Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Hotel De Gerstekorrel

2.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Yes, there isn't an elevator neither a real wardrobe, but the position is very central and the bill not expensive at all for Amsterdam. In addition the hotel is very clean and my bed comfortable. At the end is a good compromise to travel "low cost" but with decent standards.

Wow this is a 3 three and was so, so much better than the disgusting 4 star i stayed at in Nov 2016, the bed were to dead for,i believe this is what a cloud feels like, but the bathroom for four girls was not good this is where is lost a few points, but lucky the size of the room, the beds, view, value for money help me, i didn't have a look at the other rooms ( as we had booked two - one for girls and one for boys ) so i can't compare - the staff were friendly and informative with clubs, restaurant, museums and more, i will be going to to this hotel as its in the premier location

A quaint hotel right next to Dam square. Lovely breakfast spread and a fantastic location. Like many buildings in Amsterdam this one too does not have lifts and the stairs are very steep. Situated in a traditional Amsterdam style building the hotel has enough amenities for a quick stopover in the city

Read the mixed reviews before we went. This B and B is in the perfect location...very busy just off Dam Square...so ..yes it is noisy at night..but then you can't be in the hub of the city and it not be noisy. The check in went well with very friendly staff. Room was on the third floor in the next building..and yes the stairs are very steep...so it's no good if your not a climber...😂..the room was very clean and the beds are very comfy...the shower room is ..tiny and is a wet room...that gets ..wet...the breakfast is really nice...has everything you need ..all very fresh...even after we checked out they looked after our bags for the rest of the day...I would definitely stay here again.

This was mine and my fiancées first time to Amsterdam and we booked this hotel through booking.com 2 days before our trip. We arrived in Amsterdam at 9am, 24/01/17 and although we saw online that the checking in time was 2pm we thought we'd go and ask if there was anywhere for us to leave our bags until the room is ready. When we arrived at the hotel the female receptionist, who was really friendly, found us a room that was already available to use and let us check in at 9:30am which we where extremely thankful for as we had two really heavy bags. Upon viewing our room it definitely exceeded our expectations. The room was gorgeous, it was nicely decorated, it was clean and the bed was probably the comfiest bed we've ever slept on which helped at night as it's located on quite a busy street (we fell asleep within seconds). There are many things included with this booking such as and ensuite bathroom, flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities, free wifi throughout (this is given to you when you check in) and a continental breakfast which was lovely to wake up to. We only stayed there for one night as we was only on a two day trip with P&O Ferries so we checked out the next morning at 10:30am (latest check out time). Our coach wasn't picking us up until 5pm that day so again we asked if there was anywhere for us to leave our bags for a few hours and they explained that they have a storage room, free of charge, on the first floor and handed us the key. Although they explained that anyone can use the storage room and that it isn't the hotel responsibility if anything went missing we trusted them anyway and believed that it would be safe. When we returned later that day (around 3:30pm) all of our belongings where still where we left them. All the staff that we met there over the two days where outstanding and we will definitely be staying there next time we visit which will hopefully be soon! Our break was perfect and we loved every minute of it. The only thing I'd like to point out is that there are no ground floor rooms and no lifts so it would be difficult if you had problems waking up some stairs but that is the only downside that I can think of. Thank you once again for our stay.... We will be back!!!

Our locked room was broken into and robbed on the last night of our stay. The neighbouring room was also broken into. There are only three keys to the room, two in our possession and one with the staff. Over $1500 in cash and electronics were stolen. Police reports have been filed and the hotel is under investigation. The hotel responded to our concerns by claiming they were not liable for the theft and will not even refund us for our stay. Staying here is unsafe and we advise you to please choose a different hotel!

I stayed in this hotel with my partner and the staff were very friendly! The hotel is small, but the rooms are adequate and very clean. We don't usually spend much time in our hotel rooms when we visit Amsterdam anyway so was perfect for what we needed. Very good location, just steps from Dam Square, main attractions and transport links! We had no problems during our stay and found staff to be helpful and polite, and the whole hotel clean and tidy. Beds were comfortable, and although there is no restaurant or eating area in the hotel, they served continental breakfast to our room on the morning. Only negative was there is no lift. So for anyone with mobility problems or heavy suitcases, this may not be for you! Staircases are steep and narrow which is typical of Dutch buildings, but I knew about this in advance from other reviews so it wasn't an issue for us really. Overall- great hotel, reasonably priced and the location is a major plus!!

Never been too Amsterdam before so me and 3 friends decided to go for new year. We booked through Expedia and the price was very reasonable. I think for the flights and hotel we paid something like £200 for 3 nights each. As we had paid so little I wasn't expecting much but thought it wouldn't matter as we'd only really be using it as a base. The hotel it's self is perfectly central right in Dam square. We got a train from the airport and walked from the train station to our hotel. I would say it was roughly a 20 minute walk. You can get a tram but as we were excited to see Amsterdam we preferred to walk. We got to the hotel around 11 which was too early to check in but we were hoping to drop our bags and go for a wander. The reception staff were so so friendly and allowed us to do the paperwork and pay the room deposit and leave our bags until check in about an hour later... TIP: they let you put your bags in the baggage cupboard. If when you get in the cupboard, it's empty, put your bag on a high shelf as when we returned it was full so we had to empty it to get our cases. We went for some breakfast and came back an hour later. To get to the rooms you have to walk up stairs. There are no lifts but unless you are disabled the stairs shouldn't put you off. Our room was up 1 flight of stairs. The reception area gives you an impression that the hotel is tiny but it is so deceiving. Our room was lovely, clean, light and very modern. 4 single, comfortable clean beds with nice bedding, a TV, mirror (full length 👌🏽) there were clean towels and the room also has a hair dryer. The bathroom was standard size and clean. Perfect for what we needed. The hotel can be noisy at night due to the hustle and bustle of lively city life but hopefully this won't bother you too much as you'll be out having fun! New Year's Eve we had tickets to a club but had no idea where it was or how to get there. The lovely lady on reception googled the location and wrote down directions for the cab and also explained how public transport worked on new year. She also kindly warned us about the cab drivers. Another TIP: try and ask a reasonable source what the rough cab fee would be to where you want to go. Apparently they do like to rip you off as we naively found out. Always ask them to put the meter on even if they insist they are doing you a favour and the meter would work out more. To get from the hotel to the club cost us 50€. He told us coming back would be more like 100€. Although this wasn't great news we expected it as where we are from in the UK, taxis are double time after midnight. We left the club at 4:30am and it cost us just under 30€ to get back so please be aware of this!! New Year's Day me and my friends arrived back from a club rather intoxicated and probably very annoying. Whilst 2 of them went to bed, me and my other friend decided that the lovely man or reception should teach us Dutch. He was so lovely and happy to talk to us. He opened up the breakfast area and sat down with us for a chat. Very very nicely surprised and would highly recommend this hotel.

This is one of the best hotels i have ever stopped in when coming to Amsterdam. From the moment we stepped inside..very early nothing was too much trouble. Thom was very friendly and gave us a low floor room. Even though we arrived early as soon as the room was ready we could use it. The room was perfect in the middle of central Amsterdam. The stairs wasn't a problem for us. This hotel is in the middle of wonderful Amsterdam. .vibrant and busy. Free wifi and breakfast in the morning. Fresh fruit and juice, cereals, eggs, cheese, ham, toast, yogurts, tea and coffee. Just perfect..we could store our luggage in a safe locked area to pick up later. I will never stop anywhere else when. I come again. Thank you x

Two of us stayed here in December. Its a VERY central location, round the corner from the red light district and a 10 minute walk from the train station. Its nicely decorated and modern. We were on the top floor (4th), which was a little knackering as the stairs were really steep. A little difficult when you've had a few too many bevvys. Staff were welcoming and helpful and breakfast was good. The bathroom had a strong, unpleasant smell, which we reported and nothing was done about it. Thats the only reason we gave it 4/5.

Damstraat 22 Amsterdam

Located in Amsterdam City Centre, Hotel De Gerstekorrel is next to popular attractions like Nes and Dam Square. The 32 rooms at this hotel include coffee makers and flat-screen TVs and guests can enjoy free breakfast. Centrally located in Amsterdam, the hotel is also a short walk from Royal Palace and New Church.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free buffet breakfast, served each morning from 7 AM to 10 AM.


Rooms

Hotel De Gerstekorrel's 32 rooms provide coffee makers, phones, and desks. Guests can expect free WiFi and 21-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Hair dryers are also available.


Property features

At Hotel De Gerstekorrel, guests have access to free WiFi in public areas. The front desk has multilingual staff standing by 24 hours a day to assist with luggage storage and securing valuables.

Room options

Standard Room, 2 Twin Beds

Twin 2 | Sleeps 2

Triple Room, 3 Twin Beds

Twin 3 | Sleeps 3

Quadruple Room

Twin 4 | Sleeps 4

Single Room

Twin 1 | Sleeps 1

Reviews from Trip Advisor

Trip Advisor aggregated rating

63% of guests recommend this hotel

Total of 450 reviews