Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Great location within walking distance of the major museum. Honesty Bar was clutch for late night munchies and drinks!

The hotel was cute and quaint. Great location if you are there primarily for museums. I loved the modern bathroom with a hot tub bathtub and the sunflower shower head. Breakfast was expensive. The room was small but comfortable.

We enjoyed our visit at Hotel JL No76! Our room was very clean and the breakfast was delicious. We’ll definitely be back!

The hotel itself is fine. Apparently they have rooms in the basement which they don’t specify for someone who doesn’t know what souterrain means. I booked a room with 2 beds and confirmed the day before check in. However when I arrived they said it would cost more money to move to a room with separate beds. I saw both rooms and they were exactly the same (tiny) size so it was just a way of them making money. I ended up getting a larger room which they charged me fifteen per night extra (even though if i went on the website and booked it right then it was cheaper than my original rate). My friend had booked a very overpriced room for herself so she decided to cancel and get a cot in mine. The girl at reception tried to tell her it was a two night cancellation policy which was clearly a lie and scam and printed NOWHERE just to see how far they could go with us. The space itself was fine , beds were actually pretty comfortable. It took about ten hours with the air on to finally get warm. The shower design was just horrible - water got everywhere and it was cold from the half that wasn’t covered. The location was fine - a bit of a walk into the center and next to a noisy school. Overall for the price I would stay somewhere else.

The hotel staff particularly eddard was incredibly helpful. Thanks for everything

Great location in a quiet neighborhood within walking distance of museums, tram, shopping, and restaurants. Very nice small scale hotel with all the necessary attributes we could desire.

Close to Museumplein, grocery store and transportation lines.

If you are into museums this is THE location you want to be in. The proximity to the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, and the Stedelijk Museum are all within a few blocks. The hotel is a block away from a few tram lines which made getting around the city very convenient. My wife and I were on honeymoon in the Netherlands and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The hotel's staff were super friendly, knowledgeable and engaging (especially when I tried to chat in Dutch with my marked American accent). The area offers many shopping and dining opportunities, so we never had to venture far. When we return to Amsterdam we will definitely return to this hotel.

Quiet, convenient. Avoid the restaurant: so many good places nearby.

This hotel was steps from the tram, bus, canal boat and museums, yet the little street was tucked quietly away. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. We were able to access everything using the wonderful transit system. The trains were a quick tram ride away, making day trips so easy. We wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else on our next visit.

Upgraded to bigger room with a tub, but ended but not using the tub because it was dirty. I ran the water and jacuzzi once and there were lots of black residue that came out. Room and bathroom was clean besides the jacuzzi which was not clean. Hotel should provide more towels in the room, so I do not have to keep requesting it.

Read the reviews for Hotel Roemer too before you book. It's their sister hotel a block and a half away which we got put into after they gave our room away at JL. They were very nice and apologized for it, gave us a free breakfast and offered a cab for the block and a half, but our room ended up being close to the street and right by the front door so it was noisy. Hotel has really soft and oddly shaped pillows my partner and I never could get comfortable with, although the room was larger than expected, as was the bathroom. Housekeeping was good as well. No clue how the room at JL would have compared, but after booking the room 6 months in advance it was a disappointing way to start our stay with the company. If you read the reviews for hotel roemer you will see others have had a similar experience. You can tell the staff tries very hard to please their guests, but we never got past the negative first impression

Stayed in this hotel for a week while attending conference at nearby Rijksmuseum. Couldn’t have had a better hotel. Small, quiet, lovely room (as large as in American hotels), restaurant room service was wonderful. Lovely bathroom with huge whirlpool tub. Great staff.

The bed and bedding were fabulous. The room was small but very nice and modern and quiet. The staff was great!!

Jan Luijkenstraat 76 Amsterdam

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Laundry facilities

Located in Museum Quarter, Hotel JL No76 is adjacent to Van Gogh Museum and within a 10-minute walk of other popular attractions like Rijksmuseum. This 39-room, 4-star hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like a restaurant, a bar/lounge, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

This hotel is home to a restaurant and a bar/lounge. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service. For your convenience, a buffet breakfast is served for a fee each morning from 7 AM to 10:30 AM.


Rooms

Hotel JL No76's 39 rooms provide minibars, espresso makers, and laptop-compatible safes. Flat-screen TVs come with digital channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms offer rainfall showers, hair dryers, and designer toiletries. Desks are also included.


Property features

Guests of Hotel JL No76 enjoy free WiFi in public areas, coffee in a common area, and a computer station. If you drive, self parking is EUR 68 per day, and there's also an area shuttle for a fee. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with dry cleaning/laundry, tours or tickets, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include express check-in, express check-out, and free newspapers.

Room options

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room (Souterrain)

1 Double Bed | Sleeps 2

Executive Room (Souterrain)

1 Double Bed | Sleeps 2

Comfort Room

1 King Bed | 2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Hotel JL No76

Everyone (14) Couples (3)
5
Everyone

By on Aug 27, 2021

5
Partner Couples

Great location within walking distance of the major museum. Honesty Bar was clutch for late night munchies and drinks!

By on Jan 12, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 14, 2020

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for the great comment after your recent stay in Hotel JL no 76 Hope to welcome you again in the near future. With kind regards

4
Partner Couples

The hotel was cute and quaint. Great location if you are there primarily for museums. I loved the modern bathroom with a hot tub bathtub and the sunflower shower head. Breakfast was expensive. The room was small but comfortable.

By , from New York, NY on Jul 17, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 18, 2019

Dear Bob, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you enjoyed breakfast despite the price rate. We like to see you again, if you are in Amsterdam! Kind regards, Luc - reception Team HotelJL76

5
Everyone

By on Apr 18, 2019

Review comment responded on May 4, 2019

Dear Mr./Mrs., Thank you for your great feedback. We really appreciate the 5 stars. With kind regards, Synove Hotel JLno76

5
Partner Couples

We enjoyed our visit at Hotel JL No76! Our room was very clean and the breakfast was delicious. We’ll definitely be back!

By on Feb 16, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 19, 2019

Dear guest, I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay here in Amsterdam and especially in Hotel JLno76. Thank you so much for your review and your nice words about our breakfastmenu! We would definitly like to welcome you back in the future! Kind regards, Bilal Team Hotel JLno76

3
Everyone

The hotel itself is fine. Apparently they have rooms in the basement which they don’t specify for someone who doesn’t know what souterrain means. I booked a room with 2 beds and confirmed the day before check in. However when I arrived they said it would cost more money to move to a room with separate beds. I saw both rooms and they were exactly the same (tiny) size so it was just a way of them making money. I ended up getting a larger room which they charged me fifteen per night extra (even though if i went on the website and booked it right then it was cheaper than my original rate). My friend had booked a very overpriced room for herself so she decided to cancel and get a cot in mine. The girl at reception tried to tell her it was a two night cancellation policy which was clearly a lie and scam and printed NOWHERE just to see how far they could go with us. The space itself was fine , beds were actually pretty comfortable. It took about ten hours with the air on to finally get warm. The shower design was just horrible - water got everywhere and it was cold from the half that wasn’t covered. The location was fine - a bit of a walk into the center and next to a noisy school. Overall for the price I would stay somewhere else.

By on Jan 27, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 6, 2019

Dear Amandal20987, Thank you for your stay at Hotel JLno76. I am really sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. The souterrain rooms are indeed located in the lower level of the hotel. You booked a standard souterrain room which was not large enough to put an extra bed inside, because of this you took the upgrade to a souterrain executive room after showing you different rooms on different floors, including twin bedded executive rooms. I also want to offer my sincere apologies for the miscommunication about the cancellation policy, at the moment you informed reception we were not aware that you already cancelled your room reservation through your agent and you got a confirmation of this. Once our reservation department received the confirmation from your agent we cancelled the reservation without extra costs. I also want to thank you for your feedback about the room and hotel. After you checked out we realized your heating display was showing a snowflake symbol instead of the sun symbol and the shower design is indeed particular, we made the choice to put the washable outside of the bathroom resulting in a larger sleeping room and smaller bathroom. I honestly hope you will give us a second change to prove we can deliver the product and service you may expect from us. We hope to welcome you in the near future. Best regards, Thomas Weesjes Hotel manager Team Hotel JLno76

5
Everyone

The hotel staff particularly eddard was incredibly helpful. Thanks for everything

By , from Dallas on Nov 14, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 17, 2018

Dear Tom, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel, and sharing your thoughts with fellow travelers. We appreciate your kind words regarding the staff. We are happy to hear that we were able to meet your expecations during your stay. We would love to welcome you back in our hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Bilal Team Hotel JLno76

5
Everyone

By on Oct 3, 2018

Review comment responded on Oct 3, 2018

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for leaving your 5 out of 5 star review. We appreciate your positive feedback! Kind regards, Annemarie Team Hotel JLno76

5
Everyone

Great location in a quiet neighborhood within walking distance of museums, tram, shopping, and restaurants. Very nice small scale hotel with all the necessary attributes we could desire.

By , from Wisconsin on Sep 29, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 29, 2018

Dear Jim, Thank you very much for your recent stay in Hotel JLno76, and your positive comment. Thank you for visting Hotel JLno76, and we hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Bilal Team Hotel JLno76

4
Everyone

Close to Museumplein, grocery store and transportation lines.

By on Aug 10, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 14, 2018

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to wite this review and your feedback! We would be happy to be able to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Bilal Team Hotel JLno76

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Amsterdam-Hotels-Hotel-JL-No76.h4190772-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Amsterdam-Hotels-Hotel-JL-No76.h4190772-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Amsterdam-Hotels-Hotel-JL-No76.h4190772-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions