old apartment complex converted to a hotel, it gave many advantages. Quieter than a regular hotel room, more spacious, full kitchen, multiple rooms and bathrooms. It was a great stay and experience. We did not go to the lobby for breakfast so I can not comment or rate it.

By , from Northern Michigan on May 10, 2017

2
Everyone

Terrible experience - the staff told us our room wasn't ready at 8:00 pm - when the earliest checkin was noon.

By on Mar 27, 2017

5
Everyone

The only complaint I have is that the television is so far from the bed, other than that I loved my stay. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean.

By , from Yonkers, NY on Nov 22, 2016

Review comment responded on Nov 30, 2016

Hi Denise, thank you for the wonderful review about your experience at the Hawthorn Suites Troy. I apologize that the TV was too far. Next time, request a room without a fireplace and it will be closer to the bed...just a little tip :) We hope to see you again soon.

3

close to the rochester area

Everyone

Disappointed in the service we received. We were there 5 nights and had to call every day to have room made up & linens replaced. Some days we had service & some days no service.

By , from Troy, MI on Nov 9, 2016

Review comment responded on Nov 30, 2016

We apologize that you did not get daily housekeeping service. We are working hard on fixing the issue so it does not happen again. We appreciate you being our guest and we hope you can give us a second chance to make it up to you!

4
Everyone

Internet can be better. Was very slow and kept getting disconnected

By on Sep 18, 2016

Review comment responded on Sep 22, 2016

Thanks for being our guest! We also appreciate you bringing the internet issue to our attention. Management is currently looking into a new internet provider to better accommodate our guests needs.

3

hockey tournament stay

Families

Great in the sense that traveling for hockey tournaments with 2 boys, it was nice to have a full kitchen, 2 king beds and multiple tv's. Downside...Downstairs toilet wouldn't flush, tiles in upstairs bathroom were loose, vanity lights in both bathrooms were burnt out, floors were a bit dirty and fitted sheet didn't fit the bed and would come off the corners. This hotel clearly needs a little TLC! But for the cost and location it worked fine for 3 nights.

By on Oct 20, 2015

4

perfect

Couples

Great experience for a great price. Stayed here New Years and the room was very spacious and clean. Would definitely recommend

By on May 5, 2015