Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Would like coffee station (cream etc) to be available in the early morning

Very nice renovation, parking is a little expensive.

The property was perfectly clean and pleasant. My one complain is that the bathroom had no ventilation system that one could access.

Really liked the individual reading lights attached to the wall at each side of the bed. Very good mattress and pillows - important since we booked the room for a place to sleep!

great location and friendly staff - will stay again

Great location near the university. Pleasant and helpful staff.

Great room, great food, helpful staff. One thing through... I was here for a four day training and they seemed to be playing a very short playlist on a continuous loop for the entire time I was there. Forever Your Girl, I Want a New Drug, Land of Confusion and the theme from Fame. That's it. Why? Did someone lose a bet?

Our flight was delayed, so I called the hotel to let them know that we would check in at 1:30am. They informed us that they weren't sure they would have a room at that time since they were overbooked. We arrived, and sure enough, there weren't any rooms left. The lady at the front desk was wonderful - she really wanted to help and she was trying to make us comfortable while she worked everything out. Unfortunately, she was new and her manager wasn't answering his phone. I ended up napping in the lobby for an hour and a half while she and my husband called every hotel in the area to find somewhere for us to stay. Eventually, we were transferred to another hotel for the night. When we returned, we weren't offered anything to make up for our trouble - no apology from the manager for our inconvenience, not even a free breakfast or wifi access. The room was nice and the hotel was convenient, but the overall experience was marred by the first night and the way management handled everything. Again, the front desk receptionist was wonderful, so I can't blame all the staff. We tried calling the corporate number and they were also unhelpful.

Easy access to train. Room was clean and hotel was quiet. Convenient parking in garage next door. No free breakfast and the buffet they offer was very pricey.

Hotel is walking distance to Northwestern, many stores and restaurant, and the beach. The train is nearby for an easy trip into Chicago. The area is very safe and hotel staff are friendly. The pool and fitness center are a great plus to a hotel with basic rooms. It’s nice to have the little fridge and microwave in the room, as well as coffee/hot water in the lobby in the mornings.

Evanston Hilton Garden is an average hotel property which is just fine. The rooms are spacious enough, with a large desk, a comfy chair and most of the other standard amenities. If I have a complaint, it was the difficulty I had extending my stay which required that I go on line to find the lowest price which was not on the Hilton website.

Went there for a wedding. We were able to use the comfortable seating in the lobby to gather and have drinks, snacks and enjoy ourselves. Great staff and service.

This is the 2nd Hilton hotel I have stayed in in Evanston. I was not disappointed at all.

Good hotel in a great location. After discovering Evanston I'll never stay in Chicago again. Beautiful town within minutes of the city and at half the price of staying downtown. The best part is that there's no crazy weirdos or thugs and it doesn't have that nasty Chicago sewer smell.

The room is very clean but the mini bar in the room is not very practical for visitors who are not coffee lovers. I always get the very big bed, which is very good. The shuttle bus to adjacent areas is one of the best.

Locate close to downtown Chicago, and the metra is 1 block away. Close to the beach! A lot of shops and places to eat in walking distance.

Convenient location middle of Evanston. Staff was reasonably friendly. Room was a little worn, not bad. HVAC unit in room leaked water and soaked rug (and suitcase placed near the unit). Common areas visible dirt/debris more than I would have expected for this price hotel. Parking was next door in public garage, $13/night. If you are taking your car in and out during your stay, it may be cheaper to pay the garage than the daily flat rate at the hotel. Not great, not bad. Would consider staying here again.

Good location. Parking needs 13 per night... If they provide free parking, that would be better.

Maple Ave Evanston IL

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Northwestern University
  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Indoor pool

Within a short walk of Northwestern University, Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston is within 2 miles (3 km) of Baha'i House of Worship. This 3.5-star hotel has 178 guestrooms and offers conveniences like a restaurant, an indoor pool, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

For your convenience, a full breakfast is served for a fee on weekdays from 6:00 AM to 10:30 AM and on weekends from 6:30 AM to 11:00 AM. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service, or grab a bite to eat at the onsite restaurant.


Rooms

All of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston's 178 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including MP3 docks, microwaves, and refrigerators. Guests can expect 32-inch LCD TVs with satellite channels, along with free WiFi and wired Internet. Pillowtop beds sport premium bedding and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Coffee makers, free weekday newspapers, and safes are other standard amenities.


Property features

At Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston, guests enjoy an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a spa tub. If you drive, self parking is USD 16 per night, and there's also limo/town car service. The front desk has multilingual staff standing by 24 hours a day to assist with dry cleaning/laundry and securing valuables. Additional amenities include free WiFi in public areas, a conference center, and a 24-hour business center.

Room options

Standard King

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Room, Accessible

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Room, Accessible

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Standard Two Doubles

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston

Everyone (12) Business (9) Couples (13) Family (12) Other (2)
4
Everyone

By on Oct 15, 2019

4
Families

Would like coffee station (cream etc) to be available in the early morning

By on Aug 30, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 3, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Orbitz. I am sorry we didn't have our coffee station available early in the morning; however our rooms are all equipped with single cup coffee makers along with creamers etc. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you in the future.

5
Business Business Travelers

Very nice renovation, parking is a little expensive.

By on Jul 22, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 22, 2019

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent experience at our property. We are glad to see that you liked our new look and we hope that you will return to our property in the future.

4
Families Business Business Travelers

The property was perfectly clean and pleasant. My one complain is that the bathroom had no ventilation system that one could access.

By on Jul 1, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 2, 2019

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your constructive feedback. We will review your comments with building owners.

4
Partner Couples

Really liked the individual reading lights attached to the wall at each side of the bed. Very good mattress and pillows - important since we booked the room for a place to sleep!

By on Mar 24, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 25, 2019

Nothing makes us happier than to hear your stay was pleasant and comfortable. Thank you for being our guest.

5
Everyone

By on Sep 19, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 21, 2018

Thank you for letting us know that your stay went well. Hope to see you again.

4
Everyone

great location and friendly staff - will stay again

By on Aug 29, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 31, 2018

We appreciate your time in providing feedback regarding your recent stay. We are happy that your interaction with our staff was pleasant. We look forward to your return visit. Thank you for staying with us.

4
Everyone

Great location near the university. Pleasant and helpful staff.

By on Aug 27, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 27, 2018

Dear Value Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

5

i'm gonna learn how to fly. high!

Everyone

Great room, great food, helpful staff. One thing through... I was here for a four day training and they seemed to be playing a very short playlist on a continuous loop for the entire time I was there. Forever Your Girl, I Want a New Drug, Land of Confusion and the theme from Fame. That's it. Why? Did someone lose a bet?

By on Aug 3, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 3, 2018

Dear Guest Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am happy to hear you found the staff, food and our guest room to your liking. We do apologize for our short playlist. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. Our goal is to make your stay better and brighter.

3

horrible start, nice hotel

Everyone

Our flight was delayed, so I called the hotel to let them know that we would check in at 1:30am. They informed us that they weren't sure they would have a room at that time since they were overbooked. We arrived, and sure enough, there weren't any rooms left. The lady at the front desk was wonderful - she really wanted to help and she was trying to make us comfortable while she worked everything out. Unfortunately, she was new and her manager wasn't answering his phone. I ended up napping in the lobby for an hour and a half while she and my husband called every hotel in the area to find somewhere for us to stay. Eventually, we were transferred to another hotel for the night. When we returned, we weren't offered anything to make up for our trouble - no apology from the manager for our inconvenience, not even a free breakfast or wifi access. The room was nice and the hotel was convenient, but the overall experience was marred by the first night and the way management handled everything. Again, the front desk receptionist was wonderful, so I can't blame all the staff. We tried calling the corporate number and they were also unhelpful.

By , from Baltimore, MD on Jul 26, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 2, 2018

Thank you for commenting on your stay with us. We apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced on your arrival date. We are glad that our agent was able to secure accommodations for the night and you were happy with your room, when you returned. We are working hard to ensure our guests do not experience a similar situation in the future.

Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston

1818 Maple Ave, Evanston, IL 60201
url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Chicago-Hotels-Hilton-Garden-Inn-Chicago-North-Shore/Evanston.h791825-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Chicago-Hotels-Hilton-Garden-Inn-Chicago-North-Shore/Evanston.h791825-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspException: Problem accessing the absolute URL "https://www.orbitz.com/Chicago-Hotels-Hilton-Garden-Inn-Chicago-North-Shore/Evanston.h791825-p2.Hotel-Reviews". java.io.FileNotFoundException: https://www.orbitz.com/Chicago-Hotels-Hilton-Garden-Inn-Chicago-North-Shore/Evanston.h791825-p2.Hotel-Reviews