Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Rooms were dirty, general upkeep was lacking. Considering quiet time was to start at 10:30 PM, it was not enforced. Lack of staff around the pools and hot tubs. Something happened in one of the pools and all that was done was it was scooped out, people and only closed for roughly 1/2 an hour. It probably should have been close/off limits for the rest of the night. There were kids/teenagers running all over and being very rude. Too many birthday parties/free swimming going on and intruding on guests that paid to stay in rooms and to stay the night. Needs to be a better and reasonable restaurant/food source inside of the hotel, so that you feed your families and not have to order from outside sources.

The staff was very friendly, the rooms were big and I really liked the way the bathroom was set up so 2 people could get ready at the same time. They also had petty good coffee in the room.

I grew up in Iowa. I had always wanted to stay at the resort. As an adult living out of state, I wished to share this experience with my new family. The look of our room was very pleasing. Two sinks was so handy. Every employee we had interactions with, were very friendly. The main issues we had were the minie refrigerator needed to be defrosted. It would not cool. Secondly the smell in the building was sickening. You walk in the door and are hit with it. There are two pools in the complex, but this smell was not chlorine. It smelled like natural gas. Overall it was so disappointing for us.

the hallways were very dirty and the tiles in the bedrooms are peeling up causing a safety / tripping hazard.

I enjoyed that there was a nice little arcade on site!

Everything was great! The kids enjoyed the pools and we all enjoyed the restaurant too.

Kind of pricey for the age of the Inn. Was disappointed they don't serve breakfast. Overall ok.

Perfect for weekend family get away. Poolside family suite was nice for gathering while standard rooms were good for family of 4 to sleep & located near the pools.

Could tell the floor had not been vacuumed from previous guests. It was dirty, found an earring on the floor. Cracker crumbs found on the floor.

Clean room, great pools, but no microwave and wifi that never stays connected. My kid loves it because of the arcade, toddler game room and pools

Free trolley to Adventureland, great Todd game room, great arcade, wonderful swimming pools. You guys need microwaves and better wifi. Wifi cut out on me every so many seconds and due to satellite tv, when it rained there was no tv.

There was a problem with the chlorine it was so strong it was burning everyone's eyes, and everyone in my room plus our friends 2 rooms got rashes from the pool as well. And the staff had no clue what was wrong. Did say everyone else there was complaining about it as well.

Convenient place to drive to. Adjacent to Adventureland Amusement Park (not reason we stayed there). The rooms are clean, but for the "original asking price," the accommodations were just so-so. No microwave in the room, though it did have a mini-refrig. Nice Kuerig Coffee maker, but only reg. coffee pods, no decaf., no tea bags. No continental breakfast. The one nice feature for families was the indoor water area for kids. The great-nieces had a great time!

The pictures do not match the reality. The pool area is much smaller and less exciting than in the pictures. The rooms need updating.

Clean, spacious room. Courteous staff. Well lit parking.

The staff was rude at the pool. The water was highly chlorinated. The arcade worker was sleeping in the corner when we walked in. We paid for 2 extra wrist bands and only got one. Went back to the front desk and did get another one at no cost.

We took our grandchildren for an over night get away. Oldest one is 6, we had a great time. The hotel has plenty to keep them busy . A play room with video games and a stage was the big hit, although they enjoyed the pool and arcade also. Lots of fun,everything was very clean and staff was very nice and helpful!!

Adventureland Dr Altoona IA

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • 2 indoor pools

Adventureland Inn is a short stroll from Adventureland and Prairie Meadows Racetrack and Casino. This 185-room hotel welcomes guests with 2 indoor pools, a restaurant, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge or visit the onsite restaurant for a bite to eat. Satisfy your hunger from the comfort of your room with room service.


Rooms

Flat-screen TVs come with satellite channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Coffee makers, safes, and free toiletries are other standard amenities.


Property features

Guests staying at Adventureland Inn enjoy access to 2 indoor pools, a children's pool, and 2 spa tubs. If you drive, take advantage of free parking. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help secure valuables, and answer any questions about the accommodations. Other amenities at this family-friendly hotel include free WiFi in public areas, a meeting room, and an arcade/game room.

Room options

Family Suite Pool Level

2 Queen Beds and 1 Queen Sofa Bed | Sleeps 6

Balcony East

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Pool Level East

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 5

Guest reviews for Adventureland Inn

Everyone (11) Family (4)
1
Family Family with small children

Rooms were dirty, general upkeep was lacking. Considering quiet time was to start at 10:30 PM, it was not enforced. Lack of staff around the pools and hot tubs. Something happened in one of the pools and all that was done was it was scooped out, people and only closed for roughly 1/2 an hour. It probably should have been close/off limits for the rest of the night. There were kids/teenagers running all over and being very rude. Too many birthday parties/free swimming going on and intruding on guests that paid to stay in rooms and to stay the night. Needs to be a better and reasonable restaurant/food source inside of the hotel, so that you feed your families and not have to order from outside sources.

By on Jan 9, 2023

Review comment responded on Jan 16, 2023

Thank you for your input and disappointed to see that rooms , pool and food & beverage offerings including our Spectators Bar was not up to your expectations . Rest assured that we give great importance to our guests feedback and recommendations to succeed. Lok forward to welcome you back .Regards The INN MGMT

5
Everyone

The staff was very friendly, the rooms were big and I really liked the way the bathroom was set up so 2 people could get ready at the same time. They also had petty good coffee in the room.

By on Aug 17, 2022

Review comment responded on Aug 22, 2022

Thank you for the review! We appreciate your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

2
Family

I grew up in Iowa. I had always wanted to stay at the resort. As an adult living out of state, I wished to share this experience with my new family. The look of our room was very pleasing. Two sinks was so handy. Every employee we had interactions with, were very friendly. The main issues we had were the minie refrigerator needed to be defrosted. It would not cool. Secondly the smell in the building was sickening. You walk in the door and are hit with it. There are two pools in the complex, but this smell was not chlorine. It smelled like natural gas. Overall it was so disappointing for us.

By on Jul 23, 2022

Review comment responded on Jul 23, 2022

I apologize that you didn't enjoy your time but appreciate that you took the time to let us know. This is how we improve as a hotel. I have notified maintenance of your issues and we will work to get better as a team.

2
Family

the hallways were very dirty and the tiles in the bedrooms are peeling up causing a safety / tripping hazard.

By , from Davenport on Feb 20, 2022

Review comment responded on Apr 21, 2022

Thank you for your feedback Richard, we greatly appreciate it!

5
Family with small children

I enjoyed that there was a nice little arcade on site!

By on Apr 3, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 3, 2021

The arcade is really fun! We're glad you had a good time.

5
Family with small children

Everything was great! The kids enjoyed the pools and we all enjoyed the restaurant too.

By on Jan 15, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 15, 2020

We're glad to hear you had a great time! Come visit us again soon!

3
Everyone

Kind of pricey for the age of the Inn. Was disappointed they don't serve breakfast. Overall ok.

By , from Des Moines, Ia on Jan 28, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 28, 2019

We appreciate your feedback. While we don't offer a complimentary breakfast we do have our restaurant Spectators that has some great breakfast options. We are also currently scheduled to update all of our standard rooms over the next two years.

4
Everyone

Perfect for weekend family get away. Poolside family suite was nice for gathering while standard rooms were good for family of 4 to sleep & located near the pools.

By , from Okoboji, IA on Dec 4, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 7, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are happy you enjoyed the perfect weekend get a way at our hotel. We love being able to cater to families and hope to see you again soon.

2
Everyone

Could tell the floor had not been vacuumed from previous guests. It was dirty, found an earring on the floor. Cracker crumbs found on the floor.

By on Sep 30, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 28, 2017

Thank you for the review. I will pass your comments on to our Housekeeping Manager and ensure this will not happen again. We hope other parts of your stay were enjoyable.

4

great for kids!

Everyone

Clean room, great pools, but no microwave and wifi that never stays connected. My kid loves it because of the arcade, toddler game room and pools

By , from waterloo iowa on Jun 25, 2017

Review comment responded on Jun 29, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We love hearing that you enjoyed the pools, arcade, and toddler room. We will look into the issues with the wifi. We do have microwaves in our Trolley Stop as well as in the suites. We hope to see you again soon.

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Des-Moines-Hotels-Adventureland-Inn.h1107598-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Des-Moines-Hotels-Adventureland-Inn.h1107598-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Des-Moines-Hotels-Adventureland-Inn.h1107598-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions